We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like sporting activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Save Saved
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% On Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Belle Mare
Beaconsfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great if you like sporting activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel and we had a great time once again.

The watersports are excellent - the waterskiing is particularly good as it's in a lagoon, and the team are always happy to help you learn to sail and ski.

The Fitness team are first rate - we had personal training with Stephan and Ronnie and they really helped us deal with injuries and overall fitness.

We love the tennis - Ashwinder is dedicated to ensuring you enjoy your game and will help in any way he can.

Ramesh and his golf team are also wonderful - always ready to give you tips on how to improve your game.

The best rooms for us are those that open onto the beach - 152 - 132 are on the ground floor and you can open the doors and dive into the sea first thing in the morning if that's what you want to do!

Our gripes are the cost of extras, the average buffet meals, and the lack of stock in the shops - this is clearly a hotel on an economy drive - highlighted by a significant decrease in staff in various departments, and this needs to be monitored as the best thing about this hotel is the commitment and enthusiam of the staff, which is being severely challenged.

The rooms are nice, but could do with a re-vamp to bring the hotel back to its former glory.

The Famous Nne who entertain in the evening are brilliant, and create a great atmosphere.
The hotels has many guests who return year on year because they love the facilities and the general ambience, but this won't neccessarily impress new visitors, so there needs to be less complacency if this hotel is to remain first class.

We will return to Le St. Geran because we always have a consistently good holiday there, but I hope the new management doesn't trade on it's past reputation because the other more negative reviews make some valid points.

If you love sports, then I don't think there is a better option. We also like the Heriage Awali for family trips as it's all inclusive but it doesn't have such good ambience,the Touessrok as we were married there but the sports facilities aren't so good, and the Dinarobin, which lacked atmsophere and you need to travel to the sister hotel for watersports.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    78
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
146
257
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having heard certain reports about the Hotel not being as good as it used to be etc, we were slightly apprehensive. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff, the food, the drink, the water sports, the golf, the music and the overall experience was outstanding. I have been lucky enough to stay in some great hotels and this really rates amongst the best in my experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Le Saint Geran is the fifth hotel we've visited in Mauritius (having previously stayed at The Residence, Heritage and two now LUX resorts) and until this one we've only ever had exceptional holidays on the island so continue to go back. This hotel cost far more than the others so we expected something even better than what we'd had before but we were sorely disappointed.

The main problems were the food, the prices, often indifferent service, there was nowhere to sit around the pool and overall that these things did not meet our expectations for a well regarded 5 star hotel.

We are experienced travellers both for work and leisure and only really stay in 5 star hotels for our holidays and this hotel had the worst food we've had on any of our trips. At dinner most of it was fine if often unexciting but the breakfasts and lunches were awful. The breakfast items are cooked and left to go soggy and cold and the lunches were very expensive and not up to the quality they should be, eg scraggly bits of chicken served in stir-fries and soggy sandwiches. In contrast we can still remember meals we ate 8 years ago in the Beau Rivage (now LUX) as they were so good!

We're used to high prices but the salmon bagels at lunch (with not good quality salmon) cost £19.50, orange juice was £7 per glass and in the spa area fruit juice cost £11.50 for a small glass which we just thought was extortionate! One day we borrowed the hotel bike and went down the road for lunch at The Longbeach, with its many restaurants to choose from, nice food and lower prices we were disappointed to return to our 1 bad lunch restaurant!

The other thing that really spoiled our holiday was the layout of the pool area which meant there was nowhere to lie by it to sunbathe during the day. We don't particularly like lying on the beach where trawlers can bother you and prefer sitting by the pool off the sand normally but the St Geran pool area was mostly taken up with tables for dinner so there were literally only 7 sun-beds by the pool. By mid afternoon that area was completely shaded over as there were so many palm trees it is a very badly designed set up. We ended up sitting in the spa area which had a small pool and a few beds around but with the prices of drinks, no service there and no atmosphere it wasn't what we were hoping for when we booked it!

In other Mauritian hotels we've had service second to none with your every wish catered for to the extreme but at this one we had to hunt down towels for our beds, waiting staff were often more interested in chatting amongst themselves than serving and people walk past without acknowledging you. Some people were lovely but there was no consistency.

This hotel was a recommendation from someone who had stayed there before many years ago when it was twinned with Le Tousserok so we can only assume it's still trading on its old reputation as there was nothing about it that would make us want to return there based on our stay.

So as not to give a completely negative review, the good things about this hotel were that all the activities were included eg bikes, watersports, table tennis etc which was nice. They also have a great watersports teams who taught me to sail a hobiecat. There is also a lovely pond as you go in with ducks and geese which was lovely to see.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel and would probably give it 3 1/2 - 4 stars based on the food and service which didn't match up with the higher than 5 star prices!

Room Tip: Entertainment each night is quite loud and clearly audible from rooms near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear “Rachel G86”

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Le Saint Géran. I am glad that you enjoyed the watersports but regret to hear about your experience which is certainly not consistent with the standards for which the Resort is known and which our loyal guests often compliment us on.

I am concerned by your feedback about the quality of our food, as our culinary team led by Executive Chef Karim Hassene goes to great lengths to provide the highest level of cuisine at our 3 restaurants. I will review this with the Food&Beverage team to ensure high quality produce whilst we strive to keep our beverage prices competitive to reflect other five-star deluxe resorts on the island.

I regret that the size and expansive nature of our pool area which is part of a 60-acre property caused some inconvenience for you. Our other pool located at the Spa (adult only) is more anchored towards privacy and relaxation, therefore quieter than other sections of the Resort.

