We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Save Saved
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

I stayed at Beau Rivage in November for 7 days. The pool area is great although you need to get up really early to get a bed by the pool, after 08.30 they are all taken.. Beach is nice although it was very low water at the time. Plenty of activities are included in price like glassbottom boat tour, waterskiing, kayaking, sailing, snorkling, nice staff at the boat house. Rooms are nicely decorated a home away from home, with walk-in closet, large bathroom with seperate shower and bathtube. Sofa and a comfortable bed, homey.. Nice balcony i had a lovely view over sea and pool area. Rooms are done twice a day and very clean and well kept. Common areas are also nice. Computer room exists but internet quite expensive.

Now the negative, prices of food and wine are disgustingly high more than 2/3 of the menu are not included in half board, normal extra for a starter is around 10 Euro and extra for maincourse is 20-30 Euro and dessert 10 euro. So you pay twice for the food first half board and then extras.. Wine is 35 Euro minimum for a bottle that cost 4-5 Euro in the store.. I like value for money and this is not value for money you feel cheated and robbed for paying twice. Drinks around 9 Euro. I normally do not like buffet dinners but their buffet diners where actually quite good, food fresh and warm and chef made new food according to demand so that was nice. My recommendation to people is avoid the a la carte restaurants and go for the buffet nights. Buffets are usually no extra. To avoid paying hefty fees for wine i orded room service with a tray charge of 3 Euro extra and drank my own wine in my room, nice to sit on the balcony at night and look out over the pool area and sea. So buy taxfree wine and order room service from the restaurant you fancy.

Taxis at hotell are expensive so go out on the road and get a cheaper one. You can negotiate the price with the driver. I hate over paying for things! Talk to a cabbie and let him drive you around the island i did most of the Island for 70 Euro we started really early in the morning and he drove me around for 8 hours so do not bother to hire a car for 50 Euro and drive your self on the wrong side of the road...:)

Staff are very helpful, pizza, cold towels, clean glasses by the pool. My valet rubbed in my back with sun cream every morning since i travelled alone. They iron two things for you every day at no extra cost.

So to conclude really nice property and service but food is average and prices of food very high, extremely bad value in terms of food..

  • Liked — Service rooms
  • Disliked — Extras on food and prices of wine and drinks
  • Tips/Secrets — Order roomservice and drink you own wine
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,526
    248
    68
    29
    11
See reviews for
547
994
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for the first week of our honeymoon,from the 30th of Oct to the 6th of Nov. We have to say that, though not perfect, this hotel ranks amongst the best we have ever been to. We stayed at the Hilton just after and we were extremely disappointed!

The BR hotel collected us at the airport,served us drinks enroute, and finally checked us in with full personal service into our junior suite room overlooking the pool and beach, room 3002. Our stay was half board and fully paid through Lastminute.

On our arrival, we received personal gifts and bottle of bubbly. The greetings were warm and personal throughout and everyone we conversed with knew our names. The personal attention was further enhanced through the room butler service,where the butler can be told exactly what you need when you need it,and it gets done.

Food was excellent. We moved from restaurant to restaurant and could order wonderfully made tasteful dishes on our half board tariff,paying only for our drinks. Regular themed buffets and staged events made the evenings fun too.

This hotel is expensive as are ALL 5 star Mauritius hotels,when it comes to drinks and extras. Be careful not to accept 'invitations' to events without first checking if it is on the house or on your bill ;)

We will recommend this hotel to everyone,STRONGLY!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

My wife, three children and I stayed at the Beau Rivage for 10 days in October 2006 and had an excellent holiday. The hotel has much to recommend it...: Great setting, very attractive buildings (in marked contrast to some of the other resorts nearby) and general environment, superb food and extremely attentive service. This was delivered with genuine warmth and charm. This was particularly true of the nannies in the kid's club.

We would agree with some of the less positive observations of others: the front desk and concierge are slow and a bit chaotic, drinks, particularly wine, are quite expensive, while some of the evening entertainment was great fun, some was a bit naff and the sailing kit is distinctly tired. However, these are relatively minor quibbles. We had a fabulous holiday and our children were brilliantly catered for. One last point - we went in the October UK half term and there was a very large number of children there. This was great for us and our family but I could not help but feel sorry for some of the honeymooners who looked a little dismayed when they found their romantic champagne breakfasts interrupted by our toddlers arguing over pancakes etc . Apolgies if they're reading this!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in October 2006 as the last part of our honeymoon, the first parts being Cape Town and Safari at Jocks Safari Lodge in Kruger National Park (outstanding by the way).

We wanted a chilled end to what was a run around holiday at the first two locations.

