We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon of our dreams!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sands Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Flic En Flac
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Honeymoon of our dreams!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon, which started at the Sands Resort.

I am a former hotel manager and constantly look for areas needing improvement and I couldn't find any. The main reason was because you can tell the staff genuinely cares about their guests.

We arrived late, missing bags, and the hotel already knew about it. Jenna escorted us to our room to do the check in. Everything was seamless. Room was beautiful, overlooking the pool and ocean.

Food was excellent and we were even fortunate enough to have a romantic dinner on the beach (with personalized menus!), truly a dream come true.

The pool was gorgeous, beach stunning, bar was fully stocked, and spa offered everything you could need.

We saw the gym and business center, both looked excellent, but we didnt use them. There was free wifi which is always nice.

I could go on and on, but the bottom line is we couldnt have asked for anything better for our honeymoon.

Stay here, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for the 2nd or 3rd floor, you will get a little more privacy from people walking to their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,036
    208
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
177
930
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We just returned to the UK after a wonderful 17 nights stay at The Sands. We are not going to repeat all of the fantastic things people say about The Sands, except to say – it’s all true! Instead we hope to provide you with some additional information that may help you, particularly if you are thinking of getting married in Mauritius.

We were married at The Sands Hotel on the 27th October. We were originally looking for a wedding package via the travel agent (we had opted to use Virgin Holidays) but after choosing The Sands as our perfect venue we then found The Sands were no longer working via Virgin for their weddings. We decided to take a bit of a gamble and booked the wedding direct with The Sands instead. This turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. Their wedding coordinator - Deepsheeka is outstanding. A lovely person, totally professional and approachable – precisely what you need when planning your wedding. Just turn up and let her do her work, no stress, no worries – she takes care of everything. She was very responsive on email prior to us leaving for Mauritius – any questions we had, she responded to quickly. She sent us details of prices for different wedding packages in advance so we were able to think about what we wanted to spend and include in our package prior to leaving for Mauritius. We came in 100% on budget – there are no hidden extras, no surprises – what is stated is what is charged.

We arrived at The Sands on the 22nd October to give ourselves a few days to chill and plan the wedding before the big day. We went into Port Louis with Deepsheeka a couple of days before the wedding to organise the paperwork. The journey takes around 45 minutes. The process is pretty pain free even though it involved a visit to the court, a lawyer and the registrar. They were all very closely located so you walk from one to the other. It worked out fine and we were back by lunchtime. You may want to take a bottle of water with you.
After all the legalities were completed and we arrived back at the resort we sat down with Deepsheeka to run through the detail of the wedding – where we wanted it to take place, flowers, timings etc. We opted to have the wedding in the Gazebo. This provided a good amount of shade for us and our guests during the service and was very romantic. We also opted for a steel band and this was another great decision. The band was excellent and really put spirit into our day.

As we had family with us we did not need to worry about where I got ready for the wedding as my husband was able to go to his brother’s room to change. However, if you do not have this option you can get ready at the spa or the groom can use the Transit Room to shower and get ready etc.

I had a hair and makeup trial with Christelle when I arrived at The Sands. I showed her a couple of pictures to give her an idea of what I wanted and she replicated it perfectly – in fact it was better than my pictures. On the actual wedding day she reproduced it perfectly again – she is very used to looking after brides and is also very creative. She is very open to working with you on the look so don’t be afraid to say if you want to change something or try something else.

Our photographer was Rudy. He was funny, professional and had a nice relaxed style. We are very pleased with the DVD and photos we received from him. We told him briefly what we did and didn’t want and he got it spot on.

We opted to have our wedding reception dinner in The Spices restaurant – in the outside area (in the mini marquee type area). The food was superb and the staff (especially Rishi) went all out to ensure everything went to plan. We did not want to go with a set menu so we were able to choose from the main menu a day in advance and have what we wanted. In fact we requested something not on the menu for a couple of our guests and this was arranged for us with no fuss.

