We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in west coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Coast View to your Saves list
West Coast View
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Residence Saint Jacques, Flic En Flac, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Flic En Flac B&B and Inns
Gymea, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday in west coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Amazing value for money , beautifully design attention to details . View of the ocean everything you could want . Close to restaurant , walk to the beach . Beautifully appointed. Wonderful memories was made there. Kids welcome.

Room Tip: One with the balcony facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leuven Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed for almost two weeks in this self catering hotel - the location is perfect although too far from the beach and Flic & Flac center but you can get bicycle. Best is to rent a car to explore and all have mobilty. The manager is most helpful (Patrick) and allways prepared to help - I had an issue with a piece of furniture and it was immediatly taken care off. Do not expect much in terms of cutlery etc but there are plenty of places to eat idown at the beachside

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Mount, Pamplemousses, Mauritius
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is small and cosy. For a low-budget traveller, you pay for what you will have. The rooms are self catering and the staff very helpful. The blanket was dirty and automatically the manager brings another one. Therafter he offers us some hot samoosas. Very kind!

Room Tip: Choose a upper level room (higher floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, UK
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for 7 weeks. The location was great for exploring the west and south part of the island, and self-catering helped us keep costs down, as eating in good restaurants is expensive.
Studios are large and very well lit; patio doors let in the daylight (as well as the view); good bright lights at night. Furniture was ample and good quality, with plenty of storage space. The kitchen was well equipped with microwave and fridge, and even a coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable.
We never tired of eating our breakfast on the balcony with a great view of the west coast, we could see several mountains, including Le Morne.
Cleaning is done 6 days a week, not on Sunday or public holidays. The same staff do the laundry. Normally it’s returned ironed to the room the same day, but allow an extra day in wet weather. Price was very reasonable, for the 2 of us it cost Rs400 per week. The washing machine is also available for guests to use themselves, without charge.
Service is far better than many more expensive hotels offer. The owner said he wanted guests to feel like part of the family, and the manager, Patrick, really does a lot more than we had the right to expect. He was always keen to take us to the beach by car to save us the walk. We actually had to convince him we really wanted to walk there for a change! He was always there to help us with problems, even if the hotel wasn’t involved.
The roof terrace doesn’t have any seating, just some worn out sunbeds. We didn’t use it during the day, but I’ve never been anywhere better for seeing the night sky.
The location is both good and bad. The bad is if you want a beach holiday it’s about 30 minute walk to the beach, but most guests won’t need to walk, Patrick will insist on giving a lift! The good news is it’s very quiet on a residential estate, no noisy vehicles go past, no loud beach parties, although some building work is happening nearby, daytime only, and not much noise.
It’s also close to Cascavelle Shopping Village, with a good supermarket and excellent food court, where prices are half those charged on the seafront. We hired a car, and found the location ideal for exploring the west and south of the island, going north or east involves driving through congested towns, but there’s easy access to the M2 motorway.
Some rooms have a connecting door. We had one. Our neighbours woke us at 12.15am on our first night just talking. Patrick then placed some soundproofing between the rooms which improved things. However we were disturbed on about 4 nights during our visit. A crying child or an adult with a bad cough could be a problem, if like us, you’re light sleepers. I think if we hadn’t had this connecting door, we would have given it 5 stars for sleep quality.
I have to give a mild caution about the car hire company which the owner found for us, JR Car Rental. They didn’t give us a proper receipt to prove we’d hired the vehicle; but this may be normal practice in Mauritius. Also they wanted to change our car 2 days before the contract ended, which would have caused us considerable inconvenience. Language problems made it difficult for us to stop this. We spoke to Patrick who made them see sense. However apart from the brake pedal having too much travel, the car was reliable and exactly what I wanted, so I might use them again, and just include this as a mild note to others.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay. It was so much like a home for us, instead of an impersonal hotel. Provided they have a room available, we certainly will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have the best view. Rooms with connecting doors may result in disturbed sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this studio apartment for a month while visiting Mauritius on a business trip. The studio was clean and comfortable with everything you should need to cater for yourself. The manager Patrick was very helpful and will always give you a lift to and from the beach as many times as you like (I had a rental car so didnt need this service). It is a 10 minute walk to the beach along the short cut or a bit longer if walking via the main road, or use the bicycles available at West Coast View, or just call Patrick and he will give you a lift. There is a large supermarket at the nearby shopping centre to get all your groceries or use the food mall to cheat! there is also a supermarket and alot of restaurants in Flic en Flac - you will be spoilt for choice. There is a rooftop terrace at West Coast View where you are treated to great views and to watch the amazing sunsets. Patrick and his staff will help you with any questions you may have about getting around the island etc - nothing is too much trouble for them - if you book this property you will not be disappointed. Enjoy !

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor (top floor) which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Coast View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast View

Address: Residence Saint Jacques, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Coast View 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Coast View offers spacious fully furnished studios and apartment with private balconies overlooking Flic en Flac and le Morne. This 3-star residence features a swimming pool with sun terrace, a small beach, a roof terrace for sun bathing and a BBQ area. Self-catering accommodation equipped with kitchen facilities, private en-suite bathroom with shower and safety deposit box. All studios have a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and cable internet access and are air-conditioned. Additional bed is provided for children and teenagers. A number of restaurants serving Mauritian, seafood and other international cuisines can be found within a 10-minute walk. Bicycles are offered and a complimentary shuttle service can be arranged to move around in the village of Flic en Flac, to go to the beach and to the shopping mall "Cascavelle" West Coast View is situated at 4.5 Km away from Tamarin, 18 km from Le Morne, 22 km from our capital, Port Louis and Casela Nature Park is a 10-minute drive away. An airport shuttle is available for Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your West Coast View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast View Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.