We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Shocking Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Shocking Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I never planned on writing a review but after emailing World Leisure (the company we booked the trip through) a list of complaints regarding our recent stay at Long Beach I felt compelled to write one, as Johann Strydom the MD of of World Leisure South Africa would not even offer us a basic apology.

Long Beach is not a five star resort. Plain and simple. The hotel itself is beautiful - no one can take that away from them. But below are some of the issues we encountered during our stay:

- The service is a joke. We had to wait 30-45 minutes for drinks at the pool. Every single time we ordered something, it came wrong or late. Also, the restaurants ran out of all salads two days in a row!?!

- All Inclusive is the biggest scam. 60% of all food and drinks we not included so we landed up paying in a lot at the end

- As beautiful as the beach is, we couldnt sit on it once as there was not sufficient loungers and umbrellas. We met guests who told us that they set their alarms for 5am just so they can go and 'book' their chairs by placing books and towels on them.

- Two out of the three rooms are group took up had faulty aircons

- Our Sea facing room was bush facing.

- We resorted to paying a tray charge and having breakfast in our room everyday as the breakfast buffet was unbearable. You had to wait in a queue for 15 minutes for an egg.

I think its also important that you know that EVERY single taxi driver we went with told us that Long Beach is notorious on the island for its shocking service. We landed up moving hotels after 6 days to spend the rest of our time at Le Touessrok, which was out of this world! It seemed that every staff member there too knew how bad Long Beach is.

When I contacted World Leisure South Africa to complain the MD replied to me saying that it is impossible to respond rationally to my mail as it runs so contrary to the general feedback of vacations at Long Beach. Excellent customer relations.

Long Beach and its management need to face the facts - the service at the hotel is giving it a terrible name with tourists and locals.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We will not deny that we were a bit stretched on one or two days with regards to service due to the hotel occupancy being at 100%. We fully concur with you, we do have new recruits working for us. They have indeed not acquired experience yet, but we wish to reassure you that we continuously thrive hard to improve our services to a satisfactory level by ensuring constant training. Nevertheless, please accept our most sincere apologies for all the shortcomings you experienced.

Your comments pertaining to the sun beds is not true at all and not a fair one. The hotel has approximately 600 sun beds around the premises (from the south beach to the pool and in the north beach). We have not recorded any complaint relative to the sun beds and we can assure you that we have sufficient to cater to all our guests.

We indeed recall about the faulty aircon and there was in fact a problem with our chiller and we apologise for the inconveniences caused to you and your friends as it has been mentioned to you personnally by our General manager

We wish to reassure you once more, that the Management has taken full responsibility to reinforce corrective and preventive measures which will allow us to offer a level of product and service up to guests’ expectation and beyond.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    185
    70
    34
    13
See reviews for
251
449
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the last review. I am staying at Long Beach right now and it is fantastic. The staff are so friendly but maybe that is because we engage with them and are not looking for problems - like timing how long it takes to get things - we are on holiday after all. We are being looked after beautifully in every way and cannot wait to come back - or not leave at all. Ignore the person that looks for problems - we are having the most amazing time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your valuable feedback although being at the hotel for the moment. We are certainly very glad to read that you are experiencing a fantastic holiday amongst us. We wish you a pleasant and enjoyable stay at Long Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Long Beach for 7 nights (17 Jan- 24 Jan 2013) on our first trip to Mauritius. Upon arrival we were amazed at the beautiful resort although it was quite a bumpy ride to get here from Port Louis. Check in was smooth with friendly staff. It was long walk to our room 326 but we complained after the first night and they moved us to 421 (closer to reception, restaurants and pool area). We were happy with our new room because location was way better however, the safe and fridge wasn't working. I called reception to complain in the morning however, after several calls the safe and fridge were only fixed after 9pm (really frustrating for 5 star hotel).

Pool area was really wow! Staff were very friendly and accommodating however, pool beds were all dirty and stained (kind off gross). The swings by the beach were amazing only problem we experienced was that other guests would dump their belongings on the swings kind of "reserving it" even though they weren't sitting there. So throughout the day for the entire 7 days we were there we didn't get to sit on the swings because whenever we got there someones belongings were there already- this really annoyed us and we felt it was really unfair and inconsiderate!

