We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon - Improvements needed though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambre Resort - All Inclusive to your Saves list
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon - Improvements needed though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have recently returned from the Ambre and stayed from the 10th-24th November for our Honeymoon. As far as we are aware, this hotel is part of TUI/Thomson so chances are you will be travelling with Thomson if you are flying from the UK. This hotel is very popular and over a third of the people on our flight were staying there. This meant there were 5 coach loads of us all arriving at once and the first impressions were not great. The hotel is just not geared up to check in so many people all at once. We were ushered in to a conference room on arrival and were not even shown through the reception. The staff were so slow in showing people to their rooms that in the end we gave up waiting and found our own way.

Room

Our room was large and spacious, maybe a bit too spacious with a lot of wasted space. We had upgraded our room to a superior sea view room (257) which had a large balcony, large bathroom with separate toilet, a massive bed, minibar with beer, coke, sprite, still and sparkling water, chocolate and crisps (restocked daily), safe, tv, swivel chair and the most uncomfortable and pointless sofa we have ever seen. There was plenty of storage space and hangers. We did notice whilst walking around the resort that some rooms had a very small balcony that barely had room for a table and chairs. Other rooms did not even have a balcony and just had a window. The room was cleaned every day, although I am pretty sure the bedding was not changed whilst we were there or if it was it was done once. Also surfaces were not cleaned that well, as the tea and coffee tray was always sticky. There also seemed to be no set order in which they cleaned the rooms. Sometimes it would not be done until late afternoon and other days the cleaners would be knocking on your door at 8.30 to get in.

Pool and beach

The hotel grounds are well kept and there always seemed to be gardeners doing something. Even though we were there for 2 weeks we did not use the pool at all. This was partly due to the fact that although the pool was quite large, there were not that many sunbeds around it, not much shade and the beds that were there were very close together. It was partly also due to the fact that we preferred the beach. The beach was lovely, as was the sea. Between us we have visited various Caribbean islands, Hawaii, Egypt and Cape Verde amongst other places and we both agree that the sea is the clearest we have ever had at a resort hotel. There were days when it was not so clear when it was windy, but on the whole it was lovely. We took sea shoes which we used every day as there was some coral and seaweed, although we did see people without them. The seaweed was cleared from the beach every morning around 8-9am but it soon re-appeared. The Ambre does have the best, longest and most prominent part of the beach compared to its neighbours.
Be prepared to play the sun bed game. We are early risers on holiday anyway as we like to make the most of the day, but after the first day we realised we would have to start saving sunbeds if we wanted one with a parasol or any sort of shade. These went very quickly and people would be up at 6.30am reserving them. One day we got down to the beach at 6.50am and they were all gone. The hotel do have a policy in which they say towels will be removed if beds are saved and not used after 45 minutes, but they do not adhere to this policy therefore we found ourselves joining everyone else in saving sunbeds. This may be different if it is a quieter time of year.
The non-motorised watersports are free and there is also a free glass bottom boat that goes a couple of times a day. The same boat will also take you snorkling for free.

Food and drink

There are 3 restaurants. The main one is the buffet restaurant called Indigo. They served breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice but unfortunately the same can't be said for lunch and dinner. Maybe we have been spoiled on our previous holidays but we found the choice quite limited. What was on offer was well cooked and edible, and on the first night we were really impressed with the selection, but we soon realised that it was the same every single night with some slight changes here and there. The dessert selection looked wonderful the first night but again it was the same every night. Also this restaurant gets very hot as there is no air conditioning and the 2 ceiling fans are never on.

