We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boring for young” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“boring for young”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were there as a part of our honeymoon trip and we read so much about sands resort through tripadvisor. We were very sure of ourselves about our decision but on the contrary we were let down by the management. We as a hoenymoon couple have never been congratulated or presented with any single gift or a warm wish. We were expecting at least some decorations in our room. We were escorted to our room and then a lady came to ask what type of shampoo etc we would need then left the room.The hotel itself is a little old and out of date. The bed was not comfortable at all, and it is because (as a honeymoon couple) were given a room with two joint twin beds. First night I kept falling in between the beds. So much for honeymooning. We weren't even offered a table on the beach even though they were all empty. Everyone kept asking our room number, maybe 5 times a day. After a point it gets very frustrating to be asked everywhere you go even before ordering anything. I have even argued with a waiter on the pool side because no one was looking when I wanted to order and I took the menu myself and then called again and again. Even the guests on the bar tried to direct a waiter to poolside and then when the waiter came he came with a attitude. There is no printing facilities, you need to e-mail everything to hotel first. No place to entertain yourself nothing. The scenery and facility as a whole looks nice but if you are in your mid 20s it is a bore with cheap management

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMSMru, Residen at Sands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kayapar,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review about Sands resort on the Trip Advisor. We are very sad to learn that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay with us.

We wish to bring to your kind attention that gifts are offered to guests who actually booked and paid for a honeymoon package. Regarding your case, you bought the standard half board package that includes breakfast as well as dinner. We would have been glad to offer a souvenir from the Sands and congratulate you for your honeymoon if you would let us know about it. We could also have changed your room to another one if you would have told us about your preferences of a double bed. If the mattress was not comfortable for you we would have changed it for you but again, we did not know about it.

It is also regretful that you did not appreciate the complimentary service of being offered the freedom to choose the fragrance of shampoo, soap and bath salt that was presented to you by one of our team members though this is always appreciated by our guests. Dinner is served in the main restaurant every evening. Dining on the beach requires a special set up and a dedicated waiter. This carries a supplement charge and is NOT free.

We are sorry to note that the waiter failed to look in your direction to take your orders. Rest assured that the bar team members have been briefed to be more vigilant and to attend to guests requests promptly. As you may know, Sands is a resort and not a business hotel though we have many businessmen who keep visiting us regularly. Therefore any guests in need to print documents are most welcome to use our modest computers and printers in our administration office.

We are thankful that you did appreciate the scenery around the resort and the facilities in general. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to bring clarifications to your review and we wish you to enjoy your holidays for your future trips whatever the destination you choose to visit.

Kind regards,

Patrick,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    228
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
189
1,008
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from the Sands after a 7 night stay, which was part of a 2 week stay on the island.

When you enter the hotel you get one of the most amazing views of any hotel lobby I've stayed in in the world. Lobby - Infinity pool - Sea - Mountain. Fantastic. The design of the hotel means every aspect faces this view and makes it a special place to stay for that very reason.

The Hotel is based near to (3km) Flic en Flac on the West Coast of Mauritius, which for the time of year we visited (September) was the best side of the island to be on (the East has quite strong trade winds which cool it considerably, which we noticed when we arrived at the airport which is situated in the East!). The weather was between 25-28C for the time we were there, with a constant breeze, low humidity and occasional rain showers (which is normal for this part of the world anyway....)

The Sands is a small hotel, but set up like the larger resorts common around the world, with multiple dining options, spa, fitness facilities and water-sports/activities etc

We arrived about 11AM, straight from the airport, we were met by the reception staff and the manager (Patrick), we were taken straight to our room where the check-in formalities were completed which was nice! It was a very efficient and warm welcome, including a welcome drink and even a choice of toiletries for the room which helped considerably after a long journey from the UK.

The room we stayed in was large for this type of hotel and had floor to ceiling windows/patio doors giving great ocean views. Double sinks, bath, separate shower in a large bathroom completed the room. The bed was king sized and very comfortable.

We stayed on a half board a basis, which included breakfast and a buffet based evening meal. There were 2 other dining options (Spices and the Pink Peppercorn that need to be booked in advance) which the hotel provided a credit of 500R to spend towards the cost of the meal.

The buffet was excellent and a full menu was published in advance, so you could see what was on offer. Whilst buffet isn't our preferred choice of eating, we thought that the food was of a high standard, varied and well planned (allowing you to easily put a meal together from the choices available)

We ate at Spices and the food was also of a high standard (and the deserts were outstanding!) - it's set up like a fine dining experience and whilst the food is very nearly there, the service whilst very friendly and efficient, isn't quite (no appropriate wine/drinks recommendations when asked etc)... but a minor criticism, which I'm only mentioning because of the premium price that goes along with eating there.

