We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Belle Mare

Save Saved
You added LUX Belle Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LUX Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day holiday at Lux Belle Mare. We found it was one of our best holidays ever. The rooms were very spacious, always clean with lovely views. The layout of the hotel was was superb and right on the beach. The hotel and gardens were lovely and spacious and it never felt crowded, in fact it was very peaceful. No loud music at the pool either which you may find in other hotels. It was well catered for couples and families. Staff were excellent, very attentive, food was plentiful and very tasty and fresh and very well presented, we could not fault it. They had a spa and gym which was small but good, yoga lessons and free water activities if you are on All inclusive. Being on All inclusive is well worth it as the prices are quite expensive if you had to pay everything separately, we booked half board first but then changed before our trip and were really glad we did. Nothing was ever too much for the hotel staff, we just needed to ask. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Birgit1234, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for a lovely review for us on this forum. We are glad you had a very enjoyable stay with us and thank you for detailing all the various aspects which make LUX* Belle Mare special. From the spacious and comfortable rooms to the lush gardens to the well laid out public areas and pool to the wide stretch of the most amazing beach on the island here, the resort features include everything required for a wonderful holiday and this combined with genuine and caring service makes a paradise out of a holiday stay and you have so nicely detailed this in your review. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another similar experience;

Sincerely;

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,526
    248
    68
    29
    11
See reviews for
547
994
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We staid at LUX belle mare in November with our 16 months daughter. We had a really good time - this place is great if you are with a child - however I don't think I would considered it as a couple or adult only holiday. Mauritius is very child friendly and so it's LUX belle mare. They have highchairs, children menu, both pool and beach are great for little ones. We asked for one of the pool rooms so that we could still enjoy the pool while little one was napping by using the monitor - it worked really well, but be aware that 1. it can be noisy at night due to the music been played in the main bar and 2. monitor signal wasn't great (and we have a very good monitor!) so you need one of the ground floor - closest to the pool room in order to be able to do so.
Food is good, but in the main buffet restaurant can get very monotonous - we tried the other restaurants as well, but it's hard to sit down for dinner with a toddler so ended up at the buffet one most of the time. Drinks and food are expensive - probably all inclusive is a good idea - we didn't because with a toddler the chance of spending time drinking cocktails by the pool is not that big and we are not big drinkers anyway.
Rooms are nice and quite spacious but not amazing - but you end up spending so much time outdoor anyway.
Service is great, everybody makes a real effort to make it special - from restaurant staff to the reception. The only thing we notice is that they are quite disorganized - sometimes lunch took forever, they couldn't find a bottle of wine we had opened but not finished the night before (they told us we could leave it to the restaurant but then they couldn't locate it - mind you they did offer another glass as an apology), they told us under 3 years old don't pay for meal but then we found it on our final bill (they amended when I noticed) somebody told us bottle sterilizer was for free, somebody else said we had to pay etc.. But all minor things.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with toddlers/babies and wants use the baby monitor while they sleep I would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you for your detailed review for us on this forum and I am glad that overall you had a great family holiday with us in November last year. You have detailed the positives of ours in your review beginning with food, service, comfortable and spacious rooms and our child friendly features. Indeed, LUX* Belle Mare is definitely a child friendly place and generally during school holidays we do get a lot of families who find us a perfect paradise; but even otherwise through the year the resort appeals wonderfully to Honeymooners and couples. We do consistently get very good feedback from couples and we take pride that the resort as such appeals to various segments of travel through the year. I have taken good note of the points listed by you for us to work upon including the couple of errors your experienced pertaining to wine and billing and I would like to assure you that we shall work on eliminating these immediately. I am glad that you felt that the team was outstanding in their desire to serve you well across the resort. We hope to see you again at LUX* Belle Mare for a yet another wonderful family holiday;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed for 10 nights in lux belle mare and we were extremely impressed by the service, staff, food, entertainment and organisation of this resort! I have no negatives whatsoever to relay on this place and will be returning very soon for another few days of relaxation. We had one of the junior suites overlooking the beach and had all the amnities supplied by any 4 star hotel. The housekeeping staff were exceptional and a turn down service was provided everynight. The staff were very happy to help you with any issue and made it seem like nothing was too much trouble! The food was amazing and I have tasted dishes that were the best I have ever eaten! There are 3 restaurants and 1 buffet area and it is recommended you try all 4! Also room service is exceptional with the best cutlery, lay out and options. You'll be spoiled for choice!! The pool and gardens were very well maintained by staff and the ice cream that was freshly made everyday and provided pool side made you feel very indulgent!! The bar overlooked the pool so very easy to spend the day there while sunning and going into the sea/pool. Everything is very close together so no walking great distances to get to the apartment/pool/reception/restaurants/bar or beach! Excellent holiday, excellent staff and definetly a repeat is in order.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Niamh M, greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us on this forum. The title of your review - "Out of this world" says it all and I am glad that we could create some lasting memories for you. We hope you come back soon and assuring you a yet another out of this world experience;

