We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, tired and disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One&Only Le Saint Geran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One&Only Le Saint Geran to your Saves list
One&Only Le Saint Geran
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over-rated, tired and disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have always stayed on the other side of the island but decided to split our two week stay this year by doing one week at the St Geran and the other at Le Paradis. We had a lovely week at the St Geran because the weather was perfect but we did feel at the end of the stay that we had paid an awful lot of money to stay at what was a disappointing hotel. I think it relies heavily on very loyal clientele who have stayed at the hotel year on year for many years and new clientele who, if they have tried the other side, probably won't go back...like us. We stayed in a Senior Ocean Suite which was quite set back from the ocean so you didn't feel that you were by the sea and the beach was unbelievably disappointing with wire mesh everywhere, seemingly to keep the large stones in place, but the mesh was not well maintained and had very sharp pieces sticking up and there were unsightly coils of it further up the beach. Service was also very slow at this end of the hotel and you often had to seek staff for towels and drinks. There were also loads of sea urchins in the water on this side of the hotel. The other end of the beach (boat shed end) was much bigger and more in line with what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The rooms were very well appointed but a little old fashioned and we had to wait ages and ages for any hot water to filter through to the shower. Scuba diving was average. Food on the whole was OK but the lunch (which was the only meal not included on our tariff - the most inclusive you could get) was horrendously expensive for pretty average fare - most days in the region of E200 just for one course and a mediocre bottle of wine and a couple of soft drinks. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The communal areas were elegant although I thought the main restaurant could have done with a bit of sprucing up. The gym was small, although adequate, and the instructor very friendly and willing.

Room Tip: Corner suites are closer to the beach. If you want nice sand and clear water choose the boat house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear “Lizzie2905”,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and courteous.

I am sorry that you did not “feel the magic” and the charm of Le Saint Géran, and really the reason behind why so many guests are coming back year after year. I can assure you that they to have tried other hotels and they keep coming back. I am disappointed that we did not make you feel that way. Please accept my apology.

As you may have been told, the ‘mesh wires” which are in an isolated area of the resort were recommended to assist to prevent natural erosion. You will be pleased to hear that we have recently started a program utilizing a new method to “naturally” bring sand back on that small strip of beach, however the beach being public we are not able to manipulate anything on the beach. We are grateful that with 1.3 km of sandy beach those 200+ meters don’t deter our guests for coming back. I will address the slow service on the beach as it is truly does not reflect our standards.

I have reviewed our service process at the beach to ensure the flawless service that the One & Only le Saint Geran is known for.

I have also reviewed our beverage prices against other five star venues around the island and found them to be competitive, whilst reflecting the unique facilities and services that we offer.

Thank you again for your review. We are grateful for your feedback so that we may ensure our service levels reflect our resort standards and are consistent for all guests.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    101
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
189
315
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KESWICK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I were booked for St.Regis,however due to another delay on it's completion we were offered the choice of three hotels that we could go to for our chosen dates.We chose Le Saint Geran because of it's past reputation.We returned yesterday after a 10 night stay.On the whole it was excellent with the majority of the staff being very friendly and extremely helpful with a very odd exception.The food was mostly superb and although we are not that keen on buffet meals,the choice and quality was hard to go pass,and the fact that they only value the restaurant meals at 20 Euros as a discount voucher if you wish to use the specialist restaurants is laughable.
We fortunately were on full board which was honoured from our booking at St.Regis,as the meals and wine are very expensive.A bottle of Cloudy Bay (one of our favourites) is £110.00.Half litre of local beer £5.00,Bombay Sapphire and tonic £11.00.
After reading previous reviews we had known what to expect,but for those that don't it could be a very dry holiday.We took 4 bottles of our favourite wines and paid £30.00 corkage which again is very naughty (£10-£15 would be nearer the mark),when their cheapest wine is approx.£40.00.
We had read about the noise in the evening from the entertainment (which was generally very good),so I emailed the Hotel in advance asking for a room away from the lobby area,however we were given one(155) six rooms from were the band perform.It wasn't that bad as the music ended most nights at 23.00 but also upto 24.00.We didn't mind that much as we were about at that time,however if you are wanting a peaceful evening in your room, or if you have small children of which there were quite a few,I would say you need to be a lot further away.
We loved the position of our suite which was a perfectly good size, near the restaurant,pool and beach.The beach staff were also very attentive bringing iced water and refreshing towels shortly after you have settled on your chair.Occasionally they would come round,asking if they could clean your reading/sun glasses for you.
We had a couple of negative experiences such as when ordering the main course at dinner (2nd night) my wife ordered duck but was told there was none left (8pm) and would she like beef or fish which were the other choices.She said that she would just have the appetizer and soup.The waiter could tell that we were a little peeved and managed to bring the duck.His explanation was that the Chef had told them not to push the duck.
There was also an incident in our room and our immediate neighbours, which we had to report.We filed statements and were told that they would be looked into.That,as it was towards the end of our holiday really took the shine out of it.
I will finish by saying that if the Hotel irons out just a few things,prices, and after the planned refurbishment it could be great again.There are so many new hotels on the horizon that they need to do something to keep on top of the game.We spoke to a couple of regular visitors that are looking at moving on for their next visit to Mauritius.
We are eagerly looking forward to reading reviews on St.Regis once it finally opens to decide whether we will try it next year as we loved the island and the climate,but as it stands,we wont be visiting Le Saint Geran again.

