We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday at long beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“holiday at long beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We recently stayed for 1 week at Long Beach.The hotel is very nice with a lovely beach setting. The rooms are clean and spacious, staff are very pleasant and attentive, bar staff were briliant. The food was very nice with plenty of choice although we have had better. The only down side is that the evening entertainment is low key with no animation team on site, we felt they could do with a proffesional show every night to keep you awake also the disco should be open nightly but during our stay it was closed each night and only opened for a wedding party which was dissapointing as most people went to bed quite early so if you like to party it was a bit low key. We met some really nice people but the resort has more French tourists then English. The east coast is a bit windy so next time we would consider the west side hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. We have well taken on board your comments on the entertainment side which we would gladly take on board for our future operations. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren Moodely (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    235
    86
    45
    19
See reviews for
306
502
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at Long Beach over Easter weekend & It was paradise on earth. The location is simply exquisite! The amenities are fabulous, Big Rooms, exceptional taste in décor and great Gym. I couldn't have been happier with the aesthetics and design of this beautiful beach resort. If I had 1 little complaint it's the Wi-Fi could have been faster and I would look at this as it's not a universal issue on the island and have stayed at many other hotels with good Wi-Fi in Mauritius.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. We have well taken on board your comments about the wifi which fortunately we have been able to resolve now. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We recently stayed 15 days at Long Beach as part of our son's wedding celebrations.The hotel is fantastic with the most beautiful beach and setting. We were fortunate enough to be in room 501 on the beach--the view was astounding looking out on beach, turquoise sea and blue sky with the pool and bar just a stroll away. Paradise! The service at the hotel was first class, we were superbly looked after by Vinod, the Head Bar Manager, similarly Seetul at the Bar pool and Anastasia at our evening reception. The food and lay out of the room at the reception were fabulous. Rajesh and his team at reception gave a very friendly and extremely professional service.The food in the different restaurants was brilliant as were the watersports and various activities. We loved the 'open' feel to the hotel with its central piazza and beautiful lawn stretching down to the beach. In summary, a wonderful stay and a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 501. Absolutely superb setting on the beach, near the pool and around 30 metres from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. We will certainly extend your acknowledgements to all those concerned. please convey again our congratulations to the happy couple and let them know that Long Beach is now their home away from home. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Everything about this hotel is amazing. Went to Long Beach on our honeymoon in September 2013 and we did a renewal of vows on the beach as well. Staff were fantastic and always made the extra effort to help us out. Played golf at the sister hotels golf course - a definite if anyone enjoys golf - difficult course but amazing views! All food was amazing and the buffet selection is excellent. We were all inclusive and it definitely covered everything you could want! Also very helpful letting me know what was in some of the dishes as I was pregnant at the time of travel so couldn't eat certain things. We also attended an Indian buffet meal at Tides which wasn't included but definitely worth paying for. Our room was like a private suite on the beach - couldn't have been more perfect! We had a couples massage which was really lovely. The spa area was great - very calming. As part of the honeymoon and renewed of vowels we had 2 special dinners at Tides which were both faultless. The renewal of vows on the beach was perfect too - super helpful staff. We had the ceremony on the beach right outside our room - very private and pretty. Excellent organiser and photographer.

Do: go to the cocktail evening. Rum cocktails. Local painter. Amazing food. Good opportunity to meet people and the senior staff really make an effort to speak to everyone.

Don't: go to Chopsticks - had dinner here twice and lunch once and hand a bad experience every time. Food unfortunately wasn't the best at dinner and was served the wrong dishes a few times at dinner. Lunch we were overcharged as they had put another tables dishes on our bill but in both instances staff were quick to correct and very apologetic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your comments. we have well taken on board also your constructive feedbacks and we will surely cascade down for no future repeat. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having visited Sugar beach in January, my wife and I wanted to try a different resort over the Easter holidays, with our two boys aged 5 and 1.

It's important to note that Long Beach and Sugar Beach are in the same category of resort and part if the same hotel group, however Sugar Beach is much older and in need of an upgrade and some TLC. We had a terrific holiday there and found ourselves weighing up the value between the two.

It's worth mentioning that Sugar Beach is more expensive and I suspect that this is because of two reasons. Firstly, it's more established and well known, not that this should matter. Secondly, it's on the west coast which is usually more sought after. Don't let the East Coast put you off Long Beach. It has a beautiful beach. Although it was a bit windy during our stay, the unpredictability of weather when you travel, is just that.

