We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Save Saved
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% On Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Lymm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our suite was on the first floor with lovely views over the lagoon.
The staff were both friendly and helpful and made our stay.
The golf course although 9 holes was challenging and on most days we almost had it to ourselves .
Food was first class but the wine although good quality was expensive.
We hope to return in the near future

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    84
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
168
278
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back after a night here for a weekend getaway.....and it's not all that it has been built up to be.

The hotel is VERY quiet, it was at 50% occupancy, service was OK (as like everywhere in Mauritius, they do try hard, BUT they just lack basic personal service skills).

Had Sunday brunch today at the La Terrasse restaurant by the pool.....again, service was OK, and food was ok.

Next time i come here, i want to taste "Rasoi by Veenet" which i hear is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Something in a total different class. See can see 5 star luxury plus at this hotel. Everything we saw was amazing, but also at a huge price difference and quite expensive. For some romantic couple anniversary this is the place to be!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights for our Honeymoon, and could not recommend the One & Only any more highly. The resort is in a beautiful location and has a selection of luxurious facilities. The staff were the most attentive and helpful I have ever has the pleasure of meeting, nothing was too much trouble and they consistently went the extra mile to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. The food was fantastic, the watersports brilliant and my husband very much enjoyed the golf course.

The only small negative was the high price of suntan lotion, paracetamol, etc, in the hotel shop -However, I guess this is to be expected in such an exclusive resort! We quickly learnt that the nearby town is only a short taxi drive away, and that this was quite a nice morning out and a far more cost effective way of picking up a few little essentials. The hotel were happy to book a taxi for us and give us directions of where to go.

Thanks One & Only for a beautiful Honeymoon, we hope to come back soon and are looking at booking a holiday to another of your beautiful resorts this year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dear All

Most of the reviewers in here are tourists from overseas countries who stayed at the One&Only Le Saint Geran. I, as a local Mauritian, wanted to share the bad experience that my family and I encountered while staying at this hotel. We checked in this hotel on the 10th of February 2013 to celebrate Chinese New Year. We were excited to take a mini break from our daily lives. The welcoming party was great and everything seems to be perfect. The dinner buffet at La Terrasse was yummy and lavish. However, in the morning of the 11th of February 2013, our nightmare began. It was around 7 am when a Guest Relation Officer came to our room to advise us that a coconut had fallen from a coconut tree and had broken the rear windshield of our car which was parked on the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran. Please be advised that the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran has plenty of coconut trees and you have to be beware of them. We could not believe that this coconut had fallen off from a tree and happened to break the windshield of our car. It was only the Guest Relations Officer who managed to help us a bit. He advised us that we have to go to the nearby police station to declare this accident. It took us almost half a day to do all those paperworks for this accident. Meanwhile, at the hotel, neither of the top Management had the descency to advise us what are the requirements needed when such an accident happened on the premises of the hotel. We were not even offered any apologies on that same day. We were at a complete lost what to do with the car and what the hotel was planning to do and how would they help us? The insurance company which takes care of our car advised us that it's only the insurance company of the hotel which needs to be involved in this matter. It's only the following day that we went to see the Guest Relations Officer again and asked him that we need to see someone from the top management to help us since we couldn't drive back home in this damaged car and it was also heavily pouring as well. The top management sent their Director of Finance to talk to us about the steps to be taken in this matter. However, todate, things are still running very slowly since the Director of Finance have to liaise with their head office and insurance company which is located in Florida and there is a time difference of -9 hours between Mauritius and Florida, USA.

We are very upset about this whole loss and how One&Only Le Saint Geran is very slow in taking decisions since they have to refer back to their head office in the States. I just wonder if we were not locals and we were tourists instead would One&Only take this matter differently?

Sorry to say, I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Le Saint Geran. I regret to hear about your experience which is certainly not consistent with the standards for which the St Geran is known and which our loyal guests often compliment us on.

Your stay coincided with a rainy spell of weather during which we received torrential rains with windy conditions that caused major flooding in many areas of Mauritius and damage to homes around the island. We take great care to maintain our hotel buildings and property, and the coconut in our gardens falling on your car – could unfortunately not have been predicted. This is the first time we have ever experienced this.

I believe it is important for the Trip advisor reader and what your review fails to state is how the matter was handled on Thursday when your mail reached my office. I think it is only fair to give the viewers the full and complete picture. I was actually surprised to see this review as I was already personally handling the matter with you including getting your car repaired by the dealership of your choice and setting up a rental car for you during the time of repairs.
All expenses were handled by the hotel, as this unfortunate incident was indeed our responsibility.

One&Only Le Saint Geran operates under the highest levels of integrity and professionalism and your remarks regarding local versus tourists is simply uncalled for.

Personal Regards,
Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel with lots of amenities. Lovely quiet location looking onto the Indian Ocean. Hotel is one of the best I have been to in the world. Staff very friendly and very eager to help. Meals are to die for with lots of choices from all the restaurants. First time I tried Sea Urchins. Hotel has excellent entertainment. Your can relax on the lovely beach at one side and on the other is a lovely lagoon. Fishing, snorkling, golfing & tennis are all on hand.The hotel has its own Helipad where you can arrive or be taken to the airport, lovely experience to see parts of the island. I want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is luxury at its best. this was our third visit and the service on the beach was excellent . We found the food good but not quite as many options as on our pervious visits, and certainly less staff to assist at dinner and breakfast. There were quite a few very young children but they seemed to use the kiddy club and were not a problem for couples, like us, on their own. The staff were very helpful. Our room had a couple of faults, a leaky bath and a faulty electric socket, These were reported but not resolved. and our room was in need of an update, but still pleasant. We ate in the two other restaurant which were very nice, but you do not get much of a supplement for not eating in the main restaurant. There is lots to do if you want too, water sports, golf, tennis etc and the spa is excellent, my therapist was fabulous. There was afternoon tea by the pool with pancakes etc, however we were surprised this was not complimentary as other one and only hotel (i.e. reethi rah in the maldives) provide this free. this resulted it people coming together and having drinks at the bar and the children coming together too. which was very nice if you wanted to socialise a little. The afternoon tea at the saint Geran was £8.00 per head which we thought a little over the top. consequently we didn't see anyone there . Over all the hotel is worth a visit. We would go again but would hope there might be a few refurbishments and a few more staff. We only saw our butler on arrival, and as we were leaving our room on the last day. unlike last time were we saw him every day. The assistant manager was always around and made everyone feel very welcome. Mauritius is just a beautiful island. A real treat .

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the pool area are best so you are not disturbed by the entertainment. We pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in its own private peninsula on the coast of Mauritius, fringed by over a mile of white sand beaches. Terraced and balconied rooms all face out privately to the Indian Ocean. Under the calm sway of countless coconut palms, 60 acres of grounds take in tropical gardens, poolside and ocean dining.Enjoy our complimentary green fees for the Gary Player 9 Holes Golf Course or re-energise with complimentary water sports and water skiing.Children from 3 to 11 years old are more than welcome in our KidsOnly Club, with amazing daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
One And Only Le Saint Geran
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.