We took our own champagne and paid corkage. The corkage charge at The Sands is very reasonable at R500 so it is worth doing this. You can request a wine list with prices in advance to help you with your decisions. It is available on request from Deepsheeka.
The day following our wedding we opted to have our wedding breakfast on our balcony (you can choose to have it in the Gazebo). It was lovely to have it on the balcony, we sat in our dressing gowns and were really chilled.

We originally had booked to stay for 13 nights but we decided to extend this to 17 nights as we loved it there so much. Towards the end of our stay (after our guests had returned to the UK) we had a romantic dinner on the beach. Again, we opted for The Spices menu. It was a lovely experience and Rishi ensured once again that we had all we needed and were well looked after.

My husband and I are keen sports people so we took advantage of most things on offer at The Sands! The gym is small but clean and the equipment is fair. My partner would have preferred heavier free weights but he is a personal trainer so probably uses weights heavier than most. For me it was fine.

We ran along the beach – wonderful! Easier if you head north towards Flic En Flac or more challenging if you head south towards Black River (actually quite a technical off road run if you follow the shore line).

We went water skiing twice and my partner also went windsurfing and sailing in the small lazers. All of these sports are free of charge at The Sands.

We have seen a lot of people say the drinks are expensive at The Sands. Generally we did not find this to be the case – you can spend a lot of money on a bottle of wine or champagne but you don’t have to. Some of the cocktails were lovely (I recommend the Princess) and reasonably priced at around R250.

We believe The Sands have got it about right – they do not offer All Inclusive alcohol and they do not have entertainment on past 10.30pm. This means the resort retains an elegant feel with no chav element (harsh but true). That said, you can drink as late as you want to, the bar will stay open if you want to drink. We had some very fun evenings in The Dolphin Bar.

The Spa shop in Flic en Flac is more than a short walk away, we would estimate it to be approx. 45 min walk for an average pace, and then there is the walk back with the shopping! You can use the bikes at The Sands or get a taxi – the driver will wait for you to do your shopping and bring you back for around R500. The shop has most things you will need. There is a shop nearer to The Sands just across the road from the La Pirogue Resort but it is not as well stocked as the Spa shop.

Our wedding and honeymoon at The Sands was just perfect – it was above and beyond what we had hoped for. We are both seasoned travellers through work and pleasure and we agree that the service at The Sands is the best we have ever experienced. If you need something, if you want something changed, if you have any request – just ask, they will sort it. i.e. I was getting ready to go out one evening and realised I did not have a mirror in the room located near a plug. My husband called Reception – within ten minutes maintenance were in our room and had installed a wall mirror above a plug. Nothing is too much trouble.
We ventured out one evening (it was a Saturday) into Flic en Flac and we went to The Twins bar and then on to Sizzlers both were nice venues for a drink and a dance.

We also did the Walking with Lions trip – we booked this directly with the Concierge at The Sands. This was an amazing experience . The work this charity does is wonderful and being up close and personal with lions and tigers (while respecting them totally) is a fantastic experience.

Finally, in the Tamarind Restaurant the food was great. I am vegetarian and two of our guests do not like spicy food – we never went hungry. There is a great choice. A big mention has to go to Sam who looked after us here. What a complete gentleman and lovely person he is.

If we could change anything about the experience it would be the planning prior to leaving for Mauritius. Knowing what we know now, we would have been more chilled and less of control freaks about the planning prior to departing for Mauritius – Trust them, they are complete professionals – they will ensure your stay is perfect for you. We will definitely be returning to The Sands.

We will also book differently. Next time we will definitely not book with Virgin. We will book with The Sands directly and use BA for our flights. The package and service provided by Virgin is average at best. In fact all we saw of Virgin was the headed paper and briefly the rep at the resort and airport – the flights were Air Mauritius.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We arrived to paradise when we arrived at the Sands Resort. Everything was fantastic from the breath-taking view when you walk through reception to the infinity pool which looks like it runs into the sea, the imaculate grounds, friendly staff right through to the amazing food, the Sands Resort was heaven.

