We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beating uk winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
farnham surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beating uk winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed 10 nights in this well run hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Room was well positioned close to beautiful beach.Food was very good in good selection of restaurants. Staff were particularly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays and we are glad to read that the hotel has been to your expectation and that you have a great time during your 10 nights.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    150
    56
    25
    13
See reviews for
229
382
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just over a week last September. The amenities were lovely, staff were fantastic and the pools and beach side were particularly beautiful.

We paid for all inclusive though and although it may have saved us some pennies on the drinks it was misleading. The lunch menu in one restaurant had something like 4 out of 12 items available as all inclusive. And none of them were seafood, I believe one was meat and the others vegetarian.

Great get away otherwise but did feel a bit ripped off by that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We feel sorry that the all inclusive items have not met your expectation although other aspects of the hotel was to your satisfaction. However, please accept our gratitude for having raised your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I chose an ideal time of year to spend 12 days in Mauritius, and in particular to stay on the East Coast, and we chose a wonderful place to stay.

We went to Long Beach in part for the sporting facilities and weren't disappointed - we used the outdoor tennis courts on a number of occasions, usually early evening, under the lights.

We played four rounds of golf at Le Toussrok on Stag Island (Isle aux Cerfs) in glorious warm weather, and were treated like Kings. Taken by taxi to and from, we were looked after from start to finish.

We also hired a car on four occasions although the first time was from a friend of the receptionists - although we didn't know it at the time! Subsequently we found the car rental desk and paid the same rate for better cars and and a much better experience.

Consequently we really only spent four full days at the hotel, a terrible waste!

The food was, as has already been written about, excellent throughout. Chopsticks was our favourite, but all the others were fine. The range of food at the buffet meant that it never felt like a back up choice.

The cocktails around the bar and pool were delightful but as we were being quite active we didn't really get to sample as much as I would have liked. In fact, by the end of the trip, we worked out that half-board would have been slightly more cost effective, something to bear in mind when you book. If you spend all day at the hotel and partake of the refreshments then full board is ideal, but if you're out and about, and taking as much exercise as we were, then you might find that half-board suits you better.

The staff were superb throughout, from the maids all the way to Stephane, and a smile and a welcome is never far away. Respond in kind and you will feel good all day long.

A special mention for Clarence, the lead singer in the band that played every evening. The music, together with the food, made every evening a delightful experience.

I lived in Mauritius as a boy and this was my first visit back in 35 years. Apart from all the five star hotels, it still retains its beautiful charm, although my co-ed naval school has now become an all-girls college!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your having chosen this ideal place for your stay in Mauritius. We are pleased to read that the facilities and services provided at the hotel have been a delightful experience although being out of the hotel quite often. We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores soon.

With renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back, We spent a weekend and booked 7 rooms for the whole family and relatives, I have visited the hotel a few years back and now it is all new buildings and nothing like the previous one. so if you have been there before it is a totally new place and much better staff.

Location: The Hotel is located on the east side of the Island and If you ware driving there on your own, you will have to do your research well before making that trip as there are not many road signs. somehow, you can get GPS map but have not use it myself.
Since it is located on the east you will find that the sunset is on the west side of the Island and you may not be able to experience the natural beauty of the the Indian Ocean set.

Restaurants: Several restaurants that are open every night from "Italian, Chinese, seafood, buffet and Japanese restaurants, they are all located in the around the swimming pool area and near the beach, my preference is the sea food one and that is the closest to the beach and if you want to book a table please asked for one that has the folding glass door and roof in case it is windy or rain you are well located and can see the sea. on a nice evening night it is open and having dinner on the beach definitely a romantic night to remember.
Oh Buffet restaurant is also the breakfast location and it can get very busy in the morning and they close at 10:30am, if you choose to order your breakfast to your room Yes you can but it will come with a cost but with limited access to the whole buffet breakfast.

Amenities and Facilities: swimming pool are ok not too deep max 5.5 ft, again it is about 2-3 minutes walk to the beach, towels are provided and there is a bar by the pool as well. washroom/toilets are also near by and a shop in case you need sunscreen and sandals etc..
a open air dancing floor and some show and activities at night, different band and they does english and french songs as well as creole. after midnight if you still want to have more fun the night disco is open.

Internet: Yes wifi is good and somehow I get better reception in my room than in the welcome desk area. you will get a code when you check in and in case you lost it, which I did, they will provide you one over the phone.

The rooms: Clean and comfortable, some are near and facing the beach, some are on top of other rooms like an apartments. so you night check out before you book your room and which location you want. the rooms are a quite a distance to walk to the restaurants, so if you have some difficulty walking you want to ask for a golf car pick up and drop off. and look for the room that are located on the ground floor. a safe in the room and beds are very comfortable, a mini bar, flat tv 24 inches and very interesting open concept bath room with glass doors. bring your own soap/shampoo if possible as they only serve soap in pump bottle which I found a bit cheap.
Their night table has an alarm clock that can charge Iphone/ipod which is great.

The staff: are generally happy to assist in anyway possible but seem running on limited staff, the Hotel was full when we get there and they tried to get organize as best they can and service was hectic and I have to walked to my room with my hand luggages as no one is able to help other than check me in.

General: I find this hotel a well design for young couples and small family, the swimming pool are close at 5pm and have to return the towels at the latest which does not make any sense at all, the beach has limited swimming area due to seaweed and plants. Can be quite a challenge for older people with walking difficulties, beach 7/10, animation are from 6/10. food 7/10, rooms 8/10 base on a 4 stars rating. I would not give a 5 star on this one, but 4 stars max.