On arriving at Long Beach, we were upgraded to a superior room which I suspect is because we have a young child with a stroller and the regular family rooms are not all on the ground level so would be a problem with the stairs. Let me mention now, that this resort was not well thought out when considering strollers ( and I would presume wheelchairs). We found it difficult to walk around the resort without having to carry the stroller up and down some stairs, including the entrance to our room. Also, the paths to the pool are all sand and this not stroller friendly. Don't let this mitigating fact be the decider though if you have young ones.

The resort is exceptionally kid friendly. The kids club is well run and inviting and a small important thing to us, is that you are able to order puréed food at the pool side. The food prepared at the kids club is well thought out and all the baby sitters seem great. We arranged the same baby sitter for the 7 nights we were staying and were vary happy with the experience and confidence of the lady, Elodie, that looked after our boys. She was terrific

Being a modern resort, expect large spacious rooms. We rearranged the room to accommodate the cot at the back if the room with the bunk bed for our 5 year old at the foot of the large king size bed. The bathroom is more than you would expect, with a large separate shower scoring highly in my book of must haves. As mentioned above, we had been upgraded to a superior room which opens onto a private grass expanse. The room was extremely quiet and private. The rooms are quite spread out which certainly helps with privacy and seclusion, however just expect a little more walking after dinner which with the quality of the buffet isn't necessarily a bad thing.

The restaurant options included Japanese and Chinese options, which didn't appeal much to us. The morning buffet is outstanding and the evening buffet certainly more than adequate. I'm not a huge dinner buffet fan, but on the nights we are there, we were suitably impressed. We didn't find a lot of eating out options in the area but I would assume that if you had a car, you could explore further. We got a few recommendations from the hotel - one included a ridiculously expensive restaurant in the area that was terrific but not worth the cost. Be aware of checking the type of restaurant the hotel recommends before just accepting their advice

The pool is terrific with shallow playing areas for the newly trained swimmers and the restaurant / bar conveniently located. The large bed like loungers around the pool are terrific. The beach is quite shallow so we didn't venture much into the water there other to play with the young ones a bit.

The wifi at the resort is really not great. Arriving on the Easter weekend, it was essentially non-existent however it did improve a little when the resort quietened down on the Monday. If this is important to you, expect to be very frustrated. We managed to find one or two sweet spots at the resort to check emails and what's app messages, but even these were extremely intermittent. If you're expecting to mix some work in between play, don't!

Other than that, great modern resort with excellent facilities and service.


Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. We did the needful for the wifi to the satisfaction of our guests. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was really pleasantly surprised by the room, it has been beautifully and wonderfully upgraded and the colors, they were well chosen and made me feel very relaxed :)

There was a lifeguard at the swimming pool, so everyone feel safe and I like the color of the pool, the best I have seen until now, there was music and beds with mattresses and pillows to relax near and fixed in the pool, so cool ! :)

In the early morning, I had a walk with Kwan, my husband and Elsie my daughter, since the hotel is on the East coast, there is more wind, I like this fresh morning sea breeze, walking barefooted , and at times, pushing the feet into the soft sand, feeling the coming waves, watching the rising Sun, I will for ever remember this ! :)

There was great variety of food in the buffet, I enjoyed the sight and the taste ! For me, nothing was missing :) The two shops are there if you like shopping, after visiting them with my daughters, I bought a souvenir: a wristband with threads that has been solidified, said Elsie :)

I was content, I danced, even if it was for only for one song and I was the only one :D

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I travelled to Long Beach Resort with my family over the Easter holidays. The structure and layout of the resort is very beautiful and lush and it never felt over crowded especially on the beach, as most people with their kids tended to be in the big pool area. We had a very clean and spacious room with a terrace which had a view of the sea. I think the best rooms are the more elevated ones just because you get a better view and breeze. The fire alarm went off one morning at 6am luckily just for 5 mins, but we did get a letter of apology the same day.
There are five restaurants to choose from Chinese, Japanese, Italian and Tides which served mainly fish. Out of these we preferred the buffet as it had very good quality food and a diverse variety of dishes for everyone in the family. We thought the staff were always very friendly and very sweet with the kids. Sometimes the service was a bit slow but I was on holiday so was not in any rush!
The Spa was really lovely with some great treatments in a wonderful setting-ask for Manisha as she is definitely great for massages. My eldest son really enjoyed all the sport activities organised by the hotel and I thought the gym area was pretty good. The lap pool was I thought a bit to short to be a proper lap pool. The staff at the beach hut where the water sports were on offer were also very friendly.
The only major let down I thought was that the reef is very close to the beach, which restricts swimming somewhat. So do not expect to have a turquoise water with a sandy bottom for 200m. Still you can go snorkelling with a boat organised by the hotel twice a day, where at least you can have a good nice swim. Overall a very happy holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.