This was our first attempt at the half-board/full board type beach holiday. We opted for half board. Previously we have been for a week to Jumeriah Beach Hotel in Dubai which we use as our benchmark.

The location is really impressive and the sea looks fantastic. The hotel as a building is very nice with a fairly large fresh water pool however it was a bit cold. Rooms are nice enough but aren't what you call 5 star Ritz Carlton standard.

We have very mixed feelings about this hotel. It is probably perfect if you like the all-inclusive type hotel packages or if this is your first 5 star experience. If you've been to Dubai and experienced 5 star there, then you will probably think this is more like 4 star.

There are 4 restaurants: Rive Gauche, IndoChine (Indian, Asian Food), Mediteranne (bit of everything) and a seafood restaurant. The Rive Gauche is the main one for those going half board. It generally has buffets and occasionally a la carte. The buffets were generally very very good, particularly the asian one.

The other restaurants have A LA Carte menus where some items (normally the least appetising one's i.e guinea fowl) are no additional cost. Beef or Lamb or anything else that you normally like to eat is generally additional cost. And here is the first thing that bugged us, the cost is not supplemental i.e. a top up cost on top of what you've already paid for half board. Instead the cost is pretty much the full cost of a meal i.e Beef would be about 26 Euros in Indochine. Having said that, the cooking and presentation of food in Indochine was superb so maybe its worth it. I'll let you be the judge of that.

We tried Mediteranne as well and the first meal we had there was ok. Not 5 star by an stretch of the imagination but ok. The second was a disaster. Firstly a dead cockroach was found in a small dish of sauce served with the bread. Whilst they were very apologetic, they didn't remove the sauce from other tables which is the first thing you do in case of contamination and they didn't offer us any compensation for that experience. Secondly, the chicken curry they served used some of the worst pieces of chicken. For 5 star, you expect pure breast meat. They were very fatty and we had to stop eating it. To their credit they did try to make amends when they came to collect the plates and we said we didn't like it. They offered us a Pizza instead.

The drinks are very overpriced, we couldn't find a full bottle of red wine much cheaper that 49 Euros.

Now, the thing that bugged us the most about this hotel was the approach that they obviously took with their staff. They are always, always trying to upsell you something. The waiters on the beach and around the pool asked us about 6 times in 2 hours whether we wanted any drinks, despite us having about 4 bottles of water next to us. They don't give up until they've sold you something. It was always introduced with waves of "I hope you are having a lovely time at our hotel and that the beach, pool, food, sea, sand, grass and sun is/are nice" but endgame was always "buy an overpriced coke or beer please". We didn't like this and everything is "at an extra cost" in the hotel.

The bar again is overpriced and the bands awful - tedious hacks crooning out bad jazz or lift music. It was also empty as people didn't seem prepared to pay the prices, choosing instead to pop to the local supermarket and buy some much cheaper drinks and drink-in. It would be far more sensible for the hotel to select a more reasonable pricing mechanism for drinks and then their bar may become more bouyant.

We did get out of the hotel and did some walking and visited Port Louis. The scenary is very green and quite pretty. Port Louis was pretty rubbish, the shopping centre is very small and there aren't many shops in there. The nearby village has 2 supermarkets which sell crisps, beer and wine etc but you can't eat out really anywhere other than your hotel or maybe the hotel next door.

In summary, if you like being caged in one hotel and limited to its food and pricing then this might be for you. Maybe its just us, but we wouldn't come back again. The major positive is that we now know why we choose Dubai for our beach holidays.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Overpriced drinks and food, staff constantly trying to upsell
  • Tips/Secrets — If you don't like stuff to do, don't go to Mauritius
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

We have just returned & cannot praise the hotel or its staff highly enough.

Our personal valet looked after us, his remit even included unpacking & packing our cases for us (we didn't take him up on this). We were upgraded to a suite on arrival & it was beautiful with a fantastic ocean view.

The food was fabulous & whilst alcohol was expensive, a 10 minute stroll up the beach to Belle Mare & we bought some drinks to supplement our duty free. (Ice arrived in our room courtesy of our valet each evening).

The lovely touches included cleaning sunglasses on the beach each morning, cold face towels & cooling spray & mini pizzas.

Also the dive centre was run by very friendly but professional staff, who really went out of their way to help.

