We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very pretty location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed a few weeks ago for 3 nights - very French and I am not saying that is a bad thing but I want to feel a little more relaxed and its maybe and this is just me a little to formal. It is very pretty though - Joy the Head concierge arranged a gorgeous bouquet of flowers and petals in our room on arrival for my wifes birthday Perfect !! Thanks for a lovely stay folks

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    254
    120
    53
    25
See reviews for
269
545
29
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A very nice hotel. Room neat and always smelling good.food excellent.Tima from Spa very professional in welcoming always on duty everytime we were at the spa; reception staff should also be like her. Very good service.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was breathtaking and well maintained, despite a recent severe storm, and the staff and its management were all helpful, professional must most important, FRIENDLY! Food was good (buffets) but restaurant was a little disappointing (not much value and mediocre quality). spa services were exceptional! The island has many wonderful attractions, enjoyed the safari tour, hired a taxi for the day and visited Hindu temples, botanical gardens and scenic points! Took public bus to city center and that was a fun adventure...especially the markets!

Room Tip: Ground floor room was great and steps to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Big water feature at the entrance which could be charming if properly cleaned.
Food was generally good though the rice had not been drained properly; curry and meat cook was good, mojito was missing something to taste like one. The staff is polite and service can improve.
Tamassa restaurant has a lovely beachfront setup, the property has beautiful grounds and a very long clean beach.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
We have noted your comments on the points to improve and the services that gave you satisfaction.
Your remarks will indeed help us to check our standards and assist us to enhance our service where required.

Thank you again, we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Great location, just outside Flic en Flac. Pool is large & well tended. Beach access with plenty of loungers/beds available. Good quality food. Staff were fantastic & couldn't do enough to help, above the ordinary.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay and our services were up to your expectations and we have passed on your encouraging comments to our Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

Yours faithfully,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballasalla, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

NIce room, lovely staff. But ow on earth can the management allow the staff to put out uncovered food on a buffet, three meals a day, and let flies and mosquitoes crawl and die all over it. It is totally disgusting. They make no effort at hygiene, you can stand in the restaurant and watch the insects helping themselves to yoghourt, sucking on the open fruit, eating the bread. And birds sit on the chair backs and poo into the chairs; the staff them direct you to a table and would let you sit in it. The restaurant's cleanliness is so out of line with all the other facilities of the hotel which are excellent. I am almost being sick thinking about the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your perception on TripAdvisor.
This situation came about due to the heavy rainfalls we had lately and with the high level of humidity, insects have been proliferating in all areas.
In addition, since our restaurants are in open spaces with no doors and windows, we have to face bird nuisance as well.
We do effect regular pest treatments and bird control according to local laws which are very strict.
Rest assured that we do place high value on uncompromising cleanliness and hygiene and get regular and unannounced hygiene inspections by authorities and have always received high ratings in our kitchens and restaurants.
Moreover, our Kitchen and Restaurant Staff likewise are trained yearly on HACCP Standards and if they do not hold a Food hygiene certificate they cannot hold a position in the catering sector.
Unfortunately, we cannot control the weather conditions and all the resulting problems they bring along.
Please rest assured that we do control and treat to the best of our ability, and commit to implementing all the necessary procedures to keep the very best level of hygiene in all areas.

Thank you for your concerns regarding this issue.

Yours faithfully

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We enjoyed our stay on the whole. My husband (chelsea) rated 10/10 the fitness room. We loved the beach, sadly the boat house was a let down. The restaurant staff are just excellent, they really are, breakfast was a pleasure,the evening meal was good too. Spa was ok. I had a massage it was ok, had better. We had a de luxe room it was ok very dated for a 5 star rated hotel. Not always cleaned properly. We had invites to 3 evening cocktail drinks to meet with managers etc, that was very nice. We played tennis as well. My husband went snorkeling and windsurfing. He enjoyed that although the gear was a bit dated, like the rooms. The reception was renovated recently it is quite stunning. The staff sadly are not, a course in people skills would be good, although a new manager has been put in place and he is very good. We spoke to a lot of lovely people, we left our hearts in Mauritius.We will return, but never at Chinese New Year, the hotel was 75% Chinese when we left.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2015
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in general and your remarks concerning the cleanliness of rooms, need for staff training and old equipment at the Boat House have been forwarded to the teams concerned in order to take appropriate measures to improve the services.

Reiterating our appreciation to you for your feedback and wishing you all the best.

Kind Regards


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.