We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambre Resort - All Inclusive to your Saves list
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic little get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ambre hotel exceeded our expectations far more than we could have imagined. I took my girlfriend there for her birthday, and we were amazed at how very friendly and helpful the staff were. on her birthday (without me notifying the hotel) they delivered an amazing chocolate cake to the room before dinner. whilst we were at dinner, the room boy Ravi decorated the bed with exotic flowers and greenery and made the room look fit for royalty.

Food was fantastic, beeches were nice, weather was great, snorkeling not the greatest but good none the less.

I would recommend this hotel to couples of all ages, well done Ambre.

Room Tip: Sea facing, ground floor rooms are a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests

We thank you for sharing your recent experience at Ambre Hotel and are glad to read that facilties and the level of services provided were to your utmost satisfaction.

We are eager to read about your renewed stay soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    290
    71
    15
    8
See reviews for
154
815
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amazingly beautiful resort. Beautifully located beach side resort with ample water sports activities.
The design of the resort is marvelous and once glance and you will fall in love with the place.
Amazing food, cordial staff, superb rooms and very clean.
The staff are very cordial and make you feel at home.
It is really a value for money ....in fact provides more value for your money...
Once in Ambre you feel like being there always......... the best place to be :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your rating on Trip Advisor and are pleased to be made aware that your experience at Ambre Hotel concluded to be value for money.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful recall.

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in Ambre Hotel for a 6 nights/7 days. This was the first time, Me and my Wife went abroad but i still felt at Home and safe. All the staff's of Ambre Hotel are like one big happy Family, they are all beautiful people by heart. They took great care of us in everything i.e. Room service, Food, Guidance, etc

Ambre Hotel also offers few complementary facilities like
-WIFI
-SAUNA, STEAM and JACUZZI
-WATER SPORT ACTIVITIES
All for free

FOOD IS AWESOME

Ambre Hotel has an Amazing and Long stretch of Beach.

You will love to stay in Ambre...

Thank You AMBRE

Room Tip: "Rooms Facing Beach will make your stay more memorable"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time taken to share your most positive feedback on Trip Advisor. It is with great pleasure to read that you have appreciated Ambre!

We express our heartfelt thanks for choosing to stay with us and are certainly looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too far future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Ambre. We were a group of family. The welcome from the staff was fantastic. The room was great. The hotel in general was clean, nicely and simply decorated with a lot of whites and contrasting colours. the food is very nice too. the night entertainment shows were great and the local artists did a wonderful job at getting everyone to dance. A definite must if you fancy a relaxing time in Mauritius.

For people coming from abroad, it's good to know that this hotel has recently changed owners and has been redecorated.

The spa is great too, with hamam, sauna and jaccuzzi thrown into the room package.

Really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Choose a beach facing room with a terrace. Also, it's best to get a room as far away from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank for the time taken to rate our resort on Trip Advisor and are very pleased to be made aware that the overall set up of our resort and faciltiies provided have been to your delights!

We are looking forward to the soonest opportunity of welcoming you back to our shores.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a triple room from 13 to 19 July 2013. We enjoyed the hotel facilities especially the water sports. Pity that the tide affects the catamaran and wind surfing adversely. Frequently there is insuffiient water to enjoy these activities-for two days we could not use the aforementioned. The staff were very helpful at the boat house and gave us lessons on the use of these items.The food is fantastic. We enjoyed the steam room, sauna,gym and tennis courts. The volley ball court is a bit hard though with very little soft sand to play on.
Pity the travel agent didnt tell us about the exchange special they have with sister hotels- if one stays for 7 days- you may go live at a sister hotel for 2 days of your stay. We also only discovered on our 2nd last day that one can pay for the taxi to Le Tousserok and then utilize the ferry free of charge when staying at Ambre to get you to IL Aux Cerfs. The brochure only mentions golfers utilizing this service for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time taken to share your recent experience at Ambre Hotel.

We are pleased to note your overall satisfaction pertaining the facilties and services provided and would like to thank you for bringing this shortcoming about the volleyball court on the beach which we have already addressed to key partners for improvement.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our shores for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My partner & I spend the December vacation (Christmas & New Year) at Hotel Ambre in Mauritius & the experience was great!

Beach / Location - Situated on the East, its quiet & If you are looking for the best beach, then this hotel is for you!

Pools & activities - gorgeous pools & nice activities like scuba & dolphin swimming etc available

The hotel - Our room was great, it was clean & recently revamped.
The food was lovely with a superb variety. We opted for the fully inclusive option & it was worth it!
Of course you must bear in mind peak season is almost double the pricing of going at non peak times.

The people are extremely friendly & cant do enough for patrons
The hotel staff were really helpful & Puthi, the Food & beverages manager went out of his way to make our experience wonderful, even arranging a very personalized & special seafood dinner for us on the beach on our last night there!
Pooja at reception was also great, so was Jay at the bar & they all deserve a special mention.

The only drawback was certain restaurants fully booked for the Christmas & New Years Eve dinners & not sufficient communication letting patrons know to book in advance

Other than that, a Mauritian holiday is highly recommended & this I would say, 4 star restaurant met our expectations
It was refreshing & relaxing & certainly goes down as one of our most memorable trips!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time taken to share your review on Trip Advisor as well as for the compliments relative to the overall facilities and services provided at Ambre Hotel.

Your high praise of the team members has been well noted and has been shared with each and everyone who contributed to your delights.

Your comment pertaining the reservation in our restaurants has been taken very positive and constructive which will at large assist us to continuously improve our services and in delighting our guests.

We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back to our shores.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we spent around 7 days in Ambre, we enjoyed property lot, they have well managed but the room was very disappointing in our stay. it was very dirty and uncomfortable as we have to move bed in direction of Air Conditioner flow cant get cooling. apart from that all facilities were nice and enjoyable.
The funniest thing was they offered us complimentary dinner at restaurant, when we went and ordered, they get meal from general dinner and got served in fix meal dish. i was shocked is that called complimentary. it is better i should have my dinner with all people rather sitting in restaurants and eating bad food.

we enjoyed swimming pool lot and their daily programs as i remembered very well there were a band they made us to dance with them. Out side hotel activities was nice and enjoyable.

there are lot to do outside hotel so enjoyed that activities and use proper time.

Room Tip: Please check room before selecting this hotel or payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

We take note of your various points raised in your posting which we take very much at heart, positive and constructive.

The points raised will certainly assist us to improve our product and services.

On the other hand, we are delighted to be made aware that Ambre set and facilities, aside the room and complimentary dinner service have been to your liking. It will be good to bring to your attention that we have recently embarked into attending these shortcomings outlined.

Otherwise, we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the changes!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambre Resort - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is located at palmar, on the east coast of mauritius. The resort is one hour away from theairport; one hour from port Louis, the capital city and 20 mins fromile aux Cerfs. The resort boasts a 700-metres long white natural sandy beachrunning along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Ambre is a four-star resort set in a tropical, easy-going environment, where island living can be experienced at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambre Resort - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.