We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sugar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sugar Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Colourful Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to The Sugar Beach for 10 nights from the 3rd November. We booked through Mauritius Holidays Direct who were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the island. We flew directly with Air Mauritius. Unfortunately we had a 2 hour delay leaving Heathrow due to an aircraft change in Mauritius. The flight was comfortable with similar legroom to BA and good food by airline standards.Night flight there and day flight back. The day flight was great because it was very clear and we flew over Somalia, Ethiopia, Sudan and Egypt. We were in a standard room which was lovely with a balcony looking over the quiet pool and beyond to the sea. It was quiet, clean, very comfortable bed and big TV. The sheets and towels were changed daily and they were good quality. The only problem we had was with the shower which went from hot to cold and sometimes no hot water possibly because it was a busy time. We paid for internet access in our room but more often than not it didn't work. We did report this and were told we would be refunded but on check out this did not happen and it was too early in the morning to do anything about it. The grounds were immaculate with people working all the time. The lawns were beautifully tended. The coconuts were removed to avoid accidents. There was no debris. The flowers were very colourful. The tennis courts were in good condition and shared with La Pirogue hotel next door. The beach was pretty but the sea is very shallow out to the reef. There is no sailing allowed when the tide is out as rocks are too near the surface. The sailing boats are Funboats and small lasers (no Hobies) and they do not have stand up paddleboards which would be perfect in this location. There are bits of reef on the beach and in the water but we did not feel the need for water shoes. We walked the length of the beach where the hotels are and were very happy that we chose Sugar beach as the grounds are more special and the beach was the best bit of that part of the coast. The main pool was a lovely design but for me the quiet pool was one of the lovliest pools I have been in.The rep we had was not very informative only seeming to want to sell very expensive daytrips. We went by bus to Flic en Flac which was really cheap and the buses are regular. There is a well stocked supermarket and some touristy shops but it is not very big, the restaurants didn't have much custom. We took a taxi into Port Louis where the taxi driver waited for us to take us back, personally I wouldn't waste holiday time on Port Louis as it is nothing special. the market was good for fruit and veg. We hired a car and managed to see a lot of the east and some of the south of the island, unfortunately visibility was not good enough to explore the interior where the waterfalls are. Sadly we did not have great weather. In 10 days we had 4 beautiful days. It was always warm/hot but we needed another layer in the evenings. There were dark stormy clouds and intermittent rain. The hotel provided umbrellas. I think we were unlucky as there were people who return every year at the same time and they had never had more than a couple of bad days.There were weddings every day near the quiet pool. Now on to the food. Breakfast was great for choice. Lots of fresh fruit, bacon eggs etc, waffles and pancakes, cold meats and cheeses, juices but best of all were the croissants, pastries, baguettes, pain au chocolate, brioche, muffins and toast. The only downside of breakfast was the bacon was cold as were the beans and poached eggs were always hard and left to stand too long. Dinner in the main restaurant was full of selection and different themes each night. The starters were fantastic but the main courses let them down. The meat was tough, they ran out of steaks and some of the dishes were cold. But they made up for it with the puddings especially the Creme Brulee. We booked half board and expected to have a choice of restaurants within our deal. If we had eaten at Tides the allowance for half board would only have covered the cost of a starter. The Italian was similar. For All Inclusive guests they could choose dishes marked with an asterisk at these restaurants which was slightly better. Basically Half Board means one restaurant unless you want an expensive bill. As for drinks, the prices were unbelievable. The water was 8 times more expensive than the supermarket which I did bring to the attention of the Management. We did get 1 litre of water delivered to our room each evening. A coke which was mainly ice worked out at about £3.50. It did seem that other hotels charged the same sort of prices. All in all we had a lovely holiday despite the weather but it is a very long way to go from the UK when you can have a similar holiday nearer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    276
    80
    24
    8
See reviews for
394
689
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

the kids had a great time at the Kids' Club, with loads of activities and games and the hostesses there are very kind and polite, though we brought our own babysitter along.

"Tides" is a nice place for nightcaps,feet in the warm sand while listening to the live band.
The food is very good as well and the staff, friendly.

on the overall, we had a pleasant stay, though our room was noisy as we were in manor house, near to "Tides" where the party goes on past midnight!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the Manor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for 7 days in early November; 2-3 days partially overcast/occasional rain, 4 days magnificent clear sunny weather. The centre is more cloudy & wet.

ROOMS: We had a standard room (640) in the Manor House first floor excellent sitauation with lovely sea views & views over the croquet lawn. Standard rooms more than adequate, Our maid Francoise left flowers & notes daily, spotless sheets & comfy firm beds, great to see the local fruit bats (the size of seaguls with 4' wingspan!) in the trees outside our room at dusk most nights. Occasional noise from entertainment at Tides on one or two nights, if u like it quiet you may be better in the South Villas with a view over the quiet pool.

GROUNDS: These are magnificent constant work being done and loads of watering from the hotel's own impressive recycling facility. Do go on the 'Behind the scenes tour' offered: any hotel so keen to show you in detail the recycling facilities, maintenance areas, kitchens and solar heating plant is a reassuring thing to know. All spotless.

