We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday - Nothing to Fault!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraude Beach Attitude

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emeraude Beach Attitude to your Saves list
Emeraude Beach Attitude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday - Nothing to Fault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Emeraude Attitude hotel from the 16th to the 30th august and what a wonderful time we had. As soon as we arrived we were met by a friendly and welcoming reception team, they brought with them a cocktail and face towels which were generously received after such a long journey (epic flight!!!) We had the package we had chosen explained to us, which was the full a la carte all inclusive, and were then taken to our room, room 209 overlooking the pool. Coco and the maintenance man (never found out his name!) then helped us to our room with our bags and left us to it.

First impressions of the room were small, but lovely, cosy and clean. All the amenities were there, fridge freezer with minibar which was replenished daily, lovely powerful shower which we could’ve spent hours in, and a nice big bed which was very comfortable. The pillows for me were not quite what I am used to, however the other half thoroughly enjoyed them! After settling in and unpacking we went for a late lunch which the staff had kept on for us despite arriving mid afternoon, this was lovely and again welcoming after a long trip.

The theme of the staff going out of their way to be helpful and welcoming continued throughout the holiday and the staff within the restaurant were truly exceptional. Cant name and remember everyone unfortunately, but a special thanks to Ravi, Jimmy, Surita, Mike, Gary the chef and all the other staff I’ve forgotten! On the second day my girlfriend didn’t really enjoy anything that the buffet had to offer, Ravi noticed this and came to the table to ask if everything was ok and asked if she’d like something cooked especially. This has never happened anywhere we’d been before and is truly one of the benefits of a small and friendly hotel. Every mealtime after this she was offered a meal cooked especially for her if she didn’t like the choices at the buffet which was happily explained before tucking in at lunch and dinner. I am quite an adventurous eater and tucked in happily to the buffet which was varied and delicious every day, the fish vindaloo being a personal highlight!! On occasion we also sampled the table d’hôte menu which was like an ala carte meal and this once again was delicious.

The food was not the only highlight of the hotel, just a 10 second stroll out of the hotel across the easily crossed road was one of the most beautiful beaches we have seen. Stunning turquoise blue waters rolled onto the beautiful white beach, always looking good for a photograph! Laying on the beach in the Mauritian winter was different to what we expected as the winds were extremely strong on most days, but there are curved sunbeds which we used as windbreaks when possible and this made the temperature more than pleasant. The sea wasn’t just nice to look at and was very pleasant to swim in, although don’t go too far as you may get a telling off!
Back in the hotel the pool itself, of which our room had a lovely view, was very nice for a dip to cool off after baking when the sun was out (about 50/50 for our two weeks) Not heated, but there was no need, and to sound like a typical Brit “it’s alright once you’re in!” Another highlight of laying by the pool was the waiter service provided by the bar. Probably around every hour the barman would come around and ask if you’d like a drink, this again was a novelty to us and made us feel like rockstars for the entire visit! It would’ve been a bit nicer though if Samy had matched Jimmy and Alvin’s customer service, yes he brought drinks regularly, but if I’m honest for the first week it was with a forced smile if at all and as soon as we’d checked out he was plain rude. This didn’t taint the holiday or the experience of the other bar staff as Alvin who worked on an evening and Jimmy during the day were smiling happy souls who went out of their way to keep you refreshed and in Alvin’s case plain drunk!!

Other pleasures of laying by the pool were the almost daily free sample massages. It was definitely worth hearing the spa staff explain the massage menu to receive five minutes of relaxation! Later in the holiday we went for a couples massage, both of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience and rub down, however the male masseuse is a bit too adventurous with his hands which lead to my girlfriend feeling uncomfortable and me feeling seen off that the lady wasn’t adventurous enough!! I would say to anyone wanting an individual massage be wary of the young lad in there, as a woman you could be made to feel uncomfortable.

The hotel provided two free trips within the a la carte option, a boat trip to the lovely island of Ile aux Cerf which provided great photo opportunities and is definitely worth a visit. We also took the glass bottom boat trip from the beach which was good as you could see all the fish that you couldn’t otherwise see. On another day we visited Casella Nature Park. This was arranged through our tour operator and it turned out that the trip itself was fairly priced but the transfer could’ve been arranged with the taxis outside the hotel for around half the cost. This didn’t affect our enjoyment of the trip and everything we experienced there from the ‘Walking with Lions’ (amazing!!) to the interaction with lion cubs, to the safari in which you see and feed zebras, ostriches and other wild animals is just fantastic, definitely worth a visit.

