We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good diving school with experienced guides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Urchin Diving Center

Sea Urchin Diving Center
Royal Road, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
+230 453 84 425
Website
Improve this listing
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good diving school with experienced guides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

We did our SSI Adventure Diver with the sea Urchin school. This school is the only one in Flic en Flac which offers SSI courses. Every other school (ticabo) does not offer them and tries to convince you to Padi instead...
Both Perrine and Katharina are very experienced and show you things you do not see by yourself if you are not experienced. We were lucky to see Eagle Rays ;)
The equipment is not state of the art but clean and functioning perfectly.
Prices are comparable to other schools in the aera.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing time :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

This was our second time diving with this centre and as expected we had a great time. Katharina and her team took great care of us ! In fact this time I accomplished my Rescue Diver certification thanks to katharina. She taught me a a lot about helping divers in trouble and she really took my training seriously by passing me her experience and expertise. I would definitely recommend doing the courses that this centre offers !! We will be coming back for sure !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thank you for the patience! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Let me give you all a little background - I have a bit of a sinus problem, and as such, I LOATHE being submerged in water. Even in the shower! I've been scuba diving once before in sharm el sheikh, and lasted about 5 minutes in the water before I started freaking out.

Some people are fine jumping in under water, and others such as myself, panic.

But with the dive instructors here (especially the German lady who's name I forgot!) Was absolutely wonderful, and had so much patience.

They spend a lot of time just talking to us and explaining the principles of diving. They also took us in through the beach, so we can get used to having our heads under water.

After this, I still wasn't comfortable. The dive team took MORE time out to help me get used to it. Something I'm very grateful for, because when I got into the water I felt like a natural!

There were 3 instructors with us, and only about 5 of us diving - a great ratio.

I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking to dive in flic-en-flac!

Price wise, we only paid about 2000 rupees (£40) each which is pricier than places like Egypt, but very well priced for Mauritius.

I would definitely recommend this place, and the instructors who were all very friendly too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dive center, wonderful crew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

From the beginning, the crew of the dive center was friendly and helpful in every way. They achieved to have different groups on different levels, which other dive centers fail upon.

They organized the transport between our hotel and the dive center.

Absolutely friendliest divers!!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, easy going dive centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We booked a dive with Sea Urchin since we were staying just down the road from them in Flic en Flac. We were a bit unsure of what to expect but were totally satisfied. as one of the other reviewers said, Sea Urchin Diving center are the perfect mix of chilled out, friendly and organised. When you dive with them you get your well maintained gear at their shop over a cup of coffee then take a short walk down to their boat. We dived with Katharina on one occasion and Nicolas on another, both put us at ease with their skill an knowledge. Nicolas seemed to have a 6th sense of the reef and sea life on it! Would dive with them again on our next visit to Mauritius!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Urchin Diving Center also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Sea Urchin Diving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Urchin Diving Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.