Overall food was really good- value for money.
The Spa was very nice and after experiencing our first treatment we were over impressed and made appointments to return again only to be highly disappointed! It all started when my pedicure treatment was supposed to be 60mins but ended in 30mins! When I went to the spa front desk to ask why the ladies there just kept lying and defending each other instead of compensating me. I was extremely upset with them and mentioned I'm going to the manager to complain. Then the lady offered me a free head massage for the remainder of the 30mins and begged me not to report them. But, after my terrible experience I did not return to the Spa. I was really going to complain to the manager but my husband talked me out of it. We really don't fancy complaining and causing trouble. We are frequent travellers and enjoy every bit of traveling and discovering new places and I did not want to ruin the last day of our holiday. Overall great hotel but these hiccups must be sorted out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We sincerely regret to read that despite you were amazed with the beautiful Long Beach and the friendly team members, you were somehow disappointed with few services during your stay. We have already raised those issues mentioned with the relative Heads of Departments for corrective actions in order to avoid such shortcomings. However, the Management would very appreciate if this matter could have reach their attention on the spot for remedial action.

Your point with regards to the dirty Pool beds has been well noted and we are pleased to inform you that we are contemplating to change them shortly.

Many thanks indeed for your valuable comments which have indeed taken into consideration for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absolutely beautiful location badly let down by terrible staff training. Multinational clientele, with domination of French and British people. Many scandinavian families and a big bunch of loud russians.

THE GOOD
great beach - long, white and almost no guests on the beach. Paradise!
the activities are plentiful and fun. Snorkling outstanding with huge variety of fish.
If you are a golfer, the opportunity to play at the near-by Toussarek link is worth everything.
If you look beyond the East German style reception, the design of this hotel is very high-class.
Best pool area I have ever seen anywhere: one huge pool available for families and a large, airy infinity pool reserved for age 12+ only. No problem to find sunbeds at any time of day.
Absolutely wonderful staff in the kid's club which turned our son's friend's birthday into a lifelong memory. 5 stars is not enough for these ladies!
laidback staff in the boathouse easy to get along with.
Above average buffet food but nothing memorable.

THE BAD
If you travel with teenage children, bathrooms without doors is impossible.
Window blinds don't do the job: so already at six in the morning the room is getting too much rays of sunshine
Food not very good at all: only about 50% of food is included in all-inclusive, so even after one week you are truely out of options for variety.
Flies everywhere, and large amounts of birds in the restaurants which feels unsanitary: other hotels have had better solutions to this.
Extremely long distances in hotel: 150 meters outdoor to get from our room to reception or dining area. This is bad when it is hot (360 days per year) or rains heavily (5 days per year).

THE UGLY
Service in this hotel is a joke! None of the famous mauritian friendliness here. Bar men are slow and uninterested. Waiting staff is bored or even hostile. Reception staff unwilling to help. Only guys deserving a tip is the cleaning staff!
Very poorly trained staff in restaurants. We had to wait 5 minutes for attention, 15 minutes for a menu and one hour to get a hamburger served. 30 minutes wait for coffee in the breakfast unacceptable.
Only restaurant with decent service is the chinese restaurant Chopsticks and I am sure that is only because of the excellent, excellent (if somewhat morose) head waiter. And when we had lunch on his day off, they forgot to serve rice with the "cashew beef" - and no cashews either...
Hotel boast five restaurants but this is misguiding: the italian restaurant is not open for dining, the japanese restaurant does not accept guests on a meal plan which leaves three restaurants, but since food in the sea-side restaurant is terrible (after a one-hour wait), it is in truth only the buffet and Chopsticks that counts. If you (like me) don't like all-you-can-eateries, it is down to one: and you cannot eat chinese every night...

Room Tip: Superior rooms not worth the extra $$$ - only thing you get is one neighbour less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
First of all, please accept our thanks for your comments pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We take note of your dissatisfaction with regards to the various services/facilities at the hotel which we feel very sorry that you have not been able to take advantage of. We feel very sorry for the shortcoming your were subjected to during your stay.

We value your points and would like to address your concerns relative to the food and beverage services as quickly as possible. It is our goal to restore your confidence in our Resort by solving these problems and preventing it from happening again. The Management would very much appreciate if this matter could have been reported on the spot and remedial actions could have undertaken.

