We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Belle Mare Plage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Constance Belle Mare Plage to your Saves list
Constance Belle Mare Plage
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Poste de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Constance Luxury Golf
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent service everywhere..you don't have to lift à finger (if you don't want to)!
Or walk..golfcars drive by every other minute to pick you up (if you want to) !
Beach right outside our room..turning the bed-service every night including fresh flowers and fresh towels (fresh towels and flowers also in the morning).
Two beautiful golf-courses with over 35 caddy's to your service and or golfcars with gps.
Lots of watersports free of charge and several different boattrips you can make although not free of charge it's worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    224
    67
    22
    13
See reviews for
371
796
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went to this hotel in December 2012 and had an absolutely faolous experience. The hotel was in a great location, quiet and right on the beach. It offered a range of activities from golf (which I don't play, but their course is meant to be exceptionally good), water sports, spas etc.
The beach was right outside my bedroom window, hundreds of sunbeds lined the beach with fresh towels being delivered to you as required. The food was really good, we tried all the restaurants and each of the was superb. The front desk were really helpul and ensured we could easily travel around the island. As well as all the key ingredients the staff ensured all the little things were perfect - one of my friends had a birthday during our stay and the staff got her a birthday cake at dinner and decorated her bed at night. Another couple we knew there were on honeymoon and they had roses around their room when they entered. All in all, it was a great place to stay and I'd reccomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the sea if possible, the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Much has already been written about the Hotel's excellent location on a white sand beach, well appointed Junior suites(recommend 1st floor for best views), attentive service and decent food. One of the prime reasons for preferring this resort hotel is its 2 golf courses- The Links and the Legends.
The Links is a slightly longer but less "tight" course on which the hotel provides free buggy use. It's a good test of golf. In February, though, the sheer volume of rainfall reduced even this course to 9 playable holes providing players carried their bags.
The Legend course is a tight layout with many water hazards and thickets of trees containing lava boulders making it a very tricky test. On this course players may use caddies, carry their bags or use trolleys. Again the heavy rainfall had swamped the front nine so that only the back nine was open and the 18th was reduced from a par 5 to a par 3. The flooding was so bad that the red marker posts round the water hazards were about 30 cms under water and casual water lay across a number of fairways . A big pump was being used to try and lower the level of the main lake! On caddies, the extra cost of a caddy rather than a bag carrier is worthwhile.
The greens on both courses coped well with the heavy rain and quickly drained a testimony to the USPGA construction.
This year's weather was apparently much wetter than usual but usually February is the wettest month and therefore considerable disruption of golf by tropical rainstorms and resulting course closures should be expected. At least go prepared; take a good umbrella, lightweight breathable waterproof top and maybe a carry bag.

Room Tip: 1st Floor rooms have the best views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went here at Christmas , and had a disappointing time.
Firstly we asked for 2 twin rooms for our 4 children , and got 2 double beds with separate matresses, not the same thing . As 2 of these children were adults they were not very happy sharing a double bed. Eventually they sorted out one twin room , but could not do the other as they have hardly any twin rooms in the hotel.
The hotel was packed as they allow extra children in the rooms for no extra cost,( i think the only hotel that is 5 star that does this in Mauritius)
Consequently , the hotel had at least 100 guests over its max capacity.This was a big strain on the infrasructure. It was impossible to get a sunbed unless you bagged it at about 6 am!
The service was slow, and it was often impossible for the 6 of us to get a table together in the buffet. There were also long queues at the variuos stations in the buffet, a 20 minute wait for a bowl of pasta?Not acceptable.The wine and water we ordered to go with our meals often turned up long after we had started eating. There was very little sign of any management making sure it was running smoothly , and the staff just looked fed up .The standard of food was generally very average.
The water sports were downright dangerous , as there were other boats from other hotels,using the same strip of water outside the hotel, how there hasnt been an accident I do not know! Again huge long waits for a ski.
Finally, for a 5 star hotel , nothing was included , even paid extra for the coffee pods in the room!! Wifi was extra as was a dvd player , and even a peice of pineapple on the sunlounger had to be bought from a vendor out of a cardboard box!!
If this were a 3 star hotel , fine , but for a 5 star it was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and adult daughter and I stayed at the Belle Mare Plage between 20th January - 1st February this year.
This was the third time we had visited as our previous stays were so impressive.
On arrival we learnt we had been upgraded from 2 suites to a villa. This was just amazing with our own pool and sun terrace, enormous lounge area, kitchen and 2 spacious en suite bedrooms, one with a very secluded outside bathing area. We also had the services of the 'villa master' who was linked to our villa to make our holiday run as smoothly as possible.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, in particular by Rajen. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made the difference between a good and a great holiday. My husband stated that Rajen has made a lasting impresion upon him as he was an exceptional person, both personally and professionally. We also would like to thank Nand and Jogo who took very good care of us in our villa.
Some of our favourite times at the hotel were spent eating in the Blue Penny Cafe and in La Espaggio, where the food was superb and in our opinion deserves Michelin star status. Another exceptional member of staff and consumate professional was Wesley in the Blue Penny Cafe, where his care of us and attention to detail was superb.
The beach, the setting, and the ambiance in the rest of the hotel was fabulous, as it had been on previous occasions. However, on our third trip to this wonderful hotel was a particularly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently returned from a two week stay at the Belle Mare Plage Hotel and can honestly say I am so glad to be home. We arrived at 11 am after flying from the uk only to be told our room was not ready till 2 pm not acceptable, when we got our room it was lovely and clean and well maintained and kept really clean for the whole two weeks. That is about the only good thing we have to say about Belle Mare Plage.

We have had the worst service anywhere we have ever travelled, the staff are uninterested, patronising and most times the service is non existent apart from at the end when you want the bill and they may get a tip, if you don't' they raise there eyebrows !

The food in the main buffet is not good, at breakfast birds are flying around the restaurant and eating out of the pots of food, jam and pecking at the breads and from anything left open. Evening meal is like eating in a staff canteen and the food in the buffet was never hot. The hotel prices are really expensive on the half board package you can use two restaurants with an allowance given at the other two evening restaurants, but these are so expensive the allowance only covers a starter !! If you want lunch an example of the prices are £35 for one pizza chips and two small beers and as there is no where near by you have to pay it. We have travelled a lot and safe to say we will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our third time in Belle Mare Plage in Mauritius. Previous was very nice but this time was really fantastic. We got an upgrade in villa and this experience was amazing. I want to say thank you to the management and expecial thanks to our house-steward PRAKASH , a really fantastic person !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Address: Poste de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroll down the endless white sand beach, play golf on 2 championship golf courses, explore the stunning Indian Ocean, pamper yourself at our Spa. Whatever you and your family dream of at the unique Constance Belle Mare Plage we’ve got it covered.You can enjoy the choices from 7 restaurants offering everything from elegant fine dining experiences to burgers and salads on the beach. Seize the opportunity to try new things whether it’s diving for the first time, water skiing, kite surfing or just picking up some gastronomic tips from our world-class chefs in one of our cookery classes. Relax and unwind at our Spa de Constance and Shiseido Spa where we’ll pamper you with the latest treatments and massages. Let the kids have their own adventure making new friends at Kakoo, the free all-day children's club.Belle Mare Plage is part of our Unique Resorts Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Belle Mare Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.