On an evening after dinner one day in two or three there would be entertainment on. This usually consisted of local dancers or singers and was enjoyable. On the evenings when there was nothing on though the nights could’ve dragged without Alvin’s alcoholic beverages! This is the one small gripe we could have had with this hotel and I don’t want to end on a low so I won’t and will say to anyone thinking of booking here, do not hesitate, you are treated with such respect and small things like tips not being expected made us feel like their service and kindness was completely sincere.
Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay!!

Almost forgot to thank our maid for the lovely towel animals, great work Aneera, cheers!!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor, you have a better view!! We had room 209 and the view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Please receive our thanks for your warm appreciations on our Hotel and the attentive service of our personnel: your kind words have been shared with all the ‘Family Members’ (thanks also for the picture of the animal shaped towels!)

I would like to address your comment regarding the behavior of one of our former Spa member. Rest assured that we hold paramount the values of respect, humility and courtesy and that such misconduct is not tolerated.

We were pleased to know you enjoyed your Holidays in Mauritius while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you back in Mauritius at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

All the best,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    305
    105
    31
    21
See reviews for
165
478
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks at the end of August and where looked after to the highest level. With people like Samy behind the bar who has got to be the best barman we have ever met and his assistant Alvin they was always on the ball when it come to drinks we would never have a empty glass. The restaurant staff from the morning to the evening where amazing. Ravi,serita,jimmy,mike,kavi,isaae and the rest of the staff where like one big family you would be looked after on all three meals a day.The food was great there is something for everyone there was themed nights everyday and they made an effort of even decorating the restaurant to that particular night. If you didn't like the buffet style food the staff would always offer you a cooked meal from steaks to grilled chicken. You couldn't complain.The rooms where great and clean,towels where changed everyday, the air conditioning worked very well and you could always tune in to English telly. The pool was very small and relaxing, the only issue was having to get up extra extra early to get a sun lounger. The weather was very unpredictable but we was lucky to get a good few days of sun as it was there winter. Some days where overcast but it was still very warm. WHen it rained it only lasted for 10-15 mins. The beach was absolutely beautiful with white sands and crystal clear water. Coco was the assistant on the beach he was very helpful and friendly. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel and the staff to everybody. Since we have come home my boyfriend has found a taste of chilli rum thanks to Alvin and the staff who created it haha

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Sammy,

On behalf of all the ‘Family Members’ of Emeraude Beach Attitude, I would like to thank you for your kind words on your recent stay: it’s always with pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed your Holidays in Mauritius while vacationing with us.

I have passed on your warm appreciations with the team (especially Ravi, Sarita, Jimmy, Samy, Alvin, Mike, Kavi and Isaae) – Alvin was pleased to know its creation will be given a new life in England!

Bouncing back on your remark regarding the sun loungers, additional sunbeds have now been made available on the Beach and Pool areas.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 17 days in May, it wasa wonful. The staff are excellent and the pool is nice and clean. The food is ver varied and whilst there are theme nights each week the menu choice is varied. The drinks are plentiful and we helped ourselves in the restaurant, the only time we had waiter service was when the head manager came to inspect. The beach also has waiter service for drinks and brings pizza and samosas around in the afternoon.

We can recommend the catamaran trip and the day to see giant tortoises and the private beach, expensive but well worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good pool views more so
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Emeraude Beach Attitude in May.

We are happy to know you made the most of your stay in Mauritius while staying with us and that the food, beach attendance and the attentive service of our personnel met your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon towards the end of August for 2 weeks. We have recently returned home and had an amazing time in Mauritius. The Emeraude is a small and very personal hotel which suited our needs perfectly. It is 3 star but the service is certainly well above this level. It is very clean, the rooms are great, the staff are unbelievable and treat you like royalty, the food is excellent and it is situated just across the road from a beautiful beach with a stunning view of the coastine.

I honestly find it hard to come up with faults for this hotel and cannot believe some of the recent comments on here. If you dont do abit of research into where you are going or dont fully confirm what is included in your booking, how can you blame the hotel for your disappointment? It is true that there are 2 AI packages. We were on the basic package which includes 3 meals a day, water, soft drinks, beer and a glass of house wine at dinner. What more do you need? If you want more then the higher package also includes cocktails, spirits and use of the minibar.

The staff are what makes this hotel exceptional. They always have a smile on their faces and nothing is ever too much trouble. They are all exceptional but the service provided by Ravi (the restaurant manager) was just outstanding. My wife has a particular food allergy and after being made aware of this, Ravi was constantly checking that there was something suitable for her to eat. If there wasnt, he would happily arrange for a special meal to be made by the chef. This was very impressive. We were also given a 4 course honeymoon meal which was fantastic.