The bar also had a wide range of food available during the day (bar snacks, salads and even full meals) which were great and again, you could choose to use your half board credit to swap to a lunch instead of dinner on any given day. They also did an excellent range of cocktails and home made rums (which can be quite addictive, when sampled in quantity during your stay!)

There a lots of free activities provided by the hotel (snorkelling trips, water sports etc) and a timetable of planned events for the day.

The spa was excellent (Sauna and Hamman use is free, but needs to be booked), the massage we tried was excellent and one of the highlights of the stay.

The gym facilities were also excellent, a small choice of high spec, well maintained machines and individual classes and help with any equipment etc.

All in all, a fantastic 7 days!

We booked the trip through Angelfish Travel (Mauritius Direct), who gave us great advice and recommendations throughout the booking process and I can't recommend them highly enough, excellent personal service from very knowledgeable people!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days. It was amazing!!! I haven't seen that good service in a long time... wherever you'd look there would be a very friendly staff member ready to help you. The location was good if you'd want to spend most of the time relaxing at the hotel... if you want to go to the beaches on the other side of the island it can get expensive, and the beach right there is ok... nothing amazing. We also went to Port Louis for a day and it wasn't exciting at all, therefore we ended up spending more time at the hotel by the beach or swimming pool. and if you're looking to be relaxed and just get some rest while having great service this is definitely the place to go. There wasn't many kids, I think it's better for couples. w\We booked out trip through OIT hotels and they were great! someone picked us up at the airport on our arrival and the next day they sent a representative to the hotel to book toours for us. Overall it was a great experience and great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My best friend and I visited The Sands in August and it was just what the Dr ordered. We both have stressful jobs and after a very negative experience in the Caribbean last year needed this one to be great. It did not disappoint. It was quiet, peaceful and allowed us to recharge our batteries. The staff were always polite and friendly and nothing was too much bother. The buffet was varied and a good choice was on offer every evening. The beach was beautiful and although the water was slightly bracing we managed a swim every day. If you are feeling like a walk turn left on the beach and go around to the next bay where the shallow water is heated up by the reflection of the white sand and the water is much warmer.
Will we return ? Most definitely yes. See you next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papa, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Ocean view is spectacular. the hotel is small enough that every room has great access to every amenity. A couple of hitches that were remedied quickly and effectively. Could not ask for better front office service. Beds were a little hard for my taste, but well appointed rooms. "Free" activities great.

Room Tip: First floor, while open to all eyes, is excellent for quick trips to/from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived at the Sands Resort after a no hassle pick up from the airport, an informative & friendly driver, met on arrival at the hotel with cold towels and a choice of welcome drinks, all very relaxed and informal. This was the start of all good things that continued.

The service was excellent, all staff friendly and each offered a personal service. I can not fault the service in any way and the extra little touches that they offered freely made our stay really special. The surprise cake and sparklers for our anniversary was a lovely surprise and all staff seemed to be aware.

The little touches were appreciated and everything they did was for the benefit of the guest, nothing was too much trouble.

The only comment i will make is that the rooms and more so the bathroom were a little tired and could do with a make over, however rooms were comfortable and little time spent in them, the service made up for this more over.

I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I'd like to mirror all the positive comments made by other travellers. The Sands Resort is gorgeous. There are some points I would like to highlight which may be useful; Arrived 19th Aug and stayed for two weeks. Weather mostly beautiful with a couple of cloudy days (got a nice tan with the warm breeze!)
I have a dietary requirement (coeliac), I emailed the hotel when I booked my holiday earlier in the year, and they responded immediately. When I arrived, I met with Rishi, Spices Restaurant Manager, who advised that I would meet with the chef every evening to go through the buffet menu. They were brilliant - if there was limited choice, the chef would prepare me a stunning meal (Steak, fish skewers, fresh tuna, Risotto, etc) and the most amazing desserts. They baked fresh gluten free bread and rolls for me. Most restaurant staff were aware of my requirements and delivered my bread for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Note to the Senior Manager; Your staff are an absolute credit to your hotel, they made our stay perfect in every way, and because of them we will be returning and recommending your hotel to friends and family.
A very, very special thank you to Rishi, Chef Christophe, Rajinee, Yash and Jennifer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe all Suite hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious suites, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.