We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Paradise Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambre Resort - All Inclusive to your Saves list
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Paradise Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just come back last week from a 7 night stay at the Ambre hotel well were do i start when the transportation turned up outside the hotel me and my husband thought okay its just a another hotel nothing special but as we went inside the hotel we got the shock of our lives paradise we were so overwhelmed with what we seen they say ambre hotel is a 4 star hotel but as far as we are concerned its a 5 star hotel, what we saw on travelzoo the hotel bedroom, is what we got the food was lovely with the fine dine lunch on the beach the italian restaurant was very good and the main restaurant indigo was excellent with the wide choice of food to eat, the entertainment on the night was wicked with desire and oli tamby the dancers and singers on different nights were very good also, all the hotel staff waitresses, chef, cook and cleaning staff for the room was very helpful and very pleasant they also made our holiday, we will return to this hotel again to stay one day but not sure when this holiday is the best holiday we have been on and will never forget

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your most positive comments and informing us about your wonderful and unforgettable stay at Ambre!

We will be looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in our little paradise, soon.

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    294
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
154
825
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights on an AI package with Kuoni.

Hotel
Modern, bright and spacious. Grounds are immaculate, 5* setting. Free WIFI in lobby area. Pools are lovely. Beach does get seaweed washed up which local people collect daily. No problems getting seats, sunbeds but we were out of season, apparently October is their busiest time. Service is exceptional. The staff really can't do enough to help you.

Rooms
We had a standard double on the ground floor. Suggest that they are more 3* compared with the 5* setting. Generally they are clean and tidy, there's plenty of room. Plenty of fresh clean towels (beach towels on card exchange system). Flat screen TV with about 20 channels (3 English movie channels). Safe in room (no additional charge) is large enough for ipads. Plug-in mosquito repellent (no additional charge) is an added bonus. Downside is that decor is poor. Paint splashed on fittings, cracked tiles, broken shower, lock/key fitting on bathroom doors.
Rooms blocks are over 3 floors, no lifts.

Food and drink
3 restaurants: 1 x buffet, 2 x a la carte.
Buffet - good selection at all meal times. Breakfasts: as you would find in British hotels. Cereal, pancakes, fresh fruit, yoghurt, sausage, bacon, eggs cooked to order etc. No lunch service in buffet restaurant (a la carte and bar menu only). Evenings: salads, soups, roast option, pasta, pizza, various curries, stews, selection of bite size cakes and gateaux, ice cream, mousses and fruit.
A la carte - good selection of meals, 3 courses available. Generally pasta options, burgers, steaks, chicken and fish dishes.
Bar menu - variety of excellent quality sandwiches, burgers, fruit platters, ice cream. Expect to pay around 600MUR for a club sandwich with fries.
Overall, not a huge variety of vegetarian options, even the salads have meat and fish through them but great vegetarian curry options at evening buffet.
Bars - 2 x bars and 1 x nightclub. We were here out of season so bars and nightclub were empty. Good selection of local drinks in AI. Expect to pay around 300MUR (£6.50) for a cocktail, a glass of wine or beer, 160MUR for a coca cola. Branded drinks from 500MUR upwards.

Activities
Plenty of water based sports included on AI. Snorkeling, glass bottom boat trip, kayaks, pedalos. Summertimes trip company has desk in reception for other trips. We did Charms and Flavours tour with Kuoni (who use Summertimes) for £69pp. Whole day including lunch, was very good value. Whole day tours are approx £70pp, half day tours £35pp.
Tip - for AI guests, hotel will provide a picnic basket for you if you're out of the hotel all day. Was a great back up for our trip and we then had additional drinks and snacks throughout the day.

Entertainment
Hotel tries hard but this is a let down. Every evening at 10pm for about half an hour there is a show of some kind. We watched a magic show and some local dancing but really not our cup of tea.

Tips:
Go AI if you can, the drinks are quite expensive.
Take mosquito repellent with 50% deet.
If AI, you have to sign for everything. Make sure each item has an asterisk next to it - this means it's part of the AI package. Just ask staff to clarify - they're very helpful.
Tips aren't expected but are very much appreciated. We took £100 (4500 MUR) with us and got the reception to change into smaller denominations so we could tip more people frequently. Porters expect around 200MUR.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests

We thank you for choosing Ambre Hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your experience your comments.

We very much take at heart your feedback as we continuously strive for perfection and in attaining our objective to thoroughly delight all our guests.

On the same note, we noticed that the room facilties and the entertainment were not fully to your expectations for which we would like to express our most profuse apologies. We do however expect that you will treasure good souvenirs from Ambre!

