We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY IN LONG BEACH” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Belle Mare
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“STAY IN LONG BEACH”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went there with my wife. Simply the resort should be classified as four not five star. Everything was four star, staff were trying but not so succeeding in offering good service. It is not their fault, the management has to be blamed. Bad value for money. Nothing more to say. I agree with Angie S.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We read your comments with much concern and we feel sorry that you have not been able to enjoy your holidays at Long Beach. We sincerely regret for the failure in offering our services. However, The Management wish to reassure you that constant trainings are being conducted to all our team members in order to improve our standard of services. Nevertheless, please accept our thanks for your valuable comments which has definitely retained our attention for corrective actions and will ensure that other guests are not being treated same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    139
    49
    25
    13
See reviews for
209
349
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel for 15 days in December 2011. The hotel has been opened that year. The rooms were good equipped, very clean. Our butler was one of the nicest persons I have met in my life. The restaurants served food in good quality and we have tried all of the restaurants during our stay. Unfortunately the main restaurant could try a little bit harder with the variety of the meals. In the second week, we had the feeling, we are eating the same food all over again. The staff overall was very friendly. As mentioned above, we stayed as a family and in that time we used a children pram. Unfortunately you have to carry the pram to get to your appartment, but this could be fixed very quick by adding some wood rails for the pram. Also the elevator at the reception was broken very often, which meant you had to carry the pram down to the plaza. But the staff helped, when it was around. The only bad experience was during the checkout, when there were a lot of items added to our bill, which we did not order and the guy at the reception was a little bit stressed and rude. Overall I would still say this is a very nice hotel for a stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and have well noted your comment with regards to the repetitive meals which will be passed on to our Chef. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment during checkout. We wish to reassure you that the Management will definitely review the attitude and behavior of our front desk team which we agree with you is certainly unacceptable. We sincerely regret for this shortcoming which enhanced to a bad experience at the end of your holidays.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for 11 days in November. This hotel is a must! The hotel is beautiful with so much to do - we didn't leave the hotel for the whole of our stay. Tennis courts were fabulous and we always got a court at the time we wanted.

We had a few minor 'niggles' which we raised with the manager early on in our stay, and the hotel went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for us. This hotel really wants to do well, so if something isn't as you expect, tell the staff and they will fix it for you.

We can't wait to go back to Mauritius, and we will stay at Long Beach again.

A tip on dining - try Hasu - it is worth it, the food is divine.

A tip on the beach - we found that the end of the beach (sunbeds 001, 002, 003) was the quietest and most pleasant spot.

Book your stay at Long Beach - you will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It feels very good to read that our team has gone out of their way to make your holiday a wonderful one. We are delighted to take note that although having experienced a minor shortcoming during your stay you have been well taken care of by all our team.

Thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and your valuable comments which are indeed very gratifying.

We will have the great pleasure to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future to get another fabulous experience.

Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I never planned on writing a review but after emailing World Leisure (the company we booked the trip through) a list of complaints regarding our recent stay at Long Beach I felt compelled to write one, as Johann Strydom the MD of of World Leisure South Africa would not even offer us a basic apology.

Long Beach is not a five star resort. Plain and simple. The hotel itself is beautiful - no one can take that away from them. But below are some of the issues we encountered during our stay:

- The service is a joke. We had to wait 30-45 minutes for drinks at the pool. Every single time we ordered something, it came wrong or late. Also, the restaurants ran out of all salads two days in a row!?!

- All Inclusive is the biggest scam. 60% of all food and drinks we not included so we landed up paying in a lot at the end

- As beautiful as the beach is, we couldnt sit on it once as there was not sufficient loungers and umbrellas. We met guests who told us that they set their alarms for 5am just so they can go and 'book' their chairs by placing books and towels on them.

- Two out of the three rooms are group took up had faulty aircons

- Our Sea facing room was bush facing.

- We resorted to paying a tray charge and having breakfast in our room everyday as the breakfast buffet was unbearable. You had to wait in a queue for 15 minutes for an egg.

I think its also important that you know that EVERY single taxi driver we went with told us that Long Beach is notorious on the island for its shocking service. We landed up moving hotels after 6 days to spend the rest of our time at Le Touessrok, which was out of this world! It seemed that every staff member there too knew how bad Long Beach is.

When I contacted World Leisure South Africa to complain the MD replied to me saying that it is impossible to respond rationally to my mail as it runs so contrary to the general feedback of vacations at Long Beach. Excellent customer relations.

Long Beach and its management need to face the facts - the service at the hotel is giving it a terrible name with tourists and locals.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We will not deny that we were a bit stretched on one or two days with regards to service due to the hotel occupancy being at 100%. We fully concur with you, we do have new recruits working for us. They have indeed not acquired experience yet, but we wish to reassure you that we continuously thrive hard to improve our services to a satisfactory level by ensuring constant training. Nevertheless, please accept our most sincere apologies for all the shortcomings you experienced.

Your comments pertaining to the sun beds is not true at all and not a fair one. The hotel has approximately 600 sun beds around the premises (from the south beach to the pool and in the north beach). We have not recorded any complaint relative to the sun beds and we can assure you that we have sufficient to cater to all our guests.

