We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Holiday EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Holiday EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visiting LUX Belle Mare was one of the most unforgettable experiences i have had the pleasure of experiencing. The resort is furnished in a very modern, urban and clean kind of a way. My favourite has to be the clock at the coffee bar. Nothing was to much for the people of the resort. They are all kind and always have a smile on their faces. With regards to the room i was happy with what ever i got but to my suprise we had been upgraded to the LUX Junior Suite which was just breathtakingly beautiful. The beach was always spotless with stunning,colorful bean bags which you can lie on for hours.The food was simple but tasty with a wide variety and the portions are very generous.Thank you to everyone single person at LUX Belle Mare, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The LUX Junior suites are just phenomenal. Try out the LUX coffee, the ice cream and the Long Island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Roxanne K,

Thank you very much for your comments! I am glad you appreciated our service and the smile of every wonderful team member at LUX* Belle Mare! They really make the hotel what it is!
I am happy you like the design of the LUX* Junior suite and the Café LUX*; we are blessed to have a fantastic interior designer: Kelly Hoppen, originally from South Africa, Kelly is very famous in the UK and gave us the favor to work with us in re-designing the interiors of the hotel.
Cheers! Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    267
    72
    31
    11
See reviews for
605
1,145
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Apologies for the late submission of this review - it should have been submitted in April! we found Lux Belle Mare one of the most beautiful and luxurious property in Mauritius..Excellent services, food, spa, views, room, facilities etc. Staff were courteous, helpful and professional. Spacious lobby & rooms also loved the swimming pool..last but not the least It is very well maintained property :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Amit G ,

Thank you very much for your comments! I can see that you are from Mauritius, we therefore appreciate your comments on the hotel as you probably know most of them! Thank you!
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is by far the best hotel I have seen in Mauritius.

The junior suites are luxurious and simple at the same time, a very good mix to feel comfortable.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as all the relaxing and sports activities were very good.

The whole ambiance was just perfect.

But the best of all was the team - brilliant - very attentive and friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Brigitta M ,

Thank you very much for your very nice comments! Thank you very much for recognizing the quality of the team of LUX* Belle Mare! We are extremely proud of everyone working here!
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After some careful research and a recommendation from our travel agent we visited the Lux Belle Mar in May 2013 to get married. The setting of the hotel is gorgeous in lush green well maintained gardens, a large swimming pool and a white picture postcard beach that is regularly cleaned and cleared of seaweed throughout the day. Mauritius is an amazing country with lessons to be learnt by other countries on tolerance and integration of cultures.

We have visited other 5* hotels but this hotel is heads above the rest. EVERY member of staff greeted you with a smile and nearly always BY NAME as you walked past them, I was left bewildered on many occasions how they remembered us. Every staff member at the Belle Mar was committed to making our stay as enjoyable as possible, and nothing was ever too much trouble. Initially we stayed in a junior suite which was really nice and spacious with a large shower, seating area, comfy double bed, and a balcony facing towards the beach.

The restaurants serve true 5* food, with 3 Al A Carte restaurants and a buffet to choose from. Even the buffet had numerous chefs behind counters continually cooking food to ensure the buffet was always fresh and well stocked. There was a never-ending supply of high quality food and drink available. Small touches made such a difference like the restaurants staff remembering what drinks you ordered on your previous visit and having them ready cooled for you on your next visit.

The day after arrival, were met by the wedding co-ordinator Orane who helped us organise every detail of our wedding. Orane really went the extra mile and stayed up until after midnight IN HER OWN TIME to make traditional Mauritian wedding favours that I had decided I wanted at the last minute. The hotel also made us a unique wedding cake in the shape of the island, many thanks to the chef responsible for this. Orane also helped us decide how to integrate other traditional Mauritian customs into our ceremony and even lent me her own bracelets as my ‘borrowed’ – thanks so much for everything Orane!

We also invited the Guest Relations Manager Andrei to be our other witness. Andrei actually said to us, tell me how I can help you “nothing is impossible”. Other hotels could learn a lot from his attitude. Thanks Andrei for being our witness

Sheila the reservations manager gave us a gift from the hotel after our wedding ceremony – an upgrade to the gorgeous and amazing honeymoon suite. We are SO grateful to you for this, we felt like royalty!

The hotel also has a red phone box in the grounds which lets you phone home for FREE! Other free things included a well equipped air-conditioned gym, watersports (with instructors), and sauna/steam room. You could also pay extra at the Spa if you required treatments.