We look forward to the pleasure to delight you in a not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We decided to break the trip to Mauritius by having 2 days in Dubai.Our opinion of Dubai is that it is a modern desert City with high skyscrapers and lots of traffic and the only thing to visit is the Burg Khalifa [tallest building in the World] and the Aquarium in the shopping mall which is a 3 story high tank with very high spec clear glass with no distortion.In this they house 8/9 ft sharks ,stingrays etc with divers actually entering to feed the many species of fish.So then a 6 hour flight down to Mauritius.The 1 hour transfer from the airport to the hotel itself is lovely.A small coastal road is taken with the sea one side and Sugar and Pineapple fields the other most of the way.Arriving at the hotel we were met by very courteous staff but appearing to be disorganized re room availability and subsequently had an hour wait.[appears to be a common but not drastic complaint].As others say,its a low rise modern Hotel with all rooms off of the reception area and spread out along the beach.Do try to organize a sea facing room as the alternative is to face inland with nothing of a view to write about.A big let down to the hotel is the pathway to these appartments at the rear,as is in a poor state and dangerous ,especially for ladies in any type of heal.[please be warned] .Big gaps between the paving slabs which need pointing up.Another slight and unmentioned negative is that the sand and access into the sea is littered with broken Coral and as such you will need to purchase sea shoes especially if you want to swim in the sea.These can be purchased locally in the village for about £15.[i cut my foot first day so be warned].The pool and gardens are really nicely kept and generally,this hotel is a very good 4*.But,what pleasantly surprised me though is the STANDARD OF THE FOOD.Been to many "all inclusives" all over, but this was by far the best we have experienced.Due to the islands Indian influence,we had 3-4 different curries every night to choose from and i mean very good quality even though produced for so many.We also had legs of Venison,a wide range Sushi,Chicken in various forms .Pork,fantastic variety of fish and prawns grilled and cooked in front of you and not "just warmed up in an oven".Where else can you get smoked Marlin available at most meals? Even the vegetables and salads were good quality.Cant go on enough about the food presented to us and i praise the chefs for presenting 5* food throughout our stay.Re things to do and see...One small tip is to organize a Speedboat trip through a "local" guy who visits the beach and i think who is called Mackintosh !! [anyway its a scottish name].We negotiated a price for 4 of us @ approx £65 each to take us down the island within the reef for a day and he showed us places,no others will due to his knowledge.You can feed wild Monkeys up a river on the way to a waterfall.The skipper even let all of us have a go at driving the speedboat Lunch was cooked on a beautiful island and included Lobster..All in all a really enjoyable holiday and booked via a Travelzoo "special" ,

Room Tip: ask for sea facing room and on the ground position if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you to our resort and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

The points raised relative to the rooms's availability upon check-in, pathways and beach cleanliness are valid which have been already discussed and reviewed with members concerned.

We wish to reassure you that we are doing our utmost to correct the inconveniences encountered.

Truly we hope to be able to provide you with the hospitality for which Ambre is well known for upon your next visit amongst us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

very good place to stay for the prise we pay , with senic view and pool on beach front and water sport it offers , clean and confortable large rooms , resort games and night live entertainment , to know it you have to be here

Room Tip: ask for a sea side room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ambre for your recent stay and for the time taken to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are thoroughtly delighted to read that we have been able to make your stay a memorable one!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just come back from a 7-night stay at Ambre hotel and we are still overwhelmed at how wonderful the trip was. You'll experience 5-star service at this breath-taking 4-star hotel, that is consistent throughout your stay. From the reception to the lady handing out towels on the beach, each person took special care to meet our needs and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was absolutely outstanding! An enormous selection of tastes and flavours at the breakfast and dinner buffet tables that included exotic dishes as well traditional dishes such as good 'ol roast chicken.

Ambre overlooks a little bay that is very sheltered from the wind - this was important. The activities by the boat house were great. We kayaked, learned to windsurf, went on the peddle boat and snorkeled from the glass bottom boat. The team on hand is super efficient and friendly.

The amenities are spectacular. The eternity pool has a number of different levels and sections, there are 3 different restaurants so you never get board, and there's even a fun games room where you can play table tennis, pool and foosball. The night entertainment was really fun and light hearted. I have stayed at many hotels and this one outshines them all. If we return to Mauritius I won't even think twice about coming back to Ambre.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is such that whichever room you get, it'll be peaceful and you'll re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed and most positive comments relative to your recent stay at Ambre!

Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not-too-distant future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in May, check in was quick and smooth and we were shown to our room by a friendly receptionist. Room just as described in the brochure, clean fresh and very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony which was great to chill out after a day at the pool. The service in all areas is exceptional with friendly and efficient staff. Food is good with plenty of choice at all meals, very impressed with the fresh fruit offer at breakfast. The bar is comfortable with plenty seats and a good atmosphere.
Plenty sun beds both on the beach and round the pool.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, but on all inclusive as the bar prices are steep.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony request this when booking and most 1st floor rooms only have a window, or terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

We wish to extend our heartfelt thanks for choosing Ambre for your stay and for the time taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to read that we have been able to exceed your expectations and that we have been able to make your stay a memorable one!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our great hotel!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just spent a week at the Ambre with my mum. The check in left a bit to be desired, they know you're coming so why it takes forever to hand over the keys and get you to the room I can't imagine. Once you are beyond that there really is nothing to complain about. Lovely room, steps from the beach. Lovely food plenty of selection. We were on an all inc package. Everywhere was clean and everyone was helpful and friendly. There are lots of activities if you want to join in. Rented a car from the desk in the hotel very helpful and easy. Drove to pamplemouse gardens and sugar plantation. Port Louise, then up go Grand Bay and round the N.E coat to hotel Beautiful.

Room Tip: I did e-mail and ask for a ground floor room close to facilities, because I've had 2 hip replace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing your comments relative to your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We take note with great care your feedback pertaining the check-in formalities and extend our apologies for the inconvenience encountered and would like to thank you for the opportunity offered to welcome you in our resort.

Looking forward to the soonest opportunity for another experience amongst us.

With our sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambre Resort - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort - All Inclusive

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is located at palmar, on the east coast of mauritius. The resort is one hour away from theairport; one hour from port Louis, the capital city and 20 mins fromile aux Cerfs. The resort boasts a 700-metres long white natural sandy beachrunning along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Ambre is a four-star resort set in a tropical, easy-going environment, where island living can be experienced at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambre Resort - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambre Resort - All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.