We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok but not more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% off + more !!!
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Yaroslavl, Russia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“its ok but not more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

we been in this hotel for a 7 days, i dont realy have good memories about coz i got a food poisoning the first day after and a was suffering for 3 days .i didnt expected to get food poisoning after their food in 5 stars hotel. but its fact, shame i cant trust such hotels now? anyway room was very beautiful big and spacy -bathrom too. maybe we been in a bad season but ocean was realy cold and impossible2 swim. the hotel was beautiful but i think its over rated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments relating to your stay last October 2012.
We are sorry to hear that you were sick during your stay; which came as a surprise as despite having an on property doctor available 24/7 to service the needs of our guests, we have absolutely no record of anyone being sick from food during October 2012.
A food poisoning is a very serious allegation which we take extremely seriously at LUX* Resorts. Our company follows very strict food handling and preparation standards which are periodically audited by the government and ourselves to ensure that such incidents never occur. Travelers sometimes associate discomfort with the quality of the food when in fact it could be linked to many other sources. Unfortunately we were not informed; otherwise we would have taken all the proper measures immediately such as food analysis as well as the proper medical tests for you.
October is the beginning of our summer, the weather temperature averages 27 degrees and the ocean temperature in our lagoon averages 26 degrees. Although many of our guests consider this time of the year ideal for bathing, you may wish to visit us again in January when the water temperature averages 31 degrees in our lagoon.
Once again we thank you for your comments and hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family back to LUX* Belle Mare in the near future
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,972
    286
    78
    32
    11
See reviews for
679
1,269
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at LUX Belle Mare because they were the only resort on the island to listen to our concerns regarding being split into different rooms and offer solutions to a family of 5. We were even allocated an extra large room on arrival to accommodate us all. I am happy to say we did not regret the decision to go with them. The staff were extremely family friendly, everyone (I mean everyone!) took time out to chat with us, our 5yo son and cuddle our twin 11 month babys. The service was fantastic, the amenities clean, functional and at times outstanding, the dive centre was professional and safety conscious, our 5yo did not want to leave the kids club and the management went out of their way to ensure we were happy. They even upgraded us to a villa to give us more privacy as a family! The only criticism we had was the high price of drinks, however if we go to Mauritius agan we will definately contact Sheila and the LUX team to book again! Thanks Guys!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear swiftsX5,

Thank you so much for your very nice comments regarding your stay at LUX* Belle Mare!
Families are extremely important to us as we strive to deliver a great and fun experience to our growing customers! I am glad we were able to accomodate your needs as a family of 5! Sheila has a lot to do with this for sure! She is a star!!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Quite simply this is the best service I have ever received at a hotel and during a holiday stay. The setting is picturesque and tranquil so if you're looking for somewhere to totally relax then this is the place. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we landed. The private transfer we arranged from the airport was well worth it - the driver was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a great introduction to the island during our trip from the airport.
On arrival at the hotel we were personally greeted and offered immediate refreshment while we were checked in. This was all very efficient and we were shown to our room.
The hotel staff take care of your every need and their attention to detail and your satisfaction is second to none. My wife is a light sleeper and, although not overly noisy, our initial allocated room was subject to hearing some noise from the evening entertainment. She enquired whether a room move was possible and literally 10 mins later we had been moved to a fabulous light airy room overlooking the gazebo area - a beatiful setting.
The dining is exemplary and if you do not fancy partaking of the themed buffet the hotel will cook something special to order - my wife used this a couple of times during our stay and the dishes she received were superb.
Everywhere you go in this hotel whether it be the dining, bar, beach area or relaxing spa the staff are outstanding in their service offering. The just can't do enough for you and how they manage to remember so many guest names is beyond me - a skill in itself.

The bed was so comfortable I wish I could have brought it back home with me and the cleanliness of the room was again exceptional. Every member of staff deserves praise for making this such a fabulous place to stay as they all go out of their way to make your stay special.

I wouldn't hesitate in returning - just a shame the travel is a bit of grueller from the UK.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the gazebo are queiter than those nearer the pool and bar area which has entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear robem64,

Thank you very much for your great comments which I shared with the entire team of LUX* Belle Mare! I am glad you enjoyed your experience at the resort, especially the comfort of the room and the bed! For your information, you can actually purchase our revolutionary mattress from our website. This mattress has been developped especially for our resorts!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at LUX* Belle Mare in the future!
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from Lux Belle Mare today with excellent experience not ever to be forgotten.First time in Mauritius and we choose LUX Belle Mare situated on the east coast. Having read previous reviews on various forums this resort ticked all the boxes. Firstly I can not emphasise enough how the staff went out of their way to accommodate us, the service not only in the restaurants but throughout the resort was excellent. We opted for a Pool Suite on a half-board basis, which gave us the freedom at lunchtime to explore other food on the resort. Part of the reason we choose LUX as it is situated on a fabulous beach in a quiet area, the nearest small town Belle Mare is a 10 minute walk away.

