We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraude Beach Attitude

Save Saved
You added Emeraude Beach Attitude to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emeraude Beach Attitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Date of stay; 16th December - 30th Dec 2012.We had a wonderful two weeks at this lovely hotel.
The first thing was the room, i asked for a balcony with a sea view, we got a ground floor room looking out at a wall, No problem for the staff they moved us to a lovely room with balcony and sea view the next day.Then the problems started, we had booked All inclusive with Kuoni only to find we were on what is called " Emeraude All Inclusive" which is nothing more than full board plus, we had been ok to start with then the Management told us after we moved room that we were not Fully All Inclusive and to take it up with our travel agent.
Please, Please, make sure when you book this hotel that you ask for the AL A Carte All inclusive which my travel agent was not told about by Kuoni.
That is for me to sort out, so back to the Hotel, the staff were lovely, special mention must go to Ravi the restaurant Manager who was very attentive and always made time to speak to us, Sammy the barman with his dry humour he made the best cocktail a star.
Sereeta in the restaurant is just such a nice lady. These people made up for our disappointment in the All Inclusive Saga. The room was spotless we came back to a different "animal" on our bed every night made out of towels. The day after my birthday (he saw my birthday cards) he made a stunning "cake" with a candle out of towels and flowers for me, amazing!! The chefs also made me a wonderful birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday to me, a lovely night. My husband loved the curries he had a different one nearly every day. the food was lovely, i just loved having pancakes and bacon with honey for breakfast.
The beach is really nice and kept clean plenty of beds. All in all a lovely hotel where you can do as little or as much as you want, I would recommend this Hotel to everyone, the only thing to let it down was when my travel agent back home phoned the general manager to upgrade us to Full All Inclusive they never told us, I only found out on the last night when i went on to my emails, it could have been sooo much better if we had been told!!!


Lorna
Dunfermline

Room Tip: We had room 207 looking out to the sea, We saw a wedding on the beach one day from the balcony, Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Lorna,

On behalf of our Family Members, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

Your warm and kind words towards our Hotel and personnel (especially Ravi, Samy and Sarita) have been shared with all the ‘Family Members’.

We would like to seize this opportunity to clarify the All Inclusive options. The hotel offers two packages: Emeraude Inclusive package and Otentik All Inclusive. You can get all the information on these two packages directly on our website:
http://emeraudebeach-hotel-mauritius.com/mauritius-hotel-emeraude/packages

As mentionned in your review, we highly recommend that our guests clearly confirm their choice with their respective travel agent prior to departure.

We would be delighted to seeing you back at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    256
    91
    23
    21
See reviews for
131
372
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Date of stay 28th december - 12th january

As i write this i am still at the hotel as i dont go home till the next day (12th)

I shall start at the beginning, when we first chose to go here i had read the very positive reviews of the hotel and thought yes this is for us so we booked it, then as the date come closer i was getting a little concerned about the downward spiral of the reviews, but why i worried only knows as it is a fantastic place !!!

Smooth check in ( we took the all inclusive plus package) with is a must if you like cocktails and spirits, welcome drink on arrival is a nice touch, they then showed us to our room and delivered our luggage too.. U dont get that at most 4,5 star hotels !!! Room was clean and tidy.

Breakfast was good you had your choice of cereals, fruit, pancakes and a chef who would do anything with eggs for example fried or omelettes with tasty fillings. Dinner was a choice of pizzas, pastas chips salads and i must stress if anything doesnt take your fancy they will make you anything u like and smile doing it too !!! Dinner was a variety of different things every night from asian to indian to italian and a lot of choice too !!! And again anything doesnt take your fancy they will make you something that will.

The beach is nice will plentiful deck chairs to lounge about on and the pool area too, had no problems getting any regardless of what time of day it was and as this is there busiest time i cant see what other reviewers go on about !!

The staff - i have had passing conversations with ashook (think thats how you spell it) very pleasant approachable man, who commented on how pink i was from the sun, but the four members who stand out for me are kavi from the restaurant very nice polite young man who will tend to your every need, alvin barman very nice and polite young man who is incredibly friendly and chatty, coco from the beach funny little guy he is always smiling !!!

