We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all a great experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All in all a great experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Long Beach in Jan 2014 for little over one week. After a few days we left the hotel early for its sister-hotel Le Touessrok, because there was disturbance from a big group of hotelguests from Pepsico France. Although the change of hotels was not planned, it turned out exceptionally great, all thanks to the magnificent management of Long Beach. But more on that later.

The hotel itself is very well designed; modern architecture, clear edges, and good situated facilities are some of the great features of the hotel.

As we were seeking for a quiet, relaxing vacation from the stress at home, we contacted the hotel in advance to ask for a quiet room in a specific sector of the hotel (on the hotel's webpage we found a resort map) The front-desk manager Navin took great care of our request and we got what we think is one of the best superior beach-front rooms in the resort.

The food in the restaurants is excellent. We had the chance to try every single one and were never once disappoited. Espacially the Japanese restaurant called Hasu is worth a visit, though one has to pay a supplement if half-board is booked.

Regarding the service provided by the staff: (because some other reviews state poor service quality)

Restaurants:
all our visits to restaurants were very pleasant and we felt very well taken care of. The staff was always friendly and tried its best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The only thing I have to mention, is that the male waiters, especially in Le Marché (the buffett restaurant) sometimes seem to lack the motivation to work as efficient as their female colleagues, who really always worked swift and without any visible bad attitude. Sometimes small mistakes happend, which might accur due to lack of experience in service, but this was never a big issue, since everybody starts at some point. All in all we always enjoyed ourselves.

Reception:
The reception staff worked swiftly and efficient. We had a very well wecome when we arrived by the front office manager Navin who was, as mentioned above, also in contact with us before we arrived. He assured us again that we will be very satisfied with our room when we arrived and as said befor, we were!

Housekeeping:
The housekeeping staff worked quietly and up to our expectations. One night we found two swans made out of towels and some rose blooms on our bed wich was a very nice suprise after dinner.

Porter:
One of the porters picked up a fresh coconut from a tree and served us the contents in our room at our departure day. Also a very nice suprise.

Spa:
We took a massage there and it was a nice experience. The staff is friendly and competent. The spa itself is situated a few steps away from the main resort, but is easy to reach within 3 minutes of walking.

As I already stated at the very beginning, we left the hotel early for its sister-hotel Le Touessrok. The people from the beverage company had a big tent errected on the beach and also in the plaza there was some stage building going on. After the sound-check of the disco and lighting systems on the beach we immediately contacted Navin and he stated what we already feared: the company will stay four days and on the evening of day 1 there will be an open-end-beach party. Problem was that the party would take place just in from of our room. Navin offerd us an upgrade into Le Touessrok without any hesitation, telling us that he is very sorry for the inconvenience, remebering that we spefically requested a quiet room because of our need for relaxing. He organized the transfer and an upgrade into a suite. We had a nice farewell from him and the entire reception staff. Two thumbs up for that service quality.

So all in all the stay in Mauritius was a very pleasant vacation with the unexpected benefit of seeing two of the most beautiful resorts on the island. For our experiences in Le Touessrok take a look at our review on the corresponding tripadvisor page. We can reccomend Long Beach to anyone who seeks modern architecture, a nice 900m long beach, crystal clear waters, nice food, a lot of outdoor activities (we could not even try everything) and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The Superior Beach Front Room was great. We had a room directy on the beach in sector R which was te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Of course we apologise again to have disrupted your stay with us with you going to le Touessrok. But we feel that your comfort is very important. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    184
    69
    33
    13
See reviews for
249
447
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Ok so when your doing a twin centred holiday your bound to compare the two hotels. The first hotel we stayed in, in Dubai was a 4 star hotel on half board, when we came to long beach, Mauritius, 5 star all inclusive for our honeymoon, at the end of march, we obviously expected it to be better!
So this hotel is absolutely lovely, Mauritius is a beautiful island, When we checked in we received a refreshing welcome drink and were shown to our room, the rooms are spacious, clean, modern and well presented, however, I was disappointed that the honeymoon package that is advertised on the hotel website had not been put into place, we were expecting a fruit basket, sparkling wine amongst other things, I thought maybe they've forgotten. You only plan on having one honeymoon and when you do you want it to be extra special. The next day I spoke to our holiday rep about it during our welcome meeting, she spoke on the phone to the hotel, in French, but I got the feeling that there was a disagreement. I said i don't want this to be a fight, if there's a problem then it doesn't matter, it's not the end of the world.
The next day we were rung up to ask if we wanted some sparking wine and the following day we were rung up to see if we would like a candlelight meal, I declined the candlelight meal, it felt forced and it wasn't special any more, I felt like it was an effort for them to do this for us. We spoke to another couple staying in the hotel who were celebrating their 45th wedding anniversary, they told me about the things they had received in their room, sparkling wine, flowers, fruit basket, I wish the same effort could have been made for us. Nobody even congratulated us. It's the small things that really make a difference. The rep informed me that it was Virgin that had not booked the right honeymoon package for us, however on our confirmation letter, the package that had been booked seemed to be the same as in Dubai and that hotel made a massive effort to make our stay extra special.
Ok so that's the negative out of the way, other than that this hotel is excellent, the staff are polite and friendly and efficient. The service is impeccable. The room service is brilliant and they are constantly making sure you have enough to eat/drink and if everything is ok with your room. The food is brilliant too, I am extremely fussy with food, but there's plenty of choice in the five different restaurants you can eat in. The all inclusive option is brilliant, in the mini bar there is branded items, like coca cola and sprite. The pools and hotel facilities are lovely, all extremely clean and well maintained.
I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating if it wasn't for the issues surrounding our honeymoon.
The disappointment I felt about our honeymoon package has absolutely no reflection on the staff who are amazing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. We have taken good note of your very constructive comments and we do take them very seriously. Please accept our apologies on the delay of this acknowledgement. We would be much grateful to you if you kindly accept to send us an email so that we can look together forward to your next stay among us where we promise to make amend of the mentioned issues. Again we thank you for your feedbacks. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Having stayed at other resorts in Mauritius before, we were mostly impressed with every aspect of Long Beach.

