We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better customer service than some other beach Hiltons, but still some small annoyances.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, Flic en Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better customer service than some other beach Hiltons, but still some small annoyances.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Check in was smooth and welcoming - it was very personalized and you got to sit in the lobby and relax while they checked you in. An upscale touch that I've enjoyed at places like the Four Seasons.

Also the Concierge was helpful in booking a day trip.

Beach service could be improved. They employ the "towel" card concept here like they do at other beach hotels. It's so Obnoxious!! Hilton you need to do away with the towel cards. One towel per person?? You need at least two - one to line the beach chair and another to dry with. It's just an annoying thing to deal with when you're on a beach vaca and when you stay at a nicer tier of hotels you never have to deal with stupid stuff like this.

Also the beach is covered in rocks and leaves and coral. I'd understand if this were a public beach but since it's on property they should groom it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear lexaopi9,

We thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed many aspects of our property and we have well noted the items which need improvement.

The comments and suggestions from our Guests are always of a great help because they allow us to check on the hotel operations and thus give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa.

The Hilton Mauritius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    329
    84
    44
    25
See reviews for
242
687
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we booked a deluxe room which was comfortable and kept very clean by the staff. wonderful food. bathroom big and clean. beachfront location, 45 mins walk to flic en flac town or 5 mins taxi ride £4.00 each way. very friendly and helpful staff. plenty of watersports.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived late as usual it appears, planes are late quite often.

We were thrilled to see our large spacious senior suite with direct access to beach.
Bed beautifully decorated with welcome and flowers. We were so tired we fell into bed.

Unfortunately we were next to a building renewal, which does not mean heavy machinery, but men digging trenches etc, but still 7am was not appreciated. They had long lunches so we slept then lol.

We arose and went to breakfast, which was situated in the middle of water features with fish beside you. Our table was there for us most mornings. We enjoyed our breakfast and meals.
The staff are charming, they have this greeting where they place their hand over their heart and greet you. Only used in this hotel. Nice thinking by management.

We would recommend the Thai restaurant , we had the chefs selection, with not too hot request, was amazing and it kept coming! We don't drink wines often so not overly expensive for us.
All said in last report was true except for maid.

Our room is top of the range but one, only two on site, we saw our maid once, we had no evening down turn service at all, our sheets were so rough and old it irritated my legs. We had to call three times to have room cleaned and finally a supervisor came with two seniors and changed the bed. Doona is very heavy and no top sheet so no covering when too hot. We like to turn off air con but not this suite.
There are directions to lock your room which we did, except once in evening, we were told afterwards the staff come in at night, so there may be a reason for one night. There was no information given to us on this.

Apart from this, the beach is glorious and our suite had is own chairs and table plus two lay back chairs in other area. We sat out there most of the time and relaxed. We swam in pool which is a sight to see with waterfalls and children area and hot spa, nice for oldies.

There is a ceremony every evening of lighting torches, with music, nice touch.
We went on paddle boats and glass bottom boat, again the boat crews are wonderful, chatting away and trying to find best fish etc. due to weather we didn't go out over reef but we were happy.

Soudesh Chamaree, is the most exceptional concierge we have seen. He arranged our helicopter tour for an hour over the island just before are plane to Seychelles departed. Also our trip to Casella park to have interaction with the lions, every time he saw us using wireless in the lobby he came to see if he could do anything for us, a charming man and his staff also. He was like a relative or brother to us, we really appreciated all his attention and help. Nothing was too difficult for him

We congratulate the manager for the manner he has his staff operating in all areas but one. The location and the staff make this holiday a memorable one
I encourage more Australians to come here to stay and also to continue on for another wonderful Hilton in the Seychelles.

Room Tip: Senior suite, spacious and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Was in Mauritius for business however arriving at the Hilton made it feel like a holiday! The staff were unbelievable! I worked most days & on my last day the Restaurant Manager said at breakfast "this is your last day you should have a champagne & OJ" he also arranged a fantastic chicken curry lunch for me on the beach. The Mauritians take pride in spoiling you & at the Hilton you will never have to lift a finger let alone your drink. If you move from the Vista Bar to the restaurant they will carry your drinks downstairs & accompany you. Maybe because I was on my own but everyone was amazing. Very special place. Will go back soon! Hotel is also very well maintained. Under going renovations. Can't wait to see the new improvements.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We travel every month and generally stay at small boutique hotels.

