We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long beach but long way to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Mauritius to your Saves list
Long Beach Mauritius
Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Long beach but long way to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Food excellent especially Chinese at chopsticks .
Second visit in a year and service has deteriorated.small things gone like biscotti with coffee ,Italian buffet at night at Sappoi restaurant replaced by pizza and pasta .pool service better than last year but nowhere near five star .general service needs a major upwards shift to reach st Geran or other five star levels.entertainment at night now only a few times a week as opposed to nightly a year ago !
Architecture magnificent ,modern and refreshingly beautiful.beach and pool superb.

A little bit of management magic is needed to get to the highest level .

Room Tip: Beach front rooms definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Your comments have been taken very positively for which we would like to thank you and these feedback will definitely assist us in improving our standard of services. These observations have been lengthily discussed with the heads of department for corrective measures so that other guests do not experience the same.
Thank you once again and please rest assured that the Long Beach Management will certainly looked into the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    185
    70
    34
    13
See reviews for
251
449
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I, after a fabulous two week visit to Long Beach in September 2011, decided to break our rule of never visiting the same resort twice and spend 10 days there to celebrate my husband's birthday.One of the resons for this decision, apart from the wonderful resort setting/beach,was the fact that unlike so many other Mauritius resorts one has various dining choices other than buffet. On our first night, not having made a reservation for one of the al la carte restaurants,we had to eat at Le Marche, the buffet restaurant which we found was much improved with a greater variety of dishes especially fresh fish which we particularly enjoy. The new menu at the Chinese restaurant, Chopsticks, offers a modern twist on some traditional dishes. Sapori is a good Italian restaurant with a very attentive and friendly manager, Kieran, who went out of his way to ensure we were being well looked after. We did not dine at Hasu(the Japanese restaurant) this time. The dining highlight was by far the beach restaurant Tides (which was not open on our previous visit). How wonderful to be able to dine on delious fresh seafood with your feet in the sand. I arranged (with the help of the ladies at guest services) a lobster dinner for my husband's birthday which was not only beautifully presented at a romantic beach table at Tides but absolutely delicious. The individually monogrammed and printed menus were a lovely touch as was the divine chocolate mousse cake compliments of the chef the leftovers of which were deliverd to our room later for us to enjoy the next day. The chefs at Tides and the manager, Dario, and his team made it a most memorable evening. We also enjoyed the seafood buffet at Tides (for which there was a supplement) where we ate fantastic lobster grilled on the coals as well as fresh dorado and tuna steaks. On the housekeeping side of things - our room was always spotlessly clean with towels and sheets changed daily.We had one small issue with toiletries not being replenished daily which we reported to Yousoof the housekeeping manager at the weekly coctail party in the square. Imagine our suprise the following evening after dinner when Yousoof was waiting for us on the path to our room to inform us that he had personally checked our room to ensure that everything was in order and that he just wanted to assure us that it wouldn't happen again. One accepts that there will always be the odd service issue at a large resort but when senior managemnet go out of there way to rectify the problem it really says a lot.Every aspect of the hotel clearly reflects Nicolas, the general manager, and his team's absolute commitment to service excellence. However this unfortunately did not extend to the Le Tousserok golf course which we played on two occassions and where we had to endure the unproffessional,sarcastic and unhelpful attitude of the golf course staff (apart from the ladies at the pro shop). This is truly an exceptional golf couse in a unique location and it is a pity that the experience was ruined by poor staff attitude. (It is a nice touch however that the hotel arranges one's transfer to the course and that there are no green fees for hotel residents.) We did report our poor golfing experience in the customer satisfaction survey and we trust it will receive urgent attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
On behalf of the Long Beach team, please accept our most sincere thanks for your valuable feedback relative to your recent holidays with us. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and have been able to experience the Tides and other restaurants dishes which were to your satisfaction.

Your comment pertaining to the Golf course at Le Touessrok has been passed on to the Manager whereby he took it very positively and has reassured us that corrective and preventive actions will be undertaken in order to avoid such recurrence.