The food is buffet style but you have the option of choosing a set menu on an evening. The buffet was varied and plentiful, even when the hotel got busier towards the end of our stay. There is something for everyone and it is always fresh. Each night has a different theme but they do try to mix things up each week so that it isnt exactly the same meal. It certainly isnt fine dining but again I think people expect far too much. I personally thought the food was excellent and if you thought otherwise, the staff would happily prepare an alternative meal with no fuss at all.

The pool area is very nice but there could be more sunbeds which would put a stop to the towel saving culture on a morning. This isnt a massive problem though due to the fact that you can cross the road to an amazing beach which is one of the best on the island. We could have stayed there alot longer and never got bored of the view. The sea is crystal clear and if you go on the glass bottom boat trip you can see plenty of marine life!

The weather was quite varied for the first week but even when it is overcast, it is always warm and soon changes. The sun is never far away and even though it was their winter at the time, we were lucky enough to get plenty of sunshine over the 2 weeks.

I would urge you to get around the island and see some of the sights. We did a catamaran trip to Ile Aux Cerfs and a trip around the south which included the seven coloured earth, a hindu temple, rum tasting at a distillery and lunch at a stunning restaurant in the middle of the mountains. We arranged these through the tour operator. We also did a half day trip to Tamarin to swim with dolphins. This was excellent value and provided by Pascal. His company have an affiliation with the hotel and he is there on a Monday evening to promote his trips. I would definitely recommend this as an unforgettable experience.

Evening entertainment took place at the hotel on a Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. The 3 piece band was our personal favourite. Due to the fact that you cant go out of the hotel, there could be more to do on an evening. Even if it was as simple as a quiz or bingo, it would make things a bit more interesting.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the only other issue we found was the over friendly male masseuse in the spa.

Overall, we had an amazing honeymoon and would definitely return to this hotel in the future. Mauritius is a beautiful island and you wont be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Jim,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Emeraude Beach Attitude for your Honeymoon in Mauritius: your kind words on our Hotel and its personnel have been shared with all the ‘Family Members (Ravi was happy to have made your stay more enjoyable).

As regards to the Spa, it was with dismay that we found out that one of our former team members did not behave in accordance with our values of respect, humility and courtesy. Rest assured that the Management teams hold paramount the well-being of our guests and that such misconduct will not be tolerated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Warn regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked our 2 week "ALL INCLUSIVE" holiday though the BA website, the hotel, the hire-car, the excursions etc., a complete package to celebrate 35years of marriage.

We upgraded to a "Superior" room on the BA website

(SUPERIOR Sleeps 4, Bed Type: Double(s), SUPERIOR , Air conditioning, In Room Movies, Balcony/Lanai/Terrace, Minibar, Private bathroom, Separate Shower, Television)

This hotel doesn't have this type of room; they do not have rooms with 2 Double beds or Private bathroom.

The shower is separate from the toilet but is open to the main room except for a venetian blind arrangement for privacy, there is no bath.

There is a minibar and you can have still water (in 500ml size) for free, anything else is charged extra for even the larger bottles of water or sparkling.

Tea and Coffee are provided in the room but are charged for (take your own).

Television only has 4 channels, 3 are the same and one is for films (some in English, most in Indian,) which would change at random times during the film ( I presume that the night watchman had control of the decoder box)

We ended up with a family room with one double bed and a sofa with pull-out bed underneath, not what we had paid for.
The room was clean enough, we had no qualms about that and the air-con worked very well.

ALL INCLUSIVE .... This hotel is NOT all inclusive, the hotel offers 2 levels of "all inclusive" neither of which are, you have :

'Emeraude Inclusive' is included in the cost and provides: • Breakfast (served from 07:00 until 10:00) • Lunch (served from midday until 14:30)- sandwiches, pizza, hamburgers, panini from the main restaurant or 'picnic box' • Dinner (from 19:00 to 22:00) from a themed buffet/menu table d'hote. • A selection of drinks (from 11:00 until 23:00), includes mineral water, soft drinks, draught beer (from the bar or beach service during the day) and one glass of wine during lunch and dinner. • Glass bottom boat and snorkeling.

