We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service beach resort for business meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, Flic en Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good service beach resort for business meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

On the west coast of Mauritius with a nice stretch of sandy beach, this is a great place for relaxation but also for a company retreat. Service was excellent on arrival and during the entire stay. Breakfast offers a nice spread of fruits, fruit juice, and good pastry. The Thai restaurant offers good Thai food, though altered to European taste, which was not what I was expecting. Dinner on the beach served by the French restaurant on a Thursday night was a great way to end a long day of business meeting. The lobster - the grilled portion - was excellent. I recommend having the whole lobster grilled instead of half of it grilled, and the other half in curry and in a tomato sauce.
It was great watching the sunset daily and it paid to just be on the beach and take the time to watch the sunset over the Indian ocean. Each sunset was unique.
The room is comfortable and the massage at the spa was great. The spa also offers steam bath and sauna, which was a good way to unwind after meetings and before dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    378
    104
    55
    29
See reviews for
287
765
24
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were in Maurice in April 2012 for a short holiday. It is a beautiful country with lovely people.
The hotel was so nice and they looked after us very well. We enjoyed the Thai restaurant and the free water sports at the hotel.
A romantic location and they also have a childrens club which is very useful!

Room Tip: suite room near the beach is best if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed at many five star properties and travelling for my honeymoon I was very careful to select the resort with some good reviews. Not all is true for this resort as mentioned otherwise. I will start with the pros : Breakfast is decent here, there are evening activities on the house for guests which is pretty standard if you ask me for resorts in Mauritius. there is a choice of two restuarants for people on half board meal choice but honestly,with a very limited menu options to choose from which makes it a very shallow experience to explore the restuarants in case you are willing to avoid the hustle at the buffet restuarant. Location wise its not too close to the Flic en Flac beach but is close enough to public bathing area due to which you have locals easily intruding the hotel shack and mingling with guests.
I have horrible experience at this resort after i decided to stay here for the fact that i am someone who admires sunsets more than sunrises and there is a lot of offer in mauritius landscapes for nature admirers. At our check in, we were given decent rooms but owing to (some miscommunication from the travel agents), hotel was not informed of the Honeymoon package being availed by us, hence none of the amenities supposed to be provided to us were absent in our room. On enquiring with the travel agent and the hotel, they covered it with certain part of the amenities by sending us part of this package. I had to make several calls to recieve the rest of it which anyhow was not delivered after some of the hotel staff admitted to have got a confirmation from the travel agent that we are indeed booked as honeymooners. This also included a Spa voucher for half hour massage which was never delivered but the rest of these services took time till the last day of our stay and continuous requests for final delivery.

I tried one of the in house restaurants being a patron of continental cuisine, melazine the italian restuarant, and to our horror, we found a human hair in our dish which was refused by our server as being one. How stupid is that for a cover up. the other guy in the restuarant however lacked the coordination and acknowledged his mistake to cover this incident with sending us a packed chicken pizza. This same night, my wife suffered food allergy who needed immediate attention to avoid getting rashes and soars all over her body. Since, she is a doctor herself, and with the absence of any doctor in the resort late in the night (around 1030PM) we searched for medicines in the medical room ourselves which were also absent. The doctor when contacted refused to come over and advised her to take pills instead of injections which would have ruined the rest of our honeymoon to be continued in Dubai later. She took control of herself and we went to the nearest clinic and bore expenses of all this event on our own. The hotel staff when contacted next day, refused any ownership or lack of amenities to clear their hands off this event.
After all this and the events lined up, i just wanted to run away from this hotel. I strongly recommend Patrons looking some piece of mind and relaxation to consider other options on the beach. La Pirogue and Sugar Beach looked good to me but i wish i had not taken the brand value of Hilton for granted while booking for my honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ikshit1985

We are very sad that you did not enjoy our resort and that in spite of our efforts to be agreeable to you during your stay, we were not up to your satisfaction.

However, we wish to clarify a few points as your comments could be wrongly interpreted by some readers:

As explained to you during your stay, the package you bought with your travel agency is not a Honeymoon package; therefore the amenities and other honeymoon offers were not included in your chosen package. However, as we wanted your honeymoon to be pleasant, some amenities were offered to you complimentary and at our discretion. We trust you will understand that we cannot offer all to you as it would be unfair to those guests who pay for the full package.

We are very surprised with your comments about a human hair as we follow very high food hygiene standards. We replaced your dish with a new one and we fulfilled your request for a chicken pizza in your room to show you our good faith. We are sorry your wife suffered from food allergy, we are always careful when we are notified in advance of any allergy and regret we were not informed beforehand. We sincerely hope that she has now fully recovered.

The hotel doctor is available 24/7 upon guest request; we contacted him for you but you opted for the nearby Clinique de l’Occident.

We are deeply sorry that the above points have marred your overall impression of our property. We generally receive very good comments from our guests. Should you decide to come back in the future, please contact us before your arrival and we will ensure you are well looked after.