A really great place to stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet access very expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Take duty free, do an island tour
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

I'm 22 years old and i went to mauritius for the 1st 2 weeks of september with my boyfriend. The weather was AMAZING! We only had 1 day of rain. It was a little windy - but the wind was welcomed beacause the sun was so hot! The Hotel was incredible.... the staff were so friendly and everything was spotlessly clean. we stayed in a superior room which was big.... walk in wardrobe and huge bathroom! The restaurents were fab! So much food to choose from it was great! Each night the 5 restaurants do a theme..... the Gala dinner was my favorite! Yummy! On a half board package, we did have to pay for lunch... which was quite expensive! Also the waffels at breakfast are amazing - they are a must!
The Staff are on very low wages... like €200 a month! There is a pooled tip - but we tipped individually - which i think is much better! There was one member of staff that was truely the best there and made our holiday. he was the pool boy and his name was gopaul.
We visited all the towns on the island - but we were always glad to get back to the hotel. the cashmere shopping is so good. in places like port louis there are a lot more guys clothes shops... so i didnt end up buying much.
Overall it was an amazing trip. I would recomend it to anyone who is looking for total relaxation. As there isnt much to do after 10pm at night! but its one of the best holidays i've ever been on and also the most luxurious hotel.
If you go you'll defo remember it forever and be in total and complete paradise!

  • Liked — How beautiful the hotel was, clean, big, and exactly what i see as paradise! And the Pool was HUGE! and so clean. Its on the beach so you can go down to the water a few times a day and its so warm. Its just an amazing place. We went to visit a few other hotel - but were SO haapy we stayed in the beau Rivage!
  • Disliked — The fact that there is nothing really to do after 10/11pm.
  • Tips/Secrets — Tip well... they deserve it! and tip the people you like best. not the pooled tipping!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We have just returned from the Beau Rivage Hotel in Mauritius having stayed 2 weeks in mid September and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is thinking of staying there.

The hotel is beautiful and the service was truly excellent owing to a very high staff to guest ratio. There is a choice of 4 restaurants - the Rive Gauche is the main one where breakfast is served and half board meals are included. These take the form of either a la carte, gala dinner or buffet. The standard of food was superb and the presentation was beautiful. There are 3 other restaurants where half board guests can eat for a supplement. Drinks are expensive in the hotel - wine starts from 30 euros a bottle (Bellingham or McGregor Chardonnay).

Watersports such as dinghy sailing, waterskiing, pedalos, snorkelling, kayaking, glass bottom boat trips and windsurfing are all included in the price. Owing to the tide, these were available for approximately 4 hours a day. Have a healthy respect for the coral to avoid getting scratched - jelly shoes are recommended if you go sailing in case you capsize.

For the sports minded, there are also 2 floodlit tennis courts and rackets/balls can be borrowed from reception. Courts can be pre-booked. There is also yoga, aqua aerobics and a spa with jacuzzi, sauna and turkish steam room.

The temperature varied between 20 - 25 degrees. The water in the pool and sea was not overly warm but even in the two weeks we were there, it seemed to get warmer - the locals say October is the best time to visit. The hotel provides fresh beach towels on a daily basis.

We got married in the hotel gazebo and had a wonderful day. We had a series of meetings with the wedding coordinator at the beginning of the holiday to arrange flowers, photographer, music, cake and location of the evening meal. One tip for anyone getting married at the hotel, try to get all the options at your initial meeting so you can make your choices and then get on with your holiday! The flowers were beautiful and there is a wide choice of flowers/arrangements. In addition to the hotel package, the photographer will offer other options such as a CD rom of digital photos or black and white photos. These are payable locally in rupees. With regards to the music, we managed to organise (through the wedding coordinator) a classical guitarist from a group called Orion who play weekly in the hotel bar and he was excellent.

Before you get married, you have to spend half a day travelling to Port Louis and Flacq attending to the formalities. Top tip: when you get to Flacq, ask the registrar if you can see a copy of the vows because there are 3 versions and one may appeal to you more than the others. In the evening, you can have your meal where you want (restaurant, beach, gazebo) although there is a tray charge for the latter 2. We opted for the gazebo and had a super evening and were very well looked after.

Out and about: the hotel will organise a taxi if you want to sightsee. You can have the services of a taxi all day to Port Louis for 50 euros. There are cheaper taxis at Belle Mare village, about 10 minutes walk away. If you are interested in markets, there is a twice weekly market at Flacq (15 minutes drive away) on a Wednesday and Sunday. Prices at the supermarket in Flacq are much cheaper than those at Belle Mare village if you are planning on stocking up your hotel bar.

On the beach, there are licensed hawkers who are promoting trips and selling beachware but if you politely say you are not interested, you won't be hassled (unlike in the Port Louis market!)

Before we went, we were also confused about the currency options but basically Euros, Sterling and Rupees are all accepted. The hotel prices everything in Euros so if you plan on staying the majority of your holiday at the hotel, I would recommend you take the majority in Euros with additional Rupees for going out and about. In the hotel, you sign for everything during your stay and pay at the end of your holiday (or at your chosen interval).

In summary, this hotel is superb and we hope to return in the future.

  • Liked — Superb service and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Contained in review
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.