We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children's Paradise...and parents' too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Mauritius

Save Saved
You added The Residence Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Offer
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Children's Paradise...and parents' too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Upon arrival, our first impression was somewhat one of disappointment - After having stayed at the ultra Zen and sophisticated Asian design of the Shanti Maurice last year, The Residence looked like a big, somewhat impersonal hotel... As we moved to the (very large) pool, we were amazed to count some 42 kids enjoying the (very) warm water fun... We then moved on to the beach which at first appeared ridiculously narrow. Finally, our room was spacious, somewhat impersonal but with a nice view on the sea. We were introduced to our "butler" who showed us how to operate the hair blower and safe. He apparently had no clue about our package and didn't ask any personal questions on what we liked, didn't like or were hoping to do in Maurice. he didn't offer to help us with restaurant reservations or anything of the sort... Basically, the "butler" thing was just a marketing gimmick.

BUT THEN... as we set in The Residence we discovered why INDEED the hotel deserves its HIGH RATING.

BEACH: in fact, BEACHES – The residence is not just one beach, it’s in fact 3 beaches, with plentiful room, chairs, and white sand

ROOMS: somewhat impersonal with beds a bit on the hard side. Very quiet, very clean, efficient air conditioning.

SERVICE: beyond impeccable – from the room service, to the restaurant service, to the beach service. We never once worried about being thirsty or needing a fresh towel to cool off: a smiling staff member was discretely and efficiently always around to attend to any needs

FOOD: we were impressed – especially by the VERANDA cuisine. We don’t like buffets so ordered on the menu list. We were never disappointed and looked forward to our meals every time. While in a more charming setting, we were less impressed by the PLANTATION food – less delicate to our French buds. But this is just a matter of taste.

KIDS: yes, there were plenty of them – and for a reason: The Residence is incredibly well organized for them – with all kinds of activities for children age 4 to 70!

Activities: waterskiing, sailing, tennis…you name it. Apart from the absence of a golf course, The Residence is fully equipped !

WITHOUT KIDS: we didn’t come with our children as we wanted to rest – and while the presence of the many kids worried us at first, we in fact really never suffered from the noise given the many different beaches you could find peace and quiet at. The rooms are incredibly quiet – I have to say, while I was not a big fan of the design, the infrastructure was of very good quality!

Conclusion: The Residence is a very good hotel at every level. The only advice I might give is to try to avoid school holiday periods if you do not wish to have many children running around – But even when there are many, the place is big enough to welcome all!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the pool area if you are looking to peace and quiet. Ask to be to the left of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

It’s indeed a real pleasure to read your comments on Trip Advisor.

We take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen The Residence Mauritius for your holidays and are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay.

It is very pleasing to read such warm and positive impressions on our overall services which will no doubt motivate our team members to always go to the extra mile in view of delighting our guests and brighten their stay.

We reiterate our thanks for your trust in The Residence Mauritius and sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you once more in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    82
    30
    4
    8
See reviews for
125
392
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just returned from 10 days at La Residence over October half term having had our best family holiday ever.

We have two boys aged 5 and 7 and up until this trip had restricted our flights to a maximum of 4-5 hours mostly to preserve our sanity but mostly because the boys simply weren't old enough to appreciate more exotic locations. We have visited most of the kid friendly hotels around Europe, including the Residence in Tunisia, and have had some good but not truly great holidays.

With the kids slightly older we decided to take go that little bit further this time and Mauritius seemed like a good place to start given the possibility of a night flight and the small time difference. The last time we were in Mauritius my wife was pregnant with our first so it was a trip that had been a long time coming.

We chose the Residence based on our experience at the Tunisia hotel, personal recommendations and the glowing reviews on TA. Powder Byrne with whom we had flown to the Tunisia hotel and who normally provide english nannies in their hotels tipped it when they said for this hotel there is no need for their own staff as the kids club is just so good.

