We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolmar, Flic en Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in September on business. From check in things did not seem right. Was the only person at the reception mid afternoon and it still took 25 mins to check in....opted to go to the nearby bar to have a beer as I waited. Finally got the room and was escorted to my room by one of the staff who was very hospitable. Room key did not work and it took 4 attempts (of the staff going back to the reception and coming back for another try). Eventually worked. Room was decent and well appointed. Bed was on the hard side and balcony and corners of the room had spiderwebs. Overall not the best expenerience and well trained and professional staff can only take the brand so far.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.

We are sorry to read of the difficulties you experienced during your stay in our property. Indeed, this category of events does not correspond to the image we want for our property and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. We wish to assure you that we discussed same with our team so as to improve our service.

Thank you again for letting us know about your feelings; we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa.

Yours faithfully
Hilton Mauritius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    329
    84
    44
    25
See reviews for
242
685
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Considering the brand and the cost perhaps I expected more. I found some of the hotel staff to be very helpful and polite while many others were completely rude. There was no explanation regarding dress code before dinner which led to an awkward situation and a general view of snobbery and indifference prevailed over the friendliness of some.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have gone through your review and we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

With regards to the dress code for dinner, kindly note that our dress code is clearly stated in the welcome letter which is handed over to you upon check-in. Same information is also found in the in-room Guest Directory and our website.

We understand your disappointment about the staff attitude and indeed, this is not representative of our normal standards; please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured that we will undertake the necessary actions to address this matter.

We thank you for your valuable comments.
The Hilton Mauritius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
608 helpful votes 608 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice hotel with a good location, lovely facilities (bars, restaurants, spa, sports etc), beautiful beach and garden.
Theme restaurants & food was really special and also the local home-made Rum.
The beach is very quiet, sandy and full with trees therefore ideal for sun-bathing however sea bottom is full with broken rocks and corrals so not comfortable for swimming, but the beach pool is nice.
They have catamaran sailing for up to 3 person size and laser boats, wind-surfs as well.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the ground floor so you can have a direct access to garden and beach-front f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Quiet, pleasant, and another great Hilton. The restaurant however charged us for coffee we did not even have? But the food was good, and the staff attentive. The Hilton chilli paste was superb, entertainment fair..

Room Tip: Away from the entertainment area for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here on Honeymoon with my wife for 7 nights and had a fantastic stay with A+ service. Being a Diamond Card HH member we managed to get a room upgrade which was greatly appreciated and the hotel couldn't do enough for us. The location is great as it sits right on the beach and to be honest we didnt really need to leave the resort and the food was also exceptional with lots of choice each night.

Room Tip: Beach facing room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Hilton Mauritius in November 2012 for 5 days. Here are some impressions and information intended to supplement what other reviewers have already provided. The grounds are very nice and extremely well-kept. The beach is beautiful, though not really meant for swimming; it's more geared up for sun bathing. There are many sharp pieces of coral in the sand, so you have to be careful as you walk along the beach. You can do it without water shoes, but it would be better if you had a pair handy. Small sail boats, kayaks and paddle boats are all available at no charge. We took out a two-person kayak and had a great experience. Another nice perk is the free glass-bottom boat ride over the nearby coral reef, which lasts about an hour. We also borrowed snorkel gear at no cost.

You can walk to town via the beach or a road adjacent to the hotel, but the road is a little narrow, so most people take the beach route. It will take you approximately 45 minutes to get to town at a moderate pace. You have to pass a long stretch of the Flic en Flac public beach area to find the bulk of the restaurants and shops. (Tip: cut through one of the resorts to the main road just before you hit a short stretch of "undeveloped" beach, then walk into town along the road paralleling the large public beach's parking area.) There is also a public bus available or you can take a taxi into town. There is no complementary shuttle. In fact, other than the boat house facilities and gym (including sauna and steam room), you will wind up having to pay a lot for just about anything that's not part of your package. We had a breakfast-only meal plan, so the cost of restaurant meals for lunch and dinner was steep. The French-Italian restaurant, Melanzane, was excellent, if a bit pricey. If you're on the breakfast-only meal plan, a modest dinner for two will set you back at least $90 U.S., not including wine. (Pricing is lower for those on a more comprehensive plan; make sure you ask for the menu that applies to your specific meal plan.) Another option is room service, which is actually less expensive than the restaurants and offers a good variety of choices. We would not recommend paying full price for the dinner buffet. It was pretty good, but not worth $60 U.S. per person.

The breakfast buffet was reasonably complete and there was always a person available at the grill to make you eggs as you like, but it was pretty much the same every day, with no local treats or specialties and the fruit selection was limited and not of the highest quality. The dining area, which is of the open air type, does suffer a bit from too many flies and other flying insects, but that's not unexpected on a lush, tropical island. We did not encounter any mosquitoes or other biting insects; one evening a fumigation cart passed through the entire resort, which probably explains the mosquito control!

The room was a nice size, but the bed was a little hard. We asked for a mattress pad and that helped considerably. The room is made up twice per day and two complementary bottles of water are provided each evening. Note that the hotel recommends you do not drink the tap water, but we did use it for brushing teeth and had no problems. Robes and slippers are provided.

Wi-Fi service was spotty, inconsistent, and expensive. There's an Ethernet jack/cord in each room as an alternative, though. If you need Wi-Fi, some rooms are better than others and the management was open to room changes based on that issue. Even in rooms where reception is OK, be prepared to have to go out on the balcony from time to time to get service on your handheld device! On the beach, in the gym, etc., it's almost a lost cause. One other thing to watch out for: you may be charged a separate Wi-Fi fee for each device you use! To sum up, the Hilton Mauritius should consider offering their Wi-Fi service for free, at least until they can upgrade it to a standard that's worth paying for. And if you're tempted to use cellular data roaming instead of Wi-Fi, beware of the exorbitant pricing for this feature in Mauritius. One more item: be sure to carefully go over your bill when you check out. Ours had an erroneous mini-bar expense.

All-in-all, the Hilton Mauritius rates highly, though maybe it deserves 4 stars rather than 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahrenzhausen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Perfect service at a great place. The view is perfect, food is delicious, and there's dozens of things to do. From sailing to golfing, water ski, etc (included) to Scuba diving (optional). Don't forget to feed the Koi.

Room Tip: Suites in the outer ends give you perfect views and are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic en Flac, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star resort enjoys an exceptionally sunny position, located on the western coast. It stands on one of the island's most famous beaches, Flic en Flac. The warm and refined atmosphere of the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, characterised by a unique purity of line, has been built using a palette of forms and colours to evoke a contemporary Asian and Mauritian design in perfect harmony with its lush setting. This delicate atmosphere can also be found in the 193 rooms and suites laid out in series of low buildings, all of them facing out to the sea and the setting sun. The choice of restaurants includes La Pomme d'Amour with its range of local and international fare, Ginger Thai featuring authentic Thai cuisine. Hotel guests can as well enjoy lunch at Les Coquillages, the beach restaurant.Relax and unwind at The Spa Mauritius, inspired from the 4 sensorial elements - fire, water, air and earth. Guests can choose from a wide range of treatments to restore their natural equilibrium. Apart from the water sports and activities available at the hotel, guests have access to a 9-hole putting green, three tennis courts and a Kids Club, for children aged from 4 to 12, and run by a team of fully qualified professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.