We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having read some of the negative comments about all inclusive package and service, I was slightly concerned having booked this resort without checking TA first (very unlike me!). However, I didn't need to be. There were 6 of us in our party and the hotel made sure we were in adjoining rooms. The rooms are fantatic (we stayed in the standard rooms), very high spec and well designed in comparision to other 5 star hotels I have stayed. We were not surprised that some food and beverage items were not included in the all inclusive package, there was no shortage of excellent choices that were and for the most part we didn't feel the need to order outside of this. All the resturants are great, with an excellent choice. We tried the Japanese (which is not included) which was certainly very good but did not differ in quality from the others. The staff were friendly and helpful without exception. The men took advantage of the golf course at the sister hotel and had a great day, we used the spa which was lovely. Overall, I would highly reccomend this resort and would certainly book again if returning to Mauritius which is usually something I never do. Shame the rainfall was higher than usual but can't blame the hotel for the weather!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are more than happy to learn that you have been satisfied with the services offered during your stay at Long Beach although having read few negative comments about the all inclusive package. The whole team would like to thank you for your praises which are indeed very gratifying and we are glad also to read that you have enjoyed the foods at our 5 restaurants.

With reiterated thanks and hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    185
    70
    34
    13
See reviews for
251
449
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fantastic holiday, on arrival we were made very welcome by the staff after our long flight from Australia, room was great although a little to far to walk to the restaurants and pools, the only issue we had was the bed was very hard, the room was cleaned every day and was spotless and always nice to return to after spending time by the pool. All the staff were pleasant and polite whether in the restaurants, bars or pool areas.

The Spa was excellent and the girls were friendly, discrete and professional with the treatment, my partner and I shared in a couples room for our treatment and massages.

Pools were always clean and in good surroundings and had no problems spending the day lazing around the pools reading, swimming or sipping on cocktails.

Never had a bad meal, my partner is allergic to garlic and nuts, when we advised the chef's about the allergies they would prepare special meals for her, cannot speak highly enough for the way the chef's catered for our needs.

Most important we would like to thank the staff who organised my partners 50th birthday dinner on the beach, every thing was perfect on the night, extremely romantic with lanterns around the table, secluded area and a fire on the beach.

We are now saving for our next holiday to Mauritius and staying at Long Beach with beach front room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beach front room, we had a standard room, good views over the ocean, would have been be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We read with great pleasure that you had a wonderful holiday and a perfect 50th birthday at Long Beach. On behalf of the management, please accept our gratitude for your loyalty towards Long Beach, for those positive comments and the professionalism of our team members. We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future. Kindly let us know the date of your renewed holidays amongst us.

Thank you for having chosen Long Beach and see you soon for another great and enjoyable holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pretty much off the beaten path for US visitors. Mostly French at the resort. If you want to sit on a beautiful beach with not many people around, this is the place to go. One of the most restful vacations I ever had in my life! Some issues with service on the beach, but overall a beautiful destination and resort.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at this resort face the ocean so you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are glad to read that you had the most restful vacation and it gives us an immense pleasure to take note that you have found this destination very beautiful and the right place to spend your holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Came here for some fun, from the moment we arrived you could see this hotel is totally in a different class. Reception took us for guided tour and show us everything. If I had to return, I will defnitely come back to this hotel for a holiday. The pools, restaurants, beach club, kids club and anything you could thing off, is totally different from what you've had expected!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are pleased to note that the overall aspects of your stay have been to your satisfaction. Your complimentary comments about the hotel in general are indeed very gratifying. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Long Beach in the not-too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I didn't even wait to get home - writing this review from the comfort of my beach hut in Long Bay Hotel. I have stayed in five star hotels and resorts before, some all inclusive, others on a different tariff; Long Bay is easily the best. It may not be as luxurious as some it what it lacks in city chic it more than makes up for in location, in service (the staff are lovely! Very attentive without being pushy, and always offering a prompt and courteous service), in amenities and in food. I must make more mention of the food... Most 'all inclusive' hotels we have stayed in have offered a fairly basic buffet to encourage diners to choose from dishes not included in the tariff. Not so the Long Beach - every single night the buffet has been magnificent. Food freshly cooked in front of you, a huge variety to suit every taste. The other restaurants are superb. You feel as if you are in a small village rather than a hotel complex with the range of choice available to you. The private beach is lovely, very clean and with a wide range of water sports available free of charge (snorkelling, kayaking, sailing) and more available at a reasonable cost (parasailing, fishing, etc). The rooms are clean, well kept and if ( no...when!) we return we would definitely ask for this particular hut again. Did we have problems? Well there was an electrical problem one evening (after torrential rain). We lifted the phone and within 10 minutes had not one but four maintenance men at our door and the problem very quickly sorted. I've read some other scathing reviews about this hotel but all I can say is what I personally have experienced. A truly 5* experience that has made me determined to come back