Thank you once again for your fidelity towards Long Beach and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores next year.

With warm and sunny regards from the Long Beach team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I, both keen but average golfers, decided to spend sixteen nights at Long Beach primarily because of the free access to the famous Le Touessrok golf course. The hotel is situated approximately a forty minute costal taxi drive from the airport and after a twelve hour flight we were absolutely delighted by the welcome we received at Long Beach. As we got out of our taxi we were greeted by one of the charming Customer Relations team who arranged cool non-alcoholic cocktails for us and saw to our registration all while we sat comfortably in the ultra-modern reception area. We were then shown to our room in one of the many accommodation villas each containing four guest rooms. Ours was a standard room but it was large with a large balcony, comfortable bed, acres of storage and a modern bathroom, it felt airy, cool and met its five star rating.

The hotel accommodation encircles the main pools and restaurant area with the glorious, soft white sandy beach running the length of the estate. There is a good gym and very good attractions to keep younger children amused at the Kids and Teens Clubs. The main pools are what you would expect, elegant, surrounded by comfortable loungers and double beds and served by adjacent bars and restaurants.

The food is served at five restaurants. Le Marche is a buffet which, while slightly eccentric in some ways, serves delicious food. Sapori is a good Italian restaurant. Chopsticks serves excellent oriental food; the duck and pork we had here were the best we’ve had at any Chinese restaurant. Tides is an al fresco restaurant where we generally ate lunch and Hasu an a la carte Japanese restaurant which we didn’t try as we are not great sushi eaters and there was a ‘Supplement’ to pay for All Inclusive guests. A word about the AI option. It cost us an additional £90 a day to upgrade from full board to AI. This is very expensive, especially as your selection is still limited to cheaper brands but the price of all drinks at the bars and in the restaurants is expensive so if you don’t want to be constantly fussing over the price of a Coke or bottle of wine it might well be the way to go. We were pleased we decided upon the AI option even though I doubt we managed to get through £90 of drinks on any of the days we spent at the hotel. By the way I see that some reviewers have been critical of the wine but we found all the wines on the AI option were very drinkable and there was a reasonable choice.

And so to the golf. Le Touessrok is a wonderful course designed by Bernhard Langer and situated on an island just off the coast, a twenty minute taxi ride away from the hotel. Taxi transfer is free and the only thing you will pay for is the buggy and the tip for the buggy boys. Actually only may not be the correct word as this amounted to approximately £47 a day. The Clubhouse is lovely with a good bar and small restaurant and the course itself is a joy. Beautifully maintained with picture postcard holes it is the sort of course you feel you could tame but never quite manage to. It has five teeing areas; the women’s, the women’s championship/men’s yellow (a good challenge for the higher handicap men), the men’s championship (a good challenge for lower handicap players) and the Langer Black – pretty much only for professionals, and those with an inflated sense of their abilities. My wife and I just loved playing the course and indeed managed this fourteen times in our sixteen night stay.

Overall we would very much recommend Long Beach. It has only been open a year or so and feels fresh and new. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful, I would particularly like to single out the lovely Karishma in Customer Relations who could not have been more helpful and charming. Not everything is always perfect but the management work very hard to correct any failings and if you like a hotel with clean lines and a modern feel Long Beach could be a great option. If you’ve never been to Mauritius you’ll love it. A charming mixture of its English and French colonial past, and its more recent Indian community, all apparently living happily together. It is not a large island and there is not a huge amount to see, which you cannot perhaps see bigger and better elsewhere, but the hills and coastal plains are verdant, the weather is wonderful all year round and the sea is as beautiful as anything you’ll see in a travel agent’s window. So, not cheap but, if you want to play golf in paradise, you could do a lot worse than the lovely Long Beach and Le Touessrok.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and face the sea. The more expensive rooms have beach access from their pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
On behalf of the Management and the Long Beach team, please accept our gratitude for your valuable and positive feedback pertaining to your recent stay. We are delighted to read that the product and services provided was to your expectation and that you had a wonderful and enjoyable holiday at our Resort.

