We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
mauritius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really a nice place to relax n enjoy with family and friends. I had a wonderful time with my family. Good food , good service n quiet place.Great and peaceful place. Good entertainment.I will advise anyone to spend some time at Belle Mare Lux hotel , as it's a great place to have fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south sides are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,704
    262
    71
    31
    11
See reviews for
592
1,108
34
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We travel extensively and this is without doubt one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Location is fantastic, staff are incredibly friendly and polite, food is fantastic (they catered for my gluten allergic wife with such care and courtesy that the chef's and cooks deserve a medal), great entertainment, great kids club, great ambiance so overall a very enjoyable experience. There are too many persons to thank and I can't recall their names which is a shame as they all deserve special thanks but thanks to Gopee and Kamlesh (concierge) for their happy smiling faces. I loved the cocktail evenings and being met by the hotel managers (great touch) who have done a great job. I recommend this hotel to any family wishing to visit Mauritius. Or anyone just wanting a great holiday in a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room. The views are magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Lux Belle Mare the total concept was awesome. In spa,(thanks Mariannie and your college WE ARE REALY REVIVED) ,also excellent food in all the restaurants, we like more EAST, (thanks to ROUPESH for the excellent service and thanks to chef VIKRAM for real asian dishes.THE KEYS in Lux Belle Mare is the wonderful white sand and the turquoise sea,
the enormous big pool, the good quality and design food,the hospitable and very well training
staff,the sea facilities,the wonderful spa,the outdoor cinema,the homemade ice cream.WE RELAXED from the first hour like somebody knows better than as what we need.LUX knows to design your dreams !!! FELICITATIONS FROM MR&MRS 1007

Room Tip: Choose these that are far from the pool if you don't like children's voices
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well may be it was my bad luck as I arrived with family to discover no body was waiting us at airport !while I reserved and paid that already!! So we had to wait for 1 hour 2nd surprise was that I reserved a sea view room and the new one to discover when arriving that it was the old rooms and not the renovated white with sea view !! 3rd surprise was that the sea was not as I expected or read about I mean a crystal clear water with white sands and .. I thought it will be like maldives when I was there few month ago but for my surprise its not what i thought and wished well at least that is not hotel fault its nature..! But I thought that mauritous have such a sea any way what made the difference is sure the smiling always nice staff and the v good quality food tasteful sure.. and sure lovely misician bands they have at hotel.. any way its ok in all as the atmospher of the hotel for families is v good lovely one and they have a lovely service as they have a phone kiosk u can call your country for free and it was lovely approach..any wway what made me forget about the waiting at airport and room and sea issue there lovely customer service as its one of the best foe sure and I wish they will upgrade my room to the best one as they promised as I have a double occasion my sun birthday within a days and my wedding anniversary...!! Too
Well in all its a n8cw hotel and sure the nicest staff and with v nice welcoming approach..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai india
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First of all like to say Mauritius is an amazing destination. Beautiful , clean and fresh .
Lux belle mare as property was beautiful , great location and clean.
Service was disappointing. We tried very hard to ignore faux pas made by the staff for three days but by the fourth day I had to address the service issue with the F and B manager Mr.Ramese.
He was concerned and attentive but all this left a bad taste behind.
Like to mention that not all the staff was bad but those who were bad were totally unacceptable.
The lighting in our room was sub standard and dim . There was a fused bulb which took 4 days to be replaced. The room service staff was very good unlike the restaurant staff.
There is a lot of discrimination in service.
Some staff was extremely rude and also patronizing. The staff at the boathouse could be given a lesson on politeness which each of us deserves.
Hate to put all this down as there were lot of people who were really nice. Like to mention especially the lady Andrea at the spa and also the lady at the boutique who were very pleasant.
Food too was average though the Italian food was really good. Will not recommend this hotel to my friends . We were offered a free lunch to calm us down which we did not accept as that was not the reason for our complaint. After going to a beautiful country like this , this was the only sore point.
But had a great holiday as nothing can spoil the beauty and awesome place that Mauritius is.

Room Tip: Try and check the room lighting before you accept it as some rooms have very dim and depressing lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Dear Ashish,
Just wanted to say a big thanks to you and all the staff at the lux!beautiful property,hospitable staff!your hotel has so much to offer!awesome food,smiling faces,everything was perfect.couldn't have asked for anything more!one of the best vacations I had!
Regards
Gaurav jaggi
(cheese maker from India)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After reading so many positive reviews, we decided to stay at Lux Belle Mare last weekend.

The staff is one of the strong points of the establishment . They seemed very genuine and caring about the well being of the guests whether it was at the reception, spa, gym ,or restaurant. We enjoyed the excellent coffee provided in the room and at the coffee bar. The bathroom toiletries (shampoo, soap, body wash) were very special and refreshing. Our daughter was happy to have her own slippers and toilet bag. The activities provided by the kids' club - magic show, egg hunting,etc kept her busy and asking to return there.

However, we were somewhat disappointed by the hotel and room setting .

At arrival there is no real lobby or reception. There are only two desks for front office personnel and the "reception" is a closed office next to the coffee bar.

The restaurants , except one which is on the beach, are all located near the main restaurant and it is difficult to physically distinguish one from the other. Even if we have a nine year old child, we found it a bit too much to be surrounded by dozens or more toddlers during breakfast and dinner. The food though was very good with a wide choice and variety.

As far as the room was concerned, it was somewhat embarrassing to find other guests on sun beds or hammocks five meters in front of our veranda. The fact that the room did not have any curtains and was furnished with sliding horizontal blinds did not help as people could see what was happening in the room. We could of course slide the blinds and move them up the but this only left the room in the dark.

Overall, we had a good stay but are not sure to return .

Room Tip: The ones near the restaurant/pool and the one we had near the beach are all too close to where peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.