We chose the Hilton purely because of its location.

When we arrived we found that our booking agent had sent us a voucher for August. However Reception Manager Julien Reynauld and his team sorted the problem in 15 minutes and gave us the room type that we had requested. This was a fantastic start.
The concierge and the front desk always had a smile. Taxis and visits were organised in minutes.

Free wifi is available at reception and nearby.

The room was large, very clean with all the facilities. The maid came twice a day and we could not have asked for more.

The hotel is a resort hotel. That said, its position and layout is fantastic. The water facilities are free.

Food and Beverage is overseen by Alexandre Blondiaux and his team.
All are very welcoming , courteous and the service is quick and efficient. Bravo!

The restaurant is well spaced and the Executive Chef oversees a fabulous table with great choice. Although we only ate at the buffet, there were staff present to bring wine or extras such as crushed chili and bread. Nothing is too much trouble. Excellent.

The Balcony bar in the evening is great place to unwind and the bar manager Vishar Mohabul is always available to advise. His recommendation is Vanilla Rum.

We cannot say enough good things about our stay.

We would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Mauritius. Please tip all the staff generously.

Finally, we are clear that a hotel of this size and quality reflects the leadership of the General Manager. Although we did not meet him, we are clear that he must be of the highest caliber to run a hotel this well. Very Well Done!!!

EXCELLENT!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room away from the dining areas and pools if you want a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First of all I have to say that we usually stay at Hilton during our business travel and vacation, and this is probably the best Resort I stayed in within the Hilton's Ones.
I had the pleasure to stay there from August 14 to 29, one week alone with my children while the second week my husband joined us. We had a beautiful ocean view suite where we could stay the 4 of us without any problems.
The staff was very polite and professional and they really spoiled us, even if we happened to be there during a Bank Convention time, and it could have been particularly chaotic.
A particular mention to our friend Raggoo, the Restaurant Manager, who did all the best to make us feel completely satisfyed and relaxed.
The resort is wanderful with a beautiful tropical swimming pool (the second one was under construction while we stayed there), a fabulous beach and the usual restaurant and bar you can find on the tropical holyday leaflets.
For your lunch and dinner you can choose between several restaurant inside the resort or you can also take a trip along the coast enjoyng the Island and its beautiful sourrondings.
(Make sure not to miss the South tour: Chamarel, Sacred Lake, the Waterfall... and also the Casela Park) .
As for the housekeeping service, I can easily say that it's one of the very best: they make the service twice in a day, in order to have a fresh and clean room everytime.
If you choose to go to Mauritius you have to be aware that - in general and all over around - this is a real costly vacation (from the taxi expenses to the meals cost), but it really worth your while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is an overpriced rip-off. Don't eat at the hotel or use the internet. It will cost you more then the room rate! This is an perfect example of over charging a captive audience. There are better values for lodging and restaurants all over the island. I would expect better from Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor; indeed, it is through our guests’ feedback that we can understand better their experience of our resort.

We would like to reassure you that our prices are in line with other five-star resorts on the island; moreover please note that we have free Wifi at the Lobby area as well as an Internet Station with complimentary Internet access nearby. We are sorry if you were not informed about this while you were staying with us and we apologise for same.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations; we thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again for a better resort experience.

the Hilton Mauritius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic en Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star resort enjoys an exceptionally sunny position, located on the western coast. It stands on one of the island's most famous beaches, Flic en Flac. The warm and refined atmosphere of the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, characterised by a unique purity of line, has been built using a palette of forms and colours to evoke a contemporary Asian and Mauritian design in perfect harmony with its lush setting. This delicate atmosphere can also be found in the 193 rooms and suites laid out in series of low buildings, all of them facing out to the sea and the setting sun. The choice of restaurants includes La Pomme d'Amour with its range of local and international fare, Ginger Thai featuring authentic Thai cuisine. Hotel guests can as well enjoy lunch at Les Coquillages, the beach restaurant.Relax and unwind at The Spa Mauritius, inspired from the 4 sensorial elements - fire, water, air and earth. Guests can choose from a wide range of treatments to restore their natural equilibrium. Apart from the water sports and activities available at the hotel, guests have access to a 9-hole putting green, three tennis courts and a Kids Club, for children aged from 4 to 12, and run by a team of fully qualified professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.