The resort offered a variety of water based activities which were free of charge such as glass bottom boat trips (twice daily). The resort also put on various yoga, stretching classes which I loved, volleyball, tennis there was something for everyone. The swimming pool is great a little fresh early morning but we found it empty at times which was perfect, there is also an aqua-workout class which I really enjoyed.

The food was excellent, we ate at each of the restaurants each offering something different. East offered a fusion of Thai, Chinese and Japanese dishes, Senses was more traditional Mauritian, the Kitchen had various themed evenings in a buffet style and the Beach restaurant was really for seafood or grilled fish lovers like crabs and lobsters. The Cafe LUX offers some of the best tasting coffee I've had, a blend of various beans which is actually roasted at the resort which you can also buy.

The Spa is excellent,There is a good range of treatments on offer, the prices were Certainly expensive at the resort but it is a five star resort at the end of the day. As a guest at the resort you can use the Gym, steam room, Jacuzzi ,sauna and plunge pool at no charge.

Mauritius itself is beautiful, really diverse scenery from the South-West to Chamarel (seven coloured earths) to the Shankar temple and really stunning beaches on the East. We would like to explore more of the island. My husband and I are really interested in going back soon. Mauritius has a lot to offer and staying at LUX Belle Mare I really full heartedly and highly recommend it for families as well as couples.

I really want to say special thanks to Mr Singh, the chef who went out of his way to prepare food for my husband as he was having problems with certain spices and also want to specially thank, Ramesh, Darren, Ravi and all the staff at Lux as nothing was too much anything and everything was dealt with promptly

Room Tip: If you can opt for one of the 12 villas, they are stunning.
See more room tips

A special thanks to Darren (who is absolutely excellent!) and his team, Vishall, Jeev and Vijay to name but a few more at the Bar.



Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
4 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service

LUX Belle Mare




























..






.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear hasu d,

Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay with us at LUX* Belle Mare!
I am glad you have tried all the restaurants and the different types of food we prepare for our guests. Chef Singh is a true gentleman who really care about each palate tasting is great Indian cuisine.
Ramesh, Ravi, Darren are truly wonderful team members who do not hesitate to go out of their way to satisfy our guests such is the entire team at the bar! Thank you for recognizing them! It is our best reward!
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

this was my second time at the hotel but first visit since the re-branding and full refurbishment to be honest I felt like they have managed to improve something that I thought could not be improved. Through out my stay at this Gem of Mauritius the service, cleanliness and the room remained at an all time 5* quality without any flaws. The room has been one of the most welcoming and the most comfortable rooms I have ever set eyes upon let alone have the honor to sleep in. The location and scenery of this hotel was postcard quality with the beautiful white sand and the clear blue sky's to compliment the blue sea was just picture perfect. Saving the best till last is the spa which was hard to leave every time I entered from the changing room to the Jacuzzi nothing was short of providing the best atmosphere possible to relax in. To conclude I would like to send a special thanks to Gerald at the boat house who provided a helpful and very entertaining experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is our tenth visit to this hotel in nine years. The service is second to none.The choice and quality of food is excellent. If you have any special dietary problems the hotel will prepare special meals for you. On this trip we were delayed for five and a half hours at Gatwick due to plane problems, but the transport from the airport was waiting for us. This was arranged with the hotel. The room we were allocated on arrival at the hotel was fantastic as usual. Newly renovated with superb furnishing. After a few days we transferred to one of the super villas. Again the service and furnishing were outstanding. These villas have there own swimming pool and butler service. The butler will cook you your meals if you don't want to go to the a restaurant. As said this was our tenth visit and am looking forward to our eleventh.

Room Tip: All excellant. The views from any room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Benny_Boysuffolk ,

Thank you so much for continuing to visit us! Repeating guests mean so much to us! All of us feel so good to welcoming back our guests, it is the best reward we can get!! I am glad you enjoyed the superb furnishing of our new rooms. These rooms have been designed by Kelly Hoppen a very famous designer based in the UK. Kelly is presently working on the re-design of all our restaurants and public areas. We can't wait to see the results in October and I can't wait to show you all the changes during your next visit!
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

From the day we landed, having a delayed flight, we have been looked after every minute of the day. Our travel arrangements were altered because of the delay of our flight but waiting for us was the transport.
The room was superb and so comfortable. We moved to the villas after a few days and the excellent service continued. The food at this hotel is excellent. There is so much to choose from and if you have a special need it will be catered for. The choice of restaurants allows you to have a special meal when you want.
The beach is so clean and the service excellent, from putting your towels out to cleaning your sunglasses, nothing is too much trouble. Thank you Rischi and team.
The staff are superb and are so friendly, it truly feels like a home from home. We will be looking forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is excellent but the pool side room offer a superb view as the sun is coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Elizabeth S ,
Thank you dear for being so faithful to us! I am glad to see that even the picture you have chosen to accompany your name is one of our famous Flat White coffee!! Delicious isn't it?
I am glad you have appreciated the service, the food and the beach service which has improved a lot lately because of the great leadership of Richie!
Thank you again Elizabeth for continuing to come back to visit us! We all look forward to welcoming you and Edward back to LUX* Belle Mare next year!
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.