We want to recognise the efforts of the following staff who really exceeded all expectations – Orane, Andrei and Sheila for our fabulous wedding, Vishal from Senses, Vik for always taking the time to make sure everything was ok regardless of what restaurant we were eating in, Dave from The Beach restaurant, Sanjeev and the bar staff for ‘special cocktails’, Arjun for having the best memory ever (and learning our phone number!), Carun the lifeguard for his daily friendly chat, and Roopesh in East. Also the housekeeping staff who kept our rooms immaculate and always checked if we needed or wanted anything else before they left. (and thanks for your clever towel swans which we would have brought home if we could!!)

And “Scüchyen” to our fabulous new friends who made us laugh buying washing machines and sleeping in marshmallow beds!

It is hard to describe in words just how good this hotel really is. The location and setting is fabulous, but the real jewel in the crown is the staff, who are truly amazing.

Thanks to everyone for our magical stay in Mauritius, we would return tomorrow if we could.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear DebandNige ,

WOW! Thank you so much for recognizing the Mauritian Sense of Hospitality at LUX* Belle Mare! I am so impress that you remember so many names from the wonderful team of LUX* Belle Mare! We are blessed to count amongst our team some of the best professionals and individuals on the island. All the team members you have mentioned are truly stars and very proud to be part of the LUX* Resorts family! Thank you so much for recognizing them!
We certainly hope to having the pleasure of welcoming you back, maybe for the anniversary? :)
Sincerely, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just arrived back into the UK after a week stay in one of the Villa's for a week with my wife and 22 month old. What an amazing place, from the setting, the hotel, the food, the staff and the nice little touches such as an ice cream cart and a secret bar. I would advise to go all inclusive if you can as what is included is very good and the inclusive wine is very drinkable also. It is great for kids even if they are not old enough for the kids club (3 and over). The pool is the most child friendly you will find anywhere. If you can stretch to a Villa they are amazing and have a heated private pool and a butler ( special mention to Pravind who made our stay exceptional). If not a Villa everyone we spoke to said the rooms were also very good. I have been informed by my wife that we are returning again only for longer next time!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBertrand1, Regional General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear rolfedog,

Thank you very much for your compliments and great comments! I am glad you have enjoyed our villa and the service in our hotel! Pravind is indeed a great star team member who has understood very well the definition of service at LUX* resorts! I will certainly convey your comments to him!
We all look forward to welcoming back to LUX* Belle Mare in a not so distant future!
Warmest regards, Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are here on honeymoon and have found a little slice of heaven. The surroundings are stunning. The beach is bliss and the sea full of fish. The staff have been superb from the restaurant manager ravin to marisu who organized the candle lit dinner. To the manager of house keeping who organised flowers on our bed. All these little touches have helped make our honeymoon amazing, not forgetting my birthday cake. I will be sad to go but shall treasure my memories forever.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear lindslol, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! First, Thank you for choosing our resort for your honeymoon. All of us in the resort are glad that you are enjoying your stay thoroughly and thank you for mentioning some of our star team members who have made your stay more special. Here's wishing you the very best for a blissful and happy married life and once again a big Thank you for posting this beautiful comment for us.

Sincerely;
Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What an experience we and my girlfriend just had. Getting back from Madagascar and landing in Mauritius I called the hotel for a pick up the night before the arrival and they gave me 2 options as for a pick up. We chose the taxi instead of the hotel limo as it was half the price and I was in kinda a tight budget. But as we arrived they had decided to send the limo anyway at the same price as the limo! We felt spoiled from the very beginning:) the rooms were great and at every turn staff was welcoming and friendly. I didn't need to lift a finger :) Big thanks to Jessica at the Guest relations desk, you made this trip unforgettable. I stayed with major resorts before (Fairmont, Hilton, Westin) but i'll be sticking to LUX from now on! Cheers guys

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Frequent_flyer4life, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautiful review for us. We are very happy to note that we stood up to and surpassed your expectations and right from your arrival experience and through your stay we could create some golden memories for you to remember us. I am also delighted to note that we have managed to make you now a LUX* follower and I would like to assure you that every stay of yours with us or with any of our sister properties would be a memorable experience. Please do let me know if I could be of any assistance for your future stays with LUX* and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful and unforgettable stay;

Sincerely;

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.