We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay more, save up to 35%
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Flic En Flac
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellet Beach front hotel, with lovely food and ambience. The rooms were large , cozy and comfortable. Service was great.

The beach front was the best bart of the hotel, with all amenites available.

The only minus point was no swimming allowed after 7pm. Also the boat ride was very boring and no corels to see too.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The travelling part is expensive as the hotel is bit away from the main market. But if one just wants to relax and enjoy at a single loction this will be great choice.

Mutiple restras for various cusines.. veg food also available.

Room Tip: Choose the first/ 2nd floor rooms for sea view but incase with kids choose the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your positive comments on our property on Trip Advisor and thank you.
We are delighted you enjoyed the food, ambience and the comfort of our rooms and appreciated the service as well.

You will understand that swimming in our pool is prohibited after 7 p.m. in order not to perturb
the serenity of the dining area and for also the safety of our valued Guests.
It is also unfortunate that the corals in our beautiful lagoons are becoming rarer, but rest assured that the authorities are seriously looking into the preservation of our underwater life.

We reiterate our thanks to you for taking the time to write your opinion of the Sofitel Imperial Mauritius and we shall be very honoured to welcome you back again to our property.

Yours Sincerely,

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    205
    92
    40
    17
See reviews for
208
447
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Sofitel I'Imperial towards the end of Jan 2013. The hotel staff were very friendly. The room was spacious as we had a family suit. We were on a full board basis so we had most of our meals at the main resturant. The selection of food was great and tasted good as well. The kids club is well managed, however I suggest that they install a play gym for children aged 1-5 years. The rooms are stocked daily with bottled water at no extra charge. Soft drinks cost from 140 Rupees, while alcholic drinks range from 180 rupees upwards. The hotel has one of the better stretches of sea shore as compared to it's neighbours. The have a very nice pool area. At night you can sit at the beach and listen to the Hotel's band playing some good music. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Travel Tips:
- If you need cellphone sim cards, I suggest you get it at the airport or stop at the cascavelle shopping mall en route to Flic en Flaq, as you can get a sim card for about 100 Rupees, the local stores will rip you off.
- take lots of sun block and a very strong insect repellant cream

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the food, entertainment and Kids Club and the comfort of your room.
We have taken note of your suggestion of a Play Gym for the Kids' Club and shall bring up this idea to the Management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Sofitel Imperial and wish you a lovely day.

Yours Sincerely,



Christophe CARLIER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good location on the island but still nothing much out of the resort in Flic En Flac. Nice shallow beach, safe for children with lots of complementary watersport activities.

F&B is rediculously expensive for the quality of it.

Rooms are spacious and very high standard of finishes.

Overall a good choice in the island but maybe with the wrong price tag!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for your comments on our property on Trip Advisor.

We have taken note of your appreciation of the location and the comfort of our rooms and also
the prices of F&B consumptions which are, to your opinion , on the high side.

We are grateful for your comments which will no doubt assist us in improving our service.

Looking forward to another opportunity to serve you and reiterating our thanks to you.

Kind Regards,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Property is Impressive and the Layout and Design definitely reads as a 5 Star Should.
Service is good with Friendly and attentive staff.
The General impression of the Food is Average and needs to be addressed, the price demanded to stay means the Food radically needs to improve to meet 5 Star Standards, at the moment its basic covers all the areas and does nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments on our property on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed pleased to learn that your stay has been enjoyable except for the quality and variety of food which you find average.
We shall work out with our Kitchen Team to find ways of offering more F& B varieties in order to meet with our Guests' expectations.

Thank you again for your comments which will assist us in improving our service.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Sofitel L'Imperial from the 11th till the 20th January,we both work in the Airline Industry so we're used to travel around and when on vacation we normally choose to stay at Sofitel hotels.From all the Sofitel hotels this one is definitely not a 5* (4* in a good day) and probably the worst.

Hotel: The Hotel is ok.Nice Thai inspired decoration, however the hallways are plain and look a little old.But compared to everything the hotel decoration is the least to be concerned.

Staff:

First :You can count the number of staff that would say Hello,Thank You or even return a smile.You make eye contact to ask for something and you can feel their eyes go away and just ignore you.

Second:Before we went on this vacation we saw some comments that the service was slow, and I just thought I am on vacation so no rush!!!They are SO slow and so bad organised that it really turns to be a painful experience.You arrive at the buffet, they seat you and ask what do you like to drink?we always ask for a coke and a Watermelon Juice (learn this in French,I always asked for Watermelon Juice with no Ice and ended up with a Melon Juice with Ice),you can finish you meal and NO DRINKS, now try to eat spicy Curry with no drink and 32degreed outside!No patience for that!

