We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go twice to get the full experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Anna - Ile Maurice Restaurant

Domaine Anna - Ile Maurice Restaurant
Address Medine, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
(230) 453 9650 / 5640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Flic En Flac
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go twice to get the full experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our first visit was in the evening where we were treated to both fantastic caring and attentive service and wonderful food. Made the lovely mistake of ordering two appetisers and an entree with our main courses. Mistake because they were huge portions, big enough for a main course; lovely because the fried Calamari was perfect and a real delight compared to the way Calamari is normally served and prepared in restaurants. The other entree was a Seafood Springroll and again it was huge but very tasty as was the Prawns on Hearts of Palm.

The main courses of Calamari in Shezuan Sauce was incredibly tasty (I like Calamari plus it is cheap!) as was the Lamb - how did we eat all of this? Well I am a Very Hungry Walker, although not this hungry, so they offered a doggy bag, so we could enjoy the rest of our mains the next day, lovely!

This was an evening visit so we could not enjoy the full delight of the restaurant which is huge and can cater for several hundred guests. So we visited for lunch a few days later to see all of the grounds and the section of the restaurant set in the artificial lake. The food was once again excellent, need I say more. Good value, £20 per head which included drinks, you pay the same in a Chinese restaurant in England and do not get the same high quality of food or service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    215
    108
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Nicely situated with an exceptional decors. Really good food and quality ensured. Was really amazed with the crew who despite a full house have a very organised service . A place to be.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant hidden away in the sugar cane plantation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The restaurant was converted from a former plantation office by a chinese businessman and hidden away from the main road . A large signboard at the junction turning into a secondary road is the only visible thing of this restaurant from the main road.

The menu is a fusion of chinese, western and local flavours. For the class of restaurant, the price is comparable if not cheaper than some of the restaurants along the Flic en Flac Costal Road. The only downside is that you will need to hire a car or take a taxi to the restaurant. Alternatively, you may catch a bus from Flic en Flac town towards Port Louis or Quartre Bournes for MUR12 (USD0.40) and stop at the junction (with the signboard). From there, walk for about 1km.

The environment and staff attentiveness at the restaurant is good. Lunch time is quiet here especially during the winter months (May - August). From September to January, it is best to call the restaurant for a reservation, especially if you would like to have a table by the pond.

Price wise, as a guide, the lobsters are priced at MUR800 (USD26.50) for 500g, the large fresh water prawns go for MUR550 (USD18.20) per serving.

The place has a different look during the day and night. Anyone who are sensitive to insect bites, please put on some insect repellent before venturing to this place.

To sum it up, it is a good dining experience. Food is good but not great. Prices are reasonable with a wide selection of food to fit individual pallets.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We loved this place. But ensure you make a reservation before you go and ensure to ask for those cabana style tables next to the pool.

The ambiance was amazing and so was the service. The food selection is a bit disappointing for the vegetarians but the non-veg spread gives you a lot to choose from.

And lastly, make sure you have enough time to spend there :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
723 helpful votes 723 helpful votes
“If you like frozen fish....eat here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great expectations that were shattered with the food. I came for seafood/fish and not meat.

What a waste of a truly wonderful setting for a restaurant. The sense of your arrival exudes class and heightens your expectations for a memorable meal.
Well it was memorable for us....for the awful food. This has the potential, with proper management and direction, to be among the very best on the Island.

Frozen fish seems to be the order of the day here and what a disgrace on a island surrounded by great fishing waters. Absolute shame on the owner.

I asked what was the fresh fish dishes and I was directed to one of the very few dishes that was actually fresh. I was shocked and asked were these dishes (I pointed out many) actually frozen? I will NOT eat frozen fish in any restaurant and especially on an island.

The dishes around 4-500 rupees are supposed to be fresh. This restaurant must immediately dump the cheaper dishes, around the 2-250 rupee mark, which are the frozen ones.

I asked for my dish to be cooked a particular way and it came completely different. After all my concern about fresh v frozen it was actually tasteless. My partners spring rolls were indifferent, her other dish of chicken something (bites?) were awful.

I for absolute certain would not go back and not recommended.

(See my review of La table au Chateau at La Bourdonnais for a wholly different experience)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Anna - Ile Maurice Restaurant also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Domaine Anna - Ile Maurice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Anna - Ile Maurice Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.