We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, just outside Flic en Flac. Pool is large & well tended. Beach access with plenty of loungers/beds available. Good quality food. Staff were fantastic & couldn't do enough to help, above the ordinary.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay and our services were up to your expectations and we have passed on your encouraging comments to our Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

Yours faithfully,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    247
    115
    51
    25
See reviews for
266
527
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballasalla, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NIce room, lovely staff. But ow on earth can the management allow the staff to put out uncovered food on a buffet, three meals a day, and let flies and mosquitoes crawl and die all over it. It is totally disgusting. They make no effort at hygiene, you can stand in the restaurant and watch the insects helping themselves to yoghourt, sucking on the open fruit, eating the bread. And birds sit on the chair backs and poo into the chairs; the staff them direct you to a table and would let you sit in it. The restaurant's cleanliness is so out of line with all the other facilities of the hotel which are excellent. I am almost being sick thinking about the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your perception on TripAdvisor.
This situation came about due to the heavy rainfalls we had lately and with the high level of humidity, insects have been proliferating in all areas.
In addition, since our restaurants are in open spaces with no doors and windows, we have to face bird nuisance as well.
We do effect regular pest treatments and bird control according to local laws which are very strict.
Rest assured that we do place high value on uncompromising cleanliness and hygiene and get regular and unannounced hygiene inspections by authorities and have always received high ratings in our kitchens and restaurants.
Moreover, our Kitchen and Restaurant Staff likewise are trained yearly on HACCP Standards and if they do not hold a Food hygiene certificate they cannot hold a position in the catering sector.
Unfortunately, we cannot control the weather conditions and all the resulting problems they bring along.
Please rest assured that we do control and treat to the best of our ability, and commit to implementing all the necessary procedures to keep the very best level of hygiene in all areas.

Thank you for your concerns regarding this issue.

Yours faithfully

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay on the whole. My husband (chelsea) rated 10/10 the fitness room. We loved the beach, sadly the boat house was a let down. The restaurant staff are just excellent, they really are, breakfast was a pleasure,the evening meal was good too. Spa was ok. I had a massage it was ok, had better. We had a de luxe room it was ok very dated for a 5 star rated hotel. Not always cleaned properly. We had invites to 3 evening cocktail drinks to meet with managers etc, that was very nice. We played tennis as well. My husband went snorkeling and windsurfing. He enjoyed that although the gear was a bit dated, like the rooms. The reception was renovated recently it is quite stunning. The staff sadly are not, a course in people skills would be good, although a new manager has been put in place and he is very good. We spoke to a lot of lovely people, we left our hearts in Mauritius.We will return, but never at Chinese New Year, the hotel was 75% Chinese when we left.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in general and your remarks concerning the cleanliness of rooms, need for staff training and old equipment at the Boat House have been forwarded to the teams concerned in order to take appropriate measures to improve the services.

Reiterating our appreciation to you for your feedback and wishing you all the best.

Kind Regards


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent almost 2 weeks at this hotel and even though the first week was somewhat marred by rains post-cyclone, we still loved our stay here. The gardens are large with numerous coconut palms and wonderfully comfortable reclining chairs and beds (the best I saw from the 4 hotels I walked past on Flic en Flac). The breakfast buffet offers a huge and tasty choice making use of fresh tropical fruit (the only negative was the cafetiere coffee which was rather bitter). The staff were genuinely warm and friendly with very few exceptions.

The refurbished reception area definitely has the wow factor and opens out onto the large pool, as long as it is wide, which the restaurant and bar wrap around to create a stylish effect.

If you are disabled, it is not ideal as there are unfortunately no lifts so you will need lifting up and down stairs to get to any of the non-buffet restaurants- though the staff are very happy to accommodate.

Overall, this Sofitel offers excellent value for money for a 5 star hotel on a large and beautiful stretch of beach- yes, it may have been built almost 25 years ago - but to our mind this added to its charm- the rooms remain comfortable and stylish- and there is an impressive range of free activities on offer. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are delighted to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to share it with travelers.
We are pleased that despite the effects of Cyclone Bansi, your stay was up to your expectatons with the services provided and that you liked the renovated areas.
Your comments regarding the need for better facilities for disabled have been forwarded to our teams for suggestions and actions.

We really look forward to the honour of your visit again in the future and all the team sends you our very best regards.

Yours Sincerely,


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sofitel is a Nice place.

It has a Very Good Service at the entrance itself and this continue through the hotel

They serve Very Good Food - high in taste and presentation.

Nice Swimming Pool

Excellent Cocktails at the inside bar.

Calm Environment to rest

Room Tip: The Tamassa Restaurant has a very good Service and view on the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel L'Imperial and that you enjoyed the food, our huge pool and the cocktails served.

Your nice review concerning the quality of service right from the entrance of the Hotel has been very much appreciated by all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property for yet another "rest day".

Kind Regards,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The sea facing rooms were simply awesome..........u get to hear sea sound every now and then.staff was too cooperative .......Buffet especially B'fast is too tempting ....Beautiful resort, The resort itself was beautifully located in the peaceful, coastal area of Flic en Flac. The beach was beautiful, the pool was very large and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

We are glad to learn that you had an excellent stay at our property and that our services were all up to your expectations.

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you again to our property in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely place to spend a week.The hotel has a serene atmosphere and overall it was a wonderful experience. Especially the breakfast and dinner buffet was really fantastic with fresh and interesting dishes.Its amazingly beautiful resort. Each and every room has a great location and view. Service is excellent. Beach is good and clean. Water sports are good. Restaurants are good. .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs Schweta,

Thank you very much indeed for having shared your 'wonderful experience' of your stay at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa.
We are delighted you found our services excellent and will convey your appreciation to all our staff.
We look forward to the pleasure and honour of welcoming you back and wish you the very best.

Yours Sincerely,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.