As a honeymoon couple, the resort couldn't have been any better. Our room was very spacious, very clean and very cozy. We were on a half board basis and I was overwhelmed by the quality of the food in the buffet. Every night was a different theme and the food was brilliant. The food would suit everyone, from plain eaters to those who like something different and while drinks weren't included, you could buy a bottle of wine one night and keep it in the restaurant to finish off the next night which was great.

Each night there was music and entertainment at the bar and the cocktails were excellent. This was complimented by the chorus of croaking toads in the background.

Room Tip: Sea facing, 3rd floor beside the restauant would be the best as you can see the sea and the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have just spent 4 nights at The Sands - our fifth stay as a break on the return to Australia after a holiday in Europe. We have always found the staff very welcoming and efficient. The setting of the restaurant and bar overlooking the pool gives a relaxing atmosphere and the food offers a great range of excellent choices. The facilities of the Spa, the Boathouse and the pool gives a range of activities to enjoy and the service is great. The Sands offers a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor rooms close to the water on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at The Sands 22/10/11 - 05/11/11. To anyone thinking of booking this Hotel I would say to go ahead. It cannot be faulted. From the moment of arrival untill the time of leaving you are completely spoilt. The staff all go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as perfect as can be. The accomodation is spacious, comfortable and clean. The gardens are all very well kept and extend to the beach. All rooms have a sea view. Service is excellent even extending to the beach where your sunglasses are cleaned for you and a regular supply of iced drinks and cold face cloths are brought round. The food is wonderful with a different theme each night e.g. Asian, Chinese, Mauritian, Creole etc. Even the fussiest of eaters can find something nice and tasty to suit them! The chefs are first class.
If you don't want to lay on the very comfortable loungers on the beach then there is the wonderful infinity pool and jaccuzzi. Also trips out can be arranged and we found the taxi's have a fixed charge for each trip and the drivers are most friendly and obliging.
Entertainment is provided most nights. The Sega dancing at the pool side was excellent.

We couldn't single out any one member of staff for praise as they are all "The best".
All in all The Sands represents perfection on every level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilehurst Reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our stay was from 22/10/2011 until 5th November. From the time of our arrival to our departure the staff were so attentive and nothing was to much trouble for any of them. The service is out of this world. Food excellent, rooms comfortable and what a setting right on a beautiful beach.
Every thing you need for an unforgettable holiday. Couldn't fault it and special thanks to Jaysheree.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. We stayed in 232 right on the beach and we went to sleep at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Sands from the 3rd until the 16th of September 2011.
After a quite long, almost no sleeping 12 hours night trip, we were warmly welcommed by the hotel staff.
They presented us the resort and we were checked-in inside the room, tasting a very good welcome free drink. The SPA representative came in our room and let us choose which shower gel and shampoo we would prefer to receive every day.
During our 2 weeks holiday we really enjoyed everything. No complains at all.
The room was very beautiful, large and very confortable, the hotel was fantastic, the beach wonderful, the staff amazing and the services were great.
We got the half board accomodation because most of the times we were out during the lunch time having excursions.
But for the dinner time, at the restaurant, every evening we enjoyed a different menu ( Creole, Indian, Mediterranean, etc..), you couldn't be disappointed, the food was just superb.
Unfortunately during the last couple of days my girlfriend went sick because a really annoying skin rush and she couldn't move out from the room.
In that occasion the staff was great, they let me take the breakfast to the room for my partner and, especially during the dinner, they let me create my plates and arranged to take the dinner directly into the room, for both of us, as if it was a room service, but we were not charged for that.
Absolutely fantastic and helpful.
Thanks a lot for making our holiday unforgettable.

Giovanni and Benedetta

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a quieter room, choose a room situated on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
The Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel Flic En Flac
Sands Resort Mauritius
Sands Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sands Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort & Spa is a 4 star deluxe hotel situated in Wolmar, on the west coast of Mauritius. With its 92 spacious bedrooms, 3 restaurants, spa, entertainment facilities, fine sandy beach, crystal clear lagoon and unrivalled view across the Bay of Tamarin and Le Morne, this resort is the ideal hideaway for those looking for serenity, comfort and personalised service in an elegant setting and typical Mauritian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.