We indeed recall about the faulty aircon and there was in fact a problem with our chiller and we apologise for the inconveniences caused to you and your friends as it has been mentioned to you personnally by our General manager

We wish to reassure you once more, that the Management has taken full responsibility to reinforce corrective and preventive measures which will allow us to offer a level of product and service up to guests’ expectation and beyond.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the last review. I am staying at Long Beach right now and it is fantastic. The staff are so friendly but maybe that is because we engage with them and are not looking for problems - like timing how long it takes to get things - we are on holiday after all. We are being looked after beautifully in every way and cannot wait to come back - or not leave at all. Ignore the person that looks for problems - we are having the most amazing time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your valuable feedback although being at the hotel for the moment. We are certainly very glad to read that you are experiencing a fantastic holiday amongst us. We wish you a pleasant and enjoyable stay at Long Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Long Beach for 7 nights (17 Jan- 24 Jan 2013) on our first trip to Mauritius. Upon arrival we were amazed at the beautiful resort although it was quite a bumpy ride to get here from Port Louis. Check in was smooth with friendly staff. It was long walk to our room 326 but we complained after the first night and they moved us to 421 (closer to reception, restaurants and pool area). We were happy with our new room because location was way better however, the safe and fridge wasn't working. I called reception to complain in the morning however, after several calls the safe and fridge were only fixed after 9pm (really frustrating for 5 star hotel).

Pool area was really wow! Staff were very friendly and accommodating however, pool beds were all dirty and stained (kind off gross). The swings by the beach were amazing only problem we experienced was that other guests would dump their belongings on the swings kind of "reserving it" even though they weren't sitting there. So throughout the day for the entire 7 days we were there we didn't get to sit on the swings because whenever we got there someones belongings were there already- this really annoyed us and we felt it was really unfair and inconsiderate!

Overall food was really good- value for money.
The Spa was very nice and after experiencing our first treatment we were over impressed and made appointments to return again only to be highly disappointed! It all started when my pedicure treatment was supposed to be 60mins but ended in 30mins! When I went to the spa front desk to ask why the ladies there just kept lying and defending each other instead of compensating me. I was extremely upset with them and mentioned I'm going to the manager to complain. Then the lady offered me a free head massage for the remainder of the 30mins and begged me not to report them. But, after my terrible experience I did not return to the Spa. I was really going to complain to the manager but my husband talked me out of it. We really don't fancy complaining and causing trouble. We are frequent travellers and enjoy every bit of traveling and discovering new places and I did not want to ruin the last day of our holiday. Overall great hotel but these hiccups must be sorted out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We sincerely regret to read that despite you were amazed with the beautiful Long Beach and the friendly team members, you were somehow disappointed with few services during your stay. We have already raised those issues mentioned with the relative Heads of Departments for corrective actions in order to avoid such shortcomings. However, the Management would very appreciate if this matter could have reach their attention on the spot for remedial action.

Your point with regards to the dirty Pool beds has been well noted and we are pleased to inform you that we are contemplating to change them shortly.

Many thanks indeed for your valuable comments which have indeed taken into consideration for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absolutely beautiful location badly let down by terrible staff training. Multinational clientele, with domination of French and British people. Many scandinavian families and a big bunch of loud russians.

THE GOOD
great beach - long, white and almost no guests on the beach. Paradise!
the activities are plentiful and fun. Snorkling outstanding with huge variety of fish.
If you are a golfer, the opportunity to play at the near-by Toussarek link is worth everything.
If you look beyond the East German style reception, the design of this hotel is very high-class.
Best pool area I have ever seen anywhere: one huge pool available for families and a large, airy infinity pool reserved for age 12+ only. No problem to find sunbeds at any time of day.
Absolutely wonderful staff in the kid's club which turned our son's friend's birthday into a lifelong memory. 5 stars is not enough for these ladies!
laidback staff in the boathouse easy to get along with.
Above average buffet food but nothing memorable.

THE BAD
If you travel with teenage children, bathrooms without doors is impossible.
Window blinds don't do the job: so already at six in the morning the room is getting too much rays of sunshine
Food not very good at all: only about 50% of food is included in all-inclusive, so even after one week you are truely out of options for variety.
Flies everywhere, and large amounts of birds in the restaurants which feels unsanitary: other hotels have had better solutions to this.
Extremely long distances in hotel: 150 meters outdoor to get from our room to reception or dining area. This is bad when it is hot (360 days per year) or rains heavily (5 days per year).

THE UGLY
Service in this hotel is a joke! None of the famous mauritian friendliness here. Bar men are slow and uninterested. Waiting staff is bored or even hostile. Reception staff unwilling to help. Only guys deserving a tip is the cleaning staff!
Very poorly trained staff in restaurants. We had to wait 5 minutes for attention, 15 minutes for a menu and one hour to get a hamburger served. 30 minutes wait for coffee in the breakfast unacceptable.
Only restaurant with decent service is the chinese restaurant Chopsticks and I am sure that is only because of the excellent, excellent (if somewhat morose) head waiter. And when we had lunch on his day off, they forgot to serve rice with the "cashew beef" - and no cashews either...
Hotel boast five restaurants but this is misguiding: the italian restaurant is not open for dining, the japanese restaurant does not accept guests on a meal plan which leaves three restaurants, but since food in the sea-side restaurant is terrible (after a one-hour wait), it is in truth only the buffet and Chopsticks that counts. If you (like me) don't like all-you-can-eateries, it is down to one: and you cannot eat chinese every night...

Room Tip: Superior rooms not worth the extra $$$ - only thing you get is one neighbour less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
First of all, please accept our thanks for your comments pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We take note of your dissatisfaction with regards to the various services/facilities at the hotel which we feel very sorry that you have not been able to take advantage of. We feel very sorry for the shortcoming your were subjected to during your stay.

We value your points and would like to address your concerns relative to the food and beverage services as quickly as possible. It is our goal to restore your confidence in our Resort by solving these problems and preventing it from happening again. The Management would very much appreciate if this matter could have been reported on the spot and remedial actions could have undertaken.

Our Pest Control team thrives hard to eradicate the flies issues twice per week with the various treatments which has proved to be efficient and noted a serious improvement. We nonetheless agree that there is always room for improvement and this is where your positive criticism will definitely help us to improve. Thank you once again for your remarks.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.