With renewed thanks for having chosen Long Beach and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day trip to Long Beach Hotel after booking a last minute holiday a week or so before. Our first impressions of the hotel were extremely good and the front desk staff were extremely accommodating, offering a Virgin Mojito and hot towels on arrival. As we checked in at 12pm we were informed that our room would not be ready until 2pm which is hotel policy, although after 24 hours of travelling the first thing I wanted to do was freshen up!

Unfortunately, most of the issues we had with our stay started at this point. Upon returning to reception at 2pm to check in to our room we were informed that it was still not ready and we would have to wait around until it was. We then decided to go to the pool bar to have a quick bite to eat in the mean time only to find that a simple baguette and chips took the best part of an hour to arrive.

That evening we decided to have a quick dinner at the buffet restaurant and again were faced with more disappointing situations (which we found were going to be common problems throughout our stay). For example, the full range of cutlery was NEVER laid out on the table, drinks often arrived well into the meal (if the staff remembered to ask at all), milk was often left out to curdle, butter often took 10 minutes to arrive (by which time your toast was well and truly cold) and the dishes in the buffet were almost always incorrectly labelled (especially the desserts). It was also slightly concerning that about 50% off the staff have a poor grasp on English as I had to explain what a 'spoon' and 'straws' were several times.

It is a shame that the buffet restaurant was our first food experience as the Chinese & Japanese restaurant did offer a better level of service and food generally (even if the Japanese was a little pricey).

To be fair our main bug bear was with the buffet restaurant although a few other things happened that lowered our opinions, i.e. towel shack was still not open at 9am (when it was supposed to open at 8am) & staff attempted to enter our room three days before our checkout as we were 'supposed to be leaving' - no idea where they got that information from!

I would like to say however that there are a few members of staff who deserve praise as they save what level of service the hotel has- notably Dharam the pool bar attendant who was extremely attentive and friendly, Kevin the security guard and the pool bar manager whose name I can't quite remember (begins with R).

Also, the new Marketing Manager, Mike seemed extremely interested in our views and genuinely wanted to change things around so give it 6 months and the service may well reflect that of a 5* establishment.

In a nutshell, great surroundings and facilities but wouldn't go back while its in its current shape.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
The Management wish to thank you for having taken the time to express your feeling with regards to your honeymoon stay at Long Beach. We certainly appreciate your observations and suggestions which will definitely assist us in improving our product and services. However, we wish to reassure you that all the bad experiences you were subjected to have been lengthily discussed and reviewed by all parties concerned for corrective and preventive actions.

We must admit that we have new recruits presently and rest assured that constant training is being conducted by the Hotel to improve our level of services and standards.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you back to Long Beach for an another experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I recently had the opportunity of spending 4 nights at Long Beach Hotel on the East Coast which is the latest edition of Sun Resorts.Our thanks to Anrew Slome,the GM of Sugar Beach,who made it possible.We spent 3 nights at Sugar Beach and then moved to Long Beach.I agree with the recent review in that coming from Sugar Beach with its beautiful lawns to this vast grey concrete building immediately puts you in a sombre mood.As soon as night falls it transforms into a different world.As the days go by you start enjoying your stay.The hotel is unique in that it has a piazza and all the restaurants overlook the piazza.The nightly entertainment at the hotel is superb.The food at the buffet restaurant is fantastic and so is the breakfast.The ambience is splendid.The pool area is huge and being heated makes it enjoyable.The staff all round go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.We will certainly go back to this hotel.A memorable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
The Management would like to thank you for your feedback which was very gratifying. We are glad to read that Long Beach was to your satisfaction and a memorable one. Thank you for having the opportunity to spent 3 nights with us. We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday at Long Beach, and having read mixed reviews prior to staying there, i thought i’d write about our experience and give a balanced view point. We stayed for 10 nights on an all inclusive basis. It is worth noting at this point that i have done numerous all inclusive holidays (4* & 5*) in many different countries.

Long Beach is a fresh and contemporary beach resort hotel, ideal for couples looking for a romantic get away or for families seeking a child friendly resort with plenty of activities.

