We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We went on our Honeymoon and it was a great experience.

Positives ::
1. Room : We requested for a Junior suite on the top floor with sea view and they gave us the room next to the Maharaja Suite which has the best location. It was a neat and roomy. The bathrooms are spacious too.
2. Restaurants. We tried all the restaurants and they were amazing with their own charm. Especially Indochine restaurant (Great food, service and ambiance). Its expensive but worth it. They usually serve good food, with reasonable options. We did opted for supplements on 1 day as buffet in the Main restaurant was not quite good.
3. Room Service : They made sure that the room in cleaned twice a day and were more than happy to do so. The service boy on his own invited us to see the Maharaja suite, and we were delighted.
4. Overall hospitality, especially at the restaurants.
5. Beautiful hotel, well located.

Negatives
1. Drinks and supplements are expensive.
2. Service at the bar is poor. They expect you to pay heavy bills even if u r not hungry.
3. Twice our bills were incorrect. So, please check your bills properly.


By the way, we enjoyed our hotel more than Mauritius. So, do go in for a good hotel.

  • Liked — room, restaurant, service
  • Disliked — supplements, bar
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    265
    72
    31
    11
See reviews for
600
1,135
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

The resort is set in a beautiful place but the wind will drive you mad. I found the service from the bar to be very poor and slow, quite ofen there would 5 or 6 staff standing around and not interested in serving anyone. The bill would come before you have seen a drink and it would be wrong. The people that I travelled with were also unhappy with the staff adding items to the bill, e.g drinks at the bar and cheese burgers appear on the bill. The rooms were very good and the room service was great,
I think the biggest problem is that everyone is trying to rip you off everywhere you go.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — the hot water in the shower was not consistant hard to keep one temp
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Perfect stay in this hotel
Room : elegant, large and clean
Location : on the most beautiful beach of Mauritius
Service : perfect
Activities : ok
Food : delicious and especially at the Indouchine. A bit pricey as reviewed previously.
Weather : july is not the best time to go : windy (even if most of the beach is nicely protected of the wind) and a bit rainy. But when the sun shines, it's just amazing.

Really relaxing time in a beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — beach, pool, food, service
  • Disliked — wind, price of drinks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Arrived in Mauritius for our 2nd visit in 12 months, from an excellent flight with Air Emirates, via Dubai.

First impressions of the Beau Rivage were excellent, attractive entrance, being escorted direct to our room after a very efficient, checking-in service.

Rooms are decorated to a high quality; they are well cared for, being serviced twice a day by very friendly and helpful staff.

However a number of points need to be made to emphasised to illustrate how the hotel seeks to maximise their income from their guests:

a) The cost of Internet usage is extortionate. Use of the hotel computers cost, 0.4 euro /minute, a wi-fi card 15 euro/hour (£12.50/hour). Wi-fi is accessible in the bedrooms.
I was in Mauritius on a combination of business and pleasure, so Internet use was essential.
b) Paying to send a medium sized post card from the hotel reception, to the UK cost 75 rupees (£1.50)
c) A 1- litre bottle of still water at the dinner table costs 3.5 euro (£2.90), yet a 5-litre container can be obtained for 42 rupees (£0.84) from the supermarket in Flacq, a mark-up of x 17.
d) A 90minute oriental massage costing 75 euro (£62.50).
e) If you like a drink with your meal or at the bar, be prepared for a, “sky-high” bill at the end of your holiday.

The food needs a little more explanation.

a) Dinner can be taken at a variety of different locations, however be prepared to pay additional supplements, even on half board.
b) Dinner in the main restaurant is a buffet on alternate nights only.
c) The A la` carte menu in the main restaurant, contains a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses, one of which requires a supplement, anything between 6-8 euros for a starter and 15 – 25 euros for the main course.
One choice is always vegetarian, one a fish the other meat. Indeed, very little choice if you do not wish to pay a supplement.
d) One night when diner was al a` carte, we enquired about the Mauritian Buffet
planned for the, La Mediterranee, the restaurant on the beach, only to find the supplement was 51 euro ((£42.50) each.
e) The a la `carte food is of a high quality, but be prepared to wait quite a while between courses, as they tend to be understaffed and when it does appear, the portions are quite small.

