We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Save Saved
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% On Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outdated and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed in an upper level Junior Suite for 5 days over the Easter Period. We have stayed at the One and Only in Cape Town, which we loved, and very excited about staying at Saint Geran. At the time of booking we were debating as to whether to stay at Le Touesrok or Saint Geran and were told by our travel agent that Saint Geran was much nicer.

What we discovered upon arrival was that the communal areas, including the reception, main pool, main restaurant and pool bar area were completed outdated and not even worthy of a three star hotel. We could not actually belive that the establishment carried the One and Only branding and charged for such facilities. We had just come from Sugar Beach hotel which was recently refurbished and were horrified at being charged 3 times the price to stay at a resort that was old and shabby to say the least.

That being said the service at the hotel was impecable and the rooms, albeit a bit dated, were spacious and have beautiful views over the see. The approach of the boat-house staff and access to recreational activities is unsurpassed, guests can waterski, wakeboard etc any time of day, snorkelling excursions are 4 times daily and they will accomodate you on your own snorkelling excursion without any extra fees. The sailing on Hobie Cats is also amazing due to the onshore winds off the East Coast. The snorkelling is also some of the best in Mauritius. The entertainment at night was the best we have ever experienced and the food at the Iles De Spoons restaurant was amazing.

While bottled water is complimentary at the hotel we were horrified as to what we were charged for soft drinks and water when ordering at the hotel restaurant. To give you an idea a bottle of water at the Mauritian supermarket costs about 15 MUR while at the hotel it is charged at 200MUR and we have never experienced 1000% mark-ups elsewhere in the world.

The hotel is well located with a semi-private lagoon for watersports, but seriously needs revamping and should not continue to hold the One and Only branding until refurbished. I heard from other guests that the hotel was already supposed to be closed for refurbishment but it has been held off due to the recession. I must also point out that the hotel gardens are some of the best I have ever seen and the bird life and fish contained therein are really beautiful. I hope the gardens are retained in the renovation process. I understand that the existing golf course will be used for the building of villas.

We did visit Le Touesrok for lunch during our stay and really loved the place, the rooms are more modern and the hotel has several pools, including a quiet leisure pool which Saint Geran lacked (other than the lap pool at the spa). The main Le Touesrock restaurant, however, also needs some attention. The service was amazing that we received while being shown around the resort.

Just as an aside I understand that while these hotels were linked in the past Sun Resorts who own Le Touesrok, Sugar Beach and others no longer allow Kerzner International to manage their resorts, and Kerzner only manage Saint Geran.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    84
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
168
278
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at Saint Geran for two nights at the end of our holiday in Mauritius. The hotel is beautiful and the location is wonderful. We loved standing on the jetty to watch the shoals of zebra fish and were lucky enough to see porpoise jumping at sea. The service was excellent throughout the hotel. Our room was a junior suite and was large and roomy with good fixtures and fittings. However, the air conditioning was not very effective and the room felt damp. We kept the aircon and fan on at all times but everything still felt damp. The weather was especially humid while we were there but at the other two hotels we stayed at the rooms were very dry. We ate at the Alain Ducasse restaurant at the hotel and that was an excellent dining experience. Yes, it was expensive but that is to be expected at a five star hotel. The hotel was quite quiet when we were there so we did manage to get a sunbed at the beach, however, the appalling practice of hanging sarongs on the beach umbrellas to secure sunbeds was prevalent daily. We felt that the staff should be discouraging this as people were "bagging" their sunbed and then going for a long breakfast or lunch and not using them all the time. Dreadful - you expect this in Spain but not there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

My friend and I spent a relaxing week at Le Saint Geran booked through Emirates, we also arranged for a helicopter transfer after reading some previous posts!

Good points
1. Rooms are large and spacious
2. The Butler service to unpack your suitcases was simply heavenly. After a long trip from the UK via Dubai, it was nice to just put on a bikini, and leave the unpacking to someone else!
3. Rasoi was fabulous
4. You can generally find "child free" spaces on the beech
5. Spa pool was a welcome sanctuary
6. The beech service was great, the flag system works really well. A do not disturb sign keeps them away, but a green flag is answered promptly.

Bad point
1. They are annoyingly child friendly (not great if you don't have them)
2. Breakfast is not a calm experience (unless you do this in your room)
3. Whilst the service is great, it can be slightly impersonal. Having stayed at many 5* hotels their staff are undoubtedly well trained, but le saint geran is bigger than you think so if you want a boutique experience this one may not be for you.
4. If you book a helicopter transfer, you will be charged for an additional car for your luggage, not a problem, just tell me beforehand!
5. The butlers change, don't expect to see the same one each day
6. They would really benefit from having a child free zone on the beach, this way both sets of guest remain relaxed. We managed to sweet talk one of the beach staff to ensure that children were placed elsewhere!

Having said all this, we would definately return! The get all the little things right, which makes you forget the canteen breakfast scrum!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We booked our holiday through Susie Freeman Travel who we thought were excellent . All our travel arrangements were impecable and we were fortunate to speak to Susie herself whose advise on Le St Geran was spot on. I know that this is one of her personal favourites and we could certainly see why.

From the moment we arrived the staff were amazing. Throughout our stay they all knew us all by our names which is some feat in a hotel of that size.

Our rooms which were two adjacent junior suites were very comfortable and well appointed. The butler service was second to none. They always arrived very quickly and dealt with any of our requests efficiently and quickly.

The main restaurant is lovely and we ate there every night as we enjoyed the ambience of the band. However we felt that the buffets lacked variety and the service was sometimes slow at dinner. Susie had recommended that we have a table outside on one of the Islands which she prebooked for us and we were very glad that she did as its a top tip to have a table there. Breakfast was fantastic and undoubtedly the best we have ever had! There was such a choice and all the eggs are cooked to order.

