We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambre Resort - All Inclusive to your Saves list
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for ten days at the end of April on an All Inclusive basis for our honeymoon, booked through Thomas Cook. We had an amazing time. It was busy for the first two days but there was never a shortage of sun loungers in good locations. The beach is incredible, well maintained and clean with good swimming area and you can walk for miles along the beach. Free water based activities were fantastic. Food was superb. The staff were what made the holiday extra special. They were so attentive, nothing was too much for them, the waiter on the beach was particularly helpful! I got conjunctivitis whilst there, popped in to see the hotel nurse who called the local hotel Doctor and I was all sorted with a prescription within about half an hour! Really impressed! Would recommend the All Inclusive, food and drinks were very pricey for people on half board. perfect location for our relaxing honeymoon!

Room Tip: we were in 314, superior room near fitness centre. Have seen that some have said it's a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

We were delighted to welcome you for your honeymoon at Ambre and glad to learn that you had a good experience in our hotel.

We thank you for the time taken to share your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments and high praise to the team members are much appreciated and will be passed on to each and everyone who contributed to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back for another fabulous stay amongst us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    292
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
823
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we walked through the open plan lobby and escorted to our oversized lounge and handed a cocktail in preparation of our arrival, we were relaxed.

We were escorted through the lush tropical gardens to our room and were immediately placed at ease.

The beach and the tranquil vivid colours of the sea were breathtaking. There is an abundant choice of food from the Mediterranean feel of the Italian restaurant, a changeable buffet including Indian, French and local delicacies. We loved our time eating lunch and the odd dinner to the relaxing surroundings of the beach side restaurant. No complaints from any of the staff, all were friendly and polite. Highly recommended for couples wanting to add that spark to there lives. Thank you all at Ambre for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor located by the SPA. Very quite and it allowed you a stunning walk to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you in our resort and for the time taken to share your review pertaining your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that we have been able to make your holiday a wonderful recall.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too far future!

Sincerely always,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It has been a memorable experience spending those wonderful days @Ambre. We would appericiate the courtesy of hotel staff, the food and the facilities available. We would highly recommend this resort if you are planning a trip in future. Amazing Destination to spend holidays!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Ambre for your honeymoon stay.

Your most positive comments pertaining the staff and food are highly appreciated and will be passed on to each and everyone who contributed in making your stay a memorable one!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I visited this hotel during my honeymoon, i booked this option after discussing with many people and after exploring many options but finally selected this hotel because o its wonderful location and scenic beauty.

Hotel staff was very support and was ready to help you 24X7. they have large selection in Indian food ( veg & Non Veg) so I never struggled for food though I am a vegetarian.

Hotel has a privet beach with makes your stay as special once, they do have number of water sports to make you enjoy each and every moment.

Candle light dinner at beach restaurant was my best experience of my trip. I must say its a perfect place to plan the best moment of life. I am sure whenever I plan to visit Mauritiues I am going to revisit this place for sure :)

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room with balcony or garden option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very honoured to read that you selected our resort among others for your honeymoon stay.

Your appreciation notes are simply gratifying and cannot thank you enough for giving us the opportunity in making this holiday a wonderful recall!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Ambre for a week in May (Travelzoo deal with Kuoni). The hotel is stunning, very relaxed vibe, great furnishings, oversized white sofas with loads of cushions to laze on. More sunbeds than people - so never had to worry about finding one in the sun or the shade. The hotel was reasonably quiet as its their Winter - the weather was good, certainly hot enough without it being too hot to lie out in.

The hotel stretches out both ways from the pool/bar/reception/restuarants and we had a lovely room (166) on the ground floor just behind the boat house - great view of the sea.

Ambre sits at the end of a beautiful palm tree backed bay, the walk up towards the Lux and round into the next bay is simply stunning.

the Food and hospitality at Ambre is the best we have had anywhere. How many all inclusives offer you the wine to taste before pouring? Or where you can order from a menu for lunch and get Tuna Tartar or Beef Carpaccio whilst sitting barefoot on the beach under the thatched roof of la Plage restaurant. We ate there everyday - simply perfect. The buffet was excellent as well - loads of choice and beautifully presented. The Italian was really good as well (spider crab for starters and beautiful meat or fish mains).

