We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another beautiful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another beautiful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely hotel,managed to get a beach room upgrade thank you. When we first arrived the hotel was very busy as the South Africans were still on school holidays so breakfast was a little chaotic. We have stayed at the Awahli Heritage in the south before and that was a lot more intimate and you got to know guest relation staff well, so difficult not to compare. The resort itself was much more spread out so lots of space and a lot quieter during the second week so lots of beds round the pool, no need to put towels down!! We loved the adult only infinity pool. We were all inc which is a must if you like a drink or two as very expensive otherwise but a little limited in food choice on all inc. The restaurants were good but overall we preferred the Awahli for choice and food although the buffet restaurant on Thurs night when it had a sample of all the cuisines was very good. The staff as with all Mauritians were fantastic and special mention goes to Dany in Tides Bar and Pravesh in Shores Bar. Not a lot of Brits seemed to be at this hotel so not a lot of scope to meet new people. Not sure about the glass toilet in bedroom though some things need to be private!! I did lose an expensive and sentimental earring in Shores Bar it dropped through the decking. All in all though another fab time thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We wish to thank you for your comments and take note with pleasure that you had a fabulous time at Long Beach although being quite dissatisfied with certain aspects which we sincerely regret. However, your special mention to Dany and Pravesh has been passed on to them. We feel very sorry to read about the loss of your sentimental earring.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    159
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
232
412
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colyton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

good hotel, comfortable rooms, nice beach, good sports facilities, excellent food and charming staff .but BEWARE if you don't go all inclusive the prices of wines, drinks and mini bar are astronomical! We spent £60 on a very average bottle of Sancerre and £30 on an ALsace. Can of coke in the mini bar nearly £5. Also although there is a choice of restaurants, Chinese, Japanese, Seafood, Italian and superb buffet, a lot of the dishes had large supplements , even for all inclusive, so it is easy to rack up a big bill
also we went as a couple in January and didnt realise there is a kids club which meant lots of young babies and children at every meal!

Room Tip: the complex is very far out and we had to walk nearly 500 metres each way for breakfast. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We would like to express our thanks for the overall feedback pertaining to your recent stay at Long Beach. We read your concern about the prices which were not to your expectation and sincerely regret that you have not been able to enjoy certain facilities at the hotel. However, please note that our prices are one of the most competitive in our category of hotels in Mauritius. We can rightly claim this because our prices have been thoroughly benchmarked with the prices of other hotels over the island and they have always been substantially lower. We cannot deny and it’s a fact that we have supplement on certain dishes and seafood dinners.

Thank you once again for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

wow what can I say, beautiful food, beautiful service,beautiful place. The staff cant do enough for you. Their manager 'Vedassen' is so on the ball its unreal, the other holiday makers seemed to be enjoying their time too. kids have a great time there. we'll be back very soon xxx
stayed january 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback relative to your recent stay at Long Beach and we are glad to read that you and your family had an enjoyable holidays amongst us. We will definitely relay your compliments to Vedasen. The whole Long Beach team will be delighted to welcoming you back to our shores shortly. See you soon with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week long stay at the Long Beach hotel. Not having been to Mauritius before we read quite a few Trip Advisor reviews prior to going. Sure enough we have to agree with many reviews regarding the cost of things at the hotel. We went on a full board package thinking that we might take an upgrade to All Inclusive when we got to the hotel, knowing that alcohol was expensive. However, all that they could offer was an All Inclusive rate of 75 euros per person per night. So that meant that since we had already paid for all our food, we would be a further 1000 euros for drinks for the week.
Even All Inclusive customers had to pay extra for many of the branded spirits and certain items on the food menus. Examples of prices were, bottled still water, £3 , small bottle local beer, £4 , wine £10 per glass. Only local rum was on A/l with all named brands costing about £8.
The food was very good however. Presentation and flavour was excellent. The buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner had a wide range of well cooked foods to suit everybody. The Chinese restaurant had a poor atmosphere and the Japanese restaurant was an additional charge.
The pool restaurant and Italian restaurants had very good food but he menus were unchanged all week so thought that was poor for a 5 star hotel.
The staff tried most of the time to be helpful and they were all very pleasant, even carrying your plate to your table from the buffet.
The room was kept very clean and was of modern design with open toilet /bedroom design which was not ideal. Tea and coffee in the room was an addition charge unless you were A/l.
The beach and pool areas were kept clean with ample sun beds.