FOOD: The main resturaunt is a themed buffet, different each night eg: Lebanese, Seafood, Curry, Mauritian. Very wide choice though plates and some dishes could have been warmer. Service for drinks reliable and prompt best to order as soon as you arrive, they were usually on the table when you returned with your starter. Breakfast excellent. Ate at Tides twice : table service and a noticable step up certainly 'fine dining' to our taste, emphasis on fish dishes. If you are on the all inclusive (see below) you get a separate menu but there are several choices of starters & main. Staff well informed & offer explanations of dishes. Tried Citronella's once: Italian, food also good but portions large for our liking. No problems booking either of these resturants for us. Service at lunchtime at Tides a bit slow on occasion.

GUESTS: When we were ther nice mix of younger/wedding/honeymoon couples, Young families (French half term), middle aged & older farts (we are one on the latter two!)

FACILITIES: Tennis courts (6) easy to book & excellent,' tip : bring your own balls or you have to buy them, rackets are free if you don't bring your own. Snorkelling trip depends on tide & swell beyond reef: the day we went was clear and calm & saw more than we did on the catamaran trip. There is a large area inside the reef that is shallow but OK for sailing the free boats, nice not to have speedboats/jetskis in this part of the island. Beach is fine we walked a long way up & down in bare feet withouit any problem: must hgave hard feet compared to other reviewers! Spa used once was excellent.

ALL INCLUSIVE: Strongly recommend this: It is excellent we are not great drinkers but it took away a lot of worry, You get the Table D'Hote menu at Tides that is excellent, and can have most of what you can see on Citronella's menu. Staff well trained about this compared to some previous reviews. Items on all inclusive clearly marked on menu's and various bar lists. Includes a wide range of drinks including cocktails that could cost £8 and a range of mostly S African or Chilean wines by the bottle or glass. The quality of the wines I would put at around the 'under a tenner' supermarket level, would cost you £20-£25 otherwise. Room fridge includes beers, wine, soft drinks, & juices. Otherwise you can run up a big bill, on checkout all we had extra was a massage and one drink not on the all inclusive, the system worked well you signed for everything and the all inclusive items were taken off your bill correctly, another guest was having a bit of a shock over his bill on the half board option : even soft drinks for children etc rapidly build up!

WIFI: Something had to be a bit of a disappointment! I'm not bothered much but my wife likes to keep in touch. The free wifi is very slow and next to useless. Even sending an e-mail took ages : go to a hotspot, connect & by the end of your meal it might have been sent! Didn't try the premium service. Perhaps a bit unfair to criticise this as Mauritius is not Northern Europe. Gave up trying to check in for our return flight and was kindly allowed to successfully use the hotel's own computer in reception: it wasn't up to much either!

MANAGEMENT: We were most impressed by the regular presence of management, The manageer Andrew Slome was out & about much of the time and reguarly talking to guests including a cocktail party, around the resort & resturaunts, he was keen to hear personally feed back.

KIDS: Been there & done that! Not an issue for us but saw the Kids Club on the 'behind the scenes' tour: excellent and better than we had ever had when our children were younger.

OTHER TIPS: Don't rent a car with the hotel associated ABC rental : nice new cars but twice the price of lesser vehicles on the internet we researched before travelling easily booked by phone on arrival. Try a local bus to Port Louis, parking & driving there a nightmare bus only 60p and see some of the other side of Mauritius. Catamaran trip arranged by hotel was good : saw dolphins and excellent BBQ. Drove to sister hotel Le Tousserek and use their free boat to Ile aux Cerfs: good day. Tea plantation a genuine working plantation/factory, good tour. Found Mauritius very hospitable, always felt safe though easy to get lost driving in the central plateau towns! The quality of service at Sugar Beach excellent, hope to return again.

Booked with British Airways website only 10 days before we went : website price more competitive than offered by other operators, though BA was more expensive when we looked at other resorts. Nice to have an easily accesable voice on the phone the day we left when it looked as if our BA flight to Gatwick was going to be late & we might miss our BA Mauritius flight: just made it though!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We love Mauritius. We paid a visit again, the 4th one, in late October. The occasion, our belated wedding anniversary. My wife and I are crazy about traveling and have visited some 135 countries. We picked the Sun Resorts’ Sugar Beach in the West and Long Beach in the East coast of the island. Twelve years ago we had an unforgettable honeymoon at Le Touessrok Resort of the same company. We arrived first at the Sugar Beach Resort eager to stretch our legs at the patio of our sea facing superior room of a villa with sea view and enjoy the little details of life, admiring a golden warm sunset, waken up to the chirping of the tropical birds, walking barefoot on a pure coral white sandy beach and so on. We were given room 720, which is facing the sea from some …150 feet (some 50 meters) away from the water with thick vegetation and the swimming pool with stretchers and lazy bodies on all around in between that one should stretch and twist their neck like a giraffe in order to see a sliver of sea. We told the person who accompanied us that we had not paid a small fortune for an obscure room like this. He said, don’t worry, we’ll fix it. Within less than 15 minutes the housekeeping manager Mr. Damian Adolphe had secured room 545 for us, a really great sea facing room at a villa with sea view from which we could relax sitting at the patio and enjoy watching the breaking of the waves on the distant reef. Not only that, Mr. Adolphe visited us, introduced himself, and assured us that he and the management will do anything possible to make our stay a real pleasure. Every so often he would visit with us wherever he found us or he made it a point to find us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. We are very impressed with employees like him. Very outgoing, friendly, business like and efficient. They make you want to come back to a resort/hotel with service like this again and again.

