We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week long stay at the Long Beach hotel. Not having been to Mauritius before we read quite a few Trip Advisor reviews prior to going. Sure enough we have to agree with many reviews regarding the cost of things at the hotel. We went on a full board package thinking that we might take an upgrade to All Inclusive when we got to the hotel, knowing that alcohol was expensive. However, all that they could offer was an All Inclusive rate of 75 euros per person per night. So that meant that since we had already paid for all our food, we would be a further 1000 euros for drinks for the week.
Even All Inclusive customers had to pay extra for many of the branded spirits and certain items on the food menus. Examples of prices were, bottled still water, £3 , small bottle local beer, £4 , wine £10 per glass. Only local rum was on A/l with all named brands costing about £8.
The food was very good however. Presentation and flavour was excellent. The buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner had a wide range of well cooked foods to suit everybody. The Chinese restaurant had a poor atmosphere and the Japanese restaurant was an additional charge.
The pool restaurant and Italian restaurants had very good food but he menus were unchanged all week so thought that was poor for a 5 star hotel.
The staff tried most of the time to be helpful and they were all very pleasant, even carrying your plate to your table from the buffet.
The room was kept very clean and was of modern design with open toilet /bedroom design which was not ideal. Tea and coffee in the room was an addition charge unless you were A/l.
The beach and pool areas were kept clean with ample sun beds.

Overall, the hotel was in my opinion a 4 star and let down with additional charges for many items over and above the All Inclusive package.

Room Tip: To get a proper view of the sea upgrade to a beach front room. We had a standard sea view which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We would like to express our thanks for the overall comments pertaining to your recent stay at Long Beach. We read your concern about the prices which were not to your expectation and sincerely regret that you have not been able to enjoy certain facilities at the hotel. However, please note that our prices are one of the most competitive in our category of hotels in Mauritius. We can rightly claim this because our prices have been thoroughly benchmarked with the prices of other hotels over the island and they have always been substantially lower. The Japanese Restaurant has always been featured with additional cost and all guests in any packages they are partaking into, get a credit of Rs850 per person

Thank you once again for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    140
    49
    25
    13
See reviews for
209
351
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent whole 8 days in the paradise of fifty shades of modern colours in Mauritius...simply astonishing and beautiful destination, resort, perfect climate, very well organised xmas nights and new years!!! we all enjoyed the whole 8 days of our vacations , kids loved the modern big kids club and me the hiteck 2 floor gym!!! really fantastic place & destination to celebrate the xmas and new year with or without kids!!! you could see the smile on all peoples faces , how they enjoyed their holidays, in this beautiful long beach paradise... each night had the options of 5 restaurants, including chinese, japanese, thai & french! cant go wrong with any of the 5 really! excellent service in all, beautiful ambiance , the thai situated on the sand of the beach, having a wonderful armosphere with candles around listening to the waves of the ocean.... the spa so beautifully orientated , with water surrounding the corridors, astonishing relaxing area , outdoors and indoors, as well as the modern saloon for hair and pedicure/ manicure treatments. we thank so much the perfect staff in all the resort for offering us an endlessly unforgetable xmas holidays in mauritius..... we are so in love with this resort , all of us so we reccomend it to our friends and relatives and we ll return for sure again.... the paradisious beach front villas are so fresh in our minds after almost a month that we want to jump in these modern style villas and enjoy the white sand beach in front of us...... Mauritius & Long beach bella mare we ll see you again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for your valuable feedback pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We are delighted to read that you had an unforgettable, wonderful and enjoyable stay amongst us together with your kids The management wish to thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and we are pleased to note that you will recommend this destination to your friends and relatives. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.

With renewed thanks and see you soon again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went there with my wife. Simply the resort should be classified as four not five star. Everything was four star, staff were trying but not so succeeding in offering good service. It is not their fault, the management has to be blamed. Bad value for money. Nothing more to say. I agree with Angie S.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We read your comments with much concern and we feel sorry that you have not been able to enjoy your holidays at Long Beach. We sincerely regret for the failure in offering our services. However, The Management wish to reassure you that constant trainings are being conducted to all our team members in order to improve our standard of services. Nevertheless, please accept our thanks for your valuable comments which has definitely retained our attention for corrective actions and will ensure that other guests are not being treated same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel for 15 days in December 2011. The hotel has been opened that year. The rooms were good equipped, very clean. Our butler was one of the nicest persons I have met in my life. The restaurants served food in good quality and we have tried all of the restaurants during our stay. Unfortunately the main restaurant could try a little bit harder with the variety of the meals. In the second week, we had the feeling, we are eating the same food all over again. The staff overall was very friendly. As mentioned above, we stayed as a family and in that time we used a children pram. Unfortunately you have to carry the pram to get to your appartment, but this could be fixed very quick by adding some wood rails for the pram. Also the elevator at the reception was broken very often, which meant you had to carry the pram down to the plaza. But the staff helped, when it was around. The only bad experience was during the checkout, when there were a lot of items added to our bill, which we did not order and the guy at the reception was a little bit stressed and rude. Overall I would still say this is a very nice hotel for a stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and have well noted your comment with regards to the repetitive meals which will be passed on to our Chef. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment during checkout. We wish to reassure you that the Management will definitely review the attitude and behavior of our front desk team which we agree with you is certainly unacceptable. We sincerely regret for this shortcoming which enhanced to a bad experience at the end of your holidays.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for 11 days in November. This hotel is a must! The hotel is beautiful with so much to do - we didn't leave the hotel for the whole of our stay. Tennis courts were fabulous and we always got a court at the time we wanted.

