We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ambre Resort - All Inclusive to your Saves list
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at Ambre with my wife for my honeymoon during 16th to 22nd May, 2013. I browsed a lot on internet before finalizing Ambre and I am very happy to write that I made the right choice.

The check-in process was comfortable and thanks to Ms. Sarah for a wonderful introduction to the facility and for a smooth and fast check-in.

I gave full points to maintenance staff for keeping every corner of the hotel neat and clean at all times especially Ms. Rose, our room-maid, for maintaining our room.

To talk about food, I enjoyed eating in Indigo, a multi-cuisine buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and Dolce Vita [I hope I have spelled it correctly ;-)], an Italian restaurant. There was a good variety of Indian food at Indigo and pizza & pasta at Dolce Vita. Special thanks to Mr. Vijay at Dolce Vita for suggesting us some wonderful deserts. Even though being a pure vegetarian, I never missed something on my plate.

The amenities at hotel were superb. Complimentary water sports and spa were upto my satisfaction and delight. Free Wi-fi in public areas helped me to be in touch with my friends and family during my stay.

The performances at The Coral Bar were amazing.

I must say that Ambre staff has been trained to be so courteous to the guests.

I will surely and strongly recommend Ambre.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in series 8 are at the end but near to SPA. I got room number 153 which was 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor pertaining your recent stay Ambre Hotel.

We are delighted to read for having been able to make your Honeymoon stay into a wonderful recall and in exceeding your expectations.

The fun memories about the ambiance, food, services and our friendly team have contributed to your romantic stay and shall be pleased to welcome you for another wonderful experience amongst us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    389
    103
    18
    11
See reviews for
169
1,091
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Like 'frank-le-fedup' we also went in May 2013, but unlike 'frank-le-fedup', we could not fault the holiday at all. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and we made many friends (staff) whilst there. I have to eat gluten free and was wondering how this would be taken care of. No worries, Suren, one of the senior restaurant staff, took this on board from the word 'go' and made sure that for the whole of our 3 week stay, i ate nothing that would make me ill. If the buffet in the Indigo restaurant was not suitable at any time, he saw to it that something completely separate was prepared for me. If he was not going to be there in person at a meal, he would leave instructions for others. I cannot praise him enough for this. We never went into the restaurant without Suren noticing us and seeing to our every need. I should also point out here, that gluten free bread was baked on the premises and this was available to me every day. The staff generally, were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the first floor (standard) with balcony and sea view and was adequate for our needs. Our maid, Mina, was very thorough and the room always looked clean and tidy, the bedding and towels changed very regularly. The pool area was very pleasant and there was always someone on hand to bring drinks or food. The beach was perfect and the waiters were very personable, particularly Eddy and Sonny. This was our first All inclusive holiday and we were very impressed. If we ever go to Mauritius again, we shall definitely be staying at Ambre. Love you all Ambre!! Who cares about a number on the room door?

Room Tip: Room no. 812 is a good one. Not too much sun on the balcony and right on the perimeter of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments which we take with great attention about having been able to delight you with your dietary requirements.

As mentioned, the choice provided to your taste with special attention provided by Suren, Mina, Eddy and others will certainly be conveyed to them.

On a concluding note, we are delighted that the overall set up of our resort and the facilities provided have been to your expectations!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our shores.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhill
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ambre is a very good hotel with a good location and superb sea.

The food is very good.
The room has just been renovated but it stinks. They have just painted the walls and the doors, and some place is quite dirty.

It should have been renovated completely like a new hotel not just to hide the dirt which was there before.

Overall besides the room it is ok.

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your comment which we take constructive and will at large assist us to continuously improve!

It will be good to bring to your attention that rooms have not been renovated as such but rather restored which obviously contrast to the central part of the hotel which has been entirely renovated.

We are in the process of reviewing some areas of our room aspect with an in-depth programme in order to attend to that issue which by perception is a letdown! Having attended to this issue, we are confident that the room's aspect would establish in a fit for purpose and thus avoiding this misperception.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whereby we shall be pleased to make you discover another facet of Ambre!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just got back from the Ambre with my wife after a weeks AI on the deal booked with Travelzoo. Had to pinch myself several times during the first few days as the food, the staff and the location just seemed to good to be true.

Our room was upgraded to superior with a nice sea view as per our request via Kuoni and the staff also knew that it was my wife`s birthday and gave us a special meal in the Dolce Vita restuarant which was absolutely fantastic, so let them know if you`re holiday is to celebrate a special occasion.

The hotel was quiet as its their winter although the weather was lovely for our week. Our only problem was a small issue with a lack of coathangers when we checked in which was resolved by a phone call to reception and within 5 mins we had as many as we could wish for brought to the room!

Breakfast in the Indigo restuarant was lovely (7.30 to 10.30am) and we had lunch on the beach at the la Plage everyday where the service and food was excellent. Awar and the staff were fantastic and i reccomend the Grey Snapper or the Dorada. We ate 3 times in total at Dolce Vita in the evenings including the birthday meal which was from a special menu and the food and service was excellent, and the other nights the Indigo buffet was superb, with a wide range of Asian and Europen dishes together with salads fruit desserts etc. Again excellent service.

