We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% off + more !!!
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have recently been to Mauritius and stayed in this hotel for starters i must say that they have a stunning property located near the belle mare beach and the view are to die for, coming to the staff some of the staff are excellent especially chef. Kabir very very cordial and concerned about the guests and Miss Jun is excellent when we arrived, Cafe Lux located in the hotel serves coffee that's just yum, the food served at the buffet was delightful, the only downside for me in the whole property was the rooms, we stayed in the junior suites for 3 days though comfortable for up to three people the air con in the room was bad it didn't seem to work properly the only time we used to feel it worked was at around 3:00 AM as till then we used to sweat a lot, the fan that is provided is located in the wrong part of the ceiling, I think it was the reason why the cooling effect of the air con didn't kick in until late in the night. This though a hindrance for the perfect vacation was all forgotten as we used to not really feel like staying in the room ;) cool breezes across the property was enough for us to stay out as long as we wanted It was a problem only in the afternoon when we had to stay in due to the heat

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear tanikellateja, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this review for us. At the onset, may I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the issues pertaining to air conditioning. We have rectified the issue since and will ensure that this does not happen with any other guests in the future. We are glad that you otherwise had a wonderful stay and thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the service team to meet our guests' expectations. I sincerely hope to welcome you back for a complete holiday experience in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    290
    78
    32
    11
See reviews for
690
1,279
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Absolutely fantastic resort and we had an amazing holiday. We travelled with our 18 month old son which was a worry, but were made to feel very welcome and he had a fantastic time. We had one of the refurbished junior suites which was very comfortable, well appointed and always spotless thanks to our housekeeper (unfortunately I didn't get their name). The food was generally very good in all three restaurants and the buffet; Beach Rouge was certainly our favourite due to the food and excellent staff (too many names to mention, but Pascal certainly stands out). It was definitely worth going on an all inclusive deal as it was such good value. The beach was also excellent with nice shallow warm water which was perfect for our son. If I did have one criticism it would be the usual practice of people 'reserving' their sun beds and then not turning up until about midday - I'm not sure how they can stop this, but it is quite annoying and unfortunately if you can't beat them you have to going them. However, this is a minor point and in all in all this is an excellent hotel which we would highly recommend for a family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the service team to meet our guests' expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at this resort in Oct 2013 for our honeymoon. We went all inclusive and had the honeymoon suite, which was absoluetly incredible. I can't fault our stay in anyway and will definatley be returning some time in the near future. The staff at the resort were outstanding, great customer service! from the restaurant manager to the waiters on the beach. The Housekeeper for our room kept it immaculately clean everyday. The beach was gorgeous, and the food was lovely too.

I would like to say big thankyou to the staff of Lux Bella Mare for making our honeymoon a very special one!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Mrs_Reehal, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and that the team managed to create some golden memories for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon to celebrate your first wedding anniversary - perhaps!;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at the Belle whilst visiting Mauritius for the Golf Senior Open. On arrival you are made to feel very welcome and we were shown into our room which is in the complex. The room is nice but very dated and had a smell of dampness. We were ok with this as we understand problems being hoteliers ourselves. Apparently the hotel is being updated (Kelly Hoppen) the English designer is working her way through the hotel making a lot of changes. The staff are amazing. They are there for everything you want and go out of their way to make you feel good. I will definately return as this is a very lovely place. The food is very good with lots of choice. This is a great hotel for families. I would recommend the all inclusive package as the bar is expensive. Just one comment. The bar area is very lonely. Please put some bar stools so that the guests can interact with the staff and make friends.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear MaudeHertfordshire, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the service team to meet our guests' expectations. I would like to mention that your feedback on the bar stools has been actioned since and we now have 18 bar stools around the beautiful bar and lots of guests use these regularly. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. With you being a part of the hospitality business; your feedback helps in reinforcing our belief that we are working towards making LUX Belle Mare a complete holiday experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Been staying and the LUX Grande Gaube, north of the island and decided to see one of their other resorts for a nights stay.
A larger property but very well run.

The staff are outstanding (had clearly been told we were coming...which is brilliant!) and the new (so I'm told) beachside restaurant is simply amazing!!!

One really nice touch is that they source and roast their own coffee. A very cool coffee counter serving amazing fresh coffee...all good!!

LUX have just earned themselves a big fan...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear alex g, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful but short stay and that the team managed to create strong first impressions. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another stay soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved all the hotel had to offer! My room was a stones throw away from the waters edge! The room was huge and had a lovely contemporary feel. Freshly refurbished with a beach theme that is stylish.
Huge rambling pool with a beach cabana style bar that was under construction on the edge of the beach which will be magnificent.
Not one complaint!

Room Tip: Ground floor give you direct access to beach, rolling garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special and would like to share with you that the Beach Rouge lounge and restaurant has now been operational for the last 4 weeks and being loved by all our guests. You should come back to experience the same as also to have another rejuvenating stay with us. We hope to see you back soon;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our stay at the Lux Belle Mare was superb. From the outstanding coffee made by Sailesh to the housekeeper Sheila who was so kind and helpful, our stay was most enjoyable. I so enjoyed my talks with their in-house nutritionist Magalie, as well as chatting to the Manager Pascal who gave me a personal history lesson on Mauritius. The food was also excellent. Altogether a wonderful hotel.
Elana Rabinowitz

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced an "excellent holiday" with us. I thank you for the wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort which makes us special. I am glad we stood up to your expectations.

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.