the Emeraude also offer an upgraded All Inclusive package, which is available at an extra cost. This includes: • Breakfast (from 07:00 to 10:00) • Lunch (from midday to 14:30) • Buffet or menu table d'Hôte from the main restaurant or "Picnic Box" • Dinner (from 07:00 to 22:00) • Themed buffet/menu table d'hôte • tea/coffee time with pastries (from 16:00 to 17:00). • Selection of drinks (from 11:00 to 23:00), includes mineral water, soft drinks, draught beer, wine selection, selection of cocktails, fruit juice from the bar or beach service during the day. • Selected items from the minibar - mineral water, soft drinks, beer (refilled once daily) 15% discount on massage treatment at the Spa Attitude, • Glass bottom Boat and snorkelling • One day trip to Ile aux Cerfs with Picnic Box via Le Tropical Hotel (7 night minimum stay/weather permitting). Prices from 01 October 2012 are inclusive of the upgraded All Inclusive package.

You pay for your tea and coffee in your room, you pay for spirits at the bar (local and imported), you pay for coffee at the bar, you pay for bottled beer at the bar, you pay for bottled wine at the bar.
The only all-inclusive drinks at the bar are local draught beer (Phoenix), wine from a plastic bag (decanted into bottles, sometimes), fruit juice, soft drinks from the mixer and still bottled water. (Gets very boring after 2 weeks)
There are no daytime snacks or ice-creams, cocktails are charged for as they have local spirits in them.

This was not like any other “all-inclusive” holiday that we have been on before.
It appears that everyone is booked onto the “Emeraude Inclusive” package and if you want actual “all-inclusive” (which it isn’t) you have to pay 20 GBP per person per day when you arrive, the general feeling of all staying at the same time as us was one of bewilderment, everyone had the same issue.
We raised our concerns with the hotel and the local BA rep and whilst everyone was very pleasant about it nothing was resolved and we had to get on with what we were given.

Now this might sound as though we didn’t enjoy our stay at the Emeraude Hotel, however, we did, the staff were the most pleasant that you could hope to meet (with the exception of the reception staff and management who were a total waste of space) the bar and restaurant were very well run, the site was clean and tidy as were the rooms, the security staff were always in evidence day and night we felt that we were well looked after and felt safe at all times.

The beach is clean and has a scattering of thatched umbrellas and loungers, the sea was clean and warm (although you should watch out for “bluebottle” jelly fish there were a few about and more than one person was stung by them.)
There are various activities available from the beach varying from the glass-bottomed boat (free) to scuba, fishing, etc. Which are all available at a cost (priced for the rich American tourist methinks)

The restaurant was very well run; the menu was pretty basic and at times repetitive but we never went hungry, due to the open plan nature of the restaurant you often had birds on the table during the day and at mealtimes. Cereal in the morning was Cornflakes or Weetabix (we bought our own) the coffee was undrinkable (we bought our own) the tea and coffee were available at mealtimes and were made in an urn (tea with milk already in …. Yuk)

The Bar area is open plan with a small stage area (mind the step, we saw a few people fall off of it) it has sand on the floor which was home to thousands of sand-flies which were always biting your ankles (don’t forget the repellent) there were also biting insects around the pool area close to the bar area.

Names to look out for Ravi and Sarita in the restaurant excellent service, Alvin, Sammy, Jimmy at the bar …. In fact, with the exception of the reception staff and management they were all great.

We would visit again, we wouldn’t expect all inclusive, we wouldn’t pay for a “Superior” room which doesn’t exist; 7-10 days would be more than long enough.

I think that the basic problem with this hotel is that the management think that they are running a 5 star establishment, it is listed as a 3 star, I wouldn’t place it that high, maybe a 2 star but certainly not more.

Room Tip: All rooms come with free Gekko's (so cooool), at least one of the ground floor rooms had mice (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Emeraude Beach Attitude.

We have taken positively your remarks on our hotel and facilities and would like to address the points below:

Emeraude Beach Attitude is a 3-star property offering 2 types of rooms, Superior and Standard, and 2 levels of All-Inclusive packages: Emeraude Inclusive and All Inclusive Package. We are grateful for all travelers to check their package/meal plans and rooms type with their respective Agencies before coming to our Hotel to avoid disappointment.

Being on an Island, tropical birds are part of the daily life of the Hotel. We would like to once again seize the opportunity to ask our guest not to feed the birds, as it makes it harder for our personnel to manage the situation.

Thank you for your positive comments on our food and service, your personal order-taker was the chef de cuisine Garry and you enjoyed some specialities offered to you. We would like to precise, that for breakfast, hot beverages are self-service whereas milk is served separately and not mixed with tea as per your review.

Please note that Ravi, Sarita, Sammy & Jimmy are all from our Management Team caring for our residents at all times.