I am also sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide professional, efficient and caring service and all of our team is trained according to the philosophy and service culture of our hotel. We take great pride in our team members’ warm service and have many guests commenting on this service. However, I am a firm believer in continuous improvement and want to thank you for sharing your feedback to re-energize our total customer focus and ensure all team members uphold the One&Only standard.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments so we can address these issues and review our service and facilities for all guests. Guest feedback is critical to our service improvement process.

Regards,
Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had honeymoon with mu husband in beginning of November (marriage we had in July but we had to work).
Reservation: very easy fast all you need they will tell you before you will ask for it. 25% deposit.
Pick up: they have their own pick up in the airport very king old men.
Car: BMW 7 new with polite driver
Ch/inn: unbelievable welcomed, friendly! Actually they made check inn in the room with welcome drink we did not need to stay at the reception after long flight, they did everything themselves.
Room: it was some junior suite it is not really big but enough. So many pillows and very comfortable bed. Comfortable on first floor.
Housekeeping:
Older person, very polite helpful, seems they didn't know what means No, at least they never sad it to my husband ( he always need something special)
Restaurant:
We've been it 2 of them (mail and kind of meat restaurant) I have to say to executive that even with buffet it was just perfect. The variety is do big, that even my pregnant taste was absolutely satisfied.
Entertainment:
We had 1 speed boat with snorkeling and waterfall, then only snorkeling and helicopter but the provide much more and some are free of charge.
Well it was all from beginning till the end just perfect, service is just on the top level.
only 1 thing:
when you are on the first floor (it is better), you may hear people on top, specially when they move the wooden door, they are really make a lot of noise.
P.S. appreciation to the Russian Guest Relation Manager.

SPA! - it was the plays where I could stay longer time, the oasis of calm harmony, where you can follow a sleep, no children scream around (they are not allowed after noon) with their own pool. and thank you Mary for your massage.

Room Tip: May be better to ask before not have empty room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Heard a great deal about this Hotel and decided to try it out.

First impression is fantastic, awesome welcome with painless check in.

Fantastic swimming beach , no sea shoes required as with other parts of the Island.

Food is good and service is satisfactory and comparable to other 5 star Hotels.

Facilities are excellent and a 24 hour butler service on call is a nice touch.

rooms are comfortable and have great views close to the water

The only real complaint is the Price of extras , I.e Lunches and drinks are a bit of a rip.

A cheap bottle of Chablis will set you back R1200 / Euro 100
A coke/local beer or bottle of water is R50. / euro 4
A caprese salad is R250/ Euro 20
One Pancake at Tea time is R100/ Euro 8

So , if you are prepared for the extras you will enjoy this Hotel




So if you budget for the extras

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in November on what was our first visit but won't be the last. Everything was fantastic and the atmosphere and service were first class. The place is is totally peaceful and the service in every respect (Butler,Cleaner,Restaurant and Bar Staff,Concierge and Management) was fantastic. The Management team are highly visible and spend alot of time asking for feedback and checking that everything is okay and that you are enjoying the holiday.

Many of the people we met have been going to Saint Geran for many years and I get why !

Food was fantastic and I thoroughly recommend Rasoi (try the Madras Martini cocktails) and Prime (try anything). The wine tasting event at Prime was great fun and worth indulging in. Also do you use the pool in the spa - it's a hidden oasis.

Guests are regularly furnished with cold towels and bottled/iced water on the beach at no cost and the beach team mates/staff are all great lads who can't do enough for you.

Having read previous reviews about the prices of food/drinks we braced ourselves for a large bill - do not fret as prices are very reasonable (you can spend a fortune if you want to) and our bill was half what we expected with good wines starting at £24 per bottle and cocktails at £10 each so no different to Lomdon pub prices.

I cannot recommend Le Saint Geran highly enough and we cannot wait to come back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Johnnie29,

Thank you for your review on One&Only Le Saint Géran. I am delighted to hear that you found everything was “fantastic and the atmosphere and service were first class”. I am going to share your comments with all our team members which we are very proud of.

I am glad to realize that you enjoyed the food at Rasoi by Vineet, our tropical waterside restaurant featuring the acclaimed cuisine of Michelin-star chef Vineet Bhatia and at PRIME, our contemporary Grill Restaurant.

In regards to our pricing for food and drinks, we strive to keep our prices to a minimum to remain competitive against other 5-star venues around Mauritius, whilst reflecting the quality of the ingredients, ambience and preparation by our international team of chefs.

Thank you again for your time and I am sincerely looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

One and Only is in a lovely hotel but really needs to be updated. The rooms are tired and cracks throughout the bathroom leave you feeling unimpressed. The service was good and the half board was excellent. Only one choice for dining but the variety of food was good. Only issue was that we had to pay $10 US for a bottle of water at dinner!! In our room and on the beach the water was at no charge. Beach service was good. Gym was nice size and very good equipment. One and Only offers many water activities at no charge which was a bonus. The gardens were not kept well and the island does not make an impression.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Also Known As:
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel
One Only Le Saint Geran
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Belle Mare
Address: Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in its own private peninsula on the coast of Mauritius, fringed by over a mile of white sand beaches. Terraced and balconied rooms all face out privately to the Indian Ocean. Under the calm sway of countless coconut palms, 60 acres of grounds take in tropical gardens, poolside and ocean dining.Enjoy our complimentary green fees for the Gary Player 9 Holes Golf Course or re-energise with complimentary water sports and water skiing.Children from 3 to 11 years old are more than welcome in our KidsOnly Club, with amazing daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.