The service is very attentive Puttee (the Food and Beverages Manager - so sorry if i have spelt the name wrong) is fabulous always visible and making sure that everything is ok. He remembered all the guests, what you had talked about where you were going that day etc - really great service. We had been out for an early morning trip (Dolphins) and arrived back just after breakfast had closed - he arranged for pastries and tea and coffee and fresh fruit to be brought to us. His team are also great - the boys and girls in the bar always on hand to ask you if you needed another drink. Great easy going service. There is free golf at Ile de Cerfs as well, and a free shuttle bus to take you there. Reception were helpful and everyone was just lovely.

Not sure what more to add other than - its fabulous!

Room Tip: We were ocean facing and a little way from reception which meant we had a beautiful view and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to share your most positive comments on Trip Advisor, pertaining your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We were very pleased to read how much you have enjoyed your stay amongst us. Your appreciation note will be shared with Mr Puttee and the entire team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great experience in our piece of paradise!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent my honeymoon here - the service & the food was impeccable; the buffet was great and featured a different theme each night so that you did not get bored of your meals. Actual room facilities were great and housekeeping was efficient and regular. Only downside is that if you are looking for a quiet couples holiday this is not 100% ideal - there are a lot of families with young kids running around. Also, there is a lack of adult only night-time entertainment. They have a bar and a small club but children as young as 10 years old were in these facilities. Quality of entertainment at the Coral Bar at night was acceptable but not fantastic - dancers and singers lacked some professional entertainment training. In general, getting to other places on the island is on the expensive side. Overall though, the hotel looks after you really well and the weather and views are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all, allow me to thank you for choosing our resort for your honeymoon stay!

We have taken note of your comments with great care and noticed that you left the resort with mixed feelings, for which we extend our sincere apologies!

We wish to reassure you that the points detailed pertaining the entertainment programme have been addressed to members concerned, following which the entire programme has been recently reviewed!

We value your feedback very much as we continuously strive to thoroughly delight all our guests.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience at Ambre Hotel!

With our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently returned from our honeymoon at the Ambre Hotel Mauritius (16th – 23rd May 13) which was just amazing. The hotel staff where so attentive to ALL needs. The food was plentiful, varied, a lot was freshly cooked for you and all tasted superb. The drinks were all very good quality too. I did become ill during our stay, no fault of the hotels, I contracted a throat and ear infection on the first leg of our trip, and the hotel were very good in getting in the local doctor for me, who again was very good. The bar / beach / restaurant staff always had a smile for you and no wonder with the setting they get to work in every day. The hotel and the beach were spotless at all times. On the beach there are various water sports that you can use, and there is plenty so there was never a wait. Snorkelling was good fun too as the water was still warm enough even though they were in the transition from summer to winter. There was no shortage of beds on the beach or around the pool, it was hard to choose which to use as the vista from both is spectacular. The room we had as an upgrade for our honeymoon was big and airy with a fab view of the beach. We had 2 big comfy cup/slouch chairs in our room and took to having 10 mins chill out / cool down when we got back from the beach. Our shower was huge and there was always hot water lol The hotel shop is well stocked with anything you may have forgotten and at not bad prices either. The grounds of the hotel are immaculately kept by a gang of gardeners who do a great job of keeping the place beautiful. We didn’t use the gym but it did look well equipped and clean. The Coral bar offers entertainment of an evening which I have to say was great every night. There are visiting dancers that come in and the resident dj and the “compare” for want of a better word were great too. All in all we had a fabulous time at the Ambre and our only regret is that we didn’t get out to see the Island, but with me being ill it wasn’t an option. We will most certainly be going back at some point and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Sue & Glenn Stones, East Yorkshire

Room Tip: in the winter months it is quieter which starts early May and then back to summer as of November so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing your very encouraging and overwhelming note pertaining your Honeymoon stay in our resort and are very pleased to read that we have been able to make it into a wonderful recall.

We note with great delight your appreciation with regards to the various services and facilites provided and are pleased that we have been able to exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to the soonest opportunity to welcoming you back to our shores for another memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambre Resort - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is located at palmar, on the east coast of mauritius. The resort is one hour away from theairport; one hour from port Louis, the capital city and 20 mins fromile aux Cerfs. The resort boasts a 700-metres long white natural sandy beachrunning along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Ambre is a four-star resort set in a tropical, easy-going environment, where island living can be experienced at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambre Resort - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.