Room Tip: Choose a beach hut, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We read your complimentary feedback with pleasure whereby the Management and the Long Beach team wish to thank you sincerely for the wonderful holidays you have spent amongst us. Although having read scathing reviews, we are indeed very happy that you have personally experienced a legendary service at our resort. However, we apologise for the electrical problem you encountered. We will certainly pass on these praises to our team members who have excelled in making your holidays a particular one.

Once again, thank you and we will be delighted to welcoming you back to our shores soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights on our honeymoon. I guess we expected a great experience but I've had better. The hotel and rooms are very modern, well kept and always clean. I just feel the experience was very average at times. Some days the staff constantly made a fuss and always were attentive. Other times mainly at breakfast there were many tables which had dirty plates and if you ordered a cup of tea it took ages to come. The staff sometimes insisted on taking your plate to your table. Really nice but what you really need to do is get the basics right.... Clean tables and a drink.I feel that the management are to blame as the staff clearly work long hours and try hard. Each member of staff should be assigned certain tables & take care of those people. At times the place was over staffed some days extremely understaffed. in the evening I would ring customer relations for ages with no answer and when they did answer the restaurant I wanted was booked up very frustrating. sometimes at night we would go to the main bar and wait 30mins before we got a drink. I got really fed up with this hotel at times. It was all inclusive but not everything is included!! No free sports, bikes or rackets, pool table etc all you have to pay for. There are also some foods/drinks you can't have as its an extra charge.!! An unorganised steady hotel - nothing to shout about a real shame as the potential is there if a manager observed more and asked the clients how they felt

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback which we appreciate very much. Before even trying to justify the reasons why the services were not to your expectation, please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortcomings you were subjected to during your stay. We took note of all your concerns which we will definitely look into with remedial actions in order to avoid such recurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely hotel,managed to get a beach room upgrade thank you. When we first arrived the hotel was very busy as the South Africans were still on school holidays so breakfast was a little chaotic. We have stayed at the Awahli Heritage in the south before and that was a lot more intimate and you got to know guest relation staff well, so difficult not to compare. The resort itself was much more spread out so lots of space and a lot quieter during the second week so lots of beds round the pool, no need to put towels down!! We loved the adult only infinity pool. We were all inc which is a must if you like a drink or two as very expensive otherwise but a little limited in food choice on all inc. The restaurants were good but overall we preferred the Awahli for choice and food although the buffet restaurant on Thurs night when it had a sample of all the cuisines was very good. The staff as with all Mauritians were fantastic and special mention goes to Dany in Tides Bar and Pravesh in Shores Bar. Not a lot of Brits seemed to be at this hotel so not a lot of scope to meet new people. Not sure about the glass toilet in bedroom though some things need to be private!! I did lose an expensive and sentimental earring in Shores Bar it dropped through the decking. All in all though another fab time thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We wish to thank you for your comments and take note with pleasure that you had a fabulous time at Long Beach although being quite dissatisfied with certain aspects which we sincerely regret. However, your special mention to Dany and Pravesh has been passed on to them. We feel very sorry to read about the loss of your sentimental earring.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.