What saves this restaurant with regards to the food are the 2 al a carte restaurants. One is La Plage on the beach and the other is Dolce Vita an Italian. Both of these had excellent food, cooked well and lots of choice. The only down side is that the service could sometimes be abit slow at the Italian. You can visit these restaurants as many times as you want to and book at the entrance to the main restaurant in the morning. Again this is something you need to get up early for booking starts at 7.30am and if you go along at 7.20am you will find yourself joining a queue. There seemed to be alot of problems with this system so they may have changed it by now. There are plenty of cocktails to choose from, the beer was ok and so was the wine. There were 2 bars, one by the beach called the Coral Bar which is were the evening entertainment was. The other was the H&H bar which was quieter. We always got our drinks from here and then sat on the sofas around reception as it was away from all the noise of the other bar.
During the day the waiters from the Coral Bar would go up at down the beach serving drinks. I think you got better service if you sat around the pool area or the part of the beach that was closer to bar. As we always sat at the other end we found the service abit hit and miss. If you wanted something simple like a coke it would come straight away but anything more complicated would take a while.

Unbeknown to me, before we travelled my husband contacted the hotel to arrange a cake for my birthday. On the day he went to reception to check it was still ok and was quite aware that he would have to pay for the cake (I think it was around £10). He was told quite sternly by whoever was on reception that "Thomson guests DO NOT get anything for free". So there you go. Don't expect any freebies!

We had decided before we travelled that if we were going to do any trips then we would book them with Chris on the beach as we had read on here before we went that he was better value than Thomsons. This is correct and we would highly recommend booking with him. We booked the 5 Islands trip with him and spent the day on a speedboat visiting various islands, snorkling, and having lobster, fish and bbq for lunch. It was also my 30th birthday on that day and without us knowing Chris organised for a birthday cake to be served after lunch which was a really nice touch. It was also a really nice group of English and was a wonderful day.

Chris also helped us to book a few other trips. He introduced us to a taxi driver who took us to swim with Dolphins (£30 each) and to Casela Park to walk with lions (£7 to get in the park and the £80 each to walk with lions). This was a once in a lifetime experience and we would highly recommend it. The lions are not drugged and you spend around an hour walking with them with 3 staff and 2 photographers. You can do other things there too like zip lining, segways. The taxi driver drove us around, waited whilst we did the activities and then drove us back to the hotel for £60 for the whole day starting at 6am and being back about 6pm. For a 12 hour day we thought that was very good value. We also went quad biking which was around £70 for 2. This was a half day trip which again we would recommend.

I know this review may seem negative. We did have a wonderful time but there are just a few issues the hotel needs to address. We would without a doubt return to Mauritius but would not stay at this hotel again simply because we like to visit different places so we would stay at a different part of the island next time. It is a beautiful country and everyone is very friendly. It is the first time I have been on holiday in a long time where I have felt safe leaving the hotel grounds.

We would recommend this hotel, just remember it is a 4 star so don't go there expecting it to be a 5 star just because your in Mauritius. If you want 5 star then pay the ridiculous prices and go to the Lux next door.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    295
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
828
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We are a family of 6 staying at Ambre Resort have been here since 15th December 2014, leaving 23rd December 2014. Mostly happy with our choice. Service in the dining room and restaurants are quite slow in terms of drinks orders. For some reason the waiters do not understand what Sauvignon Blanc wine is........Too many birds flying through the main dining area, the Minors eating out of the salad bowls, which is very distressing to see. Can't imagine what types of bacteria they carry.....come on team do something about this, it's quite serious. The flies....same thing, I agree with the previous review, net the sides or conver all the bowls with plastic domed lids. Generally though the pool and sea area is great. A nice gym, often no water and sweet towels when it opens though. Will complete my review after the 23rd though!!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just arrived back from 2 weeks on this wonderful island, we had an excellent and very relaxing time. This hotel is in a wonderful spot, right on a truly lovely beach. The staff are very good, nothing is too much trouble and they dont expect to be tipped all the time but it is of course welcome occasionally. On the whole this hotel is good, the rooms (we had a standard garden view) are spotless and comfortable (although it would be nice if there was room for a couple of chairs) the shower is excellent, the not so good things about the hotel are things that the management are aware of and I believe are trying to rectify, there are not enough umbrellas/sunshades and believe me you do need shade, we had at least half of our holiday where we couldnt get a bed with a shade, the manager did tell us that if people left their beds for more than three quarters of an hour that their things would be cleared and kept safe, THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN! we never once saw a bed cleared and sometimes people left them for 3 or 4 hours at a time! Really annoying and totally inconsiderate of other people. The other couple of problems are that they need to net the windows in the restaurants as the birds are a real nuisance, its an easy and cheap fix and is a must. Also, the food needs to be properly covered, particularly the salads, they are often left open (sometimes covered by cling film but often not put back by people), I found this a real problem as I find the thought of eating food that flies have crawled on quite sickening - ALL FOOD NEEDS TO BE COVERED! again its not a difficult or expensive thing to do, just get more of the plastic covers that lift off! We did have a wonderful holiday, would I go back to this hotel, not unless I was absolutely sure that the problems had been fixed, if that happened then yes I would. This is now an adult only hotel, probably just as well as not much for children to do other than swim and there is only 1 main pool and a very small 1 where the excercise class take place at 11.30 every day. The italian restaurant is good and has waiter service, we ate there quite a lot as there is no limit to the amount of times you can eat there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been to Mauritius many times and this has been the worst hotel ever. Coming from South Africa we are used to bad service but this takes the cake, if this is your sources of income you have just missed the boat! The staff is slow, they have bad attitude. Not a big selection of food, not enough and not tasty at all. Don't come here and waste your money. Not woth the stars it has.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went there for honeymoon in August 2014.
The room was in my opinion of a 2 maybe 3 star quality.
Food was good, swimming pools are beautiful, staff are very friendly. Also entertainment is good.
Wi-fi was bad (wifi is available only in lobby).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your precious time afforded in sharing your review on our property and are pleased to be made aware that you enjoyed your experience at our shores.