Overall, the hotel was in my opinion a 4 star and let down with additional charges for many items over and above the All Inclusive package.

Room Tip: To get a proper view of the sea upgrade to a beach front room. We had a standard sea view which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We would like to express our thanks for the overall comments pertaining to your recent stay at Long Beach. We read your concern about the prices which were not to your expectation and sincerely regret that you have not been able to enjoy certain facilities at the hotel. However, please note that our prices are one of the most competitive in our category of hotels in Mauritius. We can rightly claim this because our prices have been thoroughly benchmarked with the prices of other hotels over the island and they have always been substantially lower. The Japanese Restaurant has always been featured with additional cost and all guests in any packages they are partaking into, get a credit of Rs850 per person

Thank you once again for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent whole 8 days in the paradise of fifty shades of modern colours in Mauritius...simply astonishing and beautiful destination, resort, perfect climate, very well organised xmas nights and new years!!! we all enjoyed the whole 8 days of our vacations , kids loved the modern big kids club and me the hiteck 2 floor gym!!! really fantastic place & destination to celebrate the xmas and new year with or without kids!!! you could see the smile on all peoples faces , how they enjoyed their holidays, in this beautiful long beach paradise... each night had the options of 5 restaurants, including chinese, japanese, thai & french! cant go wrong with any of the 5 really! excellent service in all, beautiful ambiance , the thai situated on the sand of the beach, having a wonderful armosphere with candles around listening to the waves of the ocean.... the spa so beautifully orientated , with water surrounding the corridors, astonishing relaxing area , outdoors and indoors, as well as the modern saloon for hair and pedicure/ manicure treatments. we thank so much the perfect staff in all the resort for offering us an endlessly unforgetable xmas holidays in mauritius..... we are so in love with this resort , all of us so we reccomend it to our friends and relatives and we ll return for sure again.... the paradisious beach front villas are so fresh in our minds after almost a month that we want to jump in these modern style villas and enjoy the white sand beach in front of us...... Mauritius & Long beach bella mare we ll see you again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for your valuable feedback pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We are delighted to read that you had an unforgettable, wonderful and enjoyable stay amongst us together with your kids The management wish to thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and we are pleased to note that you will recommend this destination to your friends and relatives. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.

With renewed thanks and see you soon again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went there with my wife. Simply the resort should be classified as four not five star. Everything was four star, staff were trying but not so succeeding in offering good service. It is not their fault, the management has to be blamed. Bad value for money. Nothing more to say. I agree with Angie S.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We read your comments with much concern and we feel sorry that you have not been able to enjoy your holidays at Long Beach. We sincerely regret for the failure in offering our services. However, The Management wish to reassure you that constant trainings are being conducted to all our team members in order to improve our standard of services. Nevertheless, please accept our thanks for your valuable comments which has definitely retained our attention for corrective actions and will ensure that other guests are not being treated same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel for 15 days in December 2011. The hotel has been opened that year. The rooms were good equipped, very clean. Our butler was one of the nicest persons I have met in my life. The restaurants served food in good quality and we have tried all of the restaurants during our stay. Unfortunately the main restaurant could try a little bit harder with the variety of the meals. In the second week, we had the feeling, we are eating the same food all over again. The staff overall was very friendly. As mentioned above, we stayed as a family and in that time we used a children pram. Unfortunately you have to carry the pram to get to your appartment, but this could be fixed very quick by adding some wood rails for the pram. Also the elevator at the reception was broken very often, which meant you had to carry the pram down to the plaza. But the staff helped, when it was around. The only bad experience was during the checkout, when there were a lot of items added to our bill, which we did not order and the guy at the reception was a little bit stressed and rude. Overall I would still say this is a very nice hotel for a stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and have well noted your comment with regards to the repetitive meals which will be passed on to our Chef. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment during checkout. We wish to reassure you that the Management will definitely review the attitude and behavior of our front desk team which we agree with you is certainly unacceptable. We sincerely regret for this shortcoming which enhanced to a bad experience at the end of your holidays.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.