We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Flic En Flac
Khartoum, Al Khartum, Sudan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel was one of the best I've seen with a picturesque setting. It was really like paradise with its extensive beach and beautiful layout. Facilities were excellent with friendly staff; a place I recommended to my daughter for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: I preferred rooms on the first floor. They had a lovely view with direct access to the garden from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for having shared your very positive feedback on the Trip Advisor forum.
We are delighted to learn that your stay have met your expectations and that you enjoyed the facilities and the service our personnel provided.
We appreciate also that you have recommended our property to your daughter for her honeymoon and will be honoured to welcome her.

We look forward to your visit again to the Sofitel Imperial and thank you again for your comments.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    205
    92
    41
    19
See reviews for
217
451
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Münster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Almost two years that a was there,but when i look to my fotoalbum i can say: YES , That is a wonderful hotel ! nicelly decorated in asian styl,very good service, with a fantastic,huge pool and a beach like "Paradise".You can walk along the beach to Flic en Flac village and enjoy the fantastic sunset or just read and relax under a palm tree in one of those big,romantic beach beds,My room was very confortable and spacious,breakfast was also very good.It was worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Madam or Dear Sir,

We are delighted to read your comments on our Hotel on Trip Advisor and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are pleased to learn that your holidays were unforgettable and that you appreciated the comfort of your room and all the facilities.
I shall share your comments with our team who will no doubt be more motivated to excel in the service to our valued Guests.

We look forward to the honour of welcoming you back again at the Sofitel Imperial.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved our stay at the Sofitel in Flic en Flac. We had a deluxe room, which was beautifully appointed and perfect in size for 2 people. The resort is really nice, with a big pool, a great beach, lovely breakfast and plenty of food options. It is perhaps a little bit dated but the rooms are kept up to scratch and the grounds are beautiful (I also saw the new So Sofitel hotel which is much, much more modern - if you are after contemporary design then that is the better choice!). This is a solid Sofitel hotel, good service, good rooms, good food - what you would expect. It's certainly not THE best Sofitel hotel I've stayed at, but it won't disappoint either. We also stayed at the Intercontinental while we were in Mauritius which was absolutely beautiful - much newer and very well appointed - but the beach at the Sofitel was far better. Oh and one more thing - the beds were SO COMFORTABLE!

A tip - don't eat all your meals at the restaurants in the Sofitel - the mobile food vendors at the big beach in Flic en Flac are amazing!! The best food you can find in Mauritius, and all for like literally $2! (AUD/USD) You'll be surprised by how cheap Mauritius is given how expensive the hotels are!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We always appreciate the feedback of our valued Guests and are pleased that you have appreciated the food and the comfort of your room and MYBED which is really a huge hit with all our Guests.

We shall share your comments with our team who will be more motivated to pursue excellence in their service to our valued Guests.

We hope to have the honour of welcoming you back at the Sofitel Imperial and reiterate our appreciation of your very positive feedback.

Kind Regards


Christophe Carlier
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellet Beach front hotel, with lovely food and ambience. The rooms were large , cozy and comfortable. Service was great.

The beach front was the best bart of the hotel, with all amenites available.

The only minus point was no swimming allowed after 7pm. Also the boat ride was very boring and no corels to see too.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The travelling part is expensive as the hotel is bit away from the main market. But if one just wants to relax and enjoy at a single loction this will be great choice.

Mutiple restras for various cusines.. veg food also available.

Room Tip: Choose the first/ 2nd floor rooms for sea view but incase with kids choose the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your positive comments on our property on Trip Advisor and thank you.
We are delighted you enjoyed the food, ambience and the comfort of our rooms and appreciated the service as well.

You will understand that swimming in our pool is prohibited after 7 p.m. in order not to perturb
the serenity of the dining area and for also the safety of our valued Guests.
It is also unfortunate that the corals in our beautiful lagoons are becoming rarer, but rest assured that the authorities are seriously looking into the preservation of our underwater life.

We reiterate our thanks to you for taking the time to write your opinion of the Sofitel Imperial Mauritius and we shall be very honoured to welcome you back again to our property.

Yours Sincerely,

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Sofitel I'Imperial towards the end of Jan 2013. The hotel staff were very friendly. The room was spacious as we had a family suit. We were on a full board basis so we had most of our meals at the main resturant. The selection of food was great and tasted good as well. The kids club is well managed, however I suggest that they install a play gym for children aged 1-5 years. The rooms are stocked daily with bottled water at no extra charge. Soft drinks cost from 140 Rupees, while alcholic drinks range from 180 rupees upwards. The hotel has one of the better stretches of sea shore as compared to it's neighbours. The have a very nice pool area. At night you can sit at the beach and listen to the Hotel's band playing some good music. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Travel Tips:
- If you need cellphone sim cards, I suggest you get it at the airport or stop at the cascavelle shopping mall en route to Flic en Flaq, as you can get a sim card for about 100 Rupees, the local stores will rip you off.
- take lots of sun block and a very strong insect repellant cream

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the food, entertainment and Kids Club and the comfort of your room.
We have taken note of your suggestion of a Play Gym for the Kids' Club and shall bring up this idea to the Management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Sofitel Imperial and wish you a lovely day.

Yours Sincerely,



Christophe CARLIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good location on the island but still nothing much out of the resort in Flic En Flac. Nice shallow beach, safe for children with lots of complementary watersport activities.

F&B is rediculously expensive for the quality of it.

Rooms are spacious and very high standard of finishes.

Overall a good choice in the island but maybe with the wrong price tag!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments on our property on Trip Advisor.

We have taken note of your appreciation of the location and the comfort of our rooms and also
the prices of F&B consumptions which are, to your opinion , on the high side.

We are grateful for your comments which will no doubt assist us in improving our service.

Looking forward to another opportunity to serve you and reiterating our thanks to you.

Kind Regards,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Property is Impressive and the Layout and Design definitely reads as a 5 Star Should.
Service is good with Friendly and attentive staff.
The General impression of the Food is Average and needs to be addressed, the price demanded to stay means the Food radically needs to improve to meet 5 Star Standards, at the moment its basic covers all the areas and does nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments on our property on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed pleased to learn that your stay has been enjoyable except for the quality and variety of food which you find average.
We shall work out with our Kitchen Team to find ways of offering more F& B varieties in order to meet with our Guests' expectations.

Thank you again for your comments which will assist us in improving our service.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.