We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Save Saved
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Chippenham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We returned yesterday 20th July after a 2-week holiday. Weather was just right at 27 degrees and light winds. Lots of sun every day. Seas were light but great for the free Hobie Cat and Laser sailing, kayaking or just swim / snorkelling.
This hotel is great for kids as they are very welcome, however adults without kids will not be bothered as there is lots of space.
Rooms are of various sizes, all very good. The refurbishes junior suites are the ones to go for at the bottom level and then you go on up from there.
The wide variety of fresh, top quality food was simply amazing, ranging from the Mediterranean style Beach restaurant through the 'Kitchen' restaurant to the exotic 'East' and 'Senses' restaurants.
There are free computers and a free to call home telephone. There's a gym with proper equipment and a kids club and a proper sauna, plunge pool and massage facility.
Best of all were the staff whose attitude towards the guests was amazingly welcoming, smiling and friendly. They just wan't to give everyone a first class service.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms. Rooms near the main corridoor around level 2 are a little noisy at be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,512
    245
    67
    29
    11
See reviews for
538
980
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff here were very helpful, they go out of their way to help you. Special mention to Jennifer, she showed us around the resort when we first got there, and continued to help us every single time. There were 3 restaurants and a variety of cuisines to choose from. The water activities were fun, especially the tubing was exhilarating. The room was spacious, clean and neat. The surroundings were just serene and beautiful. I would definitely come back to this paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonnyup
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a truly unforgettable honeymoon at Lux Belle Mare. The hotel is wonderful - couldn't fault it at all. We were upgraded to a newly refurbished room and received a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival. The food is excellent in all the restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the steaks for lunch at the beach restaurant. The service was excellent. We would particularly like to thank Vishal, the pool attendant who was fantastic at getting us sunbeds, towels and drinks by the pool, Dave the waitor, who always greeted us with a smile and treated us like we were the most important people there, and Vicky the barman who invented some excellent cocktails for us. Everything was perfect from the spa to the beach to the evening entertainment. Well worth going fully inclusive! Next time we'll upgrade to a villa.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can get noisy but have better beach view. Rooms that overlook the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an awesome experience at this resort.we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we were certainly wowed. The service was nothing short of excellent.a genuine smile and a personal welcome always awaited.we had a renovated room with flat screen tv, huge bed and the bathrooms were so nice that I have taken photos of them as ideas for my own bathrooms.Room was always keep spotlessly clean.Thank you Rai for explaining the sleep tight and cafe lux and giving us a deep insight of the products.The service everywhere was attentive , without being pushy.The food was amazing fabulous attention to providing you with food and drinks created to your personal taste.We met a couple of managers on the management cocktail. They are all explained the various experiences in the hotel you can uphold.In particular we would like thank the whole team Maruis, Hoomit and Ramess.
We had the most amazing time here and are thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kurt G, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you for a wonderful review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create some golden memories that you shall remember us with for some time. Indeed, the various features and facilities at LUX* Belle Mare including the spacious and comfortable rooms, the clean and beautifully landscaped gardens, the white soft sandy beach, quality food and beverage offerings and the very attentive team members all combined do make for an extraordinary holiday as nicely explained by you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another relaxing stay with us;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place never had such good service and surroundings , with all staff genuinely happy to do anything for you.
Back to England with a big drop!
Nice coast as a breeze on the east. Travelled to north and no breeze, wind sailers not very fast!
Try to upgrade to villa OMG it's worth it. You have to negotiate ;).
Can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Darren B, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for a wonderful review for us on this forum. The entire team here is glad that we could create some golden memories for you during your stay. Yes, indeed the Villas at LUX* Belle Mare (like all our spacious and comfortable suites and public areas) are beautiful and our guests can book for these directly or upgrade themselves while here based on availability at a little additional charge. Thank you for mentioning the villas in your review. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another experience of paradise in the near future;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed with my daughter as a reward for a very intense year in the 2nd week of July 2013. If this is the winter season then for me it was the best time to go. Nice and warm with a breeze during the day. Cooler in the evening, which turns out fine. You are made to feel welcome the moment you arrive. The friendly staff cannot do enough for you, and always greet you with a smile. I imagine they are trained to make you feel special. Look out for Jennifer, the event manager. Very pleasant lady.
The food was always exciting and all the taste buds were catered for, with food from a different part of the world each evening.
We made sure to book one of the new refurbished suite and were not dissapointed.
However, one thing was missing....Very important for a 5*hotel: Sleepers!!! We had the gown. Where were the sleepers??
Apart from this, I will highly recommend this hotel if you want to get away from everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Onyx2811, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort here joins me in thanking you for a beautiful review for us. I am glad the passion, genuinity and friendliness of our team stood out and ensured the best ever holiday for you as mentioned by you in the title of your review. Jennifer indeed is a STAR and she ensures all guests are made to feel at home and she joins me in thanking you for mentioning her. I have taken onboard your feedback and will work on it and we hope to see you back soon for a yet another wonderful stay at LUX* Belle Mare!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I took my wife to Mauritius for her 50th birthday and we had a fantastic time right from the moment we were told we were being upgraded from a junior suite to a villa. The hotel was recommended by Lee at Mauritius Holidays and he was spot on with his advice. The hotel and facilities provided are designed to satisfy the needs and requirements of all types of traveller. The staff are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure you have a holiday to remember. Regardless of their role at the hotel the staff were all helpful and respectful and always referred to and remembered your name from Negessen in management to Provind, Videsh, Shandan at the villa, Chica at the pool bar and Patrick and Medge at activities who joined us in games of pétanque in the afternoon. All inclusive is definitely recommended as the cost of a few cocktails a day could destroy the holiday budget. The food was varied and of a good standard with a choice of restaurants to eat in although strangely some of the restaurants carried a supplement in the evening when they did not during the day for similar food ? The villa was spacious and kept spotlessly clean with linen and towels changed on a daily basis and more if necessary. The room was kept stocked with all necessities from water, drinks, fruit, toiletries. There were lots of nice touches to make the holiday even more memorable such as canapés delivered to your room before you went out in the evening to snacks on your return to acknowledging when we were happy for staff to clean the room. As someone not given to compiling reviews, I would definitely recommend the Lux Belle Mare as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: If you can afford a villa then I would recommend it as the additional staff attention and privacy is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Glendaruel 1960, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for a beautiful and detailed review for us on this forum. You have detailed all the various facilities and features which make us special in your review. From the spacious and comfortable rooms and villas, the vast stretch of white soft sandy beach, the beautifully landscaped gardens and public areas, the focus on quality offerings in food and beverage and to the friendliness and genuinity of pour team members; we believe that we have a resort experience which is certainly one of the best in Mauritius and your review reinforces our belief. Thank you for mentioning some of our STARS in your review.We hope that you shall return soon for another wonderful and relaxing stay with us;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.