We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Mauritius to your Saves list
The Residence Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EARLY BIRD OFFER
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel i.e. the accommodation, service, food, entertainment is AMAZING and SPECIAL! My wife and I would thoroughly recommend it. La Plantation is a restaurant with perfect views and scenery of the Indian Ocean, and it serves a variety of food from all over the world. The wine and dessert menus are always very comprehensive and excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your holidays and we are immensely pleased to read your wonderful comments that you humbly share with us and also through Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and you enjoyed the resort thoroughly.

We reiterate your appreciation and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our shores in a not distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    95
    34
    4
    9
See reviews for
153
471
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review on The Residence - Mauritius ever since my return at the end of September. I celebrated my 50th birthday there in great style. 50 friends flew in from all over the world and the staff at The Residence who hosted our BIG party bash at La Plantation went out of their way to make it a night to remember.

Nothing was too much trouble. The menu, the location and the decoration was out of this world. They organised a sit down dinner with dancing for us .. we had 85 guests.

Its the staff that make the hotel.. smiley faces and so polite and genuinely helpful. We have stayed there on numerous occasions and I cannot recomnend this hotel more highly.

A very big thank you to The Resident Manager Mr Pierrot Barbe and his team for looking after SO well. I would like to particularly mention Rajesh who materminded the entire evening to make it the resounding success that it was.

We are now planning my 60th for a repeat party. Thank The Residence for looking after us all like VIPS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Susie

Thank you for your outstanding review on Trip Advisor.

It was a privilege to have hosted you and the adorable guests on the very special occasion and thank you once again for trusting our property.

Your comments are certainly a motivation for each and everyone and thank you to have mentioned some special names.

We reiterate our deepest thanks for your everlasting trust towards The Residence Mauritius and sincerely look forward to welcoming you for another memorable occasion.

Warmest regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

we had a wonderful and pleasure experience staying in Residence. we stayed in this place for 1 week from may 28th 2013 to June 3rd 2013. To say about this place it is a perfect honeymoon destination. Service up-to the mark. Staff is friendly and even Indian food is good. Only thing i hate in Indian food was they add lot of creams for even Dal and any curry.
We recommend this place for my friends also we like to visit this place again.

Thanks,
Praveen.c & Shalini.S

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

The entire team of The Residence are thankful for reading your review that you have posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and it’s really motivating to our team members to have such positive feedback.

We thank you once again for your trust in our property and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience

Warmest regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was our honeymoon trip and we stayed from 13th to 19th Oct, 2013. I got this hotel booked for us just because of the 5 star reviews so my expectations were already high from it. And it so turned out to be true. Right from our first day to the last everything was more than perfect. The staff is so very much courteous and come forward themselves to help you out in case you need some. Starting from the reception, everybody there is so courteous. I remember Pravin, Anieta and Anielle at the reception desk who were always pleasure to talk with. We lost our mobile phone on one of the islands and these guys helped us a lot to have it searched (though we couldn't). Finally they facilitated and called the police so that we could report it to them with the ease of staying at the hotel itself.

The rooms; we had Ocean View Room, are very spacious, neat and clean. The view from the room was awesome. Every room has a private butler assigned who keeps asking you the ways in which he could help us. It was very sweet to see Sailen (our butler) to come every day and ask for what special he could do for us.

The hotel has three restaurants. We had the opportunity to eat in The Dining Room and The Plantation. The food is not very Indian in taste but they went several steps ahead to please us. I would highly commend Rooben from the Dining Room who used to greet us with a smile, Namaste and got something Indian prepared for us everyday. The food was tasty but the way they treated us made it taste even better. It was a real pleasure to see the table decorated with flowers just for us on our last dinner. Rooben came to us and said he wants to treat us as king and queen. That was so very special for us. Thank you Rooben if you can see this review :-)

At the concierge desk, Shahil was a person who talked very nicely and whenever we met him, we enjoyed having a dialogue or two with him.

The hotel has a very nice beach and many services were complimentary in our trip. We enjoyed the glass bottom boat ride and the under sea walk specially.

The last day we left from the place because we had to leave otherwise nobody I guess would like to leave from this heavenly place. Believe me, travel to Mauritius isn't complete unless you stay at The Residence. This is simply out of the world. You can't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking your time to write your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are vital for us and will certainly assist to measure the quality of our service and we are grateful to you.

They will be shared to our team members and thank you to have mentioned some names and no doubt this will be of a great source of motivation to pave our way to success.

We are all honoured to read that The Residence has been your favourite hotel and best holiday
and thank you for having given us the opportunity to be our guest.