We flew air mauritius to save a few quid and apart from the limited film selection was generally impressed by the seats and the service. We flew bucket on the way out as it was a night flights and upgraded to business on the way back as 12 hours awake in Economy would have been pretty painful. Having previously flown with BA I can say that Air Mauritius stacked up pretty well. If we go back we will probably aim for night flights both ways as 12 hours awake even in business is pretty tedious.

First impressions of the hotel are very positive though you do notice immediately that the hotel is not set back from the road like in most big resort hotels. In this case the entrance literally is a turn off the main coast road but when I say main coast road it really isn't very big or busy. Transfer from the airport is about 45-60 minutes. The entrance and the staff welcome was excellent after a long flight and the first views of the atrium, pools, sea and bars are a sight for sore eyes after a long flight.

From this point we had an exceptional ten days relaxation due in part to the excellent facilities, service, food and location but mostly because of the exceptional kids club. The staff were simply fantastic and the children were excited to go everyday. In fact demanded to go every day and we had say no occasionally in order to spend some time with them. With the children more than entertained we had for the first time in a long time a grown up holiday and time to spend together as well as with the children.

For this reason alone I would thoroughly recommend the Residence for a family holiday. It simply caters exceptionally to families from the fantastic kids club to the child friendly pools to the many water related activities and the friendly and helpful staff.

The best endorsement I can give is that we will be returning next year at the same time without a shadow of doubt. For a young family this was close to as perfect an experience as one could hope for.

Having said all of the above there are a few areas where the hotel could improve that are worth highlighting. They are minor criticisms and for the most part could be easily be remedied and had little to no impact on our family holiday but might be more important to individuals or couples.

1) Hotel is built on narrow strip of land between sea and coast road. It really has little material impact on the experience but some might notice occasional traffic noise and no rooms are far enough away to avoid this. I suppose that security might be considered less than those walled hotel complexes with greater separation from the outside world .

2) Hotel could do with some refreshing/updating in certain areas. Not that anything looks tatty but some tiles in the rooms, by the pool and in the pool could do with a refurb.

3) Rooms are attractive but not truly 5* delux for those expecting a truly luxurious experience. Our bed was also very hard, too hard in fact. When we return I shall request a softer mattress because I did wake up a few mornings with a crick in my neck because of this. L:uxurywise I didn't notice the 5* touches but as a couple I might have expected more.

4) Wifi - There is wifi by the bar and patchily by the pool but the bandwidth and connectivity was pretty poor. In this iThing day and age I expect wifi everywhere including rooms for no cost. You could request it in your room but there was a charge and it was pretty flakey.

5) Food - the food was for the most part fantastic in quality and variety but it is worth noting that there are only two restaurants and not a significant difference in the food served between the two. The buffets were excellent but i did at times struggle to discern the difference between the European, Oriental, Asian and African nights. All were very similar.

6) Beach is beautiful though not quite up to Maldives/Seychelles and some Caribbean islands however the swimming area is limited because of the water sports and boats driving around. Those looking to snorkel off the beach will be disappointed.

7) The service was excellent everywhere except around the pool where it could be improved with a few more staff.

The points above are valid but are really nitpicking. All in all this is a fabulous hotel with fantastic service in a beautiful location with the best kids club we have every experienced and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited this hotel with our 4 year old and 9 month old. The hotel is fantastic for families. The kids club and nannies provided are lovely. The chef made baby puree for my daughter (including fresh papaya which she loved!) We had two connecting rooms which worked very well. The pool is brilliant for children with a special shallow part where our son played happily for hours. There is a lovely spa. I did a yoga class which was very nice and relaxing. The food is outstanding and the theme nights are fantastic, especially the seafood buffet which was exceptional. Truly a place to relax and enjoy life! The staff are so hospitable and kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have now been there eight times and have a great liking for one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Frederic Chretien and his staff are excellent, helpful and always willing to do that extra bit.
The second restaurant, The Plantation, is away from the hotel and is in a superb location. We are always amused at the competition from the two Maitre D's to get us to have dinner with them. We are normally there for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday so we use one restaurant for each celebration! I have never had anyting other than excellent food and service, though I think their wine prices are heavy.
How the staff get to know people's names is amazing. And they are kindness personified when dealing with our daughter. The beach staff too are excellent.