Outside the hotel not too many places to hang out. it is good for a quite and relax holiday and nice resting place and decent food menu.

If you like the reviews, well you know what to do.

Room Tip: All rooms has a sitting area outside your room, get one that face the beach if you like the ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Your observation on the overall structures, facilities and services has been well appreciated. We are pleased to read that almost all aspects have been to your liking. However, we would like to point out that we provide soap & shampoo in our bathroom only. Pump bottle soap is placed at the wash basin. Should you to have additional soap or shampoo, it’s just a matter of asking with the room maids whereby they will provide you with pleasure.
Thank you once again for having chosen Long Beach for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I'v been there with my wife and friends for 14 days - end of Jan, beginning of Feb'2013...
It's was one of my best trips ever...
Service is very good. Food - perfect. Beach - clean. Water - clean and warm...
Air temperature - very comfort. Rooms - clean and convenient..
And everywhere - nice flowers.
Internet - not so good, but at least can check emails (Skype often is interrupting, android devices cannot be updated etc..)...
That's one of the places where i want to return back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
It’s a pleasure to read that you have experiencing a wonderful holiday amongst us and that your first trip has been a successful one. We note your concern with regards to the internet access which was not your entire satisfaction. We would like to inform you that although we have free wifi at the hotel, unfortunately, it has been recommended not to navigate onto Site Updates or Video download sites or any other related pages which slow down the hotel’s connectivity speed and thus pay prejudice to other guests. We would like to thank you for your understanding.

Many thanks again for reassuring us of your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just stayed at Long Beach for 12 nights.The room was very spacious, comfortable and modern.I would recommend this hotel for anyone whether couples or families.On half board the buffet breakfast and evening meal were consistently good. My only criticism concerns their organisation. Many of the tables were outdoor, which is delightful in good weather but when it rains (as it did during my stay) they seem surprised and struggled to cope. Surely a contingency plan should be in place to deal with this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for having chosen Long Beach for stay and we are glad to read that almost all aspects of the hotel have been to your satisfaction. Your criticism has been well appreciated and we take note to review this situation. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel to other families and friends. We hope to welcoming you also back to our hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for nearly 10 days over the UK half term break in Feb (16-27) 2013 We've been to Mauritius before having stayed at Le Victoire at the same time but two years ago. Le Victoire is on the East side of the Island whereas Long Beach is on the west side.

We stayed in the larger inter leading family suites - probably the most well appointed suites we've stayed in in our time with our two young girls: extremely spacious and (being a two year old hotel) modern and in very good condition - couldn't fault it in any way. Beds were gloriously comfy and the suite very well sound proofed - we were not aware of any of our neigbours movements. Many people cautioned us about the west side of the island not being as sheltered from the wind as the East side but the hotel has been designed in a way that consciously protects one from the wind when it does prevail. It was never an issue to us as it was a welcome cooling agent!

The resort is large but we never felt it although it may be said by others that some suites are a long walk from the main central facilities. Our room was indeed on the end of the resort but it wasn't an issue for us.

The food was excellent - we stayed on a half-board basis. In addition to the excellent buffet restaurant there is a selection of 5 other a la carte restaurants so one never bores of the buffet style. I was well looked after, being vegan - the chef met us on arrival to ensure we knew that my dietary requirements were being catered for.

The pool is amazing - best pool ever! In pool Jacuzzis were fun and the pool loungers were plentiful - from comfy beds under shade to traditional pool loungers. The under cover bar area by the side of the pool was used quite a bit as February can bring some rather tropical weather. We certainly had more sun two years ago but this trip quite a bit of rain. It never gets cold and one can always shelter from the rain under umbrellas or the bar or restaurants or just stay in the sea!

The beach is long, sandy and white! The coral reef/lagoon was in far better state to the East Coast where we stayed two years ago. The snorkelling was worthhile near the shore and our young girls really got into it. It certainly isn't the standard of the Red Sea by comparison but fun and quite a bit to see but not as colourful as one would hope.

I was impressed by the Wifi coverage in the hotel - a little irritating that you kept having to log in for a session with a non descript password and login name. The speed was usable for me (which is saying something - I am the biggest Wifi ciritc there is) - I was very impressed.

The staff were great too - very friendly and all spoke excellent English. The Kids Club worked well for us too - friendly staff and great facilities - the girls had no problem joining in and very good attention was given to the fact that they were english speakers (Le Victoire was hopeless on this and our girls didn't want to to go as nobody spoke english!)

We didn't use many of the inclusive water sports facilities but it felt (and I may be wrong) that there weren't as many sports as other resorts - this may have been because of the weather but I also may just be wrong. The Spa was also unused by us - but others gave good reviews of it.

Overall - we couldn't fault the resort in any material way - which I have to say is high praise! We felt that it was a meticulously run resort. The fact that it is owned by the same group as Le Tousserok also gives one assurance that Long Beach is one of the leading resorts on the island. We will definitely return - just a totally fabulous place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are very grateful to you for your positive comments and that you found Long Beach to be a fabulous for you and your family. Thank you for taking the right decision to stay at our hotel and that our Angel Club members have been able to satisfy your children which you have appreciated very much. Just a note to inform that Long Beach is on the East Coast. Regarding the sports facilities, we have a lot of activities for all our guests. As you rightly said that due to the rainy weather, we had to minimize the sports activities as there were no participants to take part as per the planned programme.

With renewed thanks for your loyalty and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;