We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just spent 10 days at Long Beach and had an amazing holiday .Everything about the resort is excellent. We were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room and were in room 120 which was very close to all amenities but also very quiet .All the restaurants were excellent and as we were on all inclusive enjoyed the freedom when dining and ordering drinks not worrying about the cost. The service in the hotel is excellent and staff are mostly very friendly .The staff work very hard and really look after you well. The rooms are of a high standard and a nice feature of the all inclusive is having access to a lot of the mini bar including chocolate and crisps. The internet service was excellent and a good way to keep in touch with home. The hotel complex is very well laid out and the pool area was well sheltered from the wind at this time of year. The weather was mostly warm and sunny with some cloud but this suited us well as we are not used to very hot climates at home .Had an amazing holiday and would definitely recommend especially the all inclusive package. Others have mentioned the restrictions on the all inclusive but we found this not a problem with plenty of choice in both food and drinks. Would definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms would be good hotel well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your compliments have been very much appreciated by all the team and the Management. Thank you for fidelity and for having chosen Long Beach which turn up to be an amazing holiday amongst us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    148
    52
    25
    13
See reviews for
224
371
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bryanston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Any thought of a Mauritian holiday includes beautiful beaches, warm sea and excellent food and service. Long beach ticks all the boxes, especially travelling with two small chIldren. The only thing I would comment on negatively is the prices of drinks, otherwise a magnificent stay. And well done on making the resort so Eco friendly.

Room Tip: All are good, one on ground level is ideal for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to read that you had a magnificent stay at Long Beach. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of June, and could not have asked for better. We did quite a bit of research using this site before deciding on Long Beach, as the pictures were stunning, it was fairly new, a reasonable distance from the airport (1hr) and on the very high number of excellent reviews. And we both agree, it was the right choice! Although it is the low season, this suited us, as the hotel never once felt busy, so no trouble getting space at the pool, service at the bar or seated in restaurants. And no issues with the weather, being 25c-28c and sunny every day.

Rooms
We went for a beachfront superior room, for their proximity to the beach. These are large, modern, exceptionally clean, open directly onto the garden/beach and provide everything you need. Large impressive bathroom with double sink, rainfall shower and separate bath. We had noted a review that mentioned a lack of privacy for the toilet cubicle (made of glass), however can assure anyone this is not a problem (frosted glass).

Facilities
Grounds are immaculate and are kept so by a team of gardeners working daily. Pools excellent, comfortable loungers, large double daybeds (2 even in the main pool) and double-swing beds on the beach, we were spoiled for choice. Watersports available (though sadly never used) and gym/fitness centre for the more active. Couple of on-site shops for essentials through to beachwear/souvenirs, and a Spa for those who wish.

Package
We had noticed a common theme in respect to high prices, so we decided to go All-Inclusive for the first time ever, and if what we experienced is the norm, then it's likely we will do so again.
Everything included in the package is clearly marked on the menu's (food items, cocktails, wine, beer etc.), so was not difficult to work out what we could have, and plenty of choice. In addition, items were available from the mini-bar, again with a note of what was included for AI.

Restaurants
We ate in 4 of the 5 restaurants, and the food served in all of them was delicious. Breakfast in La Marche was always excellent, with freshly cooked eggs or omelettes (using your own selected ingredients), along with an enormous choice of international selections. Lunches in Tides on the beach really feels like you are on holiday, sitting on the beach barefoot, and eating perfectly cooked fresh fish (or burgers/pizzas for those less adventurous, 1 of us included). Dinner in La Marche (Buffet), Sapori (Italian) or Chopsticks (Chinese) were all enjoyed, with the buffet being our favourite, always with plenty of selection, and chefs on hand to assist. For those of you with a sweet tooth, the desserts deserve special distinction.

Bars
The main bar has live entertainment each night, however we preferred the more quiet beach bar (indeed some evenings we were the only guests using it) and this suited us perfectly, being able to talk to the great bar staff here, who looked after us so well.

Staff
Although everyone we dealt with was extremely welcoming and helpful, we do have to make special mention of Pravesh and Naresh at the beach bar, and Dharam and Ameer at the pool, Those guys certainly helped to make the holiday as good as it was.