Room Tip: A sea view for peace and quiet,well away from the lobby and main restaurant.Ground floor for more ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fantastic resort with many facilities and excellent service. We found the quality of food to be of a very high standard.
The suites are comfortable and well appointed.
The Kids Only kids club has state of the art macs and many different activities for children.
An excellent venue as a family holiday. We will definitely be back to Le Saint Geran.
The staff were incredibly helpful and very assertive. The service at this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having had an excellent stay at the One & Only St Geran in Sept 2011, we repeated the experience last month, Sept 2012. What a difference one year makes. There has been substantial deterioration in most aspects of the performance, management and service of the hotel and I would like to highlight some of the most pronounced.

Most prestigious hotels, (like St Geran being rated as 5* Luxury), remember repeat clients and whilst I did not expect a red carpet or a fanfare, a simple note/card of welcome from the management would signify a degree of appreciation of this. Good PR and kudos would result from such an inexpensive gesture. This faux pas by the executive was more than off-set by the warm welcome extended to us by the local staff who remembered us from last year and seemed to be genuinely pleased to see us.

The standard of cuisine has fallen noticeably with some more expensive items either making infrequent appearance on the menu or disappearing from it altogether, not unlike the Mauritian dodo. The vegetable part of the buffets has increased which is great for vegetarians, but not so welcomed by others. I think we are all aware of the world-wide economic downturn but I do not think that a hotel of St Geran’s stature should try to compensate for reduced number of visitors and subsequent drop in income by savings which markedly impinge on the very services which allowed it to claim its elevated status in the first instance.

The beach service which was excellent last year has also deteriorated quite noticeably. With the exception of local staff who remembered us from last year, the service in the restaurant has also gone down.

Last year the hotel operated a discretionary policy on corkage and I was not charged. This year there is a mandatory charge of R1200 (approx US$42 or GBP26) per bottle. I am not aware of any highly rated hotel or restaurant which imposes such a high charge. Again, I think it is wrong and a rather petty way to generate income.

The hotel operates a dress code commensurate with its standing which is clearly articulated in a note placed in each room. It calls for smart casual for the evening in all restaurants and bars and gentlemen are requested to wear long trousers and shirts with a collar and sleeves. I am at a loss to understand why such a code exists when it is not implemented. There are numerous guests wearing jeans and T-shirts to dinner in the full view of the management. Again, I understand that in difficult economic times every client matters but I do not believe it should entail lowering of standards appropriate to the official standing of the hotel.