We had a few minor 'niggles' which we raised with the manager early on in our stay, and the hotel went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for us. This hotel really wants to do well, so if something isn't as you expect, tell the staff and they will fix it for you.

We can't wait to go back to Mauritius, and we will stay at Long Beach again.

A tip on dining - try Hasu - it is worth it, the food is divine.

A tip on the beach - we found that the end of the beach (sunbeds 001, 002, 003) was the quietest and most pleasant spot.

Book your stay at Long Beach - you will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It feels very good to read that our team has gone out of their way to make your holiday a wonderful one. We are delighted to take note that although having experienced a minor shortcoming during your stay you have been well taken care of by all our team.

Thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and your valuable comments which are indeed very gratifying.

We will have the great pleasure to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future to get another fabulous experience.

Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I never planned on writing a review but after emailing World Leisure (the company we booked the trip through) a list of complaints regarding our recent stay at Long Beach I felt compelled to write one, as Johann Strydom the MD of of World Leisure South Africa would not even offer us a basic apology.

Long Beach is not a five star resort. Plain and simple. The hotel itself is beautiful - no one can take that away from them. But below are some of the issues we encountered during our stay:

- The service is a joke. We had to wait 30-45 minutes for drinks at the pool. Every single time we ordered something, it came wrong or late. Also, the restaurants ran out of all salads two days in a row!?!

- All Inclusive is the biggest scam. 60% of all food and drinks we not included so we landed up paying in a lot at the end

- As beautiful as the beach is, we couldnt sit on it once as there was not sufficient loungers and umbrellas. We met guests who told us that they set their alarms for 5am just so they can go and 'book' their chairs by placing books and towels on them.

- Two out of the three rooms are group took up had faulty aircons

- Our Sea facing room was bush facing.

- We resorted to paying a tray charge and having breakfast in our room everyday as the breakfast buffet was unbearable. You had to wait in a queue for 15 minutes for an egg.

I think its also important that you know that EVERY single taxi driver we went with told us that Long Beach is notorious on the island for its shocking service. We landed up moving hotels after 6 days to spend the rest of our time at Le Touessrok, which was out of this world! It seemed that every staff member there too knew how bad Long Beach is.

When I contacted World Leisure South Africa to complain the MD replied to me saying that it is impossible to respond rationally to my mail as it runs so contrary to the general feedback of vacations at Long Beach. Excellent customer relations.

Long Beach and its management need to face the facts - the service at the hotel is giving it a terrible name with tourists and locals.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We will not deny that we were a bit stretched on one or two days with regards to service due to the hotel occupancy being at 100%. We fully concur with you, we do have new recruits working for us. They have indeed not acquired experience yet, but we wish to reassure you that we continuously thrive hard to improve our services to a satisfactory level by ensuring constant training. Nevertheless, please accept our most sincere apologies for all the shortcomings you experienced.

Your comments pertaining to the sun beds is not true at all and not a fair one. The hotel has approximately 600 sun beds around the premises (from the south beach to the pool and in the north beach). We have not recorded any complaint relative to the sun beds and we can assure you that we have sufficient to cater to all our guests.

We indeed recall about the faulty aircon and there was in fact a problem with our chiller and we apologise for the inconveniences caused to you and your friends as it has been mentioned to you personnally by our General manager

We wish to reassure you once more, that the Management has taken full responsibility to reinforce corrective and preventive measures which will allow us to offer a level of product and service up to guests’ expectation and beyond.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the last review. I am staying at Long Beach right now and it is fantastic. The staff are so friendly but maybe that is because we engage with them and are not looking for problems - like timing how long it takes to get things - we are on holiday after all. We are being looked after beautifully in every way and cannot wait to come back - or not leave at all. Ignore the person that looks for problems - we are having the most amazing time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your valuable feedback although being at the hotel for the moment. We are certainly very glad to read that you are experiencing a fantastic holiday amongst us. We wish you a pleasant and enjoyable stay at Long Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.