The pictures do not do justice to the hotel and it's grounds or its location (indeed a fashion shoot took place one day), however what really makes a hotel stand out is its service and staff. Having experienced 5 star service, we have high expectations which Long Beach certainly met and on occasion even surpassed. Its refreshing to see a GM (Vladimir Scanu) displaying such a personal touch in taking the time to meet guests, enquiring if everything is to their satisfaction and generally being visible to both guests and staff (even eating in the restaurants). This appears to be the general ethos as the management team can also be found doing the same.

In conclusion, we can honestly say that the hotel Long Beach was the perfect choice for us, fully deserving of it's 5 star rating. Though, as they took such good care of us, we sadly did not get to see any more of the island (perfect excuse to return....)

Finally, a big thank you to the many wonderful guests we had the opportunity to meet, and who helped to make this a truly memorable holiday.

PS Apologies for the length of this review - however it was that good!

Room Tip: Beach-front Superior Rooms for the proximity to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
The Management and the whole team wish to express their heartiest thanks for the praises and honest feedback you have experienced during your holidays. We feel very proud to read that all the facilities and services were to your expectation and sometime beyond. Being loyal to Long Beach, it makes us feel very good to read your reviews which are so appreciative by all of us. The special mention to our team members therein will be certainly passed on to them. A big thank you once again and we hope to welcoming you back to our shores for another memorable holiday amongst us.

With reiterated thanks for all the precious compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed in the long beach hotel as the final part of my honeymoon between 10 to 16 June 2013. The hotel is nice and modern and is clean. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There's nothing they won't do for you, thanks to the staff we had an amazing stay at the long beach.

There is a good choice of restaurants and all of them offer good service and fabulous food. Every meal we had in the hotel was fantastic! My only advice would be to make sure you go all inclusive, the hotel is extremely expensive for food and drink (we couldnt find a bottle of wine under £50, not that this stopped us, you only go on honeymoon once :-) )and leaving the hotel isnt an option unless you hire a car as there are no footpaths to walk on.

The swimming pools are spotless and absolutely beautiful! All in all I loved my stay at the long beach and would recommend it to anyone visiting Mauritius.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Will not bother mentioning the country's beautiful natural features and the warmth of the local people as it has no bearing on our experience at Long Beach.

Strongly recommend anyone considering to spend their hard earned money here to ignore the good reviews as all it takes is one hiccup to really do your head in. Trust me, spend a little more and go somewhere you can actually rely on.

Management: this is not a message to you so please don't bother saving face. We asked for resolution and were turned away. Everyone else, please read on.

1. To echo other reviews, this isn't a 5 star and if you think the price is too good to be true, it is so don't kid yourself. The hotel staff make no excuse about it.

2. Apparently in a 30 degree holiday resort you MUST wear trousers ( I repeat TROUSERS) for dinner. They will NOT give you warning and they WILL turn you away from the local buffet just after taking payment for your 5k+ holiday with them. The fact that they have made no fuss of this over the previous 10 days where you have dined in tailored shorts, and dress shirts.

Despite asking management to let us dine in tailored short when it was our last night, no one seemed concerned and recommended we go back to the room and order room service.

Not that his makes any difference in the level of service that we would expect, but as an under-30 couple, recently engaged, we are the prime demographic these sorts of businesses should be courting. Honeymoons, family holidays, and 3 holidays a year.

Wouldn't normally write these reviews but was simply bewildered. Wouldn't also normally have time to write these reviews, but figured we owed it to any self respecting holiday seeker who happens to value their money and free time.

All the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are very concerned to read your comments with regards to the dress code and the rating of the hotel. First of all, we wish to highlight that in general there is no official legislated hotel rating categories as such as each Tour Operator does feature our hotel relative to what they deem fit after having visited the property and the facilities and services offered to them. In this respect, our guests also rate our hotel according to their likings and services acquired.