The modern rooms, the tranquility of the beach, the refreshing pools and the variety of restaurants stood out.

The yoga on the resort lawns, with Yogi Raj, was a serene way to end off the day!

We will certainly be back to this world-class resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here a month! Great vacation destination. The location, layout, swimming pools, beach are all fantastic. Right size hotel for us, but the weather in February can be an issue especially if you are only here for a week. We had a great time, loads of sunbeds. We took the fully inclusive package and recommend you do as the food and drinks are expensive. Most of the staff were professional and friendly. Service is ok, a little slow some days. Whilst the service was not always acceptable these were minor and we did not allow them to spoil what was a good holiday. Some individuals are better than others and some really stand out. Karine, Natalie and Varuna from Le Marché, Gayetree from Tides and Yousrah from Sapori was so helpful and jolly, also Ittoo was very helpful and efficient. The rooms and general areas are clean and the boys that cleaned the room twice a day were very good. We had Satish in the morning and Pravesh in the evening but all the cleaning staff were good. The rooms were airy, spacious, quiet and extremely comfortable. Never thought there was a need for his and hers wash basins but they were good and there was a separate spacious shower, bath and WC with nice soaps and shampoo. Recommend you bring some nice conditioner for post swimming/sun bleached hair. The closet space was huge and we were able to have a wardrobe each. We had spectacular sea views and enjoyed walks along the beach.

The food was lovely. - I would definitely recommend Tides the beach restaurant - excellent food. The buffet at Le Marché for dinner had a variety of different foods. It was nice for a change not to be waited on and to pick the amount of food you wanted to eat. The buffet surpassed all expectations and all food items were well labelled. Breakfast was also at Le Marché and had a fantastic range of food. You can order your omelette or fried eggs and watch them being cooked for you and Delphine is very nice and will give you the fruit juice of your choice as you watch on. Chopsticks served up the most divine Chinese food, loved their fried noodles, the only problem was it was often too much! Sapori, the Italian was probably our favourite, and we had the sea food pasta a number of times but you couldn't always get a table outside (on a first come first serve basis), which was a pity. The staff there made us feel very special.

The main pool was heated and never very busy, the top 'adults only' infinity pool was amazing and unheated which was very welcome in the heat of the day. The pool’s built in Jacuzzis are relaxing but a little different than the spas I have experienced before you lie down! The gymnasium was well stocked for some much needed exercise after indulging in the vast amount of food that can be devoured throughout the day. There was also a lap pool for the more serious swimmer.

Lovely beach, I would recommend the snorkelling, the variety of marine life is amazing. Not the best in the world but what was expected with a coral reef. If the water is murky persevere, it is clear most days when the wind does not blow up too much. Take a bit of bread and some will eat it out of your hand!! You also have the free glass boat and another boat that takes you snorkelling further out into the lagoon. The view of the Indian ocean along the beach, which is the longest beach strip owned by a hotel in Mauritius is lovely and we sat for hours watching the waves.

I must mention the band and singers that entertained us in the Shores bar, they were fantastic. The acrobatic performances and different themed dance sequences staged at 10pm were thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining. The staff were always friendly and welcoming and you never waited long for a drink. There is a disco but we didn't venture in.