We did not eat at Rasoi or Spoons as we were put off by the prices. Our only real complaint was the prices of the wines which are totally OTT. A bottle that would cost about £10 at home was at least £80! It is such ashame as I think many more people would sit up and enjoy their superb band in the bar at night but they are not happy to pay the prices in the bar and restaurant.

It was a wonderfful holiday and we would certainly recommend Le St Geran and Susie Freeman Travel without hesitation.

Our boys spent most of their days either in or on the water. The boathouse at St Gearn is exceptional as its on a protected lagoon and so good to learn water ski.

Their golf course is extremely well run and its a very pretty course. The gym is good and I enjoyed the lap pool at the Spa.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We have stayed at the St Geran twice and whilst we had a lovely holiday, we had some reservations. It is a totally relaxing holiday and the rooms are divine. We have 2 little children (aged 2 and 5) and it is great to have a hotel where they are totally entertained at Kids Club and with babysitters.
We did have problems the last time we were there as we were surprised by the high prices charged for babysitting, but I hear they have changed this slightly.
The service was second to none. Every request was always granted and the butlers were very courteous and efficient. The gym was great with modern equipment and I used it every day. The spa was lovely and the treatments top class.
The main issue for us were the dining options within the hotel. In the evening the dress code is rather prescriptive - shirts for men, (short sleeve ok) and no flip flops ... for us this is a little formal for a beach holiday. I do understand the reason for it as it is nice to dress up but it makes it that little too formal for me. Having one restaurant with this dress code is nice, but for all of them is assuming that all discerning travellers want these formalities.
Whilst the main restaurant is nice, we felt the buffets lacked variety that we would expect of a hotel at this standard. You could also order off the chefs special menu each evening and we sometimes would mix and match these dishes with some selections from the buffet.
We did not try Spoon - I just can't see why I would eat at a Ducasse restaurant outside of France. The prices were crazy - I would pay it in France but in Mauritius? And it seemed most other guests felt the same way as there were never more than a few diners in there. Same with the Rasoi. We live in London so I can eat at his restaurant here and I can't justify paying extra for the privilege at the St Geran. We did have dinner at Rasoi during our first stay and it was nice, and lunch was a nice option.
All in all, if you want old world glamour and service, this hotel would be for you. If you want luxury but on an informal basis, I'd look to some of the other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Had read the reviews and wondered about staying here. The rooms are great, large, clean and touches such as choosing your "night time relaxing oil" for the oil burner are great. Its not "balinese pavillion" style but it doesnt need re-furbishing yet. Its a traditional "grande dame" style. Service was good but not over formal (unlike the Prince Maurice). Food in the buffet restaurant was great but we werent too impressed with the other two a la carte restaurants - food not great and not worth the money. Yes food and wine are always expensive in 5 star hotels but this took it to another level - a £15 bottle of wine in the uk retailed in the restaurant for over £100. Would also like to see them divide rooms if at all possible between kids/non kids wings as they do in some other hotels . We had a very loud toddler under our room that ruined sitting on the balcony relaxing with a drink in the evening. Beach is beautiful and great to walk along. They have a rather strange arrangement in the main restaurant around requesting a table outside and only being seated there when people leave and the table frees up rather than who dines first. Would we stay again - yes we would - its low key luxury.. The pool is nice although you are swimming around the restaurant. Sea is shallow and sandy though. Rooms overlook the beach or the lagoon - both are nice although the lagoon is muddier and less beach (and seemed windier) so would choose beachside if possible. Although the lagoon rooms face west so you get more of the sun on the rooms. The only place we've ever stayed where the very visible general manager walked the resort at least twice a day talking to all guests. Great customer service. Little wonder they have a high percentage of repeat guests..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have just recently returned from a holiday in this beautiful hotel with a location that can only be described as a “little piece of heaven” . From the moment we arrived ( after a very long flight ) - we were treated with unfailing courtesy and to a level of service that is usually promised in other five star hotels but not always delivered. The Butler service was excellent and any request was carried out quickly and efficiently. It may seem like a minor detail but some things just make the difference – we are early birds, preferring to spend an hour or two on the beach before breakfast, we asked if our room could be serviced during this period and this was attended to without fail.

The food was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the Rasoi, however the main restaurant La Terrasse has a lovely ambience in the evening with live entertainment in the Bar area.

A few nights into our stay we decided to eat out at another nearby 5 star hotel. It did not compare favourably in any respect, thereafter we stayed put at Le Saint Geran.
On our last evening we decided to have room service dinner as we had a very early departure and this was simply superb.

Before we arrived we read other reviews which mention the room décor and whilst we agree that the furnishings are perhaps a little dated the rooms are extremely comfortable with all the modern amenities you would expect - wi-fi etc. The bathroom is luxurious and the only thing missing was weighing scales ! - probably a good thing.

Cost – it is not cheap, however this is not helped by the low value of the pound and I suppose you only get what you pay for.

Would we return – someday we hope.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in its own private peninsula on the coast of Mauritius, fringed by over a mile of white sand beaches. Terraced and balconied rooms all face out privately to the Indian Ocean. Under the calm sway of countless coconut palms, 60 acres of grounds take in tropical gardens, poolside and ocean dining.Enjoy our complimentary green fees for the Gary Player 9 Holes Golf Course or re-energise with complimentary water sports and water skiing.Children from 3 to 11 years old are more than welcome in our KidsOnly Club, with amazing daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
One And Only Le Saint Geran
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.