The drinks at the Coral bar in the evening were kept coming from Rambo and his staff who were always on hand. Best Mojito was made by Fabrice and the entertainment shows were pretty good with lots of dancing and there was always something on every night. Didn`t use the night club, popped in the pub once or twice if there was a sporting event to watch, which was pretty quiet.

The water sports staff were all helpful and thanks to Brian especially for the sailing lesson which was great and allowing me to take the dinghy out alone. Also enjoyed the pedaloes, kayaks etc which was all free including glass bottom boat and snorkeling trip.

Star people on the beach were Sunny and Eddy who serve drinks to the sunbeds, and also some food items as well. These chaps just can`t do enough for you and really made our day time special so special thanks to them.

On the last day the AI now finishes at 3.00pm and we paid extra to keep our room till 6pm as our flight home wasn`t until 22.15. The porters came automatically for the bags at 5.45pm, literally at the same time as |I picked the phone up to request them.

Would very very definitely go back

Room Tip: let the hotel know if its a birthday or anniversary holiday as the special meal at the Dolce Vita is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing your most positive comment pertaining your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We are delighted to read that the overall services and facilities provided have contributed to make your holiday a memorable one!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too far future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had decided that we would spend a fortnight in Mauritius to celebrate my husband's retirement. We went this year in April/May. We stayed at the Ambre which, from the website looked lovely. What a disappointment it turned out to be. Mauritius is undoubtedly a beautiful island and the local people are lovely. The Amber was opened the previous October and we understandably expected it to be reasonably pristine. It was FAIRLY CLEAN but much of the furniture was decidedly grubby. The room was OK but considering that we had booked a superior room not great. The door of our room had no number on it when we arrived and it hadn't been replaced when we left. The mini bar (we were all inclusive) was very poorly stocked. The food was very disappointing and the service in the restaurants even worse. The staff on reception were either excellent or indifferent depending on who was on duty. The beach waiters were very good. It is understandable that Hotels have a few teething problems when opening but they had been open for 7 months when we went and should have got things sorted out a bit by then.

Room Tip: Tell them ON ARRIVAL if you have any concerns about the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to post your personal comments on pertaining Ambre on Trip Advisor.

We read with regret that you left our resort with mixed feelings at some levels and would like to apologize if some specific points did not fully match your expectations, but we do hope that you will still keep a good overall souvenir of your stay.

We hope to welcome you another time soon during your next trip to Mauritius.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an old hotel that's been bought over by a good group and you can see they've spent money on upgrading the foyer / reception / pool / restaurant / bar areas which are looking great!
The beach is really lovely in comparison to some of the others we've seen - wide, long, powder white sand, decent swimming & protected from the Easterly winds.
The watersports facilities are good - variety & helpful staff.

The rooms are quite basic but adequate and its not the type of place where you'll spend most of your time in your room. The food is okay, we preferred the A La Carte restaurant to the buffet but its nice to have two options.

Tips
Request a double room if you want as they will automatically give you a twin and its not possible to change once checked in.
Superior rooms can come without a balcony upstairs, wiith a balcony or with a verandah on the groundfloor. Upstairs is better for privacy, downstairs is better for kids. Some rooms have verandahs right on the main walkway though so becareful of those otherwise the verandahs are all pretty private as the walkways are mostly a good few metres away.
Best advice is to take the All Inclusive option which we didn't and regretted it; the drinks & meals were very expensive and we were even charged for milk in the room that was supplied for tea & coffee!

Room Tip: Superior rooms can come without a balcony upstairs, wiith a balcony or with a verandah on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guests

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read your overall satisfaction pertaining your recent stay at Ambre Hotel. Your point relative to the milk charges is very valid and are pleased to inform you that we have already discussed it with key members concerned to be attended to.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back to our shores soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis, Port Louis, Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First time I went to Ambre hotel for the buffet & the service was above excellence:) the waiters & staff are very professional & customer care oriented. the decor & ambiance was just perfect. just wanted to stay for a few days to enjoy such beauty.. on top of that, they offered us a surprise cake on the occasion of our 1st wedding anniversary. that was like 'le cerise sur le gateau'! I would like to thank deeply the staff who took my reservation by phone , unfortunately he wasnt on duty when I went to the hotel.
they all made our day a perfect & memorable one. I would highly recommend people to go for Ambre hotel & put away all hesitations

kip up wiv the great job. looking forward to stay a wkend in ur hotel smeday :)

CHeers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for the time taken to review Ambre on Trip Advisor and appreciate the opportunity given to us to welcome you in our resort in the frame of your 1st wedding anniversary!

We are very delighted to note your overall satisfaction which we have shared with the team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambre Resort - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is located at palmar, on the east coast of mauritius. The resort is one hour away from theairport; one hour from port Louis, the capital city and 20 mins fromile aux Cerfs. The resort boasts a 700-metres long white natural sandy beachrunning along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Ambre is a four-star resort set in a tropical, easy-going environment, where island living can be experienced at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ambre Resort - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.