We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights and really enjoyed our time @ Sugar Beach. We were in a superior room which was almost on the beach. The room was kept really clean and the mini bar was kept well stocked with drinks that we used, so plenty of beer and diet coke!
We went all inclusive which seemed the best for us as drink was very expensive and we were told the allowance towards the evening meal was not very much. We ate in the buffet which was lovely as well as the a la carte restaurants and made use of the sister hotel's restaurant. Everything was well cooked and very tasty.
The resort was beautiful, the pool and beach extremely clean and staff very friendly
Hopefully a return trip will happen soon and I really recommend Sugar Beach and Mauritius!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for recommending Sugar Beach and for dropping a few words on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read how much you appreciated our services and facilities. We have pass on your comments to our team members and they are equally happy to learn that you have had a fantastic holiday with us.

We thank you again and look forward to welcome you back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    288
    85
    25
    11
See reviews for
416
743
16
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This five star Mauritian hotel is in an ideal location, within easy reach of the shopping centres of Port Louis and Curepipe,
Accommodation - The rooms were clean and spacious. Amazing view!!
The neutral colours and wood finishing gives it style and comfort.
Really nice!!
Restaurants/ Facilities - Fantastic food served at the restaurant for dinner. Sugar Beach residents also have privileged access to the amenities at neighbouring La Pirogue hotel.
For great specials. Get it contact with me =)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for sharing your experiences you had at Sugar Beach Hotel to others travelers on this forum. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities and also the amenities of La Pirogue Hotel. We hope to see you back to Sugar Beach in a very near future.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had a fantastic holiday at Sugar Beach. Staff friendly and helpful. Chef on duty came out each night to let me know what I could eat as I am gluten free and dairy free, anything I wanted they would make, brilliant. A beautiful island, plenty to do and amazing beaches.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms would be the ones by the quiet pool as they are furthest away from the evening en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We are glad to learn that you had a fantastic holiday at Sugar Beach and that our team members catered for your needs during your holidays with us. We shall surely pass on your comments to them. We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to Sugar Beach in a very near future.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having been to Mauritius a few times, I always lookout for a new gem! This hotel has however been around since 1996 and refurbished to its grandeur in 2008. It has a colonial look and feel to it, you could be at Raffles in Singapore if peanuts where on offer! The service is pleasant and friendly, true to the Mauritian way of life. The food which has a different theme every evening is superb. After only 4 days on the island, we've had an Indonesian, Italian and Mauritian evening - loads of choices on offer every evening! Their restaurant, The Tides, is rated no one on trip advisor and understandably so! As it's our wedding anniversary, we where offered a complimentary meal at the restaurant. Fine dinning all the way! Their speciality is seafood with a fusion twist - superb! Our room is rather spacious and very comfortable. Perfectly cleaned every day. The variety of activities on site are included in your tariff. There is a top-notch gym with the latest equipment and the spa has a range of treatments available to both couples or individuals. A lovely boutique is also available in case you've left your swimming gears at home or if you wish to splash out on a new outfit! Superb resort with everything on offer that you could wish for!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We thank you for choosing Sugar Beach for your recent holidays and also for writing a review on us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our themed evenings as well as the different facilities of the hotel.

We shall be happy to welcome you back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently spent 10 days enjoying the hospitality and facilities of the hotel. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. The presentation and quality of the food was excellent. Will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you very much for sparing us some time to drop in a few words on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the hospitality and facilities of the hotel.

We shall be glad to welcome you back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I chose this Hotel as other reviewers showed all mostly positive feedback. My wife and I had the honeymoon package which offered a free room upgrade if available, dinner on the beach at The Tides restaurant, and fruit basket on arrival. Whilst we had a lovely room, it was a standard room although we were later to find out that upgraded rooms were available. It seems this is the carrot to get you to book with them but state no upgrade is available when you arrive. Also the room we had whilst in a lovely part of the Manor House really did need a refurb. Bathroom was grotty (which we asked to be deep cleaned), sealer around the shower leaked. Marks on the backs of doors where the cleaners had not wiped them down, and lots of marks on walls. The Hotel staff were mostly excellent with a few call outs to exceptional members of staff who went over and above. The South African General Manager seemed insincere in the few occasions you would bump into him but you would always see him spending plenty of time with other SA guests. Also, being that we were on the Honeymoon package, we had no notification of when we would be getting our romantic dinner that was promised. I had to ask about it at the front desk 9 days into the Holiday before being given an invite.

The pools are getting very tired. There are age marks along the top water line of the tiles and the grouting is coming out in places. Nothing a good steam/deep clean and re-grouting couldn't fix.

