We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We travelled with our 3 children, 4,4,3 yrs of age in September 2011. The children loved it! The beach and pool are beautiful. The kids club was fantastic although our children didn't use it very often as they just wanted to be with us. The service was fantastic nothing was a problem.The rooms were great. The Indian restaurant served the best indian food I have ever sampled. The main restaurant had a wonderful selection of food. This is a lovely hotel and is great for kids!
The spa was fantastic too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    101
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
190
316
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
592 reviews 592 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
1,081 helpful votes 1,081 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Despite facing competition from newer luxury hotels on the island the Le Saint Geran remains the hotel to beat. We were surprised to find that many of the guests we met at the hotel were repeat customers who have stayed several times - loyalty such as this is always a good sign especially to ourseves and this was our first visit.
The hotel is set in very large grounds, the gardens are mature because it takes years to establish. Because the hotel was one of the first on the island they picked a prime location with the best beach. Rooms are large and spacious, you could argue that they could be more modern but I like the way they are.
Where the hotel excels is in their service levels. Although this was our first visit, the staff made us feel like we belonged and that we had been there many times.
We travel and stay at good hotels often, and the Le Saint Geran is up there with the very best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our suite was on the first floor with lovely views over the lagoon.
The staff were both friendly and helpful and made our stay.
The golf course although 9 holes was challenging and on most days we almost had it to ourselves .
Food was first class but the wine although good quality was expensive.
We hope to return in the near future

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back after a night here for a weekend getaway.....and it's not all that it has been built up to be.

The hotel is VERY quiet, it was at 50% occupancy, service was OK (as like everywhere in Mauritius, they do try hard, BUT they just lack basic personal service skills).

Had Sunday brunch today at the La Terrasse restaurant by the pool.....again, service was OK, and food was ok.

Next time i come here, i want to taste "Rasoi by Veenet" which i hear is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Something in a total different class. See can see 5 star luxury plus at this hotel. Everything we saw was amazing, but also at a huge price difference and quite expensive. For some romantic couple anniversary this is the place to be!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights for our Honeymoon, and could not recommend the One & Only any more highly. The resort is in a beautiful location and has a selection of luxurious facilities. The staff were the most attentive and helpful I have ever has the pleasure of meeting, nothing was too much trouble and they consistently went the extra mile to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. The food was fantastic, the watersports brilliant and my husband very much enjoyed the golf course.

The only small negative was the high price of suntan lotion, paracetamol, etc, in the hotel shop -However, I guess this is to be expected in such an exclusive resort! We quickly learnt that the nearby town is only a short taxi drive away, and that this was quite a nice morning out and a far more cost effective way of picking up a few little essentials. The hotel were happy to book a taxi for us and give us directions of where to go.

Thanks One & Only for a beautiful Honeymoon, we hope to come back soon and are looking at booking a holiday to another of your beautiful resorts this year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dear All

Most of the reviewers in here are tourists from overseas countries who stayed at the One&Only Le Saint Geran. I, as a local Mauritian, wanted to share the bad experience that my family and I encountered while staying at this hotel. We checked in this hotel on the 10th of February 2013 to celebrate Chinese New Year. We were excited to take a mini break from our daily lives. The welcoming party was great and everything seems to be perfect. The dinner buffet at La Terrasse was yummy and lavish. However, in the morning of the 11th of February 2013, our nightmare began. It was around 7 am when a Guest Relation Officer came to our room to advise us that a coconut had fallen from a coconut tree and had broken the rear windshield of our car which was parked on the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran. Please be advised that the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran has plenty of coconut trees and you have to be beware of them. We could not believe that this coconut had fallen off from a tree and happened to break the windshield of our car. It was only the Guest Relations Officer who managed to help us a bit. He advised us that we have to go to the nearby police station to declare this accident. It took us almost half a day to do all those paperworks for this accident. Meanwhile, at the hotel, neither of the top Management had the descency to advise us what are the requirements needed when such an accident happened on the premises of the hotel. We were not even offered any apologies on that same day. We were at a complete lost what to do with the car and what the hotel was planning to do and how would they help us? The insurance company which takes care of our car advised us that it's only the insurance company of the hotel which needs to be involved in this matter. It's only the following day that we went to see the Guest Relations Officer again and asked him that we need to see someone from the top management to help us since we couldn't drive back home in this damaged car and it was also heavily pouring as well. The top management sent their Director of Finance to talk to us about the steps to be taken in this matter. However, todate, things are still running very slowly since the Director of Finance have to liaise with their head office and insurance company which is located in Florida and there is a time difference of -9 hours between Mauritius and Florida, USA.

We are very upset about this whole loss and how One&Only Le Saint Geran is very slow in taking decisions since they have to refer back to their head office in the States. I just wonder if we were not locals and we were tourists instead would One&Only take this matter differently?

Sorry to say, I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Le Saint Geran. I regret to hear about your experience which is certainly not consistent with the standards for which the St Geran is known and which our loyal guests often compliment us on.

Your stay coincided with a rainy spell of weather during which we received torrential rains with windy conditions that caused major flooding in many areas of Mauritius and damage to homes around the island. We take great care to maintain our hotel buildings and property, and the coconut in our gardens falling on your car – could unfortunately not have been predicted. This is the first time we have ever experienced this.

I believe it is important for the Trip advisor reader and what your review fails to state is how the matter was handled on Thursday when your mail reached my office. I think it is only fair to give the viewers the full and complete picture. I was actually surprised to see this review as I was already personally handling the matter with you including getting your car repaired by the dealership of your choice and setting up a rental car for you during the time of repairs.
All expenses were handled by the hotel, as this unfortunate incident was indeed our responsibility.

One&Only Le Saint Geran operates under the highest levels of integrity and professionalism and your remarks regarding local versus tourists is simply uncalled for.

Personal Regards,
Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in its own private peninsula on the coast of Mauritius, fringed by over a mile of white sand beaches. Terraced and balconied rooms all face out privately to the Indian Ocean. Under the calm sway of countless coconut palms, 60 acres of grounds take in tropical gardens, poolside and ocean dining.Enjoy our complimentary green fees for the Gary Player 9 Holes Golf Course or re-energise with complimentary water sports and water skiing.Children from 3 to 11 years old are more than welcome in our KidsOnly Club, with amazing daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo, Jetsetter and South African Hotels so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.