We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Bhavnagar, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Hotel is at the best of the places. People enjoy staying at calm places.
The quality of the rooms really good. Room service is top notch. Breakfast quality was fresh with different varieties were served. Overall is was good experience staying at the Sofitel Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for this nice comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel as well as your whole stay.

We really hope to see you in a next future.

Best Regards

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    238
    106
    47
    22
See reviews for
248
503
27
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mandsaur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Overall it was a superb stay at sofitel, mauritius in-spite of few problems.

There was a problem during Check-in at the hotel. I got my room around 3 PM Mauritius time, so i had to wait for around 4 hours for my room but other guests got room sooner. But hotel tried to make up the problem i faced by giving me a complimentary lunch during my waiting period on their own. Actually i liked it.

There was problems related to food. The Veg and Non Veg food was kept together, so sometimes the non veg items was mixed in veg items. So i had to be very careful while taking food.I told about the same problem to Mr. Christopher also during the cock tail party arranged by him. It will be good if hotel looks into this matter as all Indians guests, i knew, faced this problem.

The room was superb, especially the bed was very comfortable. My room was at ground floor, so there was direct access to beach from room. Water sports, Archery, Lawn tennis, Fitness Center, swimming pool etc. all were well maintained and good.

I liked the staff behavior so much, they were always friendly, helpful and what i liked most all staff members were having good humor.

There was access to 3 restaurants for us ravinala, ming and jacaranda. The candle light at jacaranda was memorable and also the food was good.

I took dolphin cruise from hotel which was very good, they helped in doing snorkeling also there.

Overall it was a memorable stay at hotel. The location of hotel is also good near to local bus stop, so no need to do taxi to go to the main market. I didn't took any extra activities outside as hotel was so comfortable and a lot was there to do in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: according to me Ground floor ocean view room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for this review on the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

In fact we had talked about the veg and Non veg items on the buffet and we are planning some changes about this.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel and service during your honeymoon.

We hope to see you soon for a next stay.

Best Regards

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Currently staying at Sofitel and can't ask for anything more! Great b'fast with a variety of fresh items. And what can I say about the buffet dinner. . . Different theme every day with wonderful tastes, not to mention that you can choose to dine in any of the restaurants. Rooms are great and very luxurious, with flower petals in the bathroom!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for your interest for the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa and for this review on Trip Advisor.

We are most pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We really hope to see you again for future stay.

Best Regards

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a lovely few day we spent at this amazing resort!!! Absolutely Splendid!!! This resort is based in Flic en Flac, and what a location it is. The beach is beautiful and the water even more. The resort offers beautiful access to the beach. The view of the ocean is simply breathtaking. The room was on par with any 5 star resort and bathroom fittings were very comfortable to use. The service was prompt. The rooms were kept clean and tidy, room service did a great job. The sea facing rooms offer great view of the ocean. The restaurants of the resort give extensive menus and great service. Food is very tasty and staff is very friendly and guide you properly through the menu. The Jacaranda restaurant by the bay is fantastic and the candle light dinner made the evening very special for us. The resort is very good for Dolphin watch. 10 mins from the resort by speed boat brings you to dolphin feeding locations and very colorful reefs. The resort has Casela bird park close by and is a good visit. We would recommend taking the local bus as this a very easy, economical, comfortable option of travelling, 5mins walk from resort brings you to the bus stop. My wife and I found the staff and management very friendly, really had a honeymoon well spent!!!

Room Tip: Sea-facing over garden view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Location- flic and flac is lovely. We spent 4 days up in grand bay in north, but the activities available (in casela park) and small town far superseded the north. Beautiful mountain views from this hotel. However it should be noted that everything closes at 5.30. And off peak (may end) the small shops and many restaurants are closed

Facilities- beautiful pool, beach and gardens with beds. Lovely well equipped gym and spa with deals

Rooms-we had a good deal on the rooms, so look in advance for luxury rooms. Genuinely lovely, huge beds, very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was delicious, although repetitive there was a good spread

Service- staff meant well, but service was poor. Luggage took an hour to get to the room despite a phone call to request it quickly. Breakfast we cleared our own plates a number of times when we popped up for seconds, staff forgot things that we had asked for, very often things requested did not arrive

Overall a lovely hotel, grounds, beach and rooms in a nice location. Next to casela park (walk with lions, quads etc) and tamarin bay (good for dolphin watching and snorkeling). A very nice hotel, and with a good deal on rooms is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for this comment on TripAdvisor.

I am happy that you were satisfied by your overall stay.

I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

We will make our utmost to solve the mentionned problems.

I really hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I'm really late for this one review as I was there in summer 2011. But better late than never, right? Anyway, I really enjoyed my stay there. Beautiful location and hotel. Rooms were great with a nice view on the beach, BOSE hifi-system, flat screen TV and possibly anything you might expect from Sofitel. Beautiful pool and beach. You can borrow anything you need for snorkeling from the hotel but just so you know don't expect to be surrounded by fish while swimming. Time, tourism and human activity have all taken their toll on the environement and this clearly shows. Food was good though not exceptional, in the main restaurant, it's buffet style with a different theme every evening. We tried the chinese restaurant located upstairs and it turned out to be good too. Breakfast was perfect. Service was pretty flawless throughout our stay. Spent two hours at le SPA, very relaxing indeed. The only thing that went wrong is that my friend had left some of her belongings (personal hygiene) near the sinks which all went missing when she came back at the end of the day. Nothing valuable you could say but it was definitely unacceptable in a place like this. Staff apologized but no compensation was given and we had to rush throughout Flic en Flac to get her something similar. A true let down for sure. So don't leave anything laying around! Apart from that, like I said enjoyable stay and recommended 5 star for an affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed overall service at the hotel.

We would like to apologize once again for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

We really hope to see you again in a near future.

Best regards

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We chose the Sofitel based on Trip Advisor reviews and agent recommendation. We had to be specific about our needs to ensure we had a room that met our needs...not all rooms are sea facing. The hotel is impressive as your dive in and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Room: family suite 120 was a great sea view, large loung with Nespresso and Surround sound. Main bed room was huge with all the amenities and more. Great bed, jucuzzi bath, shower and views.
Food: great b/fast and themed dinner ensured we had different food options every night. The drinks are expensive but had the happy hour with half priced drinks which was a bonus. We chose half board as the full board only includes lunch and not drinks...a wise choice.
Spa: must try, the full body massage was great and with the buy one get one free, also affordable to experience one every day. The hot stone was good but lots of time is wasted by therapist to access the stones. Great facilities but was disappointed that the jucuzzie was an optional extra.
Beach: great white sandy beach with few rocks, like some other parts of Mauritius. The east side of island is best as less windy and rainy. Take swim shoes as there is pieces of coral in water. The boat shop has all the snorkeling and activity apparatus you will need at no cost and was impressed with free glass bottom boat, snorkeling at reef, water skiing which are normally paid for activities.
Service: faultless. The staff are friendly and attentive. I wanted oats porridge and this was ready for me when I entered Resturant..truly amazing. Night before check out receptionists offered wake up call, confirm transfer and early breakfast, before I could ask...how efficient.

All in all a wonderful experience and will definitely be back. Thank you Sofitel!

Room Tip: Rooms: ensure you request a room with sea view, if that is your requirement as not all rooms are sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Flic En Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.