The hotel tends to attract families with young children, so if you are looking for a quite, relaxing or romantic holiday, you may find it a little disconcerting to find young children running around the restaurants or even crying at meal times.

The beach is ideal for children, as the water is quite shallow within the enclosed area. The swimming pool is the largest on the island, but again it is designed for children with only a very small area that can be used for adult swimming.

Our overall impression is that the hotel company seem to spoil the holiday experience by, “Ripping –Off” its guests in such an open and obvious way.

Would I go back...? No

The only reason we came to this hotel was because the Bell Mare Plage, the hotel of our first visit, was full. The next visit to Mauritius will be timed to when there is availability at the Bell Mare Plage, a hotel in a different class!

  • Liked — High Quality surroundings - hotel facilities / rooms
  • Disliked — Extortionate supplements / internet use
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

*Architecture*
The hotel is built in traditional Maurician style (with straw roofs). The common areas (lobby, main restaurant and bar) are open on the outside, which gives a very tropical atmosphere (but there is no airco). The bedrooms are located in separate wings. There are now villas as well. They were beeing built while staying at the hotel last year.
*Situation*
Situated on a white sandy beach, away from a little village, Belle Mare, where there is not much going on. There are just a couple of designers' stores.
It is best to hire a car if you wish to discover the island but if you live on the continent, you must be used to driving left with the steering wheel on the right! Besides the roads are quite dangerous and busy at school peak hours (busses everywhere) so next time we might rather rent a taxi (A couple of belgians rented a taxi for the day and it cost nearly the same as our car).
*Restaurant*
At the main restaurant (halfboard) there are buffet and menus (served at the table) every other day. As already mentioned in other reviews, the negative point is that you must pay extras if you wish to get the more appealing dishes on the menu. There are also theme evenings every week (Indian and Maurician). The are also other theme restaurants but we didn't try them (one on the beach itself).
*Bedroom*
Our room was spacious with a terrace. We stayed in a suite, nicely decorated, with a sitting area. We could only spot the sea from the terrace because our room was situated on the ground floor. The bathroom was also very spacious with a separate shower cubicle and toilet.
*pool*
There is a huge swimming pool. Most of it is quite shallow though. At the time of the year (May) it was quite cold.
*Beach*
There were enough loungers available (was the hotel full?). The sea was warmer than the pool. Beware of the sea urchins. Since the beach is public there are locals selling stuff, but they are not intrusive. There was also a water sports hut with a glass boat. We used it to go scuba diving. It was wonderfull to see all those the coloured fishes!
*Service*
Welcome: upon arrival, you are immediately in the tropical atmosphere, you are led through a corridor with tropical smells (vanilla). You also get a flower, a fresh drink and a refreshing towel while checking in. Nice attention I thought! The staff is dressed in indian style which puts you at once in the mood.
Spa: we didn't try it.
Buttler: each room gets the service of a buttler
Animation: there were among other things yoga and fitness lessons

  • Liked — The exotic atmosphere
  • Disliked — The extra's
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

This was our first trip since Junior was born 6 months ago and Beau Rivage was our first foray into the world of "Family Friendly" hotels.
The staff were excellent and all very taken with the little'n .
The room (lagoon suite) was huge and had a great balcony and sea view - but didn't feel quite up to 5Star - maybe I've been spoilt with Kid Free Boutique Hotels
My only ( and major gripe) is the supplements to the menu on top of the 40 something Euros that you have already paid for dinner with the half board option - go off the set menu and you can add a minimum of another 30 Euros and up to 80E making a simple dinner more expensive than London prices - and this is before you have even hit the wine list ( and that's when prices become ridiculous - 50 Euros for some aussie plonk that cost £5 in the UK , 90 Euros for Chablis ! )
Booze and Food Prices aside we had a great time

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Food Prices
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Hotel is in good location near lovely beach. The pool is great and the rooms are clean and spacious. Service however is pretty patchy, you often need to repeat drinks orders and they often arrive well into your meal. Worst problem is the cost. Large beer Six Euros, Cheapest wine 38 Euros. It is more expensive than Canary Wharf!!!!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.