The Hilton Mauritius team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great location, great accomodation and great service. It makes for great place to go, with many activities within or nearby... The setting is also very romantic, and everything is made to make for a memorable trip for couples

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

All in all I had a fantastic stay at the Hilton Mauritius. The location and setting of the hotel is fantastic! The water sports that are included are comprehensive and all the equipment was in decent condition. I made use of the snorkelling boat, hobiecat, lasers, peddalos and kayaks. They will also take you water-skiing (in groups) and have a glass bottom boat. All of which is included in the room rate. One thing that was slightly disappointing was the restrictions due to the tide. Sometimes it was only possible to sail in the afternoon. Many other hotels on the island did not have that restriction. I am sure the reason for this is the water in front of the hotel is shallow because of a reef that is about 150 meters off shore. It is just something to keep in mind if you have expectation of spending the whole day sailing.

Now for the bad. I was extremely disappointed with the food. I was on half board which was a mistake because it meant I had to either loose the money I paid or eat bad food. The evening buffet was poor quality. Although they changed the menu daily it is basically the same food dressed in a different way. We also had the option of eating at the Ginger Thai, which we did on several occasions because it was the best option. But if you are on half board you are only provided a very limited selection from the menu (only the cheapest dishes with I think totaled 3 options).

The cost of drinks and food is ludicrous by any standard. A view shared by other guests we spoke to. I think the hotel is getting away with it because people are often too embarrassed to say when they think something is too expensive. I saw another reviewer commenting on this fact and the Hotel responded with an excuse that the prices are high because it is an island destination and everything needs to be imported. If that is the case why does Pick n Pay supermarket sell things for about the same prices as they do in South Africa? I was more than able to afford the food and drink, but it was the thought that I was being ripped off that was horrible. You only have to look at the empty vista bar to see that many people feel the same way. Don’t be so greedy Hilton, lower your food and drinks prices.

On the 2nd to last day we asked if we could swap our evening meal for a lunch because the evening meals were so disappointing. This request was flatly refused. We ended up having dinner outside of the hotel because there are only so many nights I can eat the same thing at the Ginger Thai and I am not going to eat bad food even if i have paid for it.

I should add that the breakfast is good.

The hotel is dated and needs renovation. The hotel obviously feels the same way because they are doing a full renovation in mid 2014.

I should also mention that the majority of the staff were very friendly and the boat house guys were awesome. As soon as you arrive back at the beach with your boat or kayak etc they are there to assist you and they pull the equipment back onto the beach.

So in summary, I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton because of the location, the beach and water sports but a big let-down was the food. I will never return because the food. If you have booked this Hotel then I am sure you will enjoy your stay as long as you do not have expectations of good quality food.

Tip = Have a hire car delivered to the hotel on your first day and go to the local supermarket to buy drinks and water for your stay. Ask the minibar manger to remove all chargeable items from the room/fridge and then stock the bar with your own snacks and drinks.

I left with plenty of lovely memories

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JW,

Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry to note that we were not up to your satisfaction with regards to food and beverages and your remarks have been duly shared with the management team.

However, we are glad that overall you have been very satisfied with your stay; we appreciate your sharing your feelings as it is through the feedback of our guests that we are able to continually improve.

We hope you will keep good souvenirs of your Mauritian holidays.

The Hilton Mauritius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solothurn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

the Hotel is really nice and rooms are fully equipped
People are really nice, friendly and kind all places, and at all time of the day
The view is amazing and the activities possibilities are basically awesome
Probably still too much American taste in the furniture, the choices and the flavor all around in the hotel, which not always matches with the expectations of the clients to fully mix up with local taste and experience
Thank you very much for the beautiful trip

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a lovely hotel and staff! Great first impression - a staff member takes care of your registration while you sit down on the veranda and enjoy a welcome tropical drink! The room was very nice, clean, great modern bathroom with large shower, bathtub and Peter Thomas Roth toiletries. They do their best to provide you with a room of your choosing (I asked to be away from the pool/bar area). In fact, the staff does their best to take care of your every need. Just an amazing staff - every one was friendly, caring, accommodating, etc. It is not often that a hotel hits all of the "check marks", but this one really did. Great spa and nice salt water (adult only) pool!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic en Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star resort enjoys an exceptionally sunny position, located on the western coast. It stands on one of the island's most famous beaches, Flic en Flac. The warm and refined atmosphere of the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, characterised by a unique purity of line, has been built using a palette of forms and colours to evoke a contemporary Asian and Mauritian design in perfect harmony with its lush setting. This delicate atmosphere can also be found in the 193 rooms and suites laid out in series of low buildings, all of them facing out to the sea and the setting sun. The choice of restaurants includes La Pomme d'Amour with its range of local and international fare, Ginger Thai featuring authentic Thai cuisine. Hotel guests can as well enjoy lunch at Les Coquillages, the beach restaurant.Relax and unwind at The Spa Mauritius, inspired from the 4 sensorial elements - fire, water, air and earth. Guests can choose from a wide range of treatments to restore their natural equilibrium. Apart from the water sports and activities available at the hotel, guests have access to a 9-hole putting green, three tennis courts and a Kids Club, for children aged from 4 to 12, and run by a team of fully qualified professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.