We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite..........ahh a first class hotel that has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palmeraie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Palmeraie Hotel to your Saves list
La Palmeraie Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Rd, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite..........ahh a first class hotel that has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The La Palmeraie Hotel has excelled in my view, being an ex tour guide for 7 years and traveling around the world, it is quite refreshing to experience a hotel that has such excellent customer service focus... The decor is so relaxing in neutral earthy colours of orange, brown and cream, the Morrocan style features are flowing throughout the hotel, inside and out.
It is family friendly with a 'kids club' catering for younger children. On the beach by the hotel are small lagoons which are safe for the children also.

The food is bountiful and delicious with a choice of Buffet or A La Carte menu,
the bedroom we chose was with the sea view facing East it has been a beautiful sunrise every morning. You have to stay to experience a slice of heaven...
I have been traveling with my 72 year old mother who has been treated like royalty. Thank you to All the friendly staff, from the kitchen, waiters, bar, reception and management who are very 'down to earth' and knowledgeable.
The Spa treatments and the staff made our stay extra special, we tried the massage, facials, manicures, pedicures and hot stone massage...all were excellent, I say this because I own my own Beauty and Wellbeing Centre in Geelong in Australia, and I have experience it this field.
I can only say, that I will return to this boutique hotel again... feeling stressed? then escape to paradise at La Palmeraie Hotel in Mauritius. Katina Demetriou

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    131
    34
    12
    15
See reviews for
92
317
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've just returned from our most relaxing and enjoyable holiday ever!

Our stay at La Palmeraie Hotel in Belle Mare, Mauritius was the best holiday we've ever experienced.

The staff were the main reason for our enjoyment of the holiday, as they were friendly, helpful, and accomodating, nothing was too much trouble for them.

We were met with welcoming smiles and hospitality at every opportunity by the staff, particulalry Kiran, Natasha, and Jason Kistnen, the Guest Relations Manager even went beyond our expectations to arrange flowers and a birthday card for my partners birthday!

The boutique hotel itself is a perfect size, with only 60 rooms, so each guest gets the 'personal touch' service that large hotel complexes seem to struggle to provide.
The facilities were excellent, and the quality of food and drinks very good.

Our beach side room (115) looked out onto a fine white sandy beach, and the turquise blue waters of the Indian Ocean - a perfect vista for waking up to each morning!

The infinity pool was always kept clean, and was perfect for relaxing around in the evenings with a cocktail, whilst listening to the local Mauritian music and entertainment provided each night by the hotel.

This was an experience we just didnt want to end, and certainly want to repeat!

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a beach side room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After 3 nights at the hotel Lakaz Chamarel in the south west part of the Island, we moved to the hotel La Palmeraie for 6 nights.
A nice boutique hotel like a ryad in a typical morrocan style, a very warm welcome like everywhere in Mauritius, a beautiful beach facing a blue/green lagoon, a nice pool and the sensation of beeing in a small resort where people could take care of you in any circonstances...well this is the postcard.
This east side of the island is a paradise for kitesurfers with a constant wind, a wide lagoon and a good club just beside the hotel.
For those who want to dive, 2 clubs on the beach and not far from the hotel, they can even pick you up at the hotel to join the club and for your best convenience you can charge your room number even coming from an other resort!
As from this part of the island, you can reach the north, Grand Baie more touristic, Pamplemousse garden, Cap malheureux and of course from Trou aux biches, a nice day in Catamaran to enjoy the beautiful landscape of the coast and the magical lagoon. The program is just simple : snorkeling, spiny lobster barbecue, little stop at l'ile aux cerfs, aso...
The all inclusive formula allows you to enjoy fresh products every day and the staff will always ask you your favourite "menu of the day".
Choice and variety will often satisfy your appetit as well as the quality and the warm welcome you will receive any time you come.
Mauritius, a small paradise only located at 10000 kms from Europe...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had our honeymoon in Mauritius in Jan'13,ours experience was totally exceptional,nice food,superb hospitality,awesome location.Seaside holidays arranged our conducted tours very well.Ours advice is to first go to Bagatelle and buy atleast 10 litres of water for your further stay as water is very costly in Mauritiun Hotels,and from there only one can buy an Orange sim card for communication.Enjoy every moment of your stay as eventually it will definitely gonna be a memorable one.

Room Tip: All votes for the beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and my good friend wanted to get away for some winter sun, having both been to the Maldives we looked at going back there, to our astonishment the price had almost tripled since we were last there. so we looked at Mauritius, La Palmeraire jumped out at us mainly because it was a small boutique hotel.
We had an amazing time here and cannot understand the previous complaints on here at all.
All the staff were very friendly and brilliant at their jobs.
Food was lovely and varied, fresh and tasty.
Room was excellent and kept extremely clean.
We had several Spa treaments, all were excellent.
The only slight complaint i have is that the bar closed at 11pm, sometimes it would have been nice to stay up later, after all, we were on holiday! but that wouldn't stop us from returning to this beautiful part of the world and indeed La palmeraie hotel.
We took a trip to Casela Park and walked with the Lions, an experience i shall never forget, a must do trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

La Palmeraie is situated on the North East Of Mauritius. It is perfect if you want to relax and stay put in one place. The service was exceptional, the room clean and luxurious. The food was very good. Great for couples or solo needing some time out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing 10 days at La Palmeraie in Mauritius and can honestly not find a bad word to say about this hotel! This is a boutique hotel with just 60 rooms which is charming compared to all the big complexes that we saw along the beach. We upgraded to a sea view room which we feel was definitely worth it, our room was basically on top of the beach, it was beautiful to wake up to the sound of the waves every morning. We were all inclusive which was great, the breakfast and dinner buffets were varied and delicious every day. There was also a great choice for lunch - food was a highlight of this hotel for us. The hotel offered a free daily snorkelling trip on a glass bottom boat, this offered the chance to explore the fantastic coral reef and the abundance of tropical fish. The hotel also offered many other water activities - from sea kayaking to kite boarding. The staff were wonderful! They made the stay a real pleasure. Because it is a small hotel you get to know all of the staff which was great, made for a really friendly atmosphere and they were fantastic at caring for our very need. On the last day we weren't leaving the hotel until 6pm in the evening and they let us keep our room free of charge until then so we could shower before we left, this is just one example of how the hotel staff always seemed like they were going above and beyond. We loved the fact that on the last morning we were invited by the General Manager to breakfast served on the beach - a lovely touch and a great end to our fantastic holiday. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palmeraie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie Hotel

Address: Coastal Rd, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Palmeraie Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The play of light on land and sea. A glimpse of the jade and turquoise waters of the lagoon through fine voile curtains. Warm, sun-drenched colours. The beauty and purity of natural materials. La Palmeraie at Palmar on the east coast of the island possesses a unique alchemy from which its relaxing and intimate atmosphere derives. Under the MBH label, La Palmeraie offers true authenticity and conviviality, typical of traditional Mauritian family homes. A different way of discovering all the treasures – the people and the natural beauty – of the pearl of the Indian Ocean.Bars and restaurants:La Varangue:In the cool of the early morning or the peace of evening, around the pool, in a world of shimmering colour, La Varangue invites you to enjoy moments of deliciously Mauritian gourmandise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your La Palmeraie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palmeraie Belle Mare
Le Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
La Palmeraie Hotel Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palmeraie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.