We reiterate our thanks for your trust in our property and very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for other blissful moments very soon.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Our two week holiday to Mauritius started at the residence. The accommodation, ocean view room was perfect. We were on first floor, added to the view and privacy. The beach was fantastic, lots of water sports and helpful guys to advise. We tried kayaking, sailing, snorkelling, one of the best bits was the catamaran tour which visited the waterfalls, lsle de Cerf and a snorkelling location. Lovely BBQ served on board and great opportunity to meet new people.
The service at both restaurants was superb. Food was excellent at both although we opted for the buffet on 2/7 nights only preferring the a la carte.
The staff really made the stay, their warmth and determination to make your stay as good as it could be was obvious. We met the Manager on a number of occasions, he was very visible in the hotel which was a great support to the staff.
We spent most nights in the bar for a night cap, the menu now includes Negroni, which is now there because they were keen to cater for all needs.
It was our anniversary so we were delighted to be welcomed by a bottle of champagne and huge chocolate came as well as gifts of sarong and polo shirt.
The only downside was zero access to wifi in bedrooms and very hit and miss access in public areas, actually this was a blessing as it forces you to switch off completely and let the island do its magic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor which is indeed pleasant to read.

We are delighted to note that you very much enjoyed your stay at the Residence Mauritius and that you have had a wonderful holiday with us.

We are very happy to read that our services were to your expectations and that you have
kept good souvenirs of your stay spent in our hotel.

With reiterated thanks and hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to our resort in the near future

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff are really what sets this hotel apart. Just amazing, always professional and nothing was too much trouble. Best food I have ever eaten at a hotel, especially the buffet nights, wow! Loved every minute, wish I could go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We are grateful for your review on TA and are glad to read that you have had a nice time at our resort

We value your kind words on our team members who always do their utmost for catering the needs of our guest. Your appreciation on the quality of cuisine will certainly be an inspiration.

We sincerely thank you for choosing our property for your holidays and will be pleased to welcoming you back to our shores.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well what can we say? We have just returned from our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel and it most certainly won't be our last. And as we said in our previous reviews it takes something very special indeed to bring us back again to a hotel and all the comments from our previous review absolutely still apply. This trip was very different from the previous ones in that instead of coming just as a couple, this time it was for our daughters wedding. She had heard such glowing comments from my wife and I, that she thought it was the perfect place in which to get married - and so it proved. In total over 20 people travelled to Mauritius for the wedding, staying a variety of days. The hotel does not have a "conveyor belt" approach to weddings - they really concentrate on your needs exclusively, and this mean that you get a very personal and warm touch to everything they do for you. My wife and I were a little nervous, having said such very complementary things about the hotel, that our guests would not share our love of the hotel and its staff - but we needn't have worried - everyone said it was the best hotel they had ever stayed in and many intend to return. The hotel far exceeded our expectations in every respect - it really is a very very special hotel. When we were planning the wedding, one of the senior managers, Pradeep, e-mailed to reassure us that the hotel would make the whole experience "magical" and they most certainly delivered The location is heavenly, with golden sands, azure sea, tropical trees and flowers,and beautiful gardens immaculately maintained, but it is the atmosphere, culture, and especially the staff which make this such an exceptional hotel . Nothing is too much trouble for them - you are made to feel very special. "Travelpony" sums up what a wonderful time we all had, but we will add a few other comments. We had our first experience of the kids club, which is excellent, with really warm and caring staff whom the children in our party loved. And many of the party really enjoyed the water sports facilities. The hotel organised two speed boats to take the party around the east coast on a spectacular trip for snorkeling, beach picnic and sight seeing. And also organised a special birthday dinner ( at no extra cost) for two of the party. And here's an example of the culture of the Residence. My wife loves frangepan flowers - and the butler remembered from a year earlier and put a big bowl of frangepans in our room on arrival - how good is that? The key to this hotel is the really outstanding staff throughout. Everyone contributes, but some need a special mention. Our friends, Pradeep, Raj and Rajesh provided a substantial and genuine warmth and care that makes them and the hotel special, but others were also major contributors in different ways to making this a most wonderful stay - Pritam, Ally ( at the Plantation and wonderful with the children) , Bruno ( at the restaurant and so warm and attentive), Sanjeeta and Emmerith ( who looked after us brilliantly at breakfast and lunch), Rajesh (Plantation restaurant), Desire ( "Mr Fixit ") and Jean-Claude (concierge) Chef Kelley who supervises the truly fabulous Michelin standard menus and who took some of us around the kitchens - simply terrific especially the bakery - everything is baked on site, Stephane who creates the most delicious deserts imaginable, Serge by the pool ( who kept an eagle eye on all the children to ensure their safety - thank you so much Serge) and Jeteen, so attentive by the pool.I hope we have not offended anyone who is not mentioned by name - you are just too many to mention but you all uphold the culture and values of your hotel so well to make this a truly special and memorable hotel. Thank you so much for giving our daughter, her husband and all the wedding guests such a truly unforgettable experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

The whole team of The Residence Mauritius sincerely thank you for your flawless review that you humbly posted on Trip Advisor.

The content of your review clearly showed that you had truly enjoyed your holidays and also the wedding of your daughter.

This was your holiday and it was our job to make it memorable for you, as each and everyone of our team members adopt the right attitude of serving our customers with passion and respect.

We reiterate our thanks and we look forward to welcoming you and the member of your family back.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.