My Family Members and I look forward welcoming you again to Emeraude Beach Attitude and trust next time you check your package well before booking to our 3 star property in the East Coast.

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family of 6 (2 in-laws, 2 kids under 10, me and husband) stayed at the Emeraude Hotel for two weeks. We were unsure of what to expect, but when we got there the hotel and staff were fantastic. After a very long journey there, we were given cold flannels, a cold drink and lunch was waiting.
Food was really very good, yes some things were occassionly repeated but it was not noticable or boring at all. We went in their quiet period, so there was no queueing at all and there was always plenty.
The main beach was pretty windy and meant that it got chilly, so we found a smaller beach about 5 mins walk that was sheltered and got really warm.
There are some good spots for snorkeling but the sea was quite rough so we didnt go as far as we'd have liked- free boat trip is good too.
Rooms were cleaned every day and decorated towels were always a nice surprise and the pool area and gardens were always clean and presentable.
You could see that the staff worked very hard and Ravi, Sarita, Sammy, Jimmy and all the staff we great
Yes their winter weather was unpredictable, grey and cloudy and very windy at times...but we all still managed to have fun- we even went to Le Waterpark in the rain (it was soooo much fun!)

Would love to go back, but in their summer next time though!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Ravi, Sarita, Sammy, Jimmy and all the ‘Family Members’ of Emeraude Beach Attitude join me in thanking you for your kind words on your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are pleased you made the most of your stay in Mauritius while staying with us (despite the winter weather which was a bit colder than usual this year).

It has been a pleasure welcoming you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the Summer season!

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed mid August, knowing that this was Mauritian winter and that the weather would possibly be rather unsettled.....it was! After 4 days in Dubai, suffering the intense heat it was rather a shock to the system but we did have a few warm, sunny days. However, being a real sun-worshipper it was definitely a little too breezy and cold for me, particulary at night. Make sure you take a jumper or sweatshirt with you or you will be cold in the evening.
The hotel is lovely and the nice thing about August is that the resort was quiet. Our room was simply furnished but kept immaculately clean with fresh towels every day. There was always a friendly smile and 'bonjour' from the staff who really could not do enough for you, especially Jimmy and Sarita in the restaurant.
Food was varied and plentiful with something for everyone's taste. We had the buffet for the first week but then tried the set menu which was fab. There were quite a few residents complaining about the food but to be quite honest I have no idea what some people expect. They must eat caviar and fillet steak every night at home!
The beach is stunning with white sand, palm trees and azure sea. The water was only warm enough for a paddle and it was so windy that my husband and I were the only people on the beach most of the time.Getting a sunbed around the pool was a nightmare unless you got up at the crack of dawn so we braved it on the beach and got sandblasted.
It is worth noting that if you want to stay somewhere with shops/restaurants in the vicinity then book another resort. The town is within walking distance but apart from a few small supermarkets and a couple of designer outlets (which seem totally out of place) there is nothing much to do. We hired a moped for 5 days but the weather was so unpredictable and chilly, particularly during the afternoons, that I would rather have hired a car. Getting around the Island on a bike in winter is not much fun. However, the roads are good and pretty safe compared to other countries we have visited.
The highlight of our visit was a trip to Casela where we walked with lion cubs and had a brilliant encounter with adult lions. It was rather expensive but well worth it. We also visited a number of west and North coast resorts ie Flic en Flac, Grande Baie, Port Louis and it was a lot warmer over on the west coast although still overcast. If you dont like windy weather then stick to the west coast during the winter.
To summarise I would say this is a lovely small and intimate hotel in an unspoilt location with the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Belle Mare is definitely one of the most beautiful and unspoilt beaches on the island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, General Manager at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Kyle,

Thank you for your recommending Emeraude Beach Attitude to other travellers. We are happy to know you keep a good memory of your stay with us and your description of our Hotel (lovely, intimate hotel, unspoilt location, friendly staff) honor us.

To bounce back on your comments on the weather in Mauritius in August, while bringing cooler night and slightly more wind (which our Windsurf and Kitesurf addicts love), it’s also a quieter month so ideal to enjoy some tourist spots without getting lost in the crowd.

Regarding the sunbeds around the pool, we are pleased to let future guests know that additional sunbeds are now available on the Beach and Pool areas.

Your kind words have been passed on to our Jimmy, Sarita and all the Family Members.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Emeraude Beach Attitude,

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island's most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast.Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture.Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totalising 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity.Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its Family Members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days gentle way of life.Its innovative package "Emeraude Plus" is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraude Beach Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.