And then theres nicolas entertainment guy, what can i say about nicolas MAGNIFIQUE !!! Truly lovely and funny guy who will go out of his way to help you anyway he can, i could sit and talk to him for hours his english is excellent !! A truly fantastic credit to this hotel !!

Now the bad bits
The main pool is looking tired and in need of emptying and re-tiled, the beach could do with being raked every couple of days to remove sea weed which has washed up on shore, our aircon broke while we were here and was like a water fall which was a little annoying and took two days to fix (minor little bad bits you must agree which can be easily sorted) and then theres check out day which for us is tomorrow, having too check out by 12 and bearing in mind we dont get picked up till 7 and not being allowed to keep our room on even though there is a luggage room and shower room for you too use the fact the all inclusive ends at 12 is annoying and seriously needs to be looked at as people i have spoke to here have said it leaves a little bit of a bitter pill in there mouth of what has been a fantastic holiday but again can be easily sorted !!! So all i would class this as an upper 3 star so i would have no complaints recommending this hotel to other but ashook please look at this check out day situation !!!

And one last point i have stayed at 4 star hotels all round the caribbean that dont even come close to this 3 star hotel !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

All the Family Members of Emeraude Beach Attitude join me to thank you for your nice review.

We have very positively taken note of all your relevant comments and warm words towards our hotel and staff.

We are delighted to hear that you made the most of your holidays while staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived for our honeymoon Friday 4th January 2013, in fact we leave tomorrow! I love it here, it is small, quaint, clean and friendly. Beautiful beach and the staff cannot do enough for you. If there is something that you fancy to eat and can't see, then just ask. Samy the bar tender is a star and soo welcoming, along with Sareta ans Coco! Really recommend this place and would defiantly come back again as it is a total dream holiday!

Room Tip: First floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending Emeraude Beach Attitude to other travelers. We are happy to read that you have kept a good souvenir of your stay with us.

Your kind words have been passed on to Samy, Sarita, Coco and all the Family Members.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We celebrated our New Year’s Eve at Emeraude Beach- Attitude and it exceeded our expectations. We have been travelling to many places around the World and been accommodated in 5* and must admit the Hotel exceeded our expectation.

The room was very nice and clean. The staffs are always helpful and friendly towards you. We had indeed enjoyed our New Year festive season at this hotel. We had a nice time at the cocktail offered by the Management around the Pool whereby Champagne and other buzzes together with delicious local snacks and sauces were served despite the Cyclone was approaching towards this beautiful island of Mauritius. We had some drinks with snacks before getting started with dinner. The foods were deliciously displayed in the Restaurant; there was a huge food variety like Country terrine (chicken liver) Gratinated mussels with curry butter, Samoussa, Philadelphia cheese puff pastry’ Shrimps fritters, Lamb Tagine with dry fruits Shells from the lagoon paella Coquelet in mustard Seafood curry Varieties of vegetables with butter Crispy roasted piglet, Giant Prawns, chicken, rice, Extraordinary Buffet salads etc.

Even though on that day the weather was not good at all, the Hotel managed to nicely construct a tent outside the restaurant which we really appreciated. The wind was blowing so strong but we felt secure under this tent during our dinner. Great job guys! Hats off.
Each table had a bottle of champagne which was indeed great to celebrate New Year in style. Hence, the buffet was really good very value for money which one would find in 5* properties around the world.

After our dinner, we went to see the show which was fantastic. There was a cultural show like Indian, African, ‘sega’ and Arab dance and people looked like they were enjoying themselves too. It was entertaining from start to finish. The show entertainer did a great job as he put the modern songs until 2.30 am and we could see ourselves in the pool water at 3.00am. Some people were dancing sega and enjoying themselves at the exception of a few prefers sitting and watching.
The fireworks at the beach were wonderful despite the cyclone approaching in the Indian Ocean we were about to celebrate under the strong wind and we felt very secured at that time, we crossed the tiny road to the seashore and helped by security officers, Management and staffs.
We had a wonderful experience and I highly recommend this 3 star rated Hotel offering a 5 Star service to all and invite anyone seeking for a true Mauritian hospitality to come and celebrate New Year eve at this Hotel. You will see us soon next year guys!!!!


One clue please do book well in advance just like us… to secure your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your lovely depiction of our hotel and our “family Members”.