Most importantly, if you are not paying the premium for all inclusive, BE PREPARED. The prices they charge for drinks are off the chart. They are so expensive and bear no relation to the real cost of alcohol or soft drinks that are sold in the supermarket just 10 minutes walk away. An example is a can of local Phoenix Beer being sold for 35 rupees (70 pence) at the supermarket. The exact same can of beer is 200 rupees (+£4) at the Hotel. This is the same with cocktails and soft drinks. A few pence at the supermarket and a few pounds in the Hotel. It is a complete rip-off. Whilst I understand it is going to be more expensive in a Hotel, it should not be +600% more expensive. When they are paying their staff an average of £240 per MONTH, and charging £6 for a beer or £10 for a cocktail, it gives you an idea of how much they are ripping you off. So be warned, if you are not going to pay the huge cost of the upgrade to all inclusive, then go to the Supermarket down the road, ask housekeeping to empty the fridge in your room, and then go to the supermarket and buy your own alcohol and save yourself £100's of pounds in extras. This was the advice given to us by our travel agent and it was very good advice.

TAXI's outside the Hotel will quote you very high as they are expecting you not to haggle and assuming that everyone in the Hotel is stupid. Flic en Flac should be no more than 150 rupees into town. It is a 10/15 minute walk away or get the bus which is 18 rupees. I was quoted 1800 to go to the Black River to the SeaKarts. I refused and went into town and asked other taxi drivers how much. I got it for 1200 rupees return which included the driver waiting 2.5 hours for us to do the activity. I also haggled and got 800 return to the Lion Park. Don't pay the price the hotel taxis ask for as they start very high.

Food. Buffet every night with a different theme was good. However if you want to book The Tides or Citronella's, you will need to get in quickly as they get booked well in advance.

Caution to All Inclusive quests, make sure you only order from the menu with items marked with a STAR * as anything that doesn't have this next to it will be chargeable. It should be explained to you on arrival, but make sure you understand this when ordering high end drinks/spirits as you will get a hefty bill on departure even though you thought you were all inclusive.

The Hotel is beautifully located, the staff were on the whole excellent and our holiday was amazing. Just be prepared if you are half board and take my advice and go to the supermarket. Would I go back, well yes I would as the location and pools are excellent and the staff are amazing. I just don't like the way the Hotel is geared towards ripping off their guests.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view as there are a few rooms which are not great at all. Rooms around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We have taken all comments mentioned above into consideration and appropriate actions are being taken. However we wish to inform you that guests on honeymoon are indeed informed about the possibility of benefiting from a room upgrade depending on availability as stated on their voucher. Whilst offering the best room available in the standard category we could not unfortunately offer any room upgrade during that period since we were in an overbooked situation with no superior rooms available during this period. Also, we have permanent room maintenance and cleaning programs along the year which are most specifically done during the low season. As for the pool, we clean and treat it regularly during the day and maintenance works are carried out when the pools are closed. Further to your comments, kindly note that our General Manager as well as the Management Team in the various outlets regularly take the feedback from the guests and do their best to individually meet all the 500 guests present in the hotel.

With regards to our prices, please note that regular benchmarking is being done, enabling us to align our prices to those of hotels of the same category.

Rates for taxis operating at hotels of the same region as us have been established by the local authorities. We indeed have various packages at the hotel and provide the appropriate explanation on arrival to our guests and we remain at their disposal for any additional information whenever required during their stay.

We thank you again for your feedback which will immensely help us to maintain and improve services quality.

It would be to our greatest pleasure to welcome you again at Sugar Beach Hotel.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from a conference and was disappointed by the resort. Arrived in the evening and was put into a room under a room that was being renovated. I am allergic to oil based paint so over night became quite unwell. 6am up to reception to change rooms. Told to come back after breakfast, did so, told t come back after lunch, did so, told to wait till later. So stayed afternoon waiting out side room. Back at 3.30 to see if room change organised, yes they would come in 10 mins to collect us and move bags.4.30 went back and asked for room key, given it and told to wait 10 mins to have bags collected. 30 mins later, moved our own bags. 2 days later, key stropped working. Sorted out only to find next day key stopped working as well.Long walk back to correct key again. Also in the new room, shower poured water all over floor, had to stop it with towel at door. Bath plug leaked water so bath drained rapidly while sitting in it.
Friday night, wedding right outside the room, thumping drums, music and noise for a long time.
All inclusive package great for food and certain drinks other wise very expensive. When ordering on menu, check for the green star for all inclusive package. Pizza salad and 2 beers would be over $100 in Citronella. Little brown ants wander over the bed and check the cups before drinking tea in your room, lots of swimming ants.

Room Tip: Check they are not renovating your block when you book. There seems to be a lot of that going on. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for dropping a few words on your stay at Sugar Beach.
Your comments and suggestions have been analysed and discussed by our team and we assure you that appropriate actions will be taken to further improve our service quality.

We personally appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach in the near future.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.