Pools & Beach: My girlfriend and I aren’t ‘Pool’ type people, but i have to say the pool facilities are fantastic! As are the beach and the swimming areas - lots of sun beds with fixed parasols giving shade on the beach, together with beautiful clear waters providing excellent snorkeling. There are also some great rocky areas which when the tide goes out leaves amazing rock pools humming with sea life to explore.

Room: We had a Beach Front room (No. 519) which was nicely decorated, clean and well appointed. It had a private terrace that overlooked a small bay providing a great outlook to watch the sun rise whilst having a morning coffee. (The room was 4/5 star standard)

Food & Drink: There was an exceptional variety, with 5 different restaurants and 2 bars. The drinks menus were quite extensive offering beers, cider, spirits, mixers, wines including sparkling and a good range of cocktails. The food was of an excellent standard and as there are 5 restaurants, it gives a nice variety of not only cuisine but dining in different locations. Afternoon tea is a lovely touch! (Food and Drink are definitely 5* standard)

Service: With the odd exception, the staff are extremely polite, well mannered and can’t do enough for you, however they aren’t very well trained and are a little unorganised. The service was really the only frustration that we had. (Service levels were 3/4 star standard)

Activities / Facilities: There is so much to do at this resort - the boat house provides kayaking, windsurfing, snorkeling etc. The Sports centre, set at the rear of the resort is phenomenal - gym, tennis courts, pool tables, table football, boules, swimming pool, volley ball, badminton, football, mountain bikes, archery, even a pitch & putt course!! (Definitely 5 star!)

Another nice touch is the Golf partnership they have with Le Touessrok, which is an superb Golf Course situated on its own private island and designed by Bernhard Langer. As a resident of Long Beach you can play this course without paying a green fee - Amazing!!

In summary, Long Beach is an amazing resort with amazing potential, but being hyper critical, the service levels need rapidly improving. That said i wouldn’t hesitate to return to Long Beach, or recommend it to people.

If you are after a good value for money 5 star hotel, Long Beach is the place. If however you want butler service 5 star then Long Beach is not the place. But the standard is quite obviously related in the price.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms provide a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
So many praises, we feel very proud of. Thank you so much for having chosen Long Beach for your holiday destination which in all good faith has been a brilliant one. Having taken into consideration the level of services you experienced, we will make it a must to find out possible means to improve our standards. Although our team members are a little unorganized, we would like to reassure you that our Quality Assurance Department is constantly conducting full-fledged trainings to our members in order to offer a legendary service to all our guests.
We sincerely hope that upon your return to Long Beach for your next stay, you will definitely enjoy a different experience with the best level of services.
Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a great holiday at Long Beach. My first impression of the hotel when I arrived in daylight was truly disappointing being confronted by a grey modern concrete jungle. As the days moved on I became used to my concrete surroundings and having moved from Sugar Beach the general garden appearance was not to my liking. However it has to be said that the property certainly comes into its own as night falls particularly around the central plaza.
The restaurants were to my liking however my wife being vegetarian struggled with the menus. When all else failed the buffet restaurant came to the rescue. We found the service at the Italian and Chinese restaurants to be indifferent and depended greatly on your waiters, however they were always polite and willing to help.
The rooms were modern and immense, the open plan may not be to everyones liking. We have no complaints and the staff were fantastic.
All Inclusive is a must as the prices are ridiculously expensive, however the all inclusive is a bit restrictive and no allowance is generally available where the more expensive offerings are selected.
Beach is fantastic until you arrive in the water with little scope beyond the waters edge for swimming or snorkelling due to the close proximity of dead coral and power boats. Pool areas are superb as are the sun loungers.
Finally the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, however the level of service can be indifferent at times.
Did we enjoy ourselves - off course we did and we will certainly return, but we will be better prepared second time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to read that although you were disappointed at your first impression you had a great holiday at Long Beach. We will the great pleasure to welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future.
With renewed thanks for having chosen Long Beach for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.