We are very pleased to have been able to contribute to an unforgettable New Year Eve!

We would be very happy to see you again, hopefully soon!

With kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed 10-22 December. Lovely small hotel, nice beach and with our all inclusive a good couple of outings are thrown in by hotel.

Points to note:
Food: oh dear, the definition of bland is well established in this restaurant, and doubling up the pain here is terrible cuts of meat in everything they do, you will chew your life away. However, we made it clear on our first night we were not happy and the floor manager in the restaurant, Ravi, simply put himself out each day to personalise a meal for us. And then we started to get to know some of the backroom canteen staff such as Sachin and Daby and were treated with some individual dishes cooked the Mauritian way; fair play in dealing with us this way.

The SPA offers exceptional value for money and you can haggle between 15-25% discount depending on your charm. We both had a few treatments, the stones Earth Attitide was great!

You get to know the staff very well here, as its so small, everyone so friendly except for one lady on reception who sticks out a mile on the grumpy and lazy stakes.

Booked AI with BA for £3000 for the 10 days. Disappointed that cocktails were limited to nerdy ones, anything decent you have to pay for.

Considering the cost at other hotels we were very impressed with value for money.

Watch out for expensive taxi drivers, we spoke to a local man in Belle Mare on our first night and he became our taxi driver for the week. Tommy Taxi +230 7948460, we paid him 30 quid for all day or 15 for half, good family man.

Would recommend if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Arnold,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Emeraude Beach Attitude.

I would like to give some explanations to a few listed points on your comment.

- Theme night buffet & Table d’Hote Menu are available. An A La Carte also may be ordered with a supplement. The Food and Beverages cater for everyone’s tastes and we are always at our guest’s service at all times. We are happy that you appreciated our food variety and local dishes.

- Please note that the lady at the Reception is no longer working for us.

- Regarding the cocktails, please note that a great number of cocktails with and without alcohol are already included in the All Inclusive package (Strawberry Daiquiri, Ti-Punch, Strawberry Daiquiri etc…).

We would be delighted to seeing you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude.

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is a very good choice if you travel on a bit of a budget - the accomodation and service are really great. It is just with the food choices that you realise it is 3* and not 4* or 5*. There are say 3 options for lunch or dinner that you can choose from, where at a 5 star there is much more choice. But the food is good and they are willing to make chips etc for kids.
I would recommend that they install blinds at the shower window so that the room stays a bit darker early in the morning.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Small resort so all rooms are very accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending Emeraude Beach Attitude to other travelers. We are grateful for your kind words on our hotel and personnel, which have been shared with all the ‘Family Members’.

We have taken good note of your comment regarding the blind at the shower window.
Our guests comments are really important for us, these help us a lot to improve our hotel and its service.

We hope to see you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed from 2-9 December at the hotel. All the people in the hotel were so friendly.... Alivin, Sammy, Kishan and Nicolas all deserve a special mention. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel; the room was big enough for 2 people and was cleaned every day. The food was really poor. The first night we did the buffet, really disappointed. If you want seafood you must order it from the menu and pay extra for it. When you do the sit down you get nice food. The Chinese buffet was really disappointed! It was only noodles in Soya not what we expected; there were some fish and pork. The breakfast was ok, it was the same every morning, with left overs from dinner. Lunches was the same every day, pasta and margarita Pizza. The AI has very limited cocktails, all the popular cocktails is not included.

The east side of the island is the "wild" side according to our driver. The best side of the island is the North. We hired a scooter and it was lovely. We went to the botaniqual gardens and to Grand Baie. We also used the taxi services in Poste de Flaque, they are much cheaper than the other. Down the road there are very nice places to eat, we also had a nice meal at Tino at Trou de douche. We really had a great time in Mauritius, just beware of the people selling stuff on the beach, they rip you off.

Room Tip: Second floor away from the bar, we stayed in 219 and ut was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attitude_Mauritius, Ashok Mooroteea at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all my staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel and your warm words towards our crew.

We have taken very good note on your comment regarding food. We are sorry that the food did not match your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Émeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island’s most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast.Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture.Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totalising 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity.Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its Family Members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days gentle way of life.Its innovative package “Émeraude Inclusive” is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraude Beach Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.