We’ve got to mention here the quality of service from the bell person to the housekeeping team of the resort was more than adequate to secure a pleasant stay. The servers at the “Mon Plaisir” restaurant worked like a well-oiled machine. They looked around to help people as they walked, cleaned tables or served guests. They were amazing under the watchful eye of the efficient asst. restaurant manager Mr. Kevin Munniem.

For our wedding anniversary they served us a complimentary romantic 5 course seafood dinner prepared especially for us by Chef Nishal on the lawn patio of the elegant “Tides” restaurant at the beach and next to a fire. It was an unforgettable experience. At the end they presented us with a chocolate cake with sparkling candles on. My wife was in tears of happiness. When we arrived at our room, it was beautifully and cleverly decorated by Ms. Sharmila, our housekeeper. On the bed two lovely white towel swans were sitting in a sea of flowers, kissing each other. The table was also decorated with a big towel heart filled with red flower petals. Hot bubble bath with flower petals was waiting for us too. And then Ms. Sharmila arrived to wish us “congrats” on our wedding anniversary bringing a handsome t-shirt for me and a gorgeous shawl for my wife, company gifts. I forgot to mention the ice cold sparkling wine with light snacks made by Chef Nishal especially for us in the afternoon.

The only drawback of the resort is swimming, as the sea is rather shallow. But one can walk 5 minutes on the coral while sandy beach to the sister resort “La Pirogue,” and swim their heart out! And the other drawback is ours because the 7 days went fast, we wished we’d stayed another 7.

We have visited many resorts in Mauritius. While my sugar baby and I lay on the warm golden sand absorbing the beauty of a magical sunset, we both decided in unison, we want to come back again to Sugar Beach Resort soon.

Room Tip: When you book and you like plain sea view ask for rooms 501 to 506 (superior at a villa) or 800 or 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went there during the week end to relax and enjoy. Staff is well- trained and always ready to help.
Food was good. we've enjoyed the Indian and fisherman buffets. The show was excellent and the kids enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have just returned from this resort where our daughter got married on the beach. We had a wonderful time; they are very experienced in organising weddings and everything was perfect. The wedding co-ordinator, Christine, is very professional and efficient and also very kind and nice and nothing was too much trouble. If anyone is thinking of getting married at this resort, don't hesitate, you will have a wonderful day. As a holiday resort it's one of the best all inclusive I have ever stayed at as so much is included such as water, crepes made to order on the beach every afternoon, items in the mini-bar, many cocktails, water sports, steam room in the spa, gym, etc. The breakfasts are truly amazing, so much choice and items like waffles and pancakes are all made a few at a time in front of you, so very fresh. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and cleanliness both inside the hotel and the outside facilities is obviously high on the agenda.The only downside is the somewhat slow and erratic service in the restaurants, but it's such a beautiful resort that in my opinion it's a small price to pay. I loved this resort and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week with extended family a found the following:

Good points
Excellent kids club for ages 6 to 10 - lots of scheduled activities that keep kids active till 10pm if required - one of the best I have come across anywhere with purpose built facility and committed staff.
Sailing & Water activities - free laser dinghies, kayaks and pedaloes can be used when water levels and sea conditions permit. Limited sail area enforced by over zealous staff in speed boat though !
Garden and surrounds - hotel staff constantly tend the garden which is in excellent condition - even if they start noisy gardening equipment a little too early in the morning !
Housekeeping - rooms are well serviced and staff went extra mile to freshen room daily.

Points to improve.
Tides Restaurant and Italian at Sister hotel La Pirogue make a pleasent change from mediocre buffet fare.
Service - service levels here are really down to staff personality and mood and can vary from almost 5 staff to downright rude and "motel" like. An example we had was being told w couldnt get a transfer buggy from neighbouring hotel La Pirogue because a particular staff member was almost finished his shift - an upfront tip resolved the problem as we had very tired kids and an 80 yr old granmother the tranfer back to La Sugar Beach.
Room service is a little slow until tips get stepped up and then improves.
Unfortunately, we lost (stolen) an expensive pair of sunglasses whilst swimming - staff didnt seem surprised when alerted, which is telling.....
The tides restaurant had a performance each evening which ratled on till 2am - not good if you have a room within earshot and small kids.
We had booked an adjoining room for kids with connecting doors which we never got and told it was not possible as hotel fully booked - despite arguing that we had booked 4 months previously.
Beds are seriously firm so beware if you suffer a back problem.

In summary this is a nice if expensive 4 star family resort with a pleasent (if narrow) beach.

Room Tip: If you have small kids and retire early avoid anywhere near tides restaurant as performance extend l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.