Our Pest Control team thrives hard to eradicate the flies issues twice per week with the various treatments which has proved to be efficient and noted a serious improvement. We nonetheless agree that there is always room for improvement and this is where your positive criticism will definitely help us to improve. Thank you once again for your remarks.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for two weeks in September 2012. Having never been to Mauritius, we booked this resort based on travel agent recommendation, internet research and web reviews, After a tough year, we were looking for our own piece of paradise, and The Long Beach website appeared to offer everything that we were looking for.... We were attracted by the modern style, the relaxed informality, the variety of catering options and the perceived value of the all inclusive. Without any exaggeration, our expectation was met and then absolutely surpassed and blown away!! Literally from the moment we arrived at reception, the tone and style of the service was made blatantly clear as being relaxing, welcoming and fundamentally a "nothing is too much trouble" culture. I know that Long Beach are in the business of hospitality, but it is easy to take these things for granted, especially when you are surrounded by beautiful weather, warm sea and white sand. Clearly the team here have a fabulous approach to service delivery, and this was replicated across each department and area that we experienced throughout the two weeks. The quality of the accommodation is excellent, Modern, stylish, well designed space. We had chosen a beach front room, and it was literally that, waking up to views of the ocean (We stayed in room 127). The food quality and variety was excellent, and the options available on the inclusive were really quite surprising, in comparison to another experience in the Caribbean. We tried every restaurant, and it is really difficult to choose a favourite, as they offer a different style and atmosphere each time. We even stayed in our room one evening and the room service team recreated the restaurant on our veranda, it was stunning attention to detail! We used the gym every day and the team there were friendly and enthusiastic, in particular Nathan and Vikram, who took us on bike rides and running along the beach. I was very keen for my wife to try Scuba and without doubt the only reason for her overcoming her anxieties was the calm, reassurance from Joel, which enabled her to dive in the lagoon for the first time in her life. We also spent a lot of time on the beach, despite the persistent winds that the island was experiencing at the time, and the attentive service that we received on a daily basis from Kashees and Dharm, was tremendous; a pleasure to chat to, with a pre-emptive approach to service. We saw the same service culture from Marjorie,and Dario in Tides and Mahody, who serviced our room to immaculate standards every day. We could go on, but as you can see, our experience was fantastic, and without doubt we hope to return to Long Beach again in the very near future. Congratulations to you all for creating paradise!!

Room Tip: Opt for a beach front room away from the main piazza if possible, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The beach view supreme room was lovely and all the staff were very attentative aswell as being friendly. We would definitely want to go again and recommend it. We were there for only 7 days but perfect for a winter break.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had booked 9 nights but moved to another hotel after 3 nights. On checking in, the water feature to the left of reception had empty cans and bottles floating around. Not the best introduction to the hotel. I did point this out to the member of staff who was checking us in and he agreed it was not what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. However 2 days later they were still there and had been joined by some more floating debris. I had paid a supplement to secure a superior beach front room so was somewhat suprised to find the garden, then the pool and finally the bar between my room and the beach. I asked to be moved as this was not what I paid for and was told the earliest I could be moved was the next day. Next day came and went with no contact so I contacted guest relations who officially logged my request to change rooms. Next day no contact from anyone again. Finally I met with the front office manager Nivan, who displayed all the professionalism and helpfulness that you would expect from a 5 star resort. He immediately agreed to my request to switch to their sister hotel Le Tousserok where I had stayed twice previously. He arranged a taxi at their expense to take me there, he arranged for his counterpart to meet and greet myself and my wife and ensure we were given a good room. If a hotel was judged by how well its staff did when things went wrong then this this member of staff would ensure the hotel got 5 stars. However him apart, the reality is that the hotel was previously a 3 star hotel which has been renovated, upgraded and rebranded. It ticks all the 5 star boxes other than the attitude of the retained staff, who still deliver a 3 star service. I agree with other observations about the all inclusive offering. There are so many items on the menu that are not included, frankly it's almost not worth having. Maybe I am just spoiled by a staying twice before at Le Tousserok but Long Beach falls a long way short of real 5 star hospitality. Suprising really, given that the group own a hotel of Le Tousseroks quality that it can't use that knowledge to train its staff at Long Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
On behalf of the Long Beach Management, please accept our most sincere apologies for the various shortcomings you were encountered to at the hotel during your stay. We certainly agree that the services offered to you was not at all to your expectation which we regret most profusely. However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments which had seriously retained our attention for improvement and wish to reassure you that we have definitely taken these issues as learning points. These points have been passed on to all those concerned for remedial corrective actions.

With renewed apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.