I get the impression that the hotel is currently in the grip of lassitude and malaise and needs a “quick fix” to reverse it. The resident ex-pat management performance requires urgent re-appraisal and changes, if necessary. The personal involvement of Sol Kerzner, with his known entrepreneurial flair and intuitive instincts for the requirements of clients favouring highly rated hotels, may be the best solution. In the absence of such intervention, the 5* Luxury rating of the Le Saint Geran should be downgraded to more accurately reflect its current level

Room Tip: Best away from pool/bar/restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles DF D, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback which we read with interest. We realize you had a few concerns and would like to address them.

We are sorry to read that you were not welcomed in proper fashion as a repeat client. Please accept our apologies for this mishap.

Among other initiatives to keep enhancing the dining experience of our guests, we have added indeed some vegetarian options on our buffets with emphasis on local produces. You must have also noticed the new daily Table d’hôte dinner menu at La Terrasse which has received overwhelming positive feedback from our guests, repeaters and first timers, since its implementation, as you can read in this very same forum. While we respect your assessment of a standard of cuisine by the number of expensive items, we do not agree with it and feel it is a bit strong to conclude that our resort is trying to make some savings by reducing the selection of food items. Actually, the dinner options in our main restaurant are now more extensive than they were a year ago.

Could you please kindly share with us further details regarding the beach and restaurant service so as to help us improve?

Our policy on corkage fee, a worldwide practice in all establishments, has not changed since last year. We are still very happy to serve a bottle brought by some guests for a special occasion but can no longer make an exception when the same guests bring their own bottles on a daily basis or for the whole length of their stay.

We can ensure you that our dress code is being monitored and addressed when necessary and we fail to recall the “numerous guests wearing jeans and t-shirts” during your recent stay with us.

We are terribly sorry to read that you do feel this way. The 93.5% TripAdvisor traveler satisfaction rating, vs. the 92.7% rating at the same time last year, the nomination in eight categories at the 2012 World Travel Awards 2012 and the recent Tatler’s and Conde Nast UK Readers’ Awards speak volume for the level of service that keeps being achieved at our property, of which Mr. Sol Kerzner himself is very proud.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and concerns.

Sincerely,

Charles de Foucault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Le Saint Geran for 12 nights for our honeymoon and can't praise it enough! It is an incredible hotel. I didn't know such luxury could exist! Service is exceptional! Staff are so kind and helpful-nothing is too much trouble! Food is absolutely amazing- both the buffet and table service. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The beach and views from the room are breath-taking! Evening entertainment is great-the band played our first wedding dance song for us! Can't wait to go back! Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the main building if you like early nights as music from evening entertainment con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Large complex with beautiful surroundings, plenty of activities available, great kids club. Would prefer bigger buffet variety ... but 2 other restaurants in the hotel offering wider selection. I know families who return there every year... So that says it all..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We wanted to go to Mauritius for a rest but did not know which coast to choose. Well the choice was perfect. This resort was complete for us .Sunny , breeze, lovely beach. Plenty to do if you want to be active or do nothing but lazing on the beach. Very high quality food, plenty available but you only eat what you want without pressure ,being a buffet you help yourself.
I arrived with a trapped nerve on my leg as the flights were long. I had a fantastic Swedish massage in the Spa by Premila and it solve the problem, few days later a had a second one, so I went home renewed.As other reviews have said the service was as one would expect from the One and Only- outstanding!

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early ask for a room away from the pool area. The entertainment which is ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One&Only Le Saint Geran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Le Saint Geran

Address: Pointe de Flacq, Belle Mare, Mauritius 230
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Le Saint Geran 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Le Saint Geran nestles peacefully in its own private peninsula on the coast of Mauritius, fringed by over a mile of white sand beaches. Terraced and balconied rooms all face out privately to the Indian Ocean. Under the calm sway of countless coconut palms, 60 acres of grounds take in tropical gardens, poolside and ocean dining.Enjoy our complimentary green fees for the Gary Player 9 Holes Golf Course or re-energise with complimentary water sports and water skiing.Children from 3 to 11 years old are more than welcome in our KidsOnly Club, with amazing daily activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your One&Only Le Saint Geran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Hotel Belle Mare
Le Saint Geran
One&Only Le Saint Geran Mauritius/Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One&Only Le Saint Geran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.