Best regards,
Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just got back from our 2 week stay at the Lux Belle Mare and wanted to recommend this hotel.

We traveled with our 2 children aged 3 and 7 months and can honestly say that this hotel exceeded all of our expectations in every way. The hotel is situated on a stunning beach, which is easily accessible from the accomodation. The facilities are exceptional and it was the first hotel that we have stayed at where the water sports were included. The swimming pool is large and ideal for a young families, as there is a very big shallow area and plenty of seating around the pool. We never had a problem getting a seat and there was always someone there to put towels out and assist.

One of the highlights for us was the kids club, which is open from morning to night and our 3 year old used to run there straight after his breakfast. There was always fun activities for him to participate in from pizza making, to trips on a glass bottom boat and rock pooling. The food was fabulous, as we went half board we could eat at any of the 4 restaurants and the quality and variety was always of an excellent standard.

Everything seems to have been thought of, from an old fashioned ice cream hut by the pool serving the most delicious home made ice creams to roasting their own coffee on site, the little details made the holiday that extra special.

The best thing we can say about this hotel is the staff who go out of their way to ensure that you have an incredible time. The staff really do care about their guests and not only are they friendly but go the extra mile. We would particularly like to thank, the Regional General Manger Pascal , the Hotel General Manager Ashish both of home ensured our family were looked after at all times. Also we would like to thank The Head Housekeeper Suren and Dave at the Kitchen who was a pleasure to see every morning. Thanks also to Chenan who always had smile on his face and was such a help. Also we wanted to mention Chica at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Our last day here, we are sad to leave this island paradise. It isn't enough that this island is so beautiful, the hospitaly of this hotel is priceless. Everything is so easy, the staff are so helpful and accommodating. The restaurants have excellent food, and they cater to everything you need. We have not heard a "sorry" because they simply don't need to say that word. My 10 year old daughter summed it up best "Mommy I wanna come here to get married!" Thank you Lux Belle Mare for making it special, form your kiddie club, to your numerous complimentary water sports, to your lovely food, to your gorgeous beaches, and your wonderful staff

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Lux* Belle Mare Hotel.
We loved everything about the hotel and wonderful long beach.
Staff and service 100% Nothing too much trouble for anyone.
The management were very helpful and attentive to our needs in particular Andre who met us on arrival and looked after us througout our stay.
Beautiful refubrished room overlooking the gardens to the sea.Cleanliness throughout the hotel excellent everywhere at all times. .
Gardens pool and beach immaculate.
Beautiful food in the selection of varying restaurants.
Usually we do not care for hotel entertainment but must say on certain nights was very good and very professional.
We would definately recommend a stay at this hotel and hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room overlooking the gazebo and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and `i arrived here on the 14th of February and were given a room which was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed here over christmas. I did not realize that the room was close to where the music was playing and the mini bar was a little noisy with the engine on. I spoke with the duty manager Sheila who could not have been more helpful to my wife and I. Sheila met us the following morning at breakfast and upgraded us to the most beautiful suite which was breath taking. I can't say enough about the standard service and satisfaction that they give ti their guests to make their stay here a happy one. The courtesy that we saw from the staff here could well be an example for many of the english hotel `i have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Belle Mare 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX Belle Mare Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Belle Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.