It is indeed a pleasure to read about your nice reviews and are so delighted to be made aware that your holiday concluded to be a amazing one! Rest assured that your comments have been taken constructively and necessary measures shall be taken in order to continuously improve our service.

We take this opportunity to wish you and your dear ones a Merry Christmas.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Dreamliner.
Wow what a plane. If you've upgraded your seats at the cost of £1000 then you need your head looking at. Absolutely no need.. We got the same amount of free drinks same food apart from a chicken choice, loads of legs room and exactly the same choice of TV entertainment. So if you think an extra 2/3 inches of leg and getting off the plane is worth £1000, then crack on.

Now the holiday.
Brilliant place to stay but please remember the Ambre is a 4* and just because you've paid a lot of money to go doesn't mean it will feel like 5* if you want this then pay the stupid amount extra and pay for it. Not having children in the resort is a great bonus.. I had a walk down to the Lux hotel 5* and indeed it was nice until to visited the pool. 10,000 kids shouting, "mamma, pappa" then back at the Ambre, totally relaxation.. The food was great and I'm sick of eating steak now. Room location was grill, room 203, 4 rooms away from reception so everything was within 20meters.. Do the 5 islands trip with Chris from the beach. Paid £55 each and was one of the best and funniest trips I have ever done but we had a good boat full of people. Did walking with the lions and now need councilling, incredible experience and also played with the lion cubs, total cost was £100. + u have to make your own way there. Please get in touch if anyone needs advice on trips etc

Room Tip: Block 200 is close to all the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your precious time afforded in sharing your review on our property and are pleased to be made aware of your successful experience at our shores.

It is indeed a great pleasure to read about your nice reviews and are so delighted to be made aware that your holiday concluded to be a amazing one!

We take this opportunity to wish you and your dear ones a Merry Christmas.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,

Alessandro Schenone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Horrible hotel. I went there for honeymoon in Dec 2013. Despite informing the personnel about my food allergy by mail and personally informing at reception to do necessary, I found that no chef was informed about that and I kept getting those allergens in my meals. Despite several complaints, no heed was taken on my request and had anaphylactic reaction. The manager told that it was my fault. They made my stay into hell. We had to check out much sooner than expected. Definitely I don't really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambre Resort - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is located at palmar, on the east coast of mauritius. The resort is one hour away from theairport; one hour from port Louis, the capital city and 20 mins fromile aux Cerfs. The resort boasts a 700-metres long white natural sandy beachrunning along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Ambre is a four-star resort set in a tropical, easy-going environment, where island living can be experienced at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambre Resort - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.