And we are going back twice this year.... Next month and then for Christmas.

Room Tip: Those on the sea front are well worth the extra. Those to the north end of the beach are to be recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is a very nice hotel which targets couples and has special offers for them (like romantic dinners with butler service), and families on holiday (beware of teenagers-filled swimming pool at school holiday times).
The beach, unlike the swimming pool, is always sparsely populated, so you can really relax there.
Excellent SPA.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent many, many hours researching hotels in Mauritius. We are so pleased that we stumbled across this one! It really is a fantastic hotel. Having high expectations we could not actually find fault in anything.

Where do you start in trying to review somewhere that proved to be perfect in every way??

The room: We stayed in an ocean view room overlooking the pool and sea. Beautiful room and very well equipped. You have a personal butler allocated to your room who looked after your every need. Our butler, Sanjay was just brilliant. We had our cases unpacked for us on our arrival. The cases were then packed for us on departure. The room was kept immaculate. I would thoroughly recommend the scented rose petal baths. They were amazing!

The staff throughout the hotel are just so welcoming and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. You felt like a real guest and the service was very much personal.

The food: amazing and the a la-carte menu never once repeated. They had a beautiful restaurant called the plantation in the grounds of the hotel with picture postcard views of paradise. The service from the staff was exceptional far to many to name individually but a special mention must go to Sahil (Tip Top - with his very personal, professional and attentive service. One day he WILL be manager!!!), Rajeve ( with his wise words of wisdom) , Ally, Pritam and chefs Ram and Rishi. We ate lunch here every day and had the most amazing grilled shrimps (Gambas). I would thoroughly recommend this dish to anyone. The restaurant provides the most exquisite sea food buffets on a Saturday. The attention to detail and range of dishes were absolutely superb. It is a must that any guest should attend.

The facilities: The yacht club team were extremely patient and professional and were more than happy to teach you on a one to one basis. The activities were extensive and included sailing, windsurfing, Hobie Cats, pedalos, glass bottom boat trips, snorkelling and for me, best of all water skiing. I could not believe that by the end of the holiday they had actually taught my partner and I to water ski!!!!

The hotel had a beautiful spa. Personally we didnt use it. We did however use the well equipped gym and in particular attended the circuit classes run by fitness instructor Stefan. Stefan was a really commited and inspirational individual. He assisted us in conditioning our bodies and enabling us to eat the copious amounts of amazing food available to us.

All in all we had the most wonderful holiday. We would definitely return.

Thank you to all the staff at the residence!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from our 10 night stay at this hotel and it was outstanding. Having travelled around the world we found this hotel first class. The food was delicious, the staff some of the friendliest people we have ever met, our room was perfect. If you want to go to paradise this is the island for you and this is the hotel. There is plenty to go out and explore the south island tour is wonderful and great to see the contrasts between each region. If you want to sit by the pool and relax this is the place to do it. The sea was lovely and warm and the pool was perfect for that dip to cool off. The staff at The Residence were truly lovely people nothing was too much trouble for them. They were very attentive but not in your face. A truly wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: Colonial ocean view room spacious and lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Ad visor. We noted that from the moment you stepped in our hotel, we are very happy to read that we did meet your expectations.

It is very pleasing to read such warm and positive impressions that will no doubt motivate our team members to always go the extra mile in view of delighting our guests and brighten their stay.

We reiterate your appreciation and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on our shores in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius with its elegant colonial style is in perfect harmony with the intense turquoise of the ocean. With its kilometer-long beach of powdery white sand, The Residence Mauritius is one of the most beautiful jewels of the international hotel scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.