If you want a small boutique hotel, this is not for you. Read the description, it is vast with 255 rooms but the footprint of the hotel is also vast. Luckily for us in February was quiet so we can't say what it would be like if it is full, but there was never a day when we couldn't get a sun bed either around the pools or on the beach, there are lots of them. For us it felt very private and we didn't feel we were on top of each other.

And to top it all there was free WiFi, as long as everyone played along and didn't block it by selfishly downloading it was good for the whole of or stay.

Thank you to the staff of Long Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren M, EAM at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings from Long Beach. It is with immense pleasure reading from you and your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us should you need any further information on your future stay. Stay well and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Sincerely yours, Daren M (daren.moodely@longbeach.mu).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have just returned from Long Beach after nearly three weeks there in February 2014.
We have visited Mauritius regularly since 1996
We found the hotel and accommodation very good, we were very pleased with the food and service at the restaurants. Sapori, the Italian restaurant was our favourite. The swimming pools, general sporting and leisure facilities were very good. The evening entertainment at Shores bar was very good . The six piece band were excellent, even after three weeks.
The gardens at the hotel, which are quite extensive, are really well looked after and always a pleasure to walk around. The hotel layout and the gardens do provide a relaxing ambiance. The major refurbishment in 2011 means that everything is in good condition and it feels fresh and well maintained.
Golf at Touessrok (Toughrok) - the 9-00 am shuttle from Long Beach gives you a 10-30 tee off and the course is maintained to a very high standard. It is not a course for higher handicap golfers, but it is an experience, take plenty of golf balls. My handicap is nine. Shuttle is generally every hour
The staff at the hotel were excellent, the best I have encountered in Mauritius and generally in Mauritius the people are very friendly and service nearly everywhere is very good, but Long Beach staff deserve special praise. I would like to mention, Verdasen, the Executive Assistant Manager, who seemed to be almost everywhere and ever helpful, Nadia, Isabella and Alvin in Customer Services, Olivier, Benito, Sash and Fazal for the Sporting Facilities. Vik and the staff at Shores Bar for their excellent service and of course the band. Jenny who worked in Le Marché and Tides and I could not miss out Varsha who did an excellent job looking after our room on a daily basis.
The beach was fine, but there are better beaches in Mauritius, I would take a pair of beach shoes next time, as it can be a bit gritty with coral as you move away from the area maintained by the hotel.
My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending Long Beach.

Curry

Room Tip: Some rooms could be considered a little distant from the central piazza, restaurants and pools, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had read some negative reports on service. We found this hotel to be fabulous in every way. The service was excellent, the staff ultra-friendly. Rooms modern and comfortable. Great fitness centre with lap pool. Great food, good choice of restaurants and themes. Yes, alcoholic beverages are a rip off - 10-20 times more than for same bottle at home in store (South Africa). But this is similar throughout Mauritius hotels. Not sure if it relates to taxation or policy to extract more from package holidays. But I have come to accept that a holiday there costs R1 000 (100 Euros) more per day than advertised to include a bottle of wine with dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our Stay at Long Beach Hotel was absolutely perfect from start to Finish.
Being a new , Modern hotel I was a little dubious but How Wrong I was indeed.
I can honestly say that the service at this hotel was by far the best I have ever Experienced at any Hotel . The Staff were all very friendly, sincere and attentive. The General Manager Vladimir and Assistant Manager were always present which is quite unusual for a 5 * Hotel, normally management are no where to be seen !! The management were all very friendly yet very professional , always remembering the guests names with that knack of making you feel very special, A big THANK YOU to all the staff, they all excelled and made our stay very memorable. WE did not have any complaints during our stay, 1 or 2 suggestions that were fully taken on board by the management.
. We were at the Hotel during Chinese New year, where for 2 days the Hotel suddenly had full Occupancy, it was most entertaining, Yes the Hotel had gone from a lovely and quiet 30 % occupancy to 100% Occupancy, but in the Hotel business that is only to be expected, the management again went out of their way to appease all the guests who would have rather the hotel stayed at 30 % occupancy, but after the celebrations - which were all spectacular- the hotel returned to it lovely and relaxing Quiet State.
The Photos of this hotel really do not do it justice, The hotel is far more attractive when you actually see it with your own eyes. The Adult only Infinity Pool is stunning, and the lay out of this hotel is Superb, very well designed. Nightly entertainment - Excellent, Restaurants Excellent. Spacious, clean and Modern Rooms.
Facilities all fantastic, sports, Yoga, its all there for the taking . Oh and the Spa- Brilliant !!!
A big Thank you to RAJ the Yoga Guru who Was Inspiring, Educational and a Great Guy, we most enjoyed our Daily Yoga sessions with the Fab View of the sea.
We shall be highly recommending the Long Beach Hotel to all our friends and hope to return again one day !!

Room Tip: All the rooms have Ocean View, but if you want to be close to the Beach Upgrade to a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.