We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Save Saved
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% On Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Port Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Dear All

Most of the reviewers in here are tourists from overseas countries who stayed at the One&Only Le Saint Geran. I, as a local Mauritian, wanted to share the bad experience that my family and I encountered while staying at this hotel. We checked in this hotel on the 10th of February 2013 to celebrate Chinese New Year. We were excited to take a mini break from our daily lives. The welcoming party was great and everything seems to be perfect. The dinner buffet at La Terrasse was yummy and lavish. However, in the morning of the 11th of February 2013, our nightmare began. It was around 7 am when a Guest Relation Officer came to our room to advise us that a coconut had fallen from a coconut tree and had broken the rear windshield of our car which was parked on the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran. Please be advised that the parking lot of the One&Only Le Saint Geran has plenty of coconut trees and you have to be beware of them. We could not believe that this coconut had fallen off from a tree and happened to break the windshield of our car. It was only the Guest Relations Officer who managed to help us a bit. He advised us that we have to go to the nearby police station to declare this accident. It took us almost half a day to do all those paperworks for this accident. Meanwhile, at the hotel, neither of the top Management had the descency to advise us what are the requirements needed when such an accident happened on the premises of the hotel. We were not even offered any apologies on that same day. We were at a complete lost what to do with the car and what the hotel was planning to do and how would they help us? The insurance company which takes care of our car advised us that it's only the insurance company of the hotel which needs to be involved in this matter. It's only the following day that we went to see the Guest Relations Officer again and asked him that we need to see someone from the top management to help us since we couldn't drive back home in this damaged car and it was also heavily pouring as well. The top management sent their Director of Finance to talk to us about the steps to be taken in this matter. However, todate, things are still running very slowly since the Director of Finance have to liaise with their head office and insurance company which is located in Florida and there is a time difference of -9 hours between Mauritius and Florida, USA.

We are very upset about this whole loss and how One&Only Le Saint Geran is very slow in taking decisions since they have to refer back to their head office in the States. I just wonder if we were not locals and we were tourists instead would One&Only take this matter differently?

Sorry to say, I would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Le Saint Geran. I regret to hear about your experience which is certainly not consistent with the standards for which the St Geran is known and which our loyal guests often compliment us on.

Your stay coincided with a rainy spell of weather during which we received torrential rains with windy conditions that caused major flooding in many areas of Mauritius and damage to homes around the island. We take great care to maintain our hotel buildings and property, and the coconut in our gardens falling on your car – could unfortunately not have been predicted. This is the first time we have ever experienced this.

I believe it is important for the Trip advisor reader and what your review fails to state is how the matter was handled on Thursday when your mail reached my office. I think it is only fair to give the viewers the full and complete picture. I was actually surprised to see this review as I was already personally handling the matter with you including getting your car repaired by the dealership of your choice and setting up a rental car for you during the time of repairs.
All expenses were handled by the hotel, as this unfortunate incident was indeed our responsibility.

One&Only Le Saint Geran operates under the highest levels of integrity and professionalism and your remarks regarding local versus tourists is simply uncalled for.

Personal Regards,
Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    85
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
171
282
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel with lots of amenities. Lovely quiet location looking onto the Indian Ocean. Hotel is one of the best I have been to in the world. Staff very friendly and very eager to help. Meals are to die for with lots of choices from all the restaurants. First time I tried Sea Urchins. Hotel has excellent entertainment. Your can relax on the lovely beach at one side and on the other is a lovely lagoon. Fishing, snorkling, golfing & tennis are all on hand.The hotel has its own Helipad where you can arrive or be taken to the airport, lovely experience to see parts of the island. I want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is luxury at its best. this was our third visit and the service on the beach was excellent . We found the food good but not quite as many options as on our pervious visits, and certainly less staff to assist at dinner and breakfast. There were quite a few very young children but they seemed to use the kiddy club and were not a problem for couples, like us, on their own. The staff were very helpful. Our room had a couple of faults, a leaky bath and a faulty electric socket, These were reported but not resolved. and our room was in need of an update, but still pleasant. We ate in the two other restaurant which were very nice, but you do not get much of a supplement for not eating in the main restaurant. There is lots to do if you want too, water sports, golf, tennis etc and the spa is excellent, my therapist was fabulous. There was afternoon tea by the pool with pancakes etc, however we were surprised this was not complimentary as other one and only hotel (i.e. reethi rah in the maldives) provide this free. this resulted it people coming together and having drinks at the bar and the children coming together too. which was very nice if you wanted to socialise a little. The afternoon tea at the saint Geran was £8.00 per head which we thought a little over the top. consequently we didn't see anyone there . Over all the hotel is worth a visit. We would go again but would hope there might be a few refurbishments and a few more staff. We only saw our butler on arrival, and as we were leaving our room on the last day. unlike last time were we saw him every day. The assistant manager was always around and made everyone feel very welcome. Mauritius is just a beautiful island. A real treat .

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the pool area are best so you are not disturbed by the entertainment. We pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the One & Only Le Saint Geran during the first week of January 2013. It was our first stay at the resort. We travel to Mauritius at least twice a year and found this resort to be highly competitive and simply amazing compared to the other exclusive resorts on the island.
The staff are perfect in all respects, the accommodation is colonial splendour meets the carribian, and the beach is to die for.
It is truly a piece of Heaven. Thank you to all at the resort for making our stay a memorable one, we cannot wait to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe aux Sables, Black River, Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

With my husband, we went there for three days as honeymooners. We were welcomed warmly with the usual 'chinese bong'. As soon as we were at the doors we were taken in charge by a lady who guided us through the paper stuffs then to our room. A nice 'vin mousseux' was waiting for us as well as a couple of welcoming gifts waited for us on the bed! The suite was pitch perfect, really no faults in it! The food was excellent, from breakfast to dinner! The service room was excellent and we had a 'major d'homme' at our disposal at any time! The sauna/hamman was great, fantastic experience and great ambiance! For our last dinner we were treated as VIPs with a card menu signed by the chef in person and a specialised dinner was made for us! We came back home with stars in the eyes by the magic experience and beautifulness of the place and its people!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a Junior Suite in early December 2012. This was our sixth stay in five years.