Taking into consideration about the dress code, we had already featured in all our brochures worldwide that no shorts (tailored or not) are allowed in our restaurants during dinner. Also by respect for all our residents guests. As such, to reinforce this standard and in view of the winter season, being 20 degrees during the evening, the Management has decided to issue a flyer to each and every guest upon arrival to ensure that they are aware and respect this policy. Surprisingly, you have adhered to this standard since your arrival and why not on the eve of your departure. As procedures and standards are set-up, all our team members have to adhere to and inform guests accordingly. We feel sorry if you have taken this matter as a warning.

Regarding the prices, please note that our prices are one of the most competitive in our category of hotels in Mauritius. We can rightly claim this because our prices have been thoroughly benchmarked with the prices of other hotels over the island and they have always been substantially lower. We sincerely regret if it has been perceived as such.

Thank you indeed for your understanding and we remain at your disposal for any further information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from Longbeach on the 15th June 2013. We were a group of 4 women friends who normally holilday in Europe but as this year was a special occasion we chose Mauritus. We would like to thank all the staff at Longbeach for making it a wonderful experience that will not be forgotten. A special thank you to Dwakka our house boy, Kevin, and Marie Claire for thier infusions and all the special ladies at breakfest. The attention lavished upon us from Ameer and his Manager at Tides made us feel very special, all the staff that we met contributed to making this a holiday of a lifetime.

Our top tip for this holiday would be to take the all inclusive option as all beverages are extremely expensive.

Room Tip: We where in rooms 115 and 118 which were perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We feel very honored to read your compliments about your recent stay at Long Beach. The Management and the whole team wish to express their sincere thanks to you and your friends for having chosen this destination for this special occasion in Mauritius. Your special mentioned to those team members who have made your stay a lifetime, will be definitely pass on to them. We sincerely hope to welcoming you all back to Long Beach for another amazing holiday experience.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day holiday in june staying in long beach with my wife and it was magic.from the welcome on our arrival to the goodbye,s at the end we were very impressed.The staff could not do enough for you and were allways polite and happy.rajeesh on reception and dwarta the guy who cleaned our room were fanastic and a credit to the hotel.it is winter in mauritius but we still had temperatures in the mid seventies which was warm enough for us.we did have a little rain but it came late pm or at night.our room was out of this world with everything you will ever need and faced the sea about 200 yards away which was lovely.in the evening somone would turn your bed back and leave you water.we stayed on a full board basis and the food was 1st class .the choice for all meals was as varied as you can get to cover all tastes,there was an italian restaurant,chinese ,japense and la marche which has a help yourself buffet.also tides restaurant near one of the pools.chefs would cook eggs to your liking at breakfast and be there in the evening cooking fish,lamb.beef etc.in the evening you could listen to music near one of thr bar areas or a disco if your cup of tea,three great pools>(no need to take your own towels as ones provided).one heated ideal for children and one not with the un heated one offering superb views of the private beach and sea.and one in the leisure where you can use if you just want to swim lengths .a fitness centre as well. ideal location for those who are golfers with free golf for residents and several courses in the area if you fancy a change.which you pay for.also water sports like para gliding and snorkelling plus others.we went on a glass bottom boat which was also free where you could see the coral and some lovely fish,in june it got dark at 6 pm so we could not go for evening walks which we like to.the only gribe like a lot of reviews for this hotel is the cost of drinks.2 small beers and 2 lime and sodas about £14.if they cut the cost of drinks this would be a 6 star hotel.coffee is offered in the price with all meals but you have to pay for coffee in your room or drinks out of your room fridge.so take a travel kettle and your own coffee for you room .it is worth it we will be back again to this hotel when i hope the price of drinks will be cheaper which would encourage people to buy more.there is a super market about a thirty minute walk where you can buy 6 cans of beer for what you pay for one in the hotel.the hotel is well laid out and is very quiet at night and very safe,security patrol the grounds.if you want to visit mauritius i recommend this hotel and the island.we went on a trip around the island and every body was so friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a room around 110- 1120 which all have a sea view and is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
The team feel so privileged to read such praises about Long Beach with regards to your fabulous stay with us. The Management wish thank you for your confidence in the Long Beach team and we are delighted that except the prices for drinks you have fully benefit all facilities and enjoyed your holidays. We will be very pleased to welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future. Kindly let us know the date you intend to renew your holidays.
Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.