Third:The Reception Staff,you pay for a 5* and you are treated like you pay for a Motel.
The hotel from the 18th looked like 40% of the rooms were empty,so since our flight was leaving on the 20th but only at 1845h we asked if instead of checking out at 12h it would be possible to check out a little later,like 13h00 so we could go to the beach and than take a shower.The answer was NO!But the solution was : If you come here between 12h and 13h with your luggage we can try to find you an empty room for you to take a shower!(If they didn't find, which they didn't 'cause they don't really care,I would be 24h looking like Robison Crusoe!)
Anyway at 12h sharp we received a phone call asking if our luggage was ready,at 1210h we got housekeeping knocking at our door (they kicked us out) and I felt so bad for being 10 minuted late because( NOW they're are in a rush!) that when we left to the airport not even a Good Bye and Thank You, or hope to see you Soon we received!!Thank You for the wonderful Costumer Service!!!!

The Room: The Room was the only thing that looked like a 5* hotel, they are Big and Comfy!
The down part:THE CLEANING!!!they say they change the sheets every day!Just not true!Hey I don't mind you don't change the sheets every day, but at least don't say you do.
The bathroom towels,be careful!Ours were changed after 7days, you just put them on the floor and hope they will be changed but surprised they are back on the towel rack, I even bother to mark the towels with a little mark just to double check and the marked towels were there for 3 more days.

The Buffet:If you are on a Full Board basis, the buffet is ok.However if you're only on Bed and Breakfast basis Buffet is terrible specially because of the price,you will pay a European Gourmet Restaurant price for plain rice.It is truly outrageous 90 euros for 2 with NO drinks just for some plain rice and chicken.

Mauritius is magical and I am definitely coming back just not sure Sofitel will be the right place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry that your stay at our property did not fully meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for the poor customer service you experienced throughout.
My team and myself will go through all the detailed comments in order to work out ways to improve our service.

The feedback from our valued guests, however negative, is very important to us and will assist us to provide the best possible service to our Guests.

Reiterating our thanks to you and looking forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind Regards



Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at Sofitel Imperial a few times.Nothing extraordinary for a 5 star hotel in Mauritius.The hotel is quite old over 20 years of age.Actually, the hotel is doing some renovations regarding the roof.Nothing more.The hotel really needs a good refurbishment overall.A lot of selection of 5 star hotels now.So,lots of choices now.The new one is St Regis Hotel.May be not in the same turf.Improvements also must be made in the restaurants.Not much choices.One main restaurant serving local & international food & on the first floor, Chinese & Japanese restaurants.Limited choices of fresh fruits for breakfast at the main restaurant.Don't understand why water melons and papayas are served in limited quantity as they are not expensive.The last time we stayed in December, we forgot our Mac Book adaptor there when we checked out.The next day, I phoned to see if they have found an adaptor in the room. I was quite certain they would say, the adaptor was found but to our surprise NOT.I also wrote a letter to the director but in vain.Small disappointment which spoiled your stay for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

We have taken good note of your feedback on Trip Advisor and would like to thank you for taking the time to share it on this Forum.

We appreciate your comments which will help us improve on our service to our valued Guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you better and thank you again for sharing your views.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just spent a fantastic week in Mauritius. We took the helicopter ride from the airport which was a great idea and gave us the opportunity to see Mauritius very well from the start. Riad, our butler, met us at the landing pad and onwards was constantly paying attention to our needs. Service in the restaurant was not as efficient but riad was never far making sure our dietary requirements were met.
The NYE was just fabulous, it was the first time for both of us we were celebrating dancing on a beach with over 30c!
Spa was good too. I tried the coco treatment and my other half did accupuncture. Both of us found the staff to be very kind and professional.
We visited a few things on the island and all went smoothly through our butler. The boat house offers lots of complimentary activities, so i went water skiing !
I read recent comments and was quite surprised as i was not experiencing the same. I asked the staff and was told that many employees just disappeared at year end which put the team under duress. We didnt real feel it but were told that some large families were disappointed.
I would definitely recommend the sofitel for couples but not at all for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, Directeur général at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
However, upon reading your comments, we gather that you have been staying at the SO Mauritius in the south and not at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa situated on the west coast of Mauritius.
We shall be transferring your comments to our colleagues of the SO Mauritus who will no doubt appeciate your very positive feedback but as well improve where required.

Your view is very much appreciated as it assists us in bringing our service to a higher level.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Jetsetter, ACCOR, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.