We travel to Mauritius very often and still return to St Geran (our favourite hotel) at least once a year. The hotel structure itself and the rooms are somewhat dated and the hotel is certainly long overdue for a revamp. That being said there is no resort on the island that provides you with the location and experience that Le St Geran can. Every time we go to the hotel we bump into repeat guests who likewise have a soft spot for the hotel. The gardens are amazing and the setting beautiful and it has a good atmosphere which many upmarket establishments seem to lack.

The somewhat outdated rooms are all suites and incredibly confortable with every convenience you could desire.(great Bose iPod players, DVD players, sattelite television and nespresso machines) What distinguishes the hotel from any other on the island is the location, the atmosphere and the great staff and management with their "can do" attitude.

The water sports at the hotel are unsurpassed due to the extensive operating hours, facilities and attitude of the boat house staff. No other resort gives you the freedom to water-ski, wakeboard and sail to your hearts content the way Le St Geran does. All other hotels seem to pay lip service to the concept of complimenary water sports whereas at St Geran they lead the way. The boat house does not close over some arbitrary lunch hour or due to low tide because of the deep lagoon and guests are permitted to sail (under the careful, subtle and distant watch of the safety boat) to the full extent of the ocean in front of the hotel. The resort also offers great snorkelling at many connevient times.

It is not a hotel that you ever feel pressured into spending more money at, inter alia by virtue of the fact that unlimited bottled drinking water and fruit are always on hand free of charge which makes for a refreshing change from other resorts. Even the use of bicycles is free of charge and it makes for a wonderful environment. it is also worth mentioning that cuppucino's at dinner and breakfast are all comlimentary which is fantastic.

That being said some aspects are not ideal and need addressing:

1) On our last visit the quantity of staff and level of service at dinner and breakfast was somewhat diminshed which left us a bit dissapointed as in the past you could not move an inch without people running around you, which did create a very special atmosphere which is now lost.The service is now somewhat slow but acceptable and the staff are very pleasant.

2) The diving opportunities from the hotel are not prime but the dive centre can arrange dives off the small islands in the North which is unbeleivable. The Blues Dive centre which is on site actually operates from the neighbouring hotel and it lacks punctuality and organisation and its use as a contractor should be reviewed

3) The all inclusive dinners have been moved from an extensive buffet in conjunction with an al a carte arrangement to now being a very limited provision of buffet hors d ouvres and full al a carte which leads to dinner being a very long drawn out slow service affair as you have to wait quite a while for items to be brought from the kitchen. I would urge management to reconsider this as the full buffet and al a carte worked very well as one could pick and choose the best elements of both making for a great and much quicker meal. That being said the chef's al a carte food quality is superb.

4) The prices at Prime and Rasoi restaurants should be more subsidised in the evenings when electing not to eat the complimantary dinner at the main restaurant.

5) Breakfast could be somewhat improved and like the One and Only in Cape Town an a la carte selection of hot food choices should be available to compliment the buffet. The Buffet is, however, still great.

6) The harness riggings of all the Hobie Cats have been removed (allegedly for safety reasons) - this seems totally at odds with the balance of the appraoch of water sports centre. When we stay at Paradis in the South we use the harnesses on their Hobie cats without any concern. perhaps guests should be given the option and not have the removal imposed on them.

7) The gym only has one upright exercise bike which is very unusual for a hotel of this nature, especially considering that a large portion of the clientelle is very active and sporting.In contradistiction the One and Only in cape Town has a massive gym with all the equipment the heart could desire. In the event of a renovation I urge management to considering expanding the gym which is a bit small. That being said the gym has state of the art technogym products and is great to use.

We have used the hotel once a year for 5 years in a row and really love the place despite its few shortcomings. We met the new manager on our last visit and he took a keen interest in our suggestions, was very approachable, and we wait with great anticipation to see what the future will hold.

The gardens and bird life at the hotel are amazing and I hope the same will not be lost when it is revamped in time to come.

I highly recommend the hotel for an unbelievable and very special holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to the One & Only from London for a 7 night stay.

We both share the same birthday, and this was a birthday treat for us.

The service at the One & Only is second to none. All the staff looking after us went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. One the day of our birthday they set up breakfast for us by the beach after delivering complimentary champagne to our room. We also had a birthday cake sent to our dinner table during which the in house band played happy birthday to us.

A special mention to Saden our housekeeper and Nasser our butler for making our stay at the One & Only very special!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in its own private peninsula on the coast of Mauritius, fringed by over a mile of white sand beaches. Terraced and balconied rooms all face out privately to the Indian Ocean. Under the calm sway of countless coconut palms, 60 acres of grounds take in tropical gardens, poolside and ocean dining.Enjoy our complimentary green fees for the Gary Player 9 Holes Golf Course or re-energise with complimentary water sports and water skiing.Children from 3 to 11 years old are more than welcome in